Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a "one that got away"?

• 05-12-2010 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭

Got thinking about this earlier as I was commenting on a post on facebook by who I consider my one to be. By the one that got away I mean someone you met and fancied but never wound up together for whatever reason, yet you still hold a soft spot for.
    This girl though, sigh :o she asked me out once years ago but her ex came back into the picture and they decided to give things another go (that'd be the "getting away" part), didnt work out in the end but by the time she was single again I wasn't, and round it goes. Had a major crush on her(still do) and tbh figured she was out of my league,I was on cloud nine when she asked me out I mean this girl is just stunning looking, I've never met someone so naturally pretty as her, really photogenic, perfect skin, has an amazing personality as well. has a noble profession, great sense of humour and isnt afraid to take the piss out of herself,and has pretty much the exact same taste in movies and music as I do, we used to get on like a house on fire, she doesnt live in the same city anymore but any time I've ever bumped into her when she's been here since I get a major case of the butterflies :o

so tLL peeps, anyone else got any tales?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

If you feel that way about her, how do you feel about your OH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

What OH? I'm very much single

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I had a huge crush on the lad I am with now anytime I saw him my stomach would flip, he started hanging around with my brother and we used to spends hours chatting and hanging out. Whatever happened they stopped hanging out and I never really saw him until three years later when his friend started going out with one of my friends. Long story short we started hanging out more and one day when we were hanging out in town our friends ditched us and we ended up kissing :rolleyes: Over three and a half years later we have been inseparable :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    I had a huge crush on the lad I am with now anytime I saw him my stomach would flip, he started hanging around with my brother and we used to spends hours chatting and hanging out. Whatever happened they stopped hanging out and I never really saw him until three years later when his friend started going out with one of my friends. Long story short we started hanging out more and one day when we were hanging out in town our friends ditched us and we ended up kissing :rolleyes: Over three and a half years later we have been inseparable :D

But he didnt get away, you got him :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

Ooh, nice one Krudler!

Mine was a boy I worked with in a newsagents in Rathmines. I kissed him a couple of times on nights out, but he always said he was too old for me (he was 20, I was 17 or something). I was so mad about him, I don't think I've ever met someone who so embodied the meaning of nice. He was a nice boy.

He went to Spain for a summer, I went to Wales for college after that and I never heard from him again. I still type his name in facebook the odd time in the hope of hearing from him again.

Ahhh.....bitter sweet memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I had one years ago. When I met him I was too young, and then when I got older we were both in relationships for a few years. So I guess for a while I did feel like he was the one who got away. But then, when we did actually get together it wasn't half what I'd built it up to be in my mind and it didn't last. He turned out to be a complete ass, and we never talk at all now (thank god!), but I'm glad I got it out of my system back then so that I wouldn't always wonder 'what if'.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

I remember about 7 years ago I met a drop-dead gorgeous lad from Limerick, up at home in Sligo doing toolmaking in FAS. We had a couple, of dates, fooled around a couple of times and I just remember him being really sweet and funny.
    He wanted to see me before he finished up in FAS but circumstances conspired against it, he got the wrong idea and thought I wasn't interested but I was! Still couldn't get to see him though, and that was the end of that. He returned to Limerick just before Christmas, we kept in occasional contact until I lost my phone on NYE and had no way of getting his number. I started seeing someone else soon after so pretty much forgot about him until a few days ago.

I live in Limerick now, and was telling my housemate about him and how for pretty much the remainder of my student days I lusted after and hooked up with FAS boys almost exclusively (mmmm tradesmen mmmmmmm). I wonder where he is now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Yes, I do.

I was dating an absolutely lovely,gorgeous guy for about a year when I was in college.
    We fancied each other like mad and he was incredibly kind,but I was a bit of a masochist back then and treated him very badly, eventually dumping him by text. I have thought of him many times since and how I wished Id done things differently with hmi. He was down giving a talk in Cork recently and I was so tempted to go down and try and reignite old passions,but he rejected me as a friend on facebook and i hear hes in a long term relationship now ,so I thought it best to leave bygones as bygones.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

x

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Aw Maple, such a bittersweet story. Thanks for sharing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I snogged the most amazingly beautiful guy in the world (who was also lovely!) at a party about 5 years ago, he wanted to go out some time but I had recently started seeing (non-exclusivley!) a guy who turned out to be a complete and utter psychopath and who stalked me for 18months after we ended.

Oh how I wish I'd just yes to that hot guy....

Every time out paths crossed for the next few years one of us has always been in a relationship....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Met this boy on a holiday many moons ago. (Is that the most frequently used phrase in the English language or what? :D)

I sometimes have instant attractions to people, like the second I first lay eyes on them something inside clicks and that's it for me - my gut has spoken (Wibbs would I think say it is not "gut", it is all very base and sexual... well, I believe in such a thing as chemistry, and it doesn't always have to be purely sexual but it can kick in right away).

Anyway, so it was with him. The second I saw him I thought: "WOW. Way out of my league. Forgeddaboudit." and didn't pay him much attention after that. HOWEVER, to my very great surprise and delight, he started showing signs that he liked me, searching me out, talking, asking me out on an evening, complimenting me on appearance etc. But (and I am putting it down to the fact that we were both young and inexperienced) things remained very chaste, there was not much to write home about (;)).

We kept in touch after the holiday, and after a time I went to visit him (as he lived at home, I was staying in separate accomodation). Again, we had a few dates and at the end of one of them I got a KISS. Which (I am most probably a saddo for this, but I don't care) remains the most significant kiss of my entire life; after I entered my accomodation, I don't know how I looked but someone asked me if I was OK. I was OK, I was merely shaken to the core. :D Of course I didn't sleep that night.

Fast forward a few years and I saw him again, but everything had changed; whatever had been between us, had somehow fizzled out. Nothing remained, not even friendship, unfortunately. I don't know why that is, I never actually managed to figure him out. It has now been a very long time since I saw him or heard of him (years and years).

What is left for me is a beautiful memory of an utter infatuation, which happened to be requited when I least expected it, so although not much actually "happened", I do cherish it all. It was magic. Nowadays I know that things like that are only possible when one is young and expects the best out of people (and sometimes gets it). I know that I could never feel such giddiness about anyone again, not because there is no one to be giddy about, but because I have lost my ability for giddiness. :(

So yes, he was "the one that got away". Although it now seems like a different person it happened to, in a different lifetime. I can't honestly say there is any regret there, as there is no feeling left, only the memory of a feeling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭pollypocket10

I used to, it was guy I used to work with in my part-time job all the way through college and most of secondary school. We both had oh's when we first met and I broke up with my guy October one year. We had a drunken kiss at the Christmas party that year and he broke up with his GF a couple of weeks later ( not because of me, but I think the kiss made him realise he wasn't ready to be settled down yet.

We sort of started seeing each other then but I was going travelling that Summer so nothing serious, then he was going travelling when I got back. Then one or other of us were in relationships so there was always something.

Then I met my other half and realised there was a very good reason that it didn't work out with the other guy :) I still bump into him the odd time and he is really such a lovely guy, he will make someone very happy... just not me, and I'm happy with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭cards

I met a girl one morning and when we looked at each other a spark, as in a crack went off in the space between our minds.I always thought it was just an expression of chemistry,attraction not an actual kind of psychic phenomenon.Anyway,I was an absolute mess on every level that morning as had a brother in hospital and choose not to speak with her and never saw her again.It made me sad for a long time but I don't think it could have worked in the time that has passed anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

krudler wrote: »
    But he didnt get away, you got him :p

Yes but he nearly got away I'm glad that I went for it when I had the chance I could imagine the regret now if I hadn't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

yep, i do, but i've moved beyond it now

its a guy i met on my first day in college, lets call him z

we became firm friends all throughout college

everyone around us thought we should be together, we got on really well, spent loads of time together, went on holidays together etc. i remember one friend even saying to me "but ye even finish each others sentences, ye were meant to be together"

nothing happened between us for 6 years., and there was no spark there on either side. in that time, i met someone and started going out with him, but remained great friends with z. one stupid drunken night, i had a fight with the b/f and stormed off, went out with z and ended up having a one-nighter with him. (am not proud of having cheated, i'm just telling the story as it happened)

after the ONS, we never acnowledged it or spoke about it, just fell back into our friendship.

my relationship broke up, and he started a relationship about a year before mine ended. his lasted about 9 months.

so suddenly, we were both single, both recently heart-broken and both scared sh1tless that we would start something that wouldnt work and end up losing our closest friend. we talked about it at length and i'll always remember his words "i'm so paralysed by the enormity of what we could have that i cant do anything, i'm scared and excited and terrified all at once".

we eventually decided to just get over ourselves and make a go of it. we ended up in bed that night, and the next morning we were idly chatting and he made a comment about the children we would have. i froze. for reasons i'm not going to go into here, children are not on my agenda. it's the one thing thats non-negotiable for me. unfortunately, he wanted kids, non-negotiable for him.

amid many many tears we decided there was no point having a fling for the sake of it.

we are still firm friends. he has since married and has kids, and is very happy. his wife has become a good friend of mine, and she knows our history.

for a while, i harboured a notion that he would change his mind about teh kids issue, but i know that he would not have ben happy doing so, it would have been a huge compromise and i couldnt ask him to do that, considering i wasnt prepared to do it myself.

occasionally, i do stop and wonder what could have been if things were different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Sortof, I gave up waiting for him to grow up though :(

He's married now (I was invited to the wedding but was conveniently busy that weekend) and I wish him all the best, but I've yet to find anyone like him. I'm still youngish though so fingers crossed!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I became friends with a guy when I was about 14 and instantly fancied him. I fell head over heels for him but he wasn't interested in me at all. We remained friends, and catch up once or twice a year when we meet each other in the pub. I still fancy the pants off him, and it's no coincidence that every guy I've ever gone out with looks just like him. He's in a long term relationship but I still secretly hope that one day we'll get together :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ive posted this before looking for advice but...........Long story made short. Met a girl (Girl A) while on hols in spain aug 2009 she gave me "her number" it wasnt hers it was someone else's (Girl B), and it snowballed form there I was txting and ringing this new girl (Girl B) and she was wow!!! I was moving to Canada in Oct 2009 as I had work lined up so through the jigs and the reels we didnt get a chance to meet but kept in contact while i was over there, then her ex put a spanner in the works (personal) I txt her after I came back after 6 mths and was basically told to f off. Totally gutted. Im heading back to Canada in Jan for good thanks to the state of the economy and Ive chatted to friends and family about if I should get in touch or leave well alone because I wont be back for a long time, and their feeling is go for it but my heart tells me if she wanted to contact me she would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

I had a "one that got away"... we met here in Galway two years ago, while he was still a student, in the final year of his degree. We were seeing each other for a few weeks and hit it off like I had with nobody else, ever. We were actually just the male/female version of each other.
    For those few weeks we were seeing each other we both tried to act cool about the other, and not wear our hearts on our sleeves. However, it soon became clear to us both what we had, but realising that you may have found The One at the age of 19 (me) or 20 (him) can be terrifying, and he soon got cold feet and backed off, much to my disappointment. We blamed it on the fact that he was in final year and I was preparing to go abroad for a year in May, and that it just couldnt work.
    The rest of that college year was a haze of Mr Not Right But He'll Do's and hooking up with guys I didnt care about because I knew I wouldn't get hurt. 6 months later, in May, I moved to France for the summer; then, at the end of August, I moved to Spain for my Erasmus year.
    While in France, I found him on Facebook. We spoke a couple of times, remembered what we'd been like together but I was now in another country, and it wasn't long before I noticed that he was distancing himself again. I had put a sea between us, but the emotional gap he was putting between us seemed bigger.
    At the end of September, about a month after I had moved to Spain, we started talking again. He was now in a relationship that wasn't going so well. He was also finished college, unable to find work and feeling down about being back under his parents' roof. I was unhappy in Spain as I felt that the city I was in was a dead-end, and my friends were all so far away. We spent a lot of time talking online and I don't know if it was because he remembered that I had been so much better to and for him than his current girlfriend, or because I was simply there for him, but he ended his relationship with her. He told me that he'd been a twat to treat me the way he had and wanted to make up for it. I took this with a pinch of salt, but when I was back in Galway at the end of October for a weekend, he came and met me and told me he loved me.
    We spent most of that weekend together and pondered what to do next. We talked about waiting til I got home for good the following summer, but ended up in a relationship anyway. Three weeks later I was home again for my brother and sister's confirmation, and he came to Donegal and met all my extended family. We were definitely official, and a year later we still very much are :D
    So, moral of the story, don't give up on the one who got away, because in my case he realised he'd never wanted to get away in the first place. Aww, happy ending!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

What a lovely story. I don't have a one that got away yet.....But maybe one day I will have one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭calibelle

Ah I love the stories where they didn't quite get away....or not for long!
    I have one- met a few years back when we lived next door to each other, we got on really well and I knew he liked me but I was in a relationship then when mine was finished he was and then again it was my turn! We stayed friends and now both been single for the last few months and he told me he'd always liked me and really wanted to give it a go.....but then he had a major car crash and moved home for a while and has been working madly ever since he got back so between his shifts and my own commitments we haven't managed more than a few nights! We decided in the end to leave it as it was causing so much stress for both of us so back to just friends!

Nothing I can do to change any of it but hes definately the one that could have been the one!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Unfortunately. All because I'm an idiot too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

not really a one that got away more a one that i love to pieces but ill never be with as a girlfriend if that makes sense.

we met 6 years ago on a chatroom and hit it off straight away. Since then the what if convo has come up so many times Ive lost count, but weve finally decided no just friends if were ment to be a couple something will cause it to happen.

I can honestly say hand on heart he is one of my closest and dearest friends, tbh I think he knows me better than myself at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

When I was about seventeen, I got a job in River Island and on my very first day, we were closing the shop when this absolute vision of a guy appeared on the shop floor. I remember thinking, "Wow". He was like a picture perfect copy of my 'ideal' boy - floppy hair, dark eyes, tall and had that quiet, mysterious thing going on. Then he smiled at me, and I never knew what it meant to swoon before then, but oh, I swooned.

Turned out he worked in the stockroom and over the next few weeks and months, we became good friends. I was terrified of the multistory car-park so he'd walk me to my car after work. Then I started to drive him home, even though it was a two minute walk for him. We'd sit outside his house for ages and talk and hug, I mean hour long hugs... The tension was unbearable. I was dying for him to kiss me, I was too shy to make a move, so was he. It eventually happened. I thought I'd burst with happiness and excitement.

I was all kinds of crazy about him, but I couldn't tell him. In fact, loads of times I listed reasons to him of why we shouldn't be together, all the time waiting for him to argue with me, to say I was being silly. But he didn't.

We slept together after many, many chats about it. He was a virgin and because I'd sorta rushed into losing mine, I wanted to make sure he wouldn't make the same mistake. He assured me over and over that he wanted to, so we did. I guess after that it just became sex. It's funny, I kinda thought or hoped that having sex would bring us closer... but it did the opposite. I started to think he was using me, and he was thinking the same of me which of course he admitted when it was too late.

He started seeing another girl, and I said I was happy, said I was fine. We stayed friends after that, texted on and off but never mentioned anything that had happened.

Sometime last year, he texted me out of blue and asked me why I'd strung him along! I told him that I'd always liked him, you know how this bit goes, the 'I liked you' confession, the 'Why didn't you tell me?'. It was too late though, I'd been hurt and in my head, it was over and I'd moved on and I couldn't feel any of what I'd felt anymore. All that was left was the regret of not being braver.

I don't feel sad now, nor do I miss him. I have a wonderful boyfriend and maybe if I'd never had the one who got away, I'd never have known how important it is to just say how you feel. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

My guy, well he's my friends cousin, and so we're always seeing each other out which kind of sucks :(

Anyway, the story. Met him back in May 2007, six weeks before I went off travelling. We just clicked that night, had our first kiss outside the pub with an old drunk serenading us, can remember it exactly. Fell in love, he told me he loved me after 3 weeks, and then another 3 weeks later I was 'leaving on a jet plane' :( I was away for 9 months and I actually pined for him. Even wrote a very embarrassing letter to him declaring how much I still loved him & missed him...not a great idea! (he actually thought when he got the letter that it was me telling him he was a dad :o)

When I got back after 9 months, we ended up hooking up again, but basically he then told me that he had feelings for someone else and he shouldn't have kissed me. Unfortunately, couldn't help chemistry & we kept hooking up from time to time on nights out, with him making drunken promises to me & then not talking to me when he was sober. Story of life huh?

I then started going out with a guy who I had gone out with before, and we'd stayed friends. Were together 18 months, but the feelings for me changed. Figured out that it had to finish finally, when I realised one night that if I saw the first guy out with another girl I'd want to claw her eyes out, while if I'd seen my boyfriend out with another girl, I wouldn't have cared. Made me realise that I still had feelings for the first guy, that I was still getting that jolt in my stomach when I saw him, and that it wasn't good to have these feelings when I was with someone else.

So now I'm single, and still have those strong feelings for this guy. Only I've begun to realise he's a child really, I know he has feelings for me (do I sound deranged yet...?) because he just gets this look on his face, and we have this insane chemistry together, even if it's just talking we always end up flirting & teasing each other. Meh...I do sound either tragic or deranged.

So he's the one who has potentially got away, or maybe I should think that I'm the one who got away from him? I really wish I could meet someone else who I could have even more of a chemistry & connection with, a guy who could make my stomach jump so much that I'd nearly vomit...I think it's the only way that I can see at the moment of me actually getting over this guy.

Sorry for the long post, as you can all see, I have a lot of issues with this guy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

For those who have a 'one that got away (OTGA)', and now have a partner, how do you feel about the OTGA versus your current partner?

Oddly I just finished reading a book called 'One Day' by David Nicholls which deals with the above issue.

I recommend it, its a non-soppy look at the 'When Harry met Sally' issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Brill book. Made me cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Brill book. Made me cry.
    I wouldn't go as far as crying, but I definitely felt melancholic after it.

Sometimes you just want a happy ending. Why can't some endings be happy?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

meriwether wrote: »
    Sometimes you just want a happy ending. Why can't some endings be happy?

Because our fairy godmothers are all on strike due to government imposed budget cuts in their spending on sparkle dust and magic wands.

/infracts self for dragging thread off-topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

My OTGA was totally unsuitable. (Maybe that's why I still can't get them out of my head after 8 years?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

meriwether wrote: »
    For those who have a 'one that got away (OTGA)', and now have a partner, how do you feel about the OTGA versus your current partner?

Oddly I just finished reading a book called 'One Day' by David Nicholls which deals with the above issue.

I recommend it, its a non-soppy look at the 'When Harry met Sally' issue.

Good question :)

they both mean the world to me in different ways( tho as i said hes not really a one that got away more a one that will alwyas be a friend).

my bf is the sweetest guy ive ever met, he treats me like a princess. he tells me im beautiful even if i look like crap after a night out and always calls when he says he will.

my otga is one of my best friends, i can say anything to him or ask him anything and he will answer me honestly. he really proved how good a friend he was in 2009 when he sat up all night with me on msn( he lives in aberdeen in Scotland) when my grandad was rushed to hospital even tho he had a job interveiw at 10 the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

My one that got away has since passed away but I will always remember him.

Maybe hes the reason I can't settle with anyone else, I compare them all to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭little lady

I met a guy when I was in college, he’s a few years older than me, we hit it off, he was a HUGE flirt and I knew it. He was going out with a girl so nothing every happened but he did the whole gentleman thing and I was quite smitten. He gave me his home number when we were breaking up for Christmas. It was the time of no mobiles so I eventually got up the courage to call him one night, and he was at home with his girlfriend!!

We stayed friends, I ended up going out with one of his mates for just over a year and after college we lost contact.

I found him on BEBO about 3 years ago, we swapped number. I was meeting up with old college friends in a pub where he worked, we met up and chatted. As both of us were single I asked him out, he initially said yes but then chickened out. I seen him a few times after that, he said he was afraid “as I was too forward”!!! :eek: He kissed me that night, unfortunately I was drunk and don’t remember what it was like. :D

He doesn’t talk to me now when I see him, not too sure why. I heard recently that he got married and I think he has a child although it could be hers and not his.

It’s such a pity we never went on that date, I don’t think it would ever have gone any further, but it could have been a lot of fun. He’s definitely one that got away ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Heck, a few of them. Whoever said hindsight's a great thing is talking through their hat... Regret's no great shakes either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Behold the ultimate "one that got away" song...it's also a Christmas song.
    I defy anyone not to feel a lump in their throat by the end. You have to listen to the last line.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIGiX-vc6M8

I have a maybe one that got away but I know deep down that however much it felt special or right at the time that it was not. The magic between us was created partially by the amazing person he was but also by where I was in my own life at that time. If I could go back and play if differently it would have turned out the same and if I was to revisit it now I don't know that the spark would still be there.

I remember a few years ago I felt painfully heartbroken over another one that got away and the above song would bring a sting of tears to my eyes if it came on the radio no matter where I was because I would feel his loss so acutely. Now I can't remember who exactly it was that made me feel like that...the song still kills me though.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭JajaD

krudler wrote: »
    Got thinking about this earlier as I was commenting on a post on facebook by who I consider my one to be. By the one that got away I mean someone you met and fancied but never wound up together for whatever reason, yet you still hold a soft spot for.
    This girl though, sigh :o she asked me out once years ago but her ex came back into the picture and they decided to give things another go (that'd be the "getting away" part), didnt work out in the end but by the time she was single again I wasn't, and round it goes. Had a major crush on her(still do) and tbh figured she was out of my league,I was on cloud nine when she asked me out I mean this girl is just stunning looking, I've never met someone so naturally pretty as her, really photogenic, perfect skin, has an amazing personality as well. has a noble profession, great sense of humour and isnt afraid to take the piss out of herself,and has pretty much the exact same taste in movies and music as I do, we used to get on like a house on fire, she doesnt live in the same city anymore but any time I've ever bumped into her when she's been here since I get a major case of the butterflies :o

so tLL peeps, anyone else got any tales?

Life is too short for regrets.. make her notice you. Get the ball rolling again. If she doesnt notice, make her! Girls, well me anyway, appreciate straight forward talking. Ask her out. Say you would like to go on that date you missed out on.. Try it. You never know what will happen. It could be the best move of your life :) If she doesnt wanna go on a date well then at least you will know. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭JajaD

My one that got away has since passed away but I will always remember him.

Maybe hes the reason I can't settle with anyone else, I compare them all to him.

Awh thats so sad:(

Every man is different and has different things to offer. Im sure someone would love the chance to love you..you just have to take him for who he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Oh, the Second Ex..

I'd got to know him online through a game I played for months. I was nineteen going on twenty, he was eighteen just gone. He was in the UK and I was in Canada, though, so it didn't seem particularly practical. Til I got it in my fool head I wanted to go.

So, of course, within a week I was on a $150 plane ticket to the UK to go stay with himself (and his parents! dear lord) for a few days before I moved onto Scotland. He met me at the airport, standing there with this beautiful, slightly stricken expression on his face that I could only assume was some mixture of excitement and relief, and took me home.

Inevitably by the end of the day we were practically in love with each other-- I was just out of my Very First Relationship, and he hadn't been in a relationship at all. After three days we had told one another we loved each other, and we did, purely, and irrevocably, in the only way you can at that age.

We traveled around Northern England and damn near all of Scotland together and didn't leave one another's side for the entire six months we'd knew each other. So many beautiful memories I will never be able to forget.. sitting by the sea at sunset in Achmelvich, completely content in just each other's company. We never even needed words.

But, my visa went up, and I had to go home.. it was around Christmas time, and I was devastated to leave him behind, and he was heartbroken to see me go. Then at the last minute, we decided he was to come along, much to the dismay of his own family-- but we spent Christmas together in Canada that year with my family, who, of course, fell in love with him.

I tried to visit again in March, but got turned away because I had been too recently. We had one bittersweet night together in Blackpool before I was sent on the 7hr flight back home. Both our hearts broke that night, we knew it couldn't get any easier after that.

He came to visit me once in Canada in April after that for a few weeks. After awhile, it became impractical.. we were fighting too much because of the distance, and I did the completely retarded thing and broke up with him, thinking it was the fairest thing for both of us. He was devastated. Absolutely devastated, and so was I, but I couldn't see any other way.

Fast forward a year and I was living in Ireland. Of course I got it in my head that maybe we could meet up again. I was still absolutely in love with him.. we had been talking on and off for a few months, and I asked him if he'd like to come over, even just for a weekend, or even a day, for some catch-up.

He refused.

I was broken.

I don't know why I let him go. He was perfect for me. He adored me, I adored him, he was a photographer, he was gorgeous, smart, had a massive heart, we connected on everything, we would do anything for one another, and I ****ed it up. I understand why he didn't want to see me. I hurt him so, so, so much. I never meant to.

We still talk, from time to time, and I still get that horrible little twinge in my heart when I do. He'll always be my what if.

I miss him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Nah, I don't have a 'one that got away', I keeps them all in the basement :pac:

/serious

I think an ex is an ex for a reason, if it doesn't work out then its best to move on. Thats not to say that I wouldnt wonder how an ex is getting on, or what they're up to now. But I wouldn't reget my decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

I think i let her go last week. :(
    Ive moved abroad and the long distance thing was becoming a strain for both of us. I was going to come back but looks like she's moving somewhere as well in the next few months. So we said goodbye to each other last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I have always liked a guy i worked with. Still do and always will.

I never spoken to him much in work, as i was shy and afraid it would have went further, being turned down and still having to work with him. But the job was doing my head in and had to leave with or without him. Decided to chance asking him for a drink at my going away party and we swopped numbers. He kissed me as well which really threw me off. He knows i like him.

Nothing happened and its been four months since i left. Dont think it will happen any time soon. I moved 4 hours away to go back to college and follow my dream. I'd give it all up in a heartbeat for him. But i cant.

I have fancied him from the very first moment i saw him 6years ago and cant get him out of my mind. Four months after leaving the job, i still cant stop thinking about him. Its not easy. I have cried almost every day since leaving work cause i miss him.

How do u get over someone? He's out of sight but i cant forget him.
    I cant even look at another guy. Why do i miss him and feel so horrible? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 twobockganeoush

How do u get over someone?
    I always buy very specific books when I am dealing with an issue that is bothering me.Anyway, I haven't read this and there's a lot more with a similar focus point on amazon....
    http://www.amazon.com/How-Fall-out-L...ref=pd_sim_b_1

but thats what I would do. Read lots about the subject because that will hopefully allow you try on a different way of thinking. I have this quote saved as well

Try to be thankful for all the people that broke your heart, they more than likely helped you find yourself in the process ..

Hope you find your balance again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Off topic I know but there is no specific way to get over someone. It's individual, you could get over one guy within days that you were with for years and you could take months to get over someone you were with for 5 months. Unfortunately there is no magic formula you just have to ride it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I have always liked a guy i worked with. Still do and always will.

I never spoken to him much in work, as i was shy and afraid it would have went further, being turned down and still having to work with him. But the job was doing my head in and had to leave with or without him. Decided to chance asking him for a drink at my going away party and we swopped numbers. He kissed me as well which really threw me off. He knows i like him.

Nothing happened and its been four months since i left. Dont think it will happen any time soon. I moved 4 hours away to go back to college and follow my dream. I'd give it all up in a heartbeat for him. But i cant.

I have fancied him from the very first moment i saw him 6years ago and cant get him out of my mind. Four months after leaving the job, i still cant stop thinking about him. Its not easy. I have cried almost every day since leaving work cause i miss him.

How do u get over someone? He's out of sight but i cant forget him.
    I cant even look at another guy. Why do i miss him and feel so horrible? :(

This one baffles me... why dont you just text or call him? =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

I posted last week about my 'one that got away' and it so happened last Thursday that I was out & so was he. So, towards the end of the night we ended up kissing, and he came back to mine for an hour or two. Since that night I actually feel like I'm thinking more clearly about him, I honestly think I was obsessing about him & since we were together it's like I've woken up & realised what he's really about, which is really just sex.

I'm glad it happened, and I know it's early days, but I do feel like I'm thinking more clearly now and really seeing him for who he is for the first time. Fingers crossed that this is the end of my days of thinking about him & obsessing about him, and hopefully I'll go on to find a guy who is just right for me, but I think I'm going to take my time and enjoy being single & selfish for awhile. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

There were one or two. One of which, well we stayed friends and nothing happened between us think it was too late when I found out he liked me and well we both ended up in the friendzone. One other guy I really liked but don't think he liked me maybe fond of me a little but nothing happened between us. He is engagged now so haven't seen him happier. Don't think we would have been happy together! So kind of glad I missed that boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

i had one of these all right,
    Sorry this may take a while, when i was younger in about 1st year in school ,a friend on my road one of the girls i went to primary school with,she went to a different secondary and had a friend that would come over the odd weekend, well one day we kissed but as she didnt live in our area i never seen her again and obvisouly was to young to be going trecking around Dublin looking for her at 13,

So when i was in 4th year i went down the country to an Irsh speaking college for the summer and bumped into the girl from all those years ago, and we went out for the 3 weeks we where down there, once again when we came back to Dublin we lost touch ( no mobiles back in those days) T

Then about 6 years ago i started training in a new gym and turns out one of the lads i trained with and became good friends with was her brother,he told she was going out with a guy for a few years so i never bothered to get in contact,

Then recently i was on a night out with my other half and she introudced me to an old friend, which i had never met in the 6 year of us being together and it was the same girl again, it was so weird and a bit arkward my OH and her OH who where there didnt know we knew each other, i always wondered what she would be like now, she was stunning, but im with my other half for 6 years so i would never even think of it,i wouldnt change my OH for the world but i do wonder what might have been,

I do, I suppose. Though he didn't 'get' away in that I let him go.
    I was mates with this group of guys a couple of years ago. I always liked one of them but never had the guts to tell him. Then one night when we were out his best friend turned to me and told me he had feelings for me. I turned the friend down, since I wasn't interested and continued being friendly towards the lot of them, but a bit more distant. Most of our communication was reduced to text and one day I got a message from my previous love interest saying he wanted to talk. When I rang him he told me he loved me and wanted to be with me. It would have been great had his best friend not done the same thing just a couple of months before. They were a very close-knit group and I knew me getting involved with either of them would put a strain on a very good friendship. All I could think about was what if someone put my relationship with MY best friend in danger like that - I know it would kill me. So I turned him down, told him I wasn't interested and cut off my communications with both of them. I still talk to the two other guys in the group from time to time and it seems my two interests have moved on. Sometimes I wonder what things could have been like with the one I really liked. But I would never undo my decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

Met a gorgeous guy through my best friend. He was tall, dark and handsome and, as I found out later was a god in bed! We got on very well but I moved to Ireland two weeks later as planned and when I came back, he found his "soulmate" as he calls her :( Not fair, I saw him first...