Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bodhran or Lambeg drum anyone (feral goat culling in Kerry)

• 13-12-2010 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

Return to Kerry,
    The day started out not too well, as I was getting dressed at 4am Sunday morning I pulled my jacket off the shelf and down drops a fekin 2lb wrench onto and bursting my big bloody toe,,,,so here I am leaping around the kitchen in my jocks eating my fist trying not to scream and waken herself and the kids upstairs......just what you need when your off hiking for the day.....:D

Collected 'Rugerman':rolleyes: at 4.30..ish and we landed onto our Deer ground about 7, the usual breakfast of coffee n a pish and went our separate ways arranging to meet at 11.
    Anyway to cut a long story short, seen a few sika but no shot.

The plan was to then Meet up with 'Shaft666' / ''666shaft'':rolleyes: after lunch to revisit the goats which we had begun to cull a few weeks ago at the request of the farmer / land owner.
    We estimate that there is approx 60 Feral goats on the property, you can see the extent of the problem by the numbers seen in the clip below. in the clip there are anout half a dozed sheep to the left of the screen with the remaining 'white dots' being goats.
    Here are a few photos, in total we culled 14 and there is a youtube clip where Rugerman takes 5 shots, cleanly taking 4 kills, two of which were head shots and the third shot in the sequence was a miss (you can plainly hear him cursing:D) We ranged this sequence at 300yrds.
    Shots during the afternoon were between 70-300 yrds and I was delighted to get a good clean kill at 400.
    I put the vid up on youtube this morning and within 20mins I had someone called WILDGOATLOVER calling me a gay smalldicked ****er, now seemingly I have got to go off and fu(k my sister which is terribly traumatic as she is really really not my type :D:D
    The rifles were my .308 ftr which really is too heavy for this lark and a 22-250
    Thanks to Rugerman for the ,chipmoney' and Shaft for the tea, i hope your back/heart/legs are ok today

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBgAKB-Whx4

63a49b3c.jpg
    cc8093e9.jpg
    c389d29c.jpg
    d1c06cb9.jpg
    3a727bcd.jpg
    3cf403d8.jpg
    44de9e24.jpg
    3cf403d8.gif
    727adb91.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Rugerman
    547511b6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Good shooting lads . Beautiful looking countryside there ..... Did ye happen to come across any other game when ye were hiking up there such as woodcock , snipe. phezzies... ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

great bit of shooting lads and good report nice to see them goats some nice horns on them fair play :cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭lamper35

great stuff nice toosee footage and story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

great shooting lads. great to see it on video as well.
    goat is the only species i haven't shot yet, if ye are ever looking for a hand culling i would love the opportunity;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Love the AICS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

there are some lovely hides there...pity there is no market for them to preserve them the way they are....they'd make some nice rugs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

4gun wrote: »
    there are some lovely hides there...pity there is no market for them to preserve them the way they are....they'd make some nice rugs :p

I've seen a few done and they do make a cracking rug as long as they can get THAT smell out! :eek:

Paul

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Some nice shooting there. Out of curiosity what does the FTR weigh in at? About the 13-14lb mark? Heavy haul alright.
    I had someone called WILDGOATLOVER ...............

With a name like that he has bigger issues than insulting you. :D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

very jealous
    fair play lads

Good shooting lads . Beautiful looking countryside there ..... Did ye happen to come across any other game when ye were hiking up there such as woodcock , snipe. phezzies... ?

Nothing but sheep and goats up there but it is very high up and fairly barren so wouldn't expect to meet much

Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

i knew i was ugly but not that ugly

rugerman wrote: »
    i knew i was ugly but not that ugly

Don't be harsh on yourself, you're much uglier than that! :eek:

Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

:eek::eek::eek: