Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will COD turn my child into a raging maniac?

• 01-12-2010 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭

hello gamers,

loving black ops at the moment, getting used to the maps etc. but all in all very happy with it compared to MW2. now, here's the deal.

i've a son who's just going 4 - smart little fecker tbh. you all know how hard it is to put down COD games - especially MP - so i never did think too much about playing it while he was around. so he wanted to play it - and i let him. he's got fairly good and can get around the training area in MW2 in about 1.40. i never let him play the story or other areas of the game. also, it's not like he's sitting around all day on it either. just a few rounds a night to keep him quiet if i've decided to have a game myself?

should i stop him playing it? should i tell him the Xbox is broken thus limiting myself to playing when he's in bed (hate that)? or should i leave it be safe in the knowledge that these shoot em up, violent games are no worse than watching an episode of ben ten? am i a terrible father:(? you're the experts, what ya think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I doubt it will, but tbf there's enough underage spotty 12 year olds ruining this game as it is. Get him Mario Kart or LBP2 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

bahahahahahaha I think this is bolox. Unless the video game is going to raise yer child and teach him how to behave you've nothing to worry about. I've been playing voilent video games for about 17 years now and outside of the ring I'm the least voilent person ever. Then again my parents raised me well and didn't believe the ****e that video games make you voilent. Psychopaths blame voilence on videogames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

It's rated Mature/18s for a reason. It's parents like yourself who bring so much heat on the game industry. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

bahahahahahaha I think this is bolox. Unless the video game is going to raise yer child and teach him how to behave you've nothing to worry about. I've been playing voilent video games for about 17 years now and outside of the ring I'm the least voilent person ever. Then again my parents raised me well and didn't believe the ****e that video games make you voilent. Psychopaths blame voilence on videogames

i tend to agree with ya alright. but you'll know if (when) you have kids that it's easy to get worried about s'hite like that. we had a german au pair for a while who was shocked to see him playing a shoot em up, her exact words were 'oh yes, it's just that a boy from a town beside my home shot up a school and everyone said he was obsessed by violent video games' - you hear it, you dont believe it, but it's at the back of your mind.

KerranJast wrote: »
    It's rated Mature/18s for a reason. It's parents like yourself who bring so much heat on the game industry. :mad:
    No it's parents who blame video games for their little psychopaths behavior that do.

KerranJast wrote: »

i'd say it could be a little more complicated than that...

i tend to agree with ya alright. but you'll know if (when) you have kids that it's easy to get worried about s'hite like that. we had a german au pair for a while who was shocked to see him playing a shoot em up, her exact words were 'oh yes, it's just that a boy from a town beside my home shot up a school and everyone said he was obsessed by violent video games' - you hear it, you dont believe it, but it's at the back of your mind.
    I know what your saying mate, but it's the same people saying the same crap, sher didn't Marylin Manson cause many a school shooting and what not.

If any of these rediculous games had any weight the companies would be shut down.

I remember reading about a kid in russia taking a claw hammer to his mothers skull cos she took away his video game, It's not the fact it was his videogame, it's the fact he was a psychopath. If it wasn't for taking his videogame it would of been for making beans with dinner and not peas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

- Kid tells friends his Dad lets him play COD
    - Kids friends pester their parents to let them play COD
    - Friends parents have ****fit when they learn about 4 year old playing Mature rated video games and start blaming the game companies rather than the idiot parent who let a 4 year old play a military simulator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

This thread is worrying me to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Get a German copy. No blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Watch the Penn & Teller Bullsh!t episode on Videogames, clears up a lot of misconceptions about the whole thing.

Also involves a small child shooting a real life assault weapon. Great craic altogether. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Damn liah, I came into the thread to say that.

Actually, despite what I said earlier, if it was my kid personally I wouldn't let them play.

Mainly because I'd rather my child be raised on reading and imagination and being outside and playing with their friends and exploring, I don't want my kid to turn out living in my basement at 26 years old playing CoD 134. I want them to be raised with an interest in things that are more challenging and will have greater long-term benefits, and in general just make the child more well-rounded.

Plus, at 4, they're a bit young. At least around the age of maybe 8+ (depends on the kid tbh though) they can not only actively understand the difference between real and fake, but understand why this has to be fake, and not done in reality.

At four, do they really have the mental capacity for fully understanding?

I'm not saying it would be damaging mentally, necessarily. Like I said, if it were me personally I'd put more effort into reading with my child or doing activities with it rather than sitting it in front of a computer. I'd say the same for any game, not necessarily just violent ones, but any that isn't clearly meant for kids. I wouldn't let them spend much time with videogames til they were at least 7 or 8, and even then only for a short predefined amount of time.

Same argument for TV/movies too for that matter.

liah wrote: »
    Actually, despite what I said earlier, if it was my kid personally I wouldn't let them play.

Mainly because I'd rather my child be raised on reading and imagination and being outside and playing with their friends and exploring, I don't want my kid to turn out living in my basement at 26 years old playing CoD 134. I want them to be raised with an interest in things that are more challenging and will have greater long-term benefits, and in general just make the child more well-rounded.

Plus, at 4, they're a bit young. At least around the age of maybe 8+ (depends on the kid tbh though) they can not only actively understand the difference between real and fake, but understand why this has to be fake, and not done in reality.

At four, do they really have the mental capacity for fully understanding?

I'm not saying it would be damaging mentally, necessarily. Like I said, if it were me personally I'd put more effort into reading with my child or doing activities with it rather than sitting it in front of a computer. I'd say the same for any game, not necessarily just violent ones, but any that isn't clearly meant for kids. I wouldn't let them spend much time with videogames til they were at least 7 or 8, and even then only for a short predefined amount of time.

Same argument for TV/movies too for that matter.

you've just described my horror story tbh. as stated in OP - he's not allowed to play it for long and he's being raised well rounded with diverse interests. i understand exactly what you mean and would be very careful not let him get too into it. i'm really just worried that any exposure to violence would be bad for him - although i've noticed since he was born how many childrens programmes revole around (in some cases extreme) violence in some form.

meh - the more i think about it the more i think it's fairly harmless, at least compared to anything else he might be exposed to.

on the 'do they understand' the difference between reality and the game point - i'd be very confident that the answer is yes. otherwise, he'd be jumping out of windows and generally be dead a long time ago due to spiderman, batman or ben ten - all aimed at that age group btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

You would be better of getting him an instrument to play with if he is as smart as you say. I let my brother play these kind of games very young and the main thing i would warn against is that addiction can set in very soon. I had to ban him from all computers for a long time just to get him clean. Do you really want your childs main hobby to be computer games when he grows up, because thats what your setting him up for. Also treyarch games are alot more visceral that infinity ward just look at the kill cams for grenade kills, although i think you can turn it of.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Might thoughts were pretty much covered in the last post(liah's post)

I'll just say that a 4 year old playing COD shouldn't require any thought or consideration. He should not be near the game at all IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Whats wrong with having computer games as a hobby?

Another thing to mention is that most of the people here forget that when we started playing games the focus on the game was to complete a story mode and maybe a limited form of multiplayer when friends were over. Now the focus is on online play which never really ends except when boredom sets in, which is unlikely for a child. I really think he would be better served with an emulator on your pc/laptop so that he can play older games like mario/sonic whilst you play cod.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »

Its fine for 16+ but up until then there is so many better ways to spend your childhood

I may have wanted videogames all the time when I was young but looking back now I'm actually delighted my mother chose to raise me on books and animals and the outdoors and limit my time on the TV til I hit my mid teens.

I didn't get my first console til I was 14-- and even then I was only allowed on it for maybe 3 hours a day, tops, during summers (an hour during school). I made up for it in a short space of time, I love and adore videogames, but I really would've hated it if my entire childhood got sucked into them and I turned into an addict like so many actually have done.

Games as a hobby when you're older and can actually process and understand them and be responsible about them is grand. Children can't really do that til they hit a certain age, and self-monitoring/responsibility is out the window for most until well into their late teens.

I would let them play stuff like Portal very early on though.

Reading or music or playing outside are far more important up to the ages of probably about 11 or 12, though I'd phase it in around maybe 7 or 8, very limited though. When they're 16 (or when they show me they're sensible) they can do what they like in terms of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Have been killing Nazi's in Wolf3D since I was 11 or 12 (on the PC). See naught wrong with it. Heck, I was watching Van Damme and Arnie kill Commi's with AK's before then :D It's all good. The only side effect is that there is an increased chance that they may want to join the army :pac:

I've been reading since as far as i can remember. First the comics, and then the books.

the_syco wrote: »
    Have been killing Nazi's in Wolf3D since I was 11 or 12. See naught wrong with it. Heck, I was watching Van Damme and Arnie kill Commi's with AK's before then :D It's all good. The only side effect is that there is an increased chance that they may want to join the army :pac:

Big diff between 11 or 12 and 4, though.. kids have quite a lot more sense at 11 or 12 than 4.

I think I ripped off my first head off a body with it's spine dangeling dripping blood when I was 5. I knew it was make believe. I think people kids give kids too little credit with what they know is real or not

That's not my argument, though. I've never said it would be damaging or make them evil or anything. I just think at that age they should be given things with more substance that they can learn from, that age is so, so vital to development and it's the best time in your entire life to learn. And they don't understand how that kind of game works, they wouldn't really "get" the game, it would just suck them in because it's flashy and fast-moving.

Kids aren't stupid, no child thinks he is a predator jumping of roofs and ripping out spines, they are however influenceable. If you have never seen a child practicing wrestling moves on another kid growing up (assuming your in your twenties) I will be forced to call you a liar :D

I agree but the op never said that it would be his childs only interest. I've always been an avid gamer, I actually can't remember a time where I didn't put 20+ hours a week into a game, sometimes substantially more, but I've always been involved in sports along the way, hurling, gaelic, soccer, karate, swimming, mma,rugby etc. I think it's all about finding a balance.

Maybe reward him with video game time op for other stuff he does like an hour of something else could equal a half hour/hour of computer time??

Though despite all our advice it's up to you to decide if you should let yer son play as you know him best.

I agree but the op never said that it would be his childs only interest. I've always been an avid gamer, I actually can't remember a time where I didn't put 20+ hours a week into a game, sometimes substantially more, but I've always been involved in sports along the way, hurling, gaelic, soccer, karate, swimming, mma,rugby etc. I think it's all about finding a balance.

Maybe reward him with video game time op for other stuff he does like an hour of something else could equal a half hour/hour of computer time??

Though despite all our advice it's up to you to decide if you should let yer son play as you know him best.

Out of curiosity-- do you like reading?

I do, David GemMell, Trudi Canavan, Raymond E Fiest and Terry Goodkind would be my favourites

A man of good taste!

What I can't understand is that some parents(like mine!!) got pissed at me playing the good aul sega megadrive for hours on end, yet were perfectly happy to let me watch telly!

They just wanted the sega for themselves!!! My sister found out santa didn't exist sneaking downstairs to see if santa came to find my da playing the megadrive which I got off santa the next day!!

What I can't understand is that some parents(like mine!!) got pissed at me playing the good aul sega megadrive for hours on end, yet were perfectly happy to let me watch telly!

Hypocrites, I'd say. Both are as bad/good as each other.

I used to hate my parents for that except it was nintendo because im pro :). I actually asked Dad about this a few years ago and he said it was because i had no sense of anything else when i was playing games whereas i would get bored of tv after a while

Hypocrites, I'd say. Both are as bad/good as each other.
    If I remember correctly you use yer brain more when playing video games, it increases hand eye co-ordination and ican mproves memory skills. When watching tv your brain is less functioning than hen yer sleeping.

(this could all be me imagining this though)

If I remember correctly you use yer brain more when playing video games, it increases hand eye co-ordination and ican mproves memory skills. When watching tv your brain is less functioning than hen yer sleeping.

(this could all be me imagining this though)

Depends on the game and depends on the tv/movie tbh.

Lots of completely mindless games out there and lots of very thought provoking, challenging tv shows out there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I may have wanted videogames all the time when I was young but looking back now I'm actually delighted my mother chose to raise me on books and animals and the outdoors and limit my time on the TV til I hit my mid teens.

I didn't get my first console til I was 14-- and even then I was only allowed on it for maybe 3 hours a day, tops, during summers (an hour during school). I made up for it in a short space of time, I love and adore videogames, but I really would've hated it if my entire childhood got sucked into them and I turned into an addict like so many actually have done.

Games as a hobby when you're older and can actually process and understand them and be responsible about them is grand. Children can't really do that til they hit a certain age, and self-monitoring/responsibility is out the window for most until well into their late teens.

I would let them play stuff like Portal very early on though.

Reading or music or playing outside are far more important up to the ages of probably about 11 or 12, though I'd phase it in around maybe 7 or 8, very limited though. When they're 16 (or when they show me they're sensible) they can do what they like in terms of games.

I have a 7 year old nephew who has a Wii, he loves games and my sister is happy to let him play them for an hour a night or so, he loves racing games (he actually puts me to shame playing stuff like F1 2010 and Gran Turismo, he can hold the racing line better than I can lol) and he loves stuff like Mario Kart, Mario Galaxy (even though hes always asking me to pass the harder stages for him) and he even enjos retro games. When he was a toddler I used to let him sit on my lap and play my ps2, he was happy out just mashing the buttons even if he wrecked my games of Kingom Hearts lol :pac:
    but hes defintely very clever and well able to use logic and solve puzzles even as young as he is, and I wouldnt put it past games as being a big part of that, problem solving, hand eye co-ordination, its all part of it.

I dont agree with letting kids play stuff like GTA and MW2, and when I worked in HMV we used to warn so many parents who were buying stuff like San Andreas for the 9 year old sitting beside them, and these would be the same people who would be ringing Joe Duffy a few days later lambasting these "sick" games. Parental responsibility plays a big part, but theres nothing wrong with letting a kid play Mario Kart or something a few hours a week. I grew up playing video games, from the Atari to the Nes to the SNES to N64 and everything along the way, but me and my group of game nerd friends were still socialising, playing sports and doing everything else kids are supposed to do, even if an occasional 6hr session of Street Fighter 2 Turbo got in the way sometimes :D

tldr: games good in right doses, adult games not bad for kids, silly parents bad for kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Just keep the Spaz and the keys to the Hind lock safely away until he is 18 problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

way way to young for a kid to be playing that sort of game.:eek:

krudler wrote: »
    I have a 7 year old nephew who has a Wii, he loves games and my sister is happy to let him play them for an hour a night or so, he loves racing games (he actually puts me to shame playing stuff like F1 2010 and Gran Turismo, he can hold the racing line better than I can lol) and he loves stuff like Mario Kart, Mario Galaxy (even though hes always asking me to pass the harder stages for him) and he even enjos retro games. When he was a toddler I used to let him sit on my lap and play my ps2, he was happy out just mashing the buttons even if he wrecked my games of Kingom Hearts lol :pac:
    but hes defintely very clever and well able to use logic and solve puzzles even as young as he is, and I wouldnt put it past games as being a big part of that, problem solving, hand eye co-ordination, its all part of it.

I dont agree with letting kids play stuff like GTA and MW2, and when I worked in HMV we used to warn so many parents who were buying stuff like San Andreas for the 9 year old sitting beside them, and these would be the same people who would be ringing Joe Duffy a few days later lambasting these "sick" games. Parental responsibility plays a big part, but theres nothing wrong with letting a kid play Mario Kart or something a few hours a week. I grew up playing video games, from the Atari to the Nes to the SNES to N64 and everything along the way, but me and my group of game nerd friends were still socialising, playing sports and doing everything else kids are supposed to do, even if an occasional 6hr session of Street Fighter 2 Turbo got in the way sometimes :D

tldr: games good in right doses, adult games not bad for kids, silly parents bad for kids.

That's all well and good for him, it's just not how I would raise my kid. I think reading is the most important thing, because with reading comes knowledge and information and understanding and I'd rather them spend an afternoon with a book than a game.

Again, I love games just as much as anyone else but growing up? It would've ruined me, I wouldn't have the love or respect for books I have now. A lot of my generation hates books and reading and a lot of it has to do with way too much time sitting in front of a screen. I don't want that for my kid. I really don't. Not til they're at least 8, 9, or 10, depending on their maturity. And even then, VERY small doses.

If they were to play videogames it would be something like Portal-- engaging, interesting, fun, creative. Makes your brain work. But CoD or another popular adult game? No way. Not for violence reasons, but for the simple fact that they get addicted and there's no substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

I wouldn't say it'll do him any harm aslong as , has been said already, he has other interests, which you say he has. I was playing Mortal Kombat when I was 4 or 5. Didn't do me any harm.

That's all well and good for him, it's just not how I would raise my kid. I think reading is the most important thing, because with reading comes knowledge and information and understanding and I'd rather them spend an afternoon with a book than a game.

Again, I love games just as much as anyone else but growing up? It would've ruined me, I wouldn't have the love or respect for books I have now. A lot of my generation hates books and reading and a lot of it has to do with way too much time sitting in front of a screen. I don't want that for my kid. I really don't. Not til they're at least 8, 9, or 10, depending on their maturity. And even then, VERY small doses.

If they were to play videogames it would be something like Portal-- engaging, interesting, fun, creative. Makes your brain work. But CoD or another popular adult game? No way. Not for violence reasons, but for the simple fact that they get addicted and there's no substance.

Oh he reads too, my sister is halfway through reading the Hobbit with him :)

I agree its all about balance, I dont think kids should be deprived of doing something they find fun but at the same time I dont want my kids if I ever have any gawping at a tv for hours a day either.

The Hobbit is a kick ass book.

Sure is, he loves the LOTR movies but the books are a bit complicated for him, the Hobbit is a bit easier to read.

One thing I will say, dont let a kid play World of Warcraft. That sh!t is mega addictive.Even now having just mentioned it I wanna go play.

I have three rules in life.

1) I will not play World of Warcarft. Ever.
    2) I will not start a relationship with someone who plays World of Warcraft. Ever.
    3) I will never allow my child to play World of Warcraft. Ever.

Had thought about getting into it myself when I was off work ill for months, seemed a way to pass the time but I'm glad I didnt, I played MW2 instead :pac:

I have three rules in life.

1) I will not play World of Warcarft. Ever.
    2) I will not start a relationship with someone who plays World of Warcraft. Ever.
    3) I will never allow my child to play World of Warcraft. Ever.
    It really is a terrific game. You just can't stop though!

It literally ate a whole summer one, wasted! Then my sub ran out and I discovered that there are free servers out there..... Which are a bit crap, so I managed to wean myself off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Been playing/watching GTA and Resident Evil for as long as I can remember and I've never had the urge to kill someone, nor have I ever been addicted to the games. Football Manager, however, don't buy him that.:pac:

It really is a terrific game. You just can't stop though!

It literally ate a whole summer one, wasted! Then my sub ran out and I discovered that there are free servers out there..... Which are a bit crap, so I managed to wean myself off

It isn't. It's grind. Constant grind. If you want to do anything else in the game, like raids, you have to basically give your whole life to the thing as the people in your guild now essentially own you. Any "upgrades" are just redesigns of old stuff with a couple more numbers added on. Half of it is bots from people farming.

I will never touch it and I'm not joking when I say I won't date anyone who plays it. Not a hope in hell. Once I got ignored for an MMO the first time, I made sure as hell it wasn't going to happen again.

It isn't. It's grind. Constant grind. If you want to do anything else in the game, like raids, you have to basically give your whole life to the thing as the people in your guild now essentially own you. Any "upgrades" are just redesigns of old stuff with a couple more numbers added on. Half of it is bots from people farming.

I will never touch it and I'm not joking when I say I won't date anyone who plays it. Not a hope in hell. Once I got ignored for an MMO the first time, I made sure as hell it wasn't going to happen again.

I hate grinding in games, I bought Demons Souls and traded it in after a few days as I just couldnt be arsed replaying sections again to get XP for new swords and all that shite, I like games that have a narrative rather than just levelling up constantly, even though playing multiplayer COD you do that too but its a natural progression, and its a laugh playing with the lads from boards. but my kinda games are the story driven ones, Uncharted, Metal Gear, Heavy Rain etc. oh and all things Mario (that actual games not the spinoffs, Galaxy 2 is fricking amazing and I wont hear a bad word said about it) oh and Zelda, even if it is the same game with different graphics every time, oh look a boomerang, wonder will I need to use this on the boss at the end of this temple :pac: