Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting Clay Pigeon Shooting

• 21-12-2010 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭

Well lads, I am a keen rough shooter and have been for some time. I would consider myself a fairly average shot :o:. I shoot a side by side but I recently got a Lanber o/u game gun from a friend who was giving up shooting. It is choked half and three quarter I think. More importantly it fits me well and I shoot well with it. I am interested in starting to do some clay pigeon shooting.

My gun might not be 100% suitable but will it suffice to get me started?
    What is the best way to find out about clubs in my area (wexford)?
    Is it necessary to be a member of the CPSA?

Any other info is most welcome. Thanks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

............. I recently got a Lanber o/u game gun from a friend who was giving up shooting. .......................................... but will it suffice to get me started?

Yes. A mate of mine comes with me from time to time to shoot a few clays. He shoots an old 26" game gun, and does as well as most. No point investing in a serious clay gun if its something you do not stay with.
    What is the best way to find out about clubs in my area (wexford)?
    Is it necessary to be a member of the CPSA?

Alot of ranges may have a clay facility even if its only a trap or two. The ICPSA have a good list of clubs that cater for registered and non registered shoots. You do not need to be a member of the ICPSA, but if you want to progress in the sport an gain ranking points then it would be an idea to join.

My personal advice would be to start out with a few informal shots. Get a feel of the style of shooting and get in some trigger time. Then, if you find its your cup of tea, contact the ICPSA and/or join an affiliated club close to you.

I really cannot offer more than that as i am not affiliated to or a member of the ICPSA. Too much time on other shooting to give it the time it needs.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Thanks. When you say informal shots do you mean with a trap myself and a few friends or can I use a clubs facilities. Do clubs or ranges allow people to practice on their grounds?
    Thanks, BB

By informal i mean club shoots, various clay ranges, things of that nature. Similar to an open shoot in rifle shooting terms.

Its more to get a feel of the sport. The rules, and the way the shoots are run. By all means enter competitions, but you would need to contact the ICPSA or the nearest club to see what shoots you are eligible to take part in.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Thanks the thing is I am looking on the internet for shooting grounds in Wexford where I could go. I can not find anything. Do you know where I could look to find out any information about grounds or clubs in Wexford. I was thinking of asking in the gunshops because they will surely know.

www.ICPSA.ie

Check them out and look under clubs. I'm hoping there will be a few clay shooters affiliated to the ICPSA along to answer the questions with a little more precision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭hrcbob

at a clay shoot earlier in the year a guy i was chattin to mentioned that there was open night shoots under flood lights in kilmyshal. Seemingly at that time they were shooting on wednesday nights alternating between down the line shoots one week and sporting clays the next.. I ment goin myself one night but never got around to it.. not sure if its still on going.. Kilmyshal is near the half way house pub between kiltealy and bunclody.. not quite sure where exactly..

I would be familiar with that area as I do not live far from there. If you find anything else out about it could you please let me know. Much appreciated;)

there was to be a christmas shoot just outside bagnalstown but was cancelled due to crap weather. Ill let you know when thats comin up too.. Wouldnt be a milloin miles away from ye.. Nothin like jumpin in at the deep end :D the lads there will know more about wats goin on and where too..

Thanks for that. It really would be jumping in at the deep end. I would be all right safety wise but I would not have a clue about etiquette. I would be afraid I would do something wrong that would be really embarrassing. Maybe I would go up and just watch and see how it works. Do let me know as I could go up and watch and it would also be a good chance to find out about clubs and so on.
    Thanks.

No worries.. as soon as i hear anything ill let you know.. its a shame clay shoots dont seem to get notice on this. Im sure there are plenty of them that go ahead without people knowin.. My advice would be to bring the gun and hundred odd shells if you go.. Its very addictive :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Dunno if it's too far from you but Hilltop in Wicklow have a great clay layout.

I regularly shoot Compact Sporting, DTL or ABT there during the week. This time of year it's dark by the time I get there but it's all covered and floodlit so that won't stop you. There are separate ranges so if you prefer to shoot ABT or Compact they an both run together.

Pat pulls the plug at 8 but I have regularly gone there at 7 and managed to get two 35 bird compacts finished before quitting time.

He also has a full 60 bird sporting layout but it's not floodlit so this time of year you need to be up a good bit earlier to shoot that. (I do it at the weekends)

All informal shoots - you just need to tell him if you're coming. If you're a member the clays are cheaper but best bet is to give him a call and see if it suits you.

I suppose the main advantage is that you can go when it suits you (once he knows you're coming) so that may suit to help get a bit of practice in, get a few pointers etc.

www.hilltopshootingsports.com

Hope it helps,

B'Man

Thanks B man thats great. I will look into that. Just wondering DTL is down the line where all shots are going away from you right? I know sporting is a mixture of shots that would usually be encountered on a shooting day. What is ABT and compact sporting?
    Which would be the best to start on if I had a choice? DTL I presume.

Thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭twin27

my first gun was a lanber o/u fixed chokes and i mainly shot clays with it at the time and i have to say i couldnt fault it in any way:)as for clay shooting , cant help there as i only know of clubs in cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Thanks B man thats great. I will look into that. Just wondering DTL is down the line where all shots are going away from you right? I know sporting is a mixture of shots that would usually be encountered on a shooting day. What is ABT and compact sporting?
    Which would be the best to start on if I had a choice? DTL I presume.

Thanks for the help.

(Dunno why I did not see your question til now :( )

DTL (Down the Line) has a standard height and climb with variable spread whereas ABT (Auto Ball Trap ??) has a variable height as well as spread. They are shot the same with five shots in each of five stands.

Compact Sporting is a bit range dependent. In Hilltop there are seven traps arrayed around the range. There are five stands and you get seven clays - - 3 x single (full use of gun), 2 x on report + 2 x simultaneous - in each stand for a total of 35 birds . It's tough enough but as it's floodlit and covered you can shoot it all year round. (Can be some craic shooting the high crosser in the fog :-)

Personally I think your best bet is to get someone to bring you out and shoot the compact and let you know what, if anything, you are doing wrong - then just practice, practice, practice. I don't shoot as much as I used to but I still never got a 35 - got a 32 once - actually I don't think anyone has ever got the 35 - saw a guy get 34 in a competition one day.

B'Man

Cheers B man, It will be February before I go at it I would say. Will try reading up a bit on it first and get familiar on the different disciplines etc. I will let you know how I get on when I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭murphy125

You could always go to Bishops Mountain it's just off the mullinavat to new ross road They do sporting,DTL and Abt they are very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭murphy125

You could always go to Bishops Mountain it's just off the mullinavat to new ross road They do sporting,DTL and Abt they are very helpful. http://www.bishopsmountain.gunclub.ie/