Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shooting/hunting again?

• 10-12-2010 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭

god i cant wait till this snow go"s to get back shooting,but i thing the birds are gona need good week or to to recover,to give them a sporting chance.i wonder would they extend he season if only ha ha ha ha.........:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

god i cant wait till this snow go"s to get back shooting,but i thing the birds are gona need good week or to to recover,to give them a sporting chance.i wonder would they extend he season if only ha ha ha ha.........:eek:

I know exactly what you mean. I'm sick of the hard weather. Walked in on a pheasant this morning and it would have been one of the easiest shots I would have taken but all I could do was watch a beautiful bird survive for another day :D

Ye the birds will need at least a week to recover I'd say because the ground is still hard and will be difficult for a fews days to get food.

No hope for an extended season as it will be getting to close to their breeding season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

ya i know every where i go im seeing birds but its nice to see them doh hopefully they all make it through this hard weather,counted 15woodcock in a snow covered d other day imagine that if we had no snow..................................:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Pheasants shouldn't be hungry if your filling your hoppers...
    Wheat is a great fattener for birds & if in adequate supply there shouldnt be any issue.
    You should have plenty of hoppers checked regularly & a few in sanctuary areas within club grounds where they can eat & roost in peace. We only open these areas for a shot for the last 2 weeks of the season to cull the remaining cock pheasant numbers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

oh **** that forecast is scary hope he is wrong fingers crossed ,,,,,but what harm im going crow bashing tomorrow cant wait .im just going to make the most of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Weather looks ok till late next week - then it could well take a serious turn for the worst ie. mega Arctic plunge:eek:

was out this morning snow is mostly melted down here ground is soft enough and birds were out picking everywhere but if its going freeze again i could not see it being reopen next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

snipe02 wrote: »
    was out this morning snow is mostly melted down here ground is soft enough and birds were out picking everywhere but if its going freeze again i could not see it being reopen next week

Still 100% snow cover here but depths are dropping - Freezing again tonight though:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

The big shoots will be able to get an extension to the shooting season. No chance for ordinary clubs because as always money wins out. I would not want to shoot in February anyway but it is not very democratic that if you have the money you can shoot after everyone else has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Pheasants shouldn't be hungry if your filling your hoppers...
    Wheat is a great fattener for birds & if in adequate supply there shouldnt be any issue.
    You should have plenty of hoppers checked regularly & a few in sanctuary areas within club grounds where they can eat & roost in peace. We only open these areas for a shot for the last 2 weeks of the season to cull the remaining cock pheasant numbers....

How many hoppers do you have throughout your club E-pointer and what size drums are you using.

what part of the blackstairs are u under boy?oh yea where did u find a waterfowling club if u dont mind me asking:)

Check your pms berreta ;)

How many hoppers do you have throughout your club E-pointer and what size drums are you using.

We have 4 blue barrell ones over about 200 hundred acres in the centre of the shoot. Checked weekly & they last a good while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

why shouldn't the put down driven shoots ,get an extension at the end of the season ,they have one at the moment they are shooting away where most others :rolleyes: have stopped
    most years alot of them shoot into february anyway , at the end of the day they spend tens of thousands on birds, feed and wages along with other huge costs it dosn't bother me if a reared and cosseted pheasant is shot in february in the slightest sure that's what it's there for ;)
    now wild birds or migrants are a different story afaic

We got 9 X 50L blue drums, which we are in the process of making up, coz we've got nothing better to be doing at the moment. Hopefully we'll get some more made up for the new year when we release the birds.

As long as they are full a few scattered around the place & full, the birds will find em. With few lads feeding horses, sheep & cattle etc there's always good feeding around as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

a man in our gunclub usually releases pheasants for the club each year. last year there was 6 running together beside his house and this year nearly the same:rolleyes: he doesnt tell anybody how many were released or nothing. nobody puts out feeders cos they think somone will see them and think there must be birds around here and keep hunting the area:rolleyes:

[/why shouldn't the put down driven shoots ,get an extension at the end of the season ,they have one at the moment they are shooting away where most others have stopped
    most years alot of them shoot into february anyway , at the end of the day they spend tens of thousands on birds, feed and wages along with other huge costs it dosn't bother me if a reared and cosseted pheasant is shot in february in the slightest sure that's what it's there for
    now wild birds or migrants are a different story afaicQUOTE]

I just think it is not right that there is one specific season for the ordinary shooter but if you have lots of money and run a big commercial shoot you can get extensions to the season and hard weather bans do not affect you. It is not what a democracy is about. In a democracy the same rules apply for everyone. In this situation money dictates what rules will apply to you. Fair enough they are releasing a lot of birds and probably put more back into the countryside than they take out but it still does not make it right in my book.

How do you know that commercial shoots have lots of money, a lot of shoots are borrowed to their bollocks especially the smaller ones and a lot of guys who shoot on them save all year to do it. If the IPWS decide to shut them down due to the bad weather they will and do go under, and the ordinary shooters who save all year to go on them would in a lot of cases loose their deposits.

The birds on these shoots are for the most part well looked after and fed every day, the birds are often twice the size of anything you'll find out in the wild, they are dosed for worms, fed vitamins and antibiotics so they are in good condition come the shooting season. Why should they stop shooting just to calm your moral values. I was beating on one last Satuday week and the birds flew just as well as they flew any of the other days during the season so far.

Its the birds in the wild that suffer.

Its just my opinion. Generally speaking the driven shoots are commercial ventures in this country. There are few dedicated driven shoots run by syndicates purely for enjoyment and are not profit making. The commercial shoots are business ventures set up to make a profit each year. From this profit they will pay tax to the government. The government will not make money from gun clubs and syndicate shoots. Allowing the commercial shoots to shoot when everyone else stops because of hard weather and allowing them to shoot when the season finishes proves that the government does not give a toss about the game birds welfare it cares about the money it will make from allowing these commercial shoots to shoot. Then they ban the rough shooters and in my opinion this is just throwing a bone to the IPWS and giving the impression that the government has the welfare of wildlife to heart. Do not get me wrong I agree with the ban but it should be everyone or no one. The few birds my gun club release are also well looked after, dosed for worms, fed vitamins and antibiotics so they are in good order come the shooting season. The only difference between my gun club and a big commercial shoot is we do not make a profit so therefore we have nothing to offer the state whereas the commercial shoots do. It is not about the birds it is about PR and money.

http://www.nargc.ie/site.aspx ban extended until tues 21st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

O dear, :(is someone acting silly bugger,

I thought there has to be a number of consecutive days of hard weather....

me thinks so to its a bit of a joke

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage & Local Government, Mr John Gormley, TD, has today EXTENDED the initial Hunting Ban (details below) until midnight on Tuesday, December 21st 2010 at which stage the Ban will again be reviewed in light of the then prevailing weather conditions.

No less than the minister himself, fair play to him.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

No less than the minister himself, fair play to him.:rolleyes:

I hope there was consultation with the appropriate authorities CAI, NARGC, NPWS etc:rolleyes: it would be awful if he was flying solo on this

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Problem there cavan shooter is the Minister is within his authority to do so with or without consultation.

However he would be foolish to ignore or not consult with them. Thing is there is now no shooting untill at least the 21st and if the expected weather does come it could be extended further. :eek:
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo