If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why Is Street Fighting Illegal?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Why is this thread still going?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

This is a street fight

Academic endeavours... Somehow I doubt that :pac:

They're having great craic and look at the crowd they drew.

You'd swear people with book smarts do nothing but study...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Overweight and unfit..they should be at home knitting and wearing dresses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

flash1080 wrote: »
    They're having great craic and look at the crowd they drew.
    It's called the scumbag effect. Scumbags attract more scumbags. The higher the concentration of scumbags the further average IQ plummets.
    You'd swear people with book smarts do nothing but study...
    Oh they do other things than study. It's just that generally speaking they don't go kicking the crap out of each other in the middle of a street for no particular reason. That's a bit brain dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Having represented the country in academic endeavors

You do know that the Junior Cert doesn't count, right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Degsy wrote: »
    Overweight and unfit..they should be at home knitting and wearing dresses.
    Street fighting is for all people, regardless of sex, age, religion, race or ability.

It's called the scumbag effect. Scumbags attract more scumbags. The higher the concentration of scumbags the further average IQ plummets.

Oh they do other things than study. It's just that generally speaking they don't go kicking the crap out of each other in the middle of a street for no particular reason. That's a bit brain dead.
    They're just having a laugh, they're not doing any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

We do allow people to engage in one-on-one combat. It's called "boxing", "karate" or sometimes "MMA".

Dangerous things are regulated. You can't buy ten shots of bathtub gin from a ten-year-old child at four in the morning, you can't drive a Ferrari F430 at a hundred and seventy past a primary school at 8.45 on a schoolday, and you can't punch another guy on the street. You can buy alcoholic drinks conforming to health and safety standards at licensed premises at regulated times, you can drive a fast car on a racetrack when you have the appropriate insurance, and you can do MMA or boxing or any of a dozen disciplines as a sport.

Just to bring it down to the basics, since at least one person on this thread seems to be missing the point spectacularly: the reasons street fighting are illegal are:

1. There's no system of registering advance consent for such fights, and there never will be.
    2. There's no controls over the level of damage that can be inflicted.
    3. A fight in the street can very easily spill over into a riot in which innocent people get hurt.
    4. You can't consent to severe physical damage being inflicted upon you, or claim as a defence against assault that your opponent consented.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Street fighting is illegal for a number of reasons.

1, There is no body to set rules of equality
    2. There is no body to set restraints and levels of movements and limits to what can be done.
    3. Where is a street fight not a street fight but a brawl? Thats question would be asked of a court to judge too many time alone within any one week!
    "Yes your honour, we were having a street brawl"
    "No, your honour, he just attacked me out of the blue and using that as an excuse to get away with it!"

Who's telling the truth and who is lying to get away with a wrong attack?
    4. Animals brawl - we should be above that level!
    5. If you really have to ask that question, you clearly can't grasp the concept of a full analytical humanitarian and legal based answer based on grounds of public order and decency!

/End of thread. Enough of this rubbish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Street fighting is for all people, regardless of sex, age, religion, race or ability.

I think you'll find that very few people have the moral fibre for pugilism.

Most intelligent people walk away from scraps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The only thing that you need to have in common is a lobotomy or a very low level of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Why is street fighting illegal? It's been illegal for who knows how long yet it still happens on a daily basis.

You got my thanks for the laugh!

Ah boards, never fails to amuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Why is street fighting illegal? It's been illegal for who knows how long yet it still happens on a daily basis

Why are drugs illegeal? They have been illegal for who knows how long yet people still do them on a daily basis.

Cop on, just becuase people do it doesn't mean that it should be made legal. What you're saying is complete and utter BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Its the same reason you tell school kids not to fight.
    In fact school yard fights are easily classed as street fights, and those things are no where near civilised, in the end it just ends up with nasty grudges and someone out for revenge.

Things are not as organised and ideal as Fight Club.
    Wouldn't it just increase the amount of assault cases?
    Has no one ever been told 'violence is not the answer'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Assuing you're being serious, which I doubt, one reason is that innocent bystanders could get hurt. Personally I want to be able to walk around in peace without having to get out of the way of scumbags hitting each other. If you want to fight someone legally take up boxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Of course you can't legalise street fighting in Ireland because there are too many stupid people in this country.

Wouldnt a lot of problems be solved if we could somehow outlaw stupidity.........
    But then where would that leave threads like this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,505 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

It's a reasonable question, at least for AH.

There are many people who think that consenting adults should be able to physically assault each other when naked and sexy.

Why is it less acceptable when clothed and repressed? I could care less if two men want to touch each other in that way, provided that they cover their own repairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

Why is street fighting illegal? It's been illegal for who knows how long yet it still happens on a daily basis.

Street fighting gives physical, psychological, and social benefits. Fighting promotes a healthy way of life, it has done great things for people.

Most people who are afraid of street fighting are usually the ones that have never tried it or have had one bad experience.

If street fighting was legal there would be a lot less crime.

If two lads, minding their own business, want to fight each other on the street what harm are they doing anyone else?

There are lots of people who would much prefer to go out for a fight at the weekend than getting wrecked on drink. Some people don't like getting pissed off their heads.

The government/guards waste resources trying to stop street fighting. Its illegality is costing the taxpayer money.

It's human nature to fight. Of course you can't legalise street fighting in Ireland because there are too many stupid people in this country.

hows the hoodie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,366 ✭✭✭amacca

You can't buy ten shots of bathtub gin from a ten-year-old child at four in the morning, you can't drive a Ferrari F430 at a hundred and seventy past a primary school at 8.45 on a schoolday, and you can't punch another guy on the street.

what can you do?

god damn nanny state again!

stop fuggin telling me what I cant do....everyday it takes away more and more of my personal freedoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,366 ✭✭✭amacca

Lumen wrote: »
    It's a reasonable question, at least for AH.

There are many people who think that consenting adults should be able to physically assault each other when naked and sexy.

Why is it less acceptable when clothed and repressed? I could care less if two men want to touch each other in that way, provided that they cover their own repairs.

its funny cos he/she is named after the inside of blood vessel.....and becuase its funny too obviously

physical assault when naked and sexy is acceptable in every civilized society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

look, it just fcuking is alright. i'm sure there's a reason

..ah. i remember when i first saw fight club.. oi gimme that werthers back ye little bastard! *throttles throat*