Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the F *CK!!!!!

• 23-12-2010 4:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭

Just back from a night on the tiles as the designated driver, I was walking back to the car when I noticed a chap with the head bet off him so I got tissues etc and cleaned him up with my friend. then I rang his brother and friends who came down to us and we were going home when he said that we had attacked him!!!!!! :eek: so cue 7 lads jumping on us and I just managed to get to the car to call the rest of my group up and we got things settled but even after one fella was pinned and we said calm and we will let you go he was released and he just took cheap shots then!!!!!!

Allegedly we bet him up badly, then cleaned him up called his brother and waited there until they turned up????????? idiots

I'm not sorry I helped as I would like anyone to help me but come on!!

Excuse the posts lack of emmmm real thought but I'm so F*cking pissed off, you cant help someone nowadays :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

knackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

No good deed goes unpunished.

One night a few years back on Parnell St. we helped a guy who was having an epileptic fit. His friends later arrived and proceeded to start on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

they werent actually knackers though but were from kilkenny, I have his number and there will be a call made in the morning, it was reported to the guards

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

its not his fault he's probably jsut really confused and all bunches of lads look the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yet another reason not to put yourself out there or be a good Samaritan.

Next time, let the Emergency services deal with this, this lad who got beaten can call them himself

Reminds of cases where you see some lad beating his girlfriend, you step in and they both turn on you. I've been in that situation!
    Sorry but I'm staying out of everything unless I know somebody personally

Very strange situation.You said they weren't knackers,so do you or your friends have a reputation as being a bit of trouble?
    Sounds like they just got excited?

its not his fault he's probably jsut really confused and all bunches of lads look the same
    We talked for 20 mins, i have his name and where he lives etc he knew who we were

at6 last someone with a bit of experience haha/
    understand exactly what your saying too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Fight on Dame St also, loads of cops ripping up the road in a Mondeo there around an hour or so ago.

They near killed some people on the footpath as they skidded round the corner on George's St then.

On a separate note, the amount of girl's in mini skirts in this weather is remarkable and has to be commended.

Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Damn knackers.

digme wrote: »
    Very strange situation.You said they weren't knackers,so do you or your friends have a reputation as being a bit of trouble?
    Sounds like they just got excited?
    this is my first ever fight, I hate it with a passion, he flipped said it was them and they attacked us, after we had benn helping and chatting to him for ages, ok we gowled about him being from kk but was a joke :rolleyes:

tis a crazy world lol, I'm sure you'll laugh about it tomorrow. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

rex-x wrote: »
    We talked for 20 mins, i have his name and where he lives etc he knew who we were
    he was either scum or in... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acute_stress_reaction#Symptoms_of_acute_stress_reaction

which did he sound like?
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Fight on Dame St also, loads of cops ripping up the road in a Mondeo there around an hour or so ago.

They near killed some people on the footpath as they skidded round the corner on George's St then.

On a separate note, the amount of girl's in mini skirts in this weather is remarkable and has to be commended.

Well done.

it really is amazing! bravo i say, bravo
    you make shopping bearable ladies, bravo

He may have been both? just looked and said it was them and we laughed then lunged for me and i was like hmmmmm :eek: he had recieved a bad beating but seems weird, what were his friends thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

That's horrible OP. But well done on helping anyway! Hopefully he was just drunk and/or confused and will cop onto himself in the morning.

I feel sick at the thoughts, I was lucky as I had lots of friends to come to my aid, not many would have had them so close and they were going to be doing serious damage, could have ended with someone badly hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Op, you said he'd been bashed about the head - he could have mild concussion or something which made him confused. How did you leave things in the end? Was it resolved by the time you left the scene? At least you'll have the advantage of having a clear head when you ring him in the morning, just to make sure he's all right, like, and to just hear his reaction when you remind him that he got a touch of the crazies after you went out of your way to help him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

It is dangerous at night in this country since the drinking laws were changed years ago and cocaine use became popular. Unprovoked assault is common. Many carry knives.

What should you do if you see someone in trouble? My guess is phone the police from a safe distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

you're commending them for dressing like tramps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

grenache wrote: »

Indeed, it's a well known fact all women dressed in mini-skirts are tramps... sexy, sexy tramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭lisaface

they werent actually knackers though but were from kilkenny, I have his number and there will be a call made in the morning, it was reported to the guards

Oh my bad - I misread that... continuing on...

Fair play on helping the guy - confusion?!? eh yeahh the person who kicks your head in is going to clean you up and ring your family/friends!!

What a disrespectful twat, you help him out and he slyly does one over on you. Somehow I'm not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Probably the reason he got beat up in the first place was he was looking for a fight and started on the wrong people,probably that out of it on drink or drugs that all he wanted was a fight.

He probably got a few knocks to the head. People in this state can be very aggressive and confused. It's not uncommon for people in this state to attack those trying to help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

You never know, in a few hours you could find yourself at the end of a serious apology, or a serious batin' if he's the type to get his big brother after you...

You can't judge a drunk you don't know, alcohol can do funny things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Next time, let the Emergency services deal with this, this lad who got beaten can call them himself

Reminds of cases where you see some lad beating his girlfriend, you step in and they both turn on you. I've been in that situation!

Are you a coward or are you just ignorant?

If you see someone after getting a hiding why wouldnt you call an ambulance for them? ANd a lad beating his gf? Of course you should step in, if the girl has a problem with that leave it, but I dunno how anyone with any decency could walk by someone after getting a bad hiding or a man beating his gf with out doing anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Scumbags, I'm from Kilkenny and they're plenty common here. On another note, was it Duggy Howlett?

Edit: I might just leave this thread before I find out it was one of my cousins or something, what an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

grenache wrote: »

Holy fuck. Are you really that backward?

Would you prefer that women cover up more?

Burka, perhaps?

Christ. You should join the priesthood or some other sexually repressed organisation.

You'd fit in nicely.

Just make sure you don't touch yourself. You can go to hell for that.

The emergency services will likely do nothing at all. They'll probably come out, see there's no serious damage done and send him on his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭gondorff

they werent actually knackers though but were from kilkenny

I like non-sequiturs, I think they're funny.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Sounds kind of like an incident I was in when I was in first year in college, I was in barcode and a friend of a friend was in a very bad drunken state in the beer garden, I never talked to this chap before that night. All his friends had left him leaning up against a wall and he could barely stand or talk properly. He was bolloxed basically. I went over to him to see if he was alright and I lifted him up onto a seat in the corner of the beer garden, this lad was all by himself for ages. I got him a pint of water from the bar and sat beside him for awhile and just chatted to him to try and sober him up a bit, after about 20 minutes he started to sober up. He was able to put sentences together at this stage, i felt like helen keller's minder or something.

Then out of nowhere one of his "friends" comes marching over with his hands clenched and takes a shot at me. I was able to duck underneath the punch fairly easily because I was sober and his friend was drunk and the punch felt like it was coming at me in slow motion. I pushed his friend back a few feet with one hand and with the other hand I was trying to keep their hammered friend sitting up straight. Then another one of the "friends" came to "hold back" the guy who took a swing at me. This lad starts mouthing off and giving out that I was messing with their drunken abandoned friend. The bouncers saw this happened and threw out the lad who was throwing the punches. I managed to lean in and say to the lad who threw the punch that he should of been looking out for his friends and I gave him a little slap on the back of the head before the bouncers took him away.

In the end the original lad who was drunk was taken away by his girl friends in a taxi, he was grand by that stage and the next day when I was on bebo I got a friend request by the guy I helped out so obviously he remembered what happened and he sent me a message saying thank you. I made a new friend that day! OOOoooooo FRIEND, FRIEND, BARCODE FRIEND!! OOooooo BARCODE FRIEND!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

...... the amount of girl's in mini skirts in this weather is remarkable and has to be commended.

agreed
    CorkMan wrote: »
    Damn knackers.

if this is a reply to outlawpete's post, surely you meant to say "Damn knickers"??? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Just wondering op could it be possible that it was one of your friends who gave him the hiding origionally and he returned to the scene while you were giving first aid, hence the guy who was assaulted making the claim to his friends, could be a possibility you might not have not been aware off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Oh, booze. Sure aren't we a mighty nation for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Oh, booze. Sure aren't we a mighty nation for the craic?

Begorrah and bejaney we are surely.

So OP have you contacted this guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Drunk people are idiots. Yeah, me too when I'm drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

biko wrote: »
    Drunk people are idiots. Yeah, me too when I'm drunk.

I refuse to believe that, oh Mod my Mod.

There have been more severe allegations made in the past (most unintentionally hilarious post of the year):
    I suspect some of the mods participate in drug taking, thus they don't view the topic as something which should be censored.

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Just wondering op could it be possible that it was one of your friends who gave him the hiding origionally and he returned to the scene while you were giving first aid, hence the guy who was assaulted making the claim to his friends, could be a possibility you might not have not been aware off!
    Not a hope, we were together all night and he went for me :rolleyes:
    not rang him yet as I'm only awake :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OP, you should have finished the job and put him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Myself and a group of mates got jumped by a bunch of absolute scum at 1.30am on Christmas morning a few years ago. All for over-taking them on the footpath, walking home, and saying Merry Christmas. I spent Christmas and Stephen's Day eating on one side of my mouth as I had a tooth cracked in half after being punched in the face. Christmas brings out the best in some people.

Heard one of the scumbags later died of a heroin overdose. GOD BLESS US, EVERYONE!

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Myself and a group of mates got jumped by a bunch of absolute scum at 1.30am on Christmas morning a few years ago. All for over-taking them on the footpath, walking home, and saying Merry Christmas.
    Mate, I'm a borderline pacifist, but if someone overtook me or one of my children on the footpath I don't I think could be held accountable for what I might do.

.... what?

Sanjuro wrote: »
    .... what?
    I jest, I jest...that was just one of the most ludicrously disproportionate punishments for a "crime" I've heard in a long while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

kincsem wrote: »
    It is dangerous at night in this country since the drinking laws were changed years ago and cocaine use became popular. Unprovoked assault is common. Many carry knives.

What should you do if you see someone in trouble? My guess is phone the police from a safe distance.
    Thats the proper course of action, mind you if I saw someone lying in the snow bleeding I'd go over and get them somewhere warm anyway.

I don't know when things got so bad on the streets at night, I remember some nasty gangs going around in the 80s, and I wouldn't know about the 70s or earlier. The random element to the violence isn't just confined to a certain crowd either, for whom prison is a rite of manhood, it's what could be charitably described as "normal" people as well.

I jest, I jest...that was just one of the most ludicrously disproportionate punishments for a "crime" I've heard in a long while.
    Oh right! Just wasn't sure I got it! Yeah, they were a pleasant bunch of gentlemen to meet on a cold, frosty Christmas morn. They were good enough to pick us up off the ground after they'd kicked us about. And then they walked off. Sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

Just been reading some of these posts and it seems to me that the samaritan thing to do is help someone who has been beaten up but the smart thing is not to bother. Modern Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Just back from a night on the tiles as the designated driver, I was walking back to the car when I noticed a chap with the head bet off him so I got tissues etc and cleaned him up with my friend. then I rang his brother and friends who came down to us and we were going home when he said that we had attacked him!!!!!! :eek: so cue 7 lads jumping on us and I just managed to get to the car to call the rest of my group up and we got things settled but even after one fella was pinned and we said calm and we will let you go he was released and he just took cheap shots then!!!!!!

Allegedly we bet him up badly, then cleaned him up called his brother and waited there until they turned up????????? idiots

I'm not sorry I helped as I would like anyone to help me but come on!!

Excuse the posts lack of emmmm real thought but I'm so F*cking pissed off, you cant help someone nowadays :rolleyes:

Fair play for doing the right thing all the same though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

In my experience, your more likely to get a hug of someone on coke then a few digs

I have no love for coke, far from it, but this is bull****. Alcohol is, and always has been, by far the most common drug implicated in assaults, unprovoked or otherwise.

It's also pretty rare to find someone on coke who hasn't drunk their share as well. The two together are a nightmare combination.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

dabestman1 wrote: »
    Just been reading some of these posts and it seems to me that the samaritan thing to do is help someone who has been beaten up but the smart thing is not to bother. Modern Ireland

The "not to bother" is due to it being more hassle to you then it's worth as per the OP's post. He tried to help but ended up getting harrased over it.

The intention is not a problem, the likely consequences are...