Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man awarded €25,000 after bouncers broke his arm

• 08-12-2010 11:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

I can't figure out how to copy and paste from the Metro e-edition but this dude was hammered, went up to try and get into a nightclub and the bouners pinned him to the ground and pulled his arm up behind his back forcefully. He went home and was in pain so went to the hospital and found that it was actually broken. Judge just awarded him €25,000 damages because the bouncers used unnecssary force.

When I was younger you'd see this loads. Bouncers ime are way too forceful and pushy. I heard another story about a guy and his girlfriend who were out having a few drinks and wanted to stay after hours. Annoying yes but then the bouncers stepped in and literally kicked the sh&te out of the guy and threw them both out.

They get drunk on the power trip.

Edit: * waits for the inevitable joke about not being able to copy and paste from the Metro e-edition. You try it so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Kimia wrote: »
    I can't figure out how to copy and paste from the Metro e-edition but this dude was hammered, went up to try and get into a nightclub and the bouners pinned him to the ground and pulled his arm up behind his back forcefully. He went home and was in pain so went to the hospital and found that it was actually broken. Judge just awarded him €25,000 damages because the bouncers used unnecssary force.

When I was younger you'd see this loads. Bouncers ime are way too forceful and pushy. I heard another story about a guy and his girlfriend who were out having a few drinks and wanted to stay after hours. Annoying yes but then the bouncers stepped in and literally kicked the sh&te out of the guy and threw them both out.

They get drunk on the power trip.

Edit: * waits for the inevitable joke about not being able to copy and paste from the Metro e-edition. You try it so!!

I read that story in the metro. If a court of law found they used unneccesary force then so be it.

The bit that got me was that he called an ambulance from his home to take him to hospital! The f*cker should have been fined the 25k for wasting the ambulances time. It was a broken arm FFS.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

This sounds abouut right. Not sure what there is to discuss but the good folk of AH will no doubt find something to get up in arms about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ah, I've seen bouncers being far too agressive on guys, itching to flatten them resulting in the other bouncers pulling them away.

That being said, there's been plenty of dirty fùckers I've seen that deserved a beaten from bouncers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

excessive force used by a failure in a cheap suit, these guys need to cop on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I read that story in the metro. If a court of law found they used unneccesary force then so be it.

The bit that got me was that he called an ambulance from his home to take him to hospital! The f*cker should have been fined the 25k for wasting the ambulances time. It was a broken arm FFS.
    Did you want him to drive?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

If you already have subdued a guy on the ground and break his arm by using unnessary force that sounds about right to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Einstein wrote: »
    Did you want him to drive?

Perhaps he could have used the same method of transport which got him home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I saw an abusive girl being calmed and politely escorted from the premises of a public house last night. The bouncer dealt with her in a very professional manner.

It was a fuggin' disgrace! What do I have to rant about now? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭falabo

bouncers have no brain so they don't realise if they apply too much force they could hurt someone, so hardly their fault !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The bit that got me was that he called an ambulance from his home to take him to hospital!
    He was hammered. So thankfully he decided not to drive. And he might have had no cash or maybe it was too late to get a taxi (many places don't answer the phone after 3 or 4am).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I've never seen bouncers being too forceful myself.

I think they do a grand job in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I saw an abusive girl being calmed and politely escorted from the premises of a public house last night. The bouncer dealt with her in a very professional manner.

It was a fuggin' disgrace! What do I have to rant about now? :mad:

I know! And this kind of thing happens all the time. What are we supposed to do about this carry on? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Calling an ambulance adds more credibility to the case when it is up in front of a judge. I would do the same.

It should be up to the HSE to claim the cost of sending out the ambulance from the defendant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

seamus wrote: »
    He was hammered. So thankfully he decided not to drive. And he might have had no cash or maybe it was too late to get a taxi (many places don't answer the phone after 3 or 4am).

Dont be making excuses for people who use ambulances inappropriately. There should be some kind of extra charge payable for using them.

For some reason, people often think that if they come into hospital in a big vehicle with lights flashing, they will be seen and treated immediately, or quicker than someone else. Which is utter nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

marco_polo wrote: »
    If you already have subdued a guy on the ground and break his arm by using unnessary force that sounds about right to me.

they could have tried talking to him. too many bouncers hopped up on roids looking for the scrap.

Pubs whose door this happens on should lose their licence for six months. That may seem harsh but the lesson needs to be rammed home. I was a bar man and a bar manager for years and I was especially hard on overly aggressive doormen. They tarnished the name and reputation of the public house and created a nasty, confrontational atmosphere inside the pub. The best door men I worked with were the chatty talkers because they diffused 99% of situations by isolating the trouble maker, calming him down and giving him just the bit of space to clear his head. The friendly doorman with a smile and a hello is your first port of call in a public house. I always wanted each and everyone of my staff to make you feel like you were in a home away from home. You paid enough for the privilege of being in the pub, I did not want you feeling like you were strip searched going into my establishment.

It is the reason I pointedly refuse to go to the trendy pubs, doormen who create restrictive door policies to maintain a veneer of exclusivity. No thanks I want my public house to be the epitome of diversity.

Calling an ambulance adds more credibility to the case when it is up in front of a judge. I would do the same..

:D No, it doesnt. Especially when it appears it was a simple fractured arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Bouncers are an easy target, there's good and bad like in any job really. But I've often wondered how do they endure hours of drunken/drugged up twits getting in their face?

drkpower wrote: »
    Dont be making excuses for people who use ambulances inappropriately. There should be some kind of extra charge payable for using them.

I've never got one, but I thought you did have to pay something? :confused:

bluewolf wrote: »

Nor have I; I didnt think you had to pay extra, thought it was covered by whatver the A&E fee is these days. But I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Dont be making excuses for people who use ambulances inappropriately.
    I'm not. I'm simply pointing out that he may have had no other choice, in which case it would be appropriate. If he had no other means of getting there, would you expect him to walk to the hospital in the middle of the night instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Well it worked for him.

.......... he has 25K in his arse pocket. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭IrishB.ie

How do we know the boucers broke his arm. If he was tanked up, he could have gone home, fallen, broke his arm then as the pain kicks in and he starts to sober, he thinks.....blame the bouncers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

about time that pub in question got pulled up over their bouncers. they've been very heavy handed for years and they have been getting away with it. a friend of mine got a belt of a walkie talkie across the head while breaking up a fight.

Well it worked for him.

.......... he has 25K in his arse pocket. :p

....and he might have had €35K if the judge didnt think he was a waster for calling an ambulance.

Seriously, people need to stop thinking that an ambulance = a more serious condition. Doctors & nurses dont think it so there is no reason for the public to think it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It left him with one arm permanently shorter than the other...doesn't sound like that simple a fracture to me...

IrishB.ie wrote: »
    How do we know the boucers broke his arm.

Because its on video.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This sounds abouut right. Not sure what there is to discuss but the good folk of AH will no doubt find something to get up in arms about.

Yes, no doubt someone will suggest that the bouncer should be given the elbow.

seamus wrote: »
    I'm not. I'm simply pointing out that he may have had no other choice, in which case it would be appropriate. If he had no other means of getting there, would you expect him to walk to the hospital in the middle of the night instead?

I would doubt he had no other choice; for a straightforward fracture, a friend, a family member or a taxi are reasonable options before you start phoning an ambulance. Im not saying it is never acceptable; im saying it is very rarely acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nodin wrote: »

Oh sure! You can prove anything with evidence. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

How do we know the boucers broke his arm. If he was tanked up, he could have gone home, fallen, broke his arm then as the pain kicks in and he starts to sober, he thinks.....blame the bouncers
    The CCTV footage shown in court was probably a clue.

No, whats on video is the bouncer pinning his arm behind his back. He then gets up and goes home.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

they could have tried talking to him. too many bouncers hopped up on roids looking for the scrap.

Pubs whose door this happens on should lose their licence for six months. That may seem harsh but the lesson needs to be rammed home. I was a bar man and a bar manager for years and I was especially hard on overly aggressive doormen. They tarnished the name and reputation of the public house and created a nasty, confrontational atmosphere inside the pub. The best door men I worked with were the chatty talkers because they diffused 99% of situations by isolating the trouble maker, calming him down and giving him just the bit of space to clear his head. The friendly doorman with a smile and a hello is your first port of call in a public house. I always wanted each and everyone of my staff to make you feel like you were in a home away from home. You paid enough for the privilege of being in the pub, I did not want you feeling like you were strip searched going into my establishment.

It is the reason I pointedly refuse to go to the trendy pubs, doormen who create restrictive door policies to maintain a veneer of exclusivity. No thanks I want my public house to be the epitome of diversity.

I though it was pretty clear I meant the court decision was correct , not the bouncers actions.

No, whats on video is the bouncer pinning his arm behind his back. He then gets up and goes home.

So it's just a coincidence that the Bouncer forced his arm up towards his neck and the very same night he ends up with (what sounds like) a complicated fracture of that same arm?

Unless the Bouncer/Pub was being represented by Lionel Hutz I am sure that the possibility was explored and ruled out by medical evidence.

....and he might have had €35K if the judge didnt think he was a waster for calling an ambulance.

Seriously, people need to stop thinking that an ambulance = a more serious condition. Doctors & nurses dont think it so there is no reason for the public to think it.
    The guy had the sh*t kicked out of him by a thug, how did he know at the time it was just his arm. He would have had his adrenaline on high at the time and may have not noticed other more serious injuries.

So it's just a coincidence that the Bouncer forced his arm up towards his neck and the very same night he ends up with (what sounds like) a complicated fracture of that same arm?

Not a coincidence, convenient, "if" he fell and broke it himself accidentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭spoonface

bluewolf wrote: »

I broke my collar bone in Sweden on the slopes and an ambulance was needed. The hospital charged basically nothing for the x-ray etc but charged around 700 for the ambulance, which I think was fair enough. That's a service that the HSE could reasonably charge for.

The judge stated she was satisfied that the video showed them using excessive force.

It left him with one arm permanently shorter than the other...doesn't sound like that simple a fracture to me...

We are probably using the term 'simple' in different ways.

I mean a simple fracture, in the sense of it not being a compund fracture which would raise the risks of infection or other issues. Short of that, in most cases, there is no need for a young man to get an ambulance.

drkpower wrote:

Alcohol wears off, adrenaline wears off...pain kicks in...a "simple" fracture hurts like hell. And continues to get worse and worse.

Thats like sayin "ah sure all he had was a cut on the head, why call an ambulance when he could have just put a plaster on"

Calling an ambulance for a suspected fracture is far from wasting time.

Not a coincidence, convenient, "if" he fell and broke it himself accidentially.
    But would you not say that that's a very big "if"?
    CCTV shows the incident with him and the bouncer and on the same night he gets admitted to hospital with a complicated fractured arm.
    And I'm sure this type of fracture would have been consistent with the treatment dished out to him by the bouncer so I'd seriously doubt if the same injury could occur through a simple fall.

The guy had the sh*t kicked out of him by a thug, how did he know at the time it was just his arm. He would have had his adrenaline on high at the time and may have not noticed other more serious injuries.

Was there a question of concussion? Or a serious head injury?

Without the above, most young men are very capable of noticing if they have serious injuries or not. Pumping adrenaline doesnt usually mask the symptoms of serious injury requiring urgent treatment and transfer to Hospital by ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Of course he should have called an ambulance. How would anyone know whether it was a simple fracture? Fractures can have complications and he ended up with a shorter arm which doesn't suggest a simple fracture.

Also he could have gone into shock. I did when my arm broke. Shock is not a simple or trivial matter.

Was there a question of concussion? Or a serious head injury?

Without the above, most young men are very capable of noticing if they have serious injuries or not. Pumping adrenaline doesnt usually mask the symptoms of serious injury requiring urgent treatment and transfer to Hospital by ambulance.
    No, but combined with alcohol and endorphins it would.

Alcohol wears off, adrenaline wears off...pain kicks in...a "simple" fracture hurts like hell. And continues to get worse and worse.

Thats like sayin "ah sure all he had was a cut on the head, why call an ambulance when he could have just put a plaster on"

Calling an ambulance for a suspected fracture is far from wasting time.

No; its wating resources.

'Hurting like hell' does not warrant an ambulance; the paramedics wont give you analgesia that is any stronger than what you can get in Spar; in fact they probably wont give you any at alll. And arriving at Hospital by ambulance wont get you treatment any earlier than arriving by taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

That's my plan! hehe

And I missed the pun :(

Ah well.

No, but combined with alcohol and endorphins it would.

Are you suggesting that anyone with alcohol on board, and whose 'adrenaline' and 'endorphins' are pumping, should get an ambulance because those factors might be masking the signs and symptoms of serious illness?

Or what are you saying, in fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

tricky D wrote: »
    Of course he should have called an ambulance. How would anyone know whether it was a simple fracture? Fractures can have complications and he ended up with a shorter arm which doesn't suggest a simple fracture.

Also he could have gone into shock. I did when my arm broke. Shock is not a simple or trivial matter.

:DLol; what kind of 'shock' did you go into with your fractured arm.....?!