Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

I feel traumatised by it, beans, peas and mashed potatoes have been a bit musty/off. My husband has smelled and tasted them all and said that they are all fine (he is a non smoker). Fresh veg seems fine.

Sorry to hear you had such a big crave this morning, you do get the odd mad one alright. I havent really noticed one in a few days now.

Stay strong!

Thanks for the kind words Username!

Thats a strange one, but I guess everyone has different reactions to giving up the evils! Maybe it will change for you in the coming days or weeks.
    I'm just eating loads of carrots and parsnips and string peas(maybe dont try them :D), keeping away from spuds for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Maybe your chest didnt need to clear up? Mine didnt clear out either, I never got a cough or anything. Im Day 17 now and I would have thought if my chest was going to start clearing out it would have by now?

The only difference Ive noticed in taste/smell is that I keep thinking beans are gone off!!

Oh no my chest seriously needs to clear out one of the main reasons I gave up was because im sick of having a wheezy chest and anytime I do anything sports related id be coughing for hours afterwards. But im going to push myself to start excercising hoping that will kick start the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Rita Shaw

I just gave up the cigarette's on sunday after 26yr's, and am using da Nicocig cigarette and find it Brill!!

Rita Shaw wrote: »
    I just gave up the cigarette's on sunday after 26yr's, and am using da Nicocig cigarette and find it Brill!!

Fair play, whatever works for you is the main thing best of luck and welcome to boards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭iamthe43

I am having a hard day smoking wise today. It is not in the slightest bit pleasant.

That said, I have no intention of smoking. It just sucks

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

iamthe43 wrote: »
    I am having a hard day smoking wise today. It is not in the slightest bit pleasant.

I'm having a bad day as well. I'm loosing the rag with colleagues and very fidgety and desperately wanting to go outside for a smoke.

It's been quite a streesful day work-wise, I reckon that's where it's all stemming from. It was times like this where I used to drop everything and go to Marlboro country.

But no way am I going out there!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm having a bad day as well. I'm loosing the rag with colleagues and very fidgety and desperately wanting to go outside for a smoke.

It's been quite a streesful day work-wise, I reckon that's where it's all stemming from. It was times like this where I used to drop everything and go to Marlboro country.

But no way am I going out there!

I know ive said this before but for everyone whos having trouble pick up a copy of Allen Carrs Easy Way To Stop Smoking I was very sceptical before reading it but for the first time ever when I gave up I didnt get the real cravings, its not much about the health issues more just help you come to a few logical conclusions about smoking. My aim is 3 months then I think ill be free from it at least I hope :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Oh no my chest seriously needs to clear out one of the main reasons I gave up was because im sick of having a wheezy chest and anytime I do anything sports related id be coughing for hours afterwards. But im going to push myself to start excercising hoping that will kick start the process.

You might just slowly get less wheezy as opposed to clearing stuff up and out? I dont know to be honest, but exercise is always a good thing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Im starting to ger a bit jealous of everyone in here im off the smokes ten weeks and 3 days now and have no intention of going back on them, but everyone here talking about improved sense of smell and taste I still havent noticed the differance nor has my chest really been clearing up, maybe excercise would help speed it along?

Just to clear this up, when people say your taste comes back, it's not really coming back it's more so improving as in certain flavors become more intense and some even become less intense.

As for the chest, you don't notice it clearing up unless your actually doing something physical like running, I remember I used to run to the shop it's about 100 meters from my house, I would run about 40 meters and be out of breath, I can now run 80 meters, before I would have to stop as my muscles stop! If your going to be exercising, take it easy but keep at it, you don't want to injure yourself !

Best of luck and keep on track, one day you'll look back and say to yourself why the hell did I ever bother smoking?

Trust me the feeling after one year is like you have just climbed a huge mountain, and it's such an achievement to finally say you are done with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭iamthe43

So i had my first night out last night. Well it was more of a house party (on a school night, I know!!)

Jebus above it was hard, but i did manage to avoid smoking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭quaalude

Popping in again to share my "off them 2 weeks tomorrow" feelings.

My big test was in the pub last Friday and then back to mine for my birthday - some people were smoking in my gaff, most weren't - and I didn't smoke, and didn't want to. Had plenty of boozes and fun all night and didn't smoke. Beforehand, I was pretty worried about caving, or being so worried about caving that I wouldn't relax and have fun, but it was totally fine on the night.

There are some obvious physical benefits already (out of breath less easily, no tickly throat when cycling in the cold, stopped snoring (I'm told)), but a nice unexpected benefit is being able to go anywhere I want for coffee or a pint, without having to factor in "what's the smoking area like?". I've realized I've been going exclusively to some pretty crap places, just because I could sit outside and smoke.

I went to a pub near my house for a pint, one I'd never normally consider because on a busy road and not nice to sit outside, and it was really lovely.

So I am happy to keep at it - the buzz you get from knowing you don't smoke any more is wonderful also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

So i had my first night out last night. Well it was more of a house party (on a school night, I know!!)

Jebus above it was hard, but i did manage to avoid smoking!

Tuff one, air filled with second hand smoke (which is actully rank and sticks too your clothing!). One piece of advise, if someone is talking to you smoking and blowing smoke towards your face direction, ask them not too do it or if your uncomfortable with the position of there cigarette tell them. Smokers who know or are chatting to ex smokers sometimes don't realizes what they are doing!

Also sit beside an open window if you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭DenMan

Delighted with all the positivity here guys. You are all doing fantastic. Keep up the great work. Those of you who are finding it a bit harder a big well done to you too. You made the decision first to want to quit and that is the most important step. It's the all important first step in your journey to wanting to stop smoking. Stay strong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I'm at about 5 1/2 months now. Still using the eCig but have reduced the nicotine content considerably. Next stuff I get will be lower again or even zero content. I know it's not ideal to be using a substitute, but that's still 22 weeks or so without any tar. Nights out are not a problem any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Iceylou

im off them since sunday. my nerves are shot to say the least but refusing to give in. its not been easy, holy crap i have had moments where i would have smacked my brain with a frying pan to quit telling me to have a smoke!! im using the patches and often i rub the patch thinking i will get more of a nicotine buzz, as if lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭CallMeFlo

Hi all :)

I quit exactly two weeks ago, feel amazing apart from the horrible cough I have and from what I hear that's just my lungs clearing up so that just makes me even more happy :D

I quit the Easway if anybody has heard of it before, it's a book that basically changes the way you view smoking :)

I have no need or desire to smoke what so ever and I spend most of my time around smokers which is not a problem at all for me, I was out drinking last week and I didn't even want a smoke then and I spent the whole night in the smoking area!

Overall I feel amazing and would definitely recommend the book to anyone who is finding it hard to quit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

CallMeFlo wrote: »

I quit exactly two weeks ago, feel amazing apart from the horrible cough I have and from what I hear that's just my lungs clearing up so that just makes me even more happy :D

I quit the Easway if anybody has heard of it before, it's a book that basically changes the way you view smoking :)

I have no need or desire to smoke what so ever and I spend most of my time around smokers which is not a problem at all for me, I was out drinking last week and I didn't even want a smoke then and I spent the whole night in the smoking area!

Overall I feel amazing and would definitely recommend the book to anyone who is finding it hard to quit :D
    MY sister in law done it the Allan Carr way, just gave them up with no cravings. She is still off them years later.
    A while back I was off the fags a few days when I read the book, It said on the book that not to give them up yet, smoke away until he says stop which was a few chapters away, so I started smoking again.
    I am off them a week now cold turkey. :D

CallMeFlo wrote: »

Fair play, I read the book like you and im now off them 11 weeks and one day so going strong. The book worked the same way for me had no craving at all after it apart from the odd time when im drunk but ive been able to control that sober im always around smokers and havent had the urge to smoke at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Off them 2 weeks now! And again, out at the weekend with a smoker, and no problems at all!
    Keeping with the jogging too so back out this evening for my next run then I start week 3 of the c25k. Cant believe I am out running as 2 weeks ago I was a min 20 a day smoker not doing any sort of exercise :eek:

On Allen Car: Over the past 3 years I have read his book, it worked and I was off them for 3 months at one stage but I ignored his main rule, that we all have here now, that once you stop, you never EVER smoke ever again, not even one cig! Its a powerfull message that really gets through, but, for me, I read the book and listened to the audio about a million times and it just does not work for me anymore as I know the book and audio word for word :rolleyes:

But give it a go, His ideas (maybe a little dated) really do get through and work!

Keep it up everyone, we're doing great!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MintyDoris

Had my last smoke Sunday morning

My stupid brain keeps a dialogue going in the background ALL DAY LONG which goes soemthing like this

Smoke time!!
    No! Remember you cant have them anymore
    Oh yeah, I remember now
    Nevermind, go and have a smoke to make yourself feel better
    No, remember you don't smoke anymore
    Oh yeah I don't
    Go have a smoke as a reward for not giving in

etc etc etc

I have read Allen Carrs book and I dont think its clicking with me. I can justify away everything he's saying. There are a few day courses being held in the Red Cow Hotel in Dublin and I reckon I might have to go to one of them and see if it works

I really want to be free of these. I know I will feel 100 times better if I can do this for myself and my family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

MintyDoris wrote: »
    Had my last smoke Sunday morning

My stupid brain keeps a dialogue going in the background ALL DAY LONG which goes soemthing like this

Smoke time!!
    No! Remember you cant have them anymore
    Oh yeah, I remember now
    Nevermind, go and have a smoke to make yourself feel better
    No, remember you don't smoke anymore
    Oh yeah I don't
    Go have a smoke as a reward for not giving in

etc etc etc

I have read Allen Carrs book and I dont think its clicking with me. I can justify away everything he's saying. There are a few day courses being held in the Red Cow Hotel in Dublin and I reckon I might have to go to one of them and see if it works

I really want to be free of these. I know I will feel 100 times better if I can do this for myself and my family

Well done for getting this far. Just remember, every second, every day and every craving you beat is progress - it gets easier I promise

Alan Carr's book is good if you can completely leave your critical mind at the door. I found some of it to be self-promoting. But it got you to take the most important step which is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MintyDoris

Thanks Sticky, was great to get some words of encouragement when I logged on this morning

I know I can do this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Quit the evil smokes on Sunday night so technically Monday was my first smoke free day. It's only Wednesday and I'm finding it pure torture. I skimmed through a few posts and see a lot of "not having any cravings", and "not finding it to hard".
    How long will it be before I can finally say this. It feels like I will never get there and it would be so much easier to just have a smoke.

bicardi19 wrote: »
    Quit the evil smokes on Sunday night so technically Monday was my first smoke free day. It's only Wednesday and I'm finding it pure torture. I skimmed through a few posts and see a lot of "not having any cravings", and "not finding it to hard".
    How long will it be before I can finally say this. It feels like I will never get there and it would be so much easier to just have a smoke.

Ah, Day 3 for you. I remember it fondly - NOT, it was one long crave, I wanted to kick the chemist girl in the face when she couldnt find the fishermans friends, I was dizzy, irritable, couldnt sleep and eating everything I could lay my hands on, drank several pints of water too.

Guess what the good news is? Day 3 is the worst day!!! If you get through this, it all gets easier.

I didnt have individual craves as such, I just craved and obsessed on cigarettes for 3 days solid without my brain ever stopping. Then I guess my brain got bored and it stopped living in crave-world and by Day 4 the on/off dizziness was a bigger worry than not having a cigarette!!

The dizziness was there on and off fairly regularly til Day 5, then it gradually eased off til it was gone by Day 10. It was never that bad, just a fleeting thing, but it annoyed me no end.

Hang in there, youre doing great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Like bicardi, I too had my last cig on Sunday and am struggling a bit, I was a smoker for 17 years so i guess it is understandable I feel like theres a bit of me missing, 4 times yesterday I got up out of my seat at work and was heading out the door untill I coped it, that I dont smoke anymore :D

I think the biggest hurdle though for me will be the pub, all the lads smoke and quite frankly drink lowers my willpower, anyone anytips or aversion methods for when heading out for the first few times smokeless??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 locater7

this is day 17 for me and honestly there are still tough moments--craves seem to melt into each other-both some herbal fags last saturday-they seem to help
    the overall vibe/picture i am getting seems to be willpower
    do you REALLY want to quit--or arte u kinda toying with the idea
    sometimes i am not sure--its the damm expense i think has kept me clean through my moments of weakness
    its not easy but there are so many good and positive posts here that keep one on track
    cold water your new buddy

Your on to your third day now bicardi19. When you started you got through both Monday and Tuesday so that is a great achievement. Keep up the great work. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Yeah I really want to quit, but I find my head keeps telling me .... no you don't really want to quit, why don't you just go and buy some.

This is nearly constantly it's like I can't even think about anything else. (except eating)

I so hope your right username and day 3 is the worst.

Its so nice to get a bit of support here and talk to others who understand what its like.

Never thought it would be this hard, should I try patches or something or just keep going cold turkey do you think?

We're all here to support and encourage each other. :)

Yeah I really want to quit, but I find my head keeps telling me .... no you don't really want to quit, why don't you just go and buy some.

This is nearly constantly it's like I can't even think about anything else. (except eating)

I so hope your right username and day 3 is the worst.

Its so nice to get a bit of support here and talk to others who understand what its like.

Never thought it would be this hard, should I try patches or something or just keep going cold turkey do you think?

Yeah I felt like that, constant in the brain at first - it doesnt stay like that.

You will feel better after Day 3 because after 72 hours the body has cleared itself of nicotine - the awfulness of today is that bugger of a nicotine monster in his death throes!!!

I used this timeline to motivate myself and get a handle on when things would feel better etc.

Stick with it cold turkey - the first 3 days are the hardest.

Keep drinking plenty of fluids too - helps flush the system and helps knock a crave on the head.

I used Rescue Remedy a bit as well and always had a pack of fishermans friends handy.

It IS hard but think how brill itll be to be free of the horrible smelly things!!!!