Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****STOLEN*** TREK 6300 DUNDRUM (BALALLY LUAS STOP)

• 19-12-2010 11:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Hey my less than 1 year old Trek was stolen from balally luas stop in the last 24hrs.

It was locked to the railing outside Rockfield pub / balally barbers.

Loads of other bikes locked there when i locked mine and loads still there today when i went to pick my bike up but mine was singled out and stolen.

guards said its really common around the area (i had another bike robbed on the main street about a year ago)

why the hell dont they have signs up WARNING people that thefts are active and not to lock your bike in the area??

anyway i noticed a camera in the corner of the shopping area so hopefully the knackers are on cctv.

Maybe if people are in the area they might see a grands worth of kit under a little scummer.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I know your angry but when in a city or its subarbs you must assume that scum are nearby and will try to rob your bike, out of intrest what type lock was on the bike?

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭markfdrums

i know yeah but the gard was making out that its organised and its daily theft. due to the luas bringing so many bikes into the area, its shooting fish in a barrel for these scumbags. I mean if i knew it was that bad i wouldnt lock my bike in the area at all.

It wasnt a kryptonite lock but was a fairly hefty chain with plastic coating. about 30 quids worth. not easy to cut thats for sure

I feel for ya , thats harsh allright , spots like these need cctv and someone keeping an eye on them thats for sure, if its a heavy chain lock they either used i grinder or hacksaw so they must of been at it for a while, im investing in a kypronite lock myself in the next few weeks with so many people strapped for cash etc this is when petty crime goes through the roof.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭Tefral

I work at the Ballaly stop and one of the lads in the office bike was stolen before. I think even a motor bike was taken there once.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

markfdrums wrote: »
    It wasnt a kryptonite lock but was a fairly hefty chain with plastic coating. about 30 quids worth. not easy to cut thats for sure

You'd be surprised. If it was just ordinary chain they're very susceptible to (what's the fancy word....) tortional pressure ie strong when pulled but weak when twisted. I hope you get the bike back but next time a Krypto d lock will stand you a much better chance of keeping your bike.

Well the lock was only a few months old. When i bought it from Joe Hollingsworth is insisted that it wasnt theft proof but a damn good lock all the same. I know they would have needed aa decent bit of kit to cut it open.

At the end of the day it seems a pro job and the guards dont care.

Even though the bike is worth the same as some of the cars they will spend time looking out for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Cable locks can be cut very very easily. I'm not a pro bike thief and I managed to cut through a thick Kryptonite cable lock using a standard bolt cutters in under 3 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,017 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

penexpers wrote: »
    Cable locks can be cut very very easily. I'm not a pro bike thief and I managed to cut through a thick Kryptonite cable lock using a standard bolt cutters in under 3 minutes.

Not cable lock, plastic wrapped chain.

You need bolt cutters for a chain, whereas I think cable locks can be got through with a hacksaw.

The key to using a chain is to minimize slack and keep away from any leverage points (e.g. the ground). The Almax videos (e.g. this) demonstrate what you can do with a lot of leverage, a good bit of slack and a lifetime of pie consumption.

penexpers wrote: »
    but even kyptonite will be the first to tell ya on the website that they intend their cables as a means to secure other objects to bike i.e bottle cage/saddle front wheel. etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

sorry to hear about your bike!

It might help to post some pics and a decription pointing out any distinguishing features, you never know, someone might come across it.

I Attached a pic. Its not mine but exact replica. I put a few items like a bashguard and it has a red giro sticker on the downtube.

Nightmare i really liked that bike :(

im thinking about "staking out" the area over the next while

One night. in the car. see what i find. all i need is a lend of a nice 2k bike for bait.....

ANY TAKERS!!! :)

p.s. this isnt the craziest idea you know....

im thinking about "staking out" the area over the next while

One night. in the car. see what i find. all i need is a lend of a nice 2k bike for bait.....

ANY TAKERS!!! :)

p.s. this isnt the craziest idea you know....
    not a crazy idea , its a bloody good one if you have a balls to sort out the fellas , but at this stage view your bike as a goner and keep a eye on websites free ads etc for your bike it may be your only chance.

well i wouldnt do anything other than call the cop shop which is 20 seconds away.

Was talking to a girl in work who had a specialised robbed from the RSA office across the road.

These guys know what they want.

Might ask a friend for a lend of his bike and throw a flimsy lock on her.

I'll put it in the exact same place as I locked mine..

The more i think about it the more i like the idea...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭Daniel S

well i wouldnt do anything other than call the cop shop which is 20 seconds away.

Was talking to a girl in work who had a specialised robbed from the RSA office across the road.

These guys know what they want.

Might ask a friend for a lend of his bike and throw a flimsy lock on her.

I'll put it in the exact same place as I locked mine..

The more i think about it the more i like the idea...

Make sure you have about 10 people with you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

guards said its really common around the area (i had another bike robbed on the main street about a year ago)
    why the hell dont they have signs up WARNING people that thefts are active and not to lock your bike in the area??
    You had a bike stolen in the area and then locked another pricey bike with a less than substational lock and had it stolen, I doubt a sign would have made any difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

But would still be a 30minute (if you are very lucky) response time..

Really the police dont care about bike theft (or any low value theft like burglary etc), it is so low down on list of priorities. I know you lost 1k and if you asked anyone to hand over a grand for no reason it would sting a bit, but you need to stop getting angry and move on.. I give this advice as someone else with bitter experience!

Of course dreaming about a tooled up armed car and a 2k piece of bait does help with the grieving process...

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭camroc76

• Registered Users Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I generally don't park directly by cinemas or Luas stops. Or at least park at stops that are used almost exclusively by patrons of a cinema or the Luas. The problem is that you are implicitly saying that you will be gone for at least an hour.

On the other hand, a Fahgettaboudit or a top-rated Abus lock probably would do the trick, if only because there would be other bikes there that would be easier to steal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭C3PO

I know this is going to sound callous and genuinely I feel huge sympathy for anyone who's had their bike stolen but surely leaving a €1000 bike, without an adequate lock, in Balally, overnight (I did read that right?) is just asking for trouble? Frankly I'd have been surprised if it wasn't stolen! Having said that I really hope you get it returned.

The only reason why i parked it there was because of the volume of people due to Dundrum TC being packed.

Plus the luas was running late so there was a constant stream of people.

In regards to the cops not calling out because its a bike robbery.. if i waited out and a van pulled up beside the bait, i'd call the cops and say im witnessing a robbery...

dont have to tell them whats being robbed.

i'd put money on it that they would swing by in under a minute (they are just around the corner)

I really do think these knackers are around everyday.

the last time my bike got robbed on the main street, ALL the other bikes locked there were gone. When i spoke to the guards they said the guys pull up to a place where bikes are parked wearing high viz vests. Because they are in high viz people dont look twice and think its the council.

The guards make me laugh, they know all this and yet dont bother to warn people of the dangers of locking your bike beside the luas.

The luas and the local council need to address this problem.

The lock was fully functional.

Just spoke to Dundrum Guards and told them of my idea... Funnily enough the Guard thought the waiting out with bait was actually a good idea...

dont know what to make of that really.

I told him that the problem seems to be chronic and he said funny you should say that, but i just had someone in 5 minutes ago reporting a bike stolen..

SERIOUSLY - PUT A SIGN UP TO SAY DONT LOCK THERE!!!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Just to clarify, I didn't mean to imply that I thought that people who did lock at Luas stops were foolhardy. Obviously, that's the best place to park in terms of convenience.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

The lock was fully functional.

Nope. The "function" of a lock is to prevent theft. Given that your bike was stolen it clearly was not "fully functional".
    SERIOUSLY - PUT A SIGN UP TO SAY DONT LOCK THERE!!!:mad:

That's just wrong-headed. Bikes have to be locked up somewhere and you must realise that theives will follow. They're not going to go to the luas stop, find that thanks to the new sign there are no bikes and, hey-presto, decide that crime is no longer their calling. Are they?

Signs of the 'BEWARE THIEVES' variety do not exist to protect you from crime, they exist to protect proprietors of from your subsequent ire. This happened on public property so a sign would mean little more than 'LAWS UNENFORCED HERE' which is something local authorities are generally reluctant to commit to writing.

I'm sorry for your loss, but focus your anger at the thieves or (to a lesser extent) to the guards who consider bike-theft to be on a par with apple-scrumping and treat it with little more than a boy-will-be-boys dismissiveness. Getting angry about the lack of a sign is just bizarre.

Cars are fitted with locks and alarms etc.. and are still robbed. I locked the bike many times in town etc and it was fine.

Sure it may have been lucky that it wasnt robbed but im not stupid. I know that this wasnt someone walking around with a bolt cutters.

This (according to the cops) was a professional theft.

If these thefts are happening on a daily basis in the area,why not put a sign up to tell people?

This may also act as a warning to scum.

bizarre?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

If these thefts are happening on a daily basis in the area,why not put a sign up to tell people?

This may also act as a warning to scum.

bizarre?

What would it achieve? Would fewer bikes be stolen? Or would people simply park them elsewhere and the thieves move with them? You'd just be moving the problem, not solving it.

What I think is bizarre is the focus of your rage - signage, not the thieves, or the guards, or the people who no-doubt looked on as the croppers snipped your lock, or even yourself for breaking some of fundamental rules of how-to-not-have-your-bike-stolen. It just strikes me as odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

In regards to the cops not calling out because its a bike robbery.. if i waited out and a van pulled up beside the bait, i'd call the cops and say im witnessing a robbery...
    I doubt that they would come no matter what was being robbed..Witnessing a violent beating however... :D**
    I really do think these knackers are around everyday.

yep, and why? its too easy, no deterrent, win win situation. Same applies to house breaking, nothing to deter them - slightly off topic here but after speaking with someone about house alarms I was amused to find that they thought that it would stop (or at least make nervous) a thief from entering- would it feck - who ever pays attention to a house alarm going off in a street these days?

**Disclaimer - not actually promoting waiting in a van with bait and armed with bl00dy big sticks or iron bars to beat the crap out of thieving scumbags.. if anyone else is tho, please feel free to PM me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭HappyHarry

It sucks that your bike was stolen, and your frustration is understandable.

However, you need to face the harsh reality. You didn't have appropriate locks (I don't care what the person that sold it to you says). For a €1,000 bike, you should have at least two decent locks and use them in a smart way. I see many similar bikes locked around that area in stupid ways. The lock should be sufficiently sized (i.e. not too big) and placed in a hard to access place.

BTW, seen lots of bikes in the area with tape stuck over the name\model. Not going to fool many thieves!

If you bike was left there overnight, or for a few hours late at night then it is likely that no lock would have saved it. That was a bad idea and having had a bike stolen in the area before you should have known better.

The idea that the Luas was running late so that would help, is frankly naive, it's runs every half hour from 12am-3am.

Signs are not the answer, I hate to say it but monitored cameras in areas with large volume of bike parking (luas stops etc) may help.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

If you do try this bike / sting operation, you should probably try and rope at least one other person in on it so that one person can run into the station while the other person keeps on eye on the bike thieves. It's not worth thinking about if they managed to get away with a friend's bike while you were in a station shouting for a guard!