Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Often do you Use/Hear Irish In your Everyday Life?

• 27-11-2010 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭

Simple as,
    How often do you Hear or Use Irish and would you like to Hear and Use it more or less than you do as is?

How often Do you Hear/Use Irish? 145 votes

Every day
    0%
    Most Days
    37%
    syklopsQuacklesdavetheravetolosencréaltóg4zn76tysfajdxpr3nu4lthemadchefbarbiegirlDr. BaltarDiddler82arybvtcw0eolkfE.T.DionysusmuintrlistonSVKev_ps3degausserxocivis_liberalis 54 votes
    Weekly
    27%
    geniehiscanJuliusCaesarmurrayp4Catari JaguarInsect OverlordNiall09wow sierraGran HermanoFreudianSlippersBucklesmancarolmonmahamageehadJoyce Countrygoatboy1000nkay1985TheZohanSaridalmostneverdaysleeper 40 votes
    Monthly
    15%
    ejmaztecLia_liaThe GnomeAsmodeanAodan83allandanywaysraveniscientific1982cli2931johnmcdnlalwaysadubGalwayGuy92greener greeneWolfe TonePauletakevin12345EctoplasmClearpresoUnder A Funeral Mooni like pie 23 votes
    A few times a year.
    3%
    psycho-hopeMark200RedlionDarlughdaAurum 5 votes
    Never.
    15%
    VenomBottle_of_SmokeKiithenda1CorkManeddyctheceltGLaDOSAxe Rakebluto63Funglegunk[Deleted User]Lu Tzemaxxiejd007hypersquirrelcullen5998RisteardsqueakyduckLe King 23 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Maybe a bit everyday my father still says things in Irish sometimes, he's fluent in it. He loves giving out in it mostly haha :D Other than my father I never here anyone else saying it unless I turn on TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Monthly
    I hear it a bit,maybe every few days on average,but unfortunately amn't very good at speaking it. It's on my list of things to do-learn conversational Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Dowdy20

Most Days
    I try and use a few words most days....me and a one of the lads have started to speak what we can to try and learn the language..

have to start somewhere and you would be surprised how much you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

When I'm fapping to the weather girls on TG4, I might shout .. thanaig aris.

That'd be about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

Monthly
    not really something i can answer definitively - i only hear irish when i turn over to TG4 so it could be once or twice a week or maybe once or twice a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Weekly
    Should Clarify, I ment Out on the street more than On the TV or Raidio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Weekly
    A lot of my friends would use conversational Irish daily, being fluent speakers. I try to keep up but sometimes can't completely manage it, I stopped using Irish after the Leaving and as a result am out of practice. Hoping that will gradually change though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The only time I hear Irish spoken in Dublin is usually followed by the phrase 'So loike Saoirse said she couldn't lend me her iPhone, and I was loike tewtally annoyed at her.'

Monthly
    Should Clarify, I ment Out on the street more than On the TV or Raidio

sorry man. that would be never for me then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Most Days
    I hear it every day but only because I'm actually hearing myself speaking it to my daughter every day. I'm in no way fluent but I have enough Irish for her (she's 7 months old :D).

When I was in Galway last June (city) I was delighted to hear people speaking it fluently to each other conversationally. It wasn't put on, it was two old biddies :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Most Days
    Native speaker. Use it and hear it every day. Unfussed as to if other people should speak it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

At work a few french people were talking in the lift.
    After they left, a guy in the lift said "ah it's great to hear the cupla focal"
    There's two Irish words right there.

Weekly
    tenchi-fan wrote: »
    At work a few french people were talking in the lift.
    After they left, a guy in the lift said "ah it's great to hear the cupla focal"
    There's two Irish words right there.

As it happnes, I know a french Guy who is learning Irish so you Never know:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

dunno about nationwide but in dublin only the privileged speak irish.. and they keep it hush as 99% don't understand n it'll reveal their well heeled upbringing n they'll be the subject of jealousy.. else theyre nationalist nuts with simple minds/glasgow celtic tattoo'ed on their neck

- but the school system got it very wrong as i know more spanish than irish

Monthly
    its a great language to be fair but speaking it serves no purpose whatsoever in my opinion. the only reasons anybody would learn it would be if they really wanted to or just to try keep it alive

Weekly
    Star Bingo wrote: »
    dunno about nationwide but in dublin only the privileged speak irish.. and they keep it hush as 99% don't understand n it'll reveal their well heeled upbringing n they'll be the subject of jealousy.. n what not but the school system got it very wrong as i know more spanish than irish

I know a good few Speakers from Dublin, They Dont seam any more well healed than the rest, Most Irish speakers only speak Irish amongst themselves out of politeness. Nor were they the grubby tattooed type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Weekly
    I'd use it most weekends as that's the greater chance for me to see other mates that speak it. But i watch TG4 most days. I'd use Spanish more so than English on a daily basis though as work usually requires me to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Weekly
    dunno about nationwide but in dublin only the privileged speak irish.. and they keep it hush as 99% don't understand n it'll reveal their well heeled upbringing n they'll be the subject of jealousy.. else theyre nationalist nuts with simple minds/glasgow celtic tattoo'ed on their neck

Bull**** tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Most Days
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    When I'm fapping to the weather girls on TG4, I might shout .. thanaig aris.

That'd be about it.

Tá mé ag teacht, Tá mé ag teacht, ÁÁÁÁÁÁÁ :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

As it happnes, I know a french Guy who is learning Irish so you Never know:eek:

Tons and ton of foreigners speak it in the west. They make up the majority of all the people taking classes. You hear it spoken daily over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Most Days

I'm from Crumlin i have some Irish, most Gaeilscoils in Dublin are in working/middle class areas,
    and your generalisation shows you up to have a simple mind really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Native speaker. Use it and hear it every day. Unfussed as to if other people should speak it though.

Cad a fholaíonn, mé féin le cainteoir dúchais agus a bheith ag iarraidh i gcónaí chun freastal ar roinnt eile Tar éis fir Uaireanta a bheadh ag teacht isteach chugam do amanna gnéis, áit a raibh muid ag ól beorach agus amhráin a chanadh sa teanga náisiúnta.

Mhúineadh mé Yoga tantric le roinnt nymphomaniacs agus bhí siad go léir a rugadh ar Árann Oileáin agus mar sin de ach labhairt Gaeilge.

Mar sin, PM dom agus lig a fhios agam más mian leat a bheith páirteach mé féin agus mo mban nymphomaniac agus muid ag síneadh leis an oíche ar shiúl, ag comhrá i alguage ach an Ghaeilge ar ndóigh.

Bhuel, ar leith ón cailín amháin ó Essex a dhiúltóidh Gaeilge a labhairt agus cumarsáid a dhéanamh ach amháin trí primal gnéasach moaning, ó dhúchas di daoine, an chavs Londain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Never.
    I live in England so there's no one to chat to. The only time I get to use it is when someone goes asks me to say something Irish, so I give them to the old 'an bhfuil cead agam dul go dtí on leithreas' poem from the Carslberg ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Weekly
    Try to use a few phrases at home on a daily basis - but am always being corrected by the resident ex-Gaelscoil teenager. Doesn't stop me though! Cá bhfuil tú? Tar anseo, tá ocras ag an cat.

do these dubs that speak it take it upon themselves, or maybe their parents demand it of them and arrange em a place in 'Gaeilscoils' or is it just regular schools are **** for it? because lessons in clogher road circa 1994 were practically non-existent

Crosáidí wrote: »
    and your generalisation shows you up to have a simple mind really
    that itself would be a generalization that shows you're not exactly alive and kicking either; it was just my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Most Days
    Cad a fholaíonn, mé féin le cainteoir dúchais agus a bheith ag iarraidh i gcónaí chun freastal ar roinnt eile Tar éis fir Uaireanta a bheadh ag teacht isteach chugam do amanna gnéis, áit a raibh muid ag ól beorach agus amhráin a chanadh sa teanga náisiúnta.

Mhúineadh mé Yoga tantric le roinnt nymphomaniacs agus bhí siad go léir a rugadh ar Árann Oileáin agus mar sin de ach labhairt Gaeilge.

Mar sin, PM dom agus lig a fhios agam más mian leat a bheith páirteach mé féin agus mo mban nymphomaniac agus muid ag síneadh leis an oíche ar shiúl, ag comhrá i alguage ach an Ghaeilge ar ndóigh.

Bhuel, ar leith ón cailín amháin ó Essex a dhiúltóidh Gaeilge a labhairt agus cumarsáid a dhéanamh ach amháin trí primal gnéasach moaning, ó dhúchas di daoine, an chavs Londain.

Google Translation Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Never.
    Was asked Conas atá do Growler? A few weeks ago, sparked a very hilarious drunk conversation afterwards! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Enkidu

Weekly
    My fiancée comes from a Munster Irish speaking family (on her mother's side), so she tends to use it quite often, even periodically in her English. Funnily enough this didn't come up too much until I started to learn it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Most Days
    At least five days a week...

/Leaving Cert...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Most Days
    when me and my 16 month old daughter are 1 on 1 i speak Irish to her, myself and my sister and my cousin still converse in irish, we went to the gaelscoil in our locality.

I love the language and speak it when i can! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Haven't heard anyone speaking it in many, many years of my daily going about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Weekly
    almostnever :pac:

Nah, hear it most days. Speak it a bit with my friends when I'm at college, not all all when I'm at home though.

never heard it in my life.

n far as i'm concerned those who were exposed to this 'gaelscoil' phenomenon were privileged and probably precocious piano playing upstarts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Five days a week throughout school, and every so often I'll meet up with my friends from the gaeltacht and our conversations will be a mix of Irish/English and then sometimes I'll talk with my friends/family in Irish if I'm in the middle of a bunch of people who I don't want hearing what I'm saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Five days a week throughout school, and every so often I'll meet up with my friends from the gaeltacht and our conversations will be a mix of Irish/English and then sometimes I'll talk with my friends/family in Irish if I'm in the middle of a bunch of people who I don't want hearing what I'm saying.

Also yes, my Irish is also mostly run-on sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭allprops

Had a fine rugby training session last night where we spoke Irish for most of the time. Most enjoyable!

Weekly
    never heard it in my life.

n far as i'm concerned those who were exposed to this 'gaelscoil' phenomenon were privileged and probably precocious piano playing upstarts!

You have never heard Irish in your life? Do you live in Ireland?

Here, experience something new.

As for your seaming dislike for The Gaeilscoileanna, Why is that? They are not elitist, they are open to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Spent much of my life resenting the language as I knew I didn't need it, ever, for anything. The way it was taught was probably a factor in that too.

I'm fine with it now, I can read and pronounce the words quite well but haven't a notion of what most of what I'm reading actually means.

I'd like to be able to speak and understand it better but I also know how utterly useless it is. I can understand and speak French to a far superior level and I only took that up a couple of years ago.

Spent thirteen years learning Irish and seemingly none of it went in bar the basics.

Why?

Weekly
    Spent much of my life resenting the language as I knew I didn't need it, ever, for anything. The way it was taught was probably a factor in that too.

I'm fine with it now, I can read and pronounce the words quite well but haven't a notion of what most of what I'm reading actually means.

I'd like to be able to speak and understand it better but I also know how utterly useless it is. I can understand and speak French to a far superior level and I only took that up a couple of years ago.

Spent thirteen years learning Irish and seemingly none of it went in bar the basics.

Why?

You answered the question yourself.

Its not useless, I use it quite often.

You answered the question yourself.

Its not useless, I use it quite often.

Leave Ireland and see for yourself.

Weekly
    Leave Ireland and see for yourself.

So something is only usefull if it can be used outside Ireland?

OK Irish can be used out side Ireland, There is a Gaelthacht in Canada, There are many Groups of speakers in Both The UK and US and it is Similar enough to Both Manxs and Scottish Gaelic to hold a conversation with them.:) There are also many Universitys around the world that have an Irish course.

But to be honest I mostly use it In Ireland. Thats Ok isent it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Most Days

Ay carumba.

So something is only usefull if it can be used outside Ireland?

OK Irish can be used out side Ireland, There is a Gaelthacht in Canada, There are many Groups of speakers in Both The UK and US and it is Similar enough to Both Manxs and Scottish Gaelic to hold a conversation with them.:) There are also many Universitys around the world that have an Irish course.

That's fine, of course it can be used and fair play if you do.

But do you need it?

Weekly
    That's fine, of course it can be used and fair play if you do.

But do you need it?

I don't need German but i wouldn't claim its therefore useless, Irish is part of who I am,

You have never heard Irish in your life? Do you live in Ireland?
    As for your seaming dislike for The Gaeilscoileanna, Why is that? They are not elitist, they are open to everyone.

its envy actually. but sorry man, i do hear it through the tv or radio like when i'm watching Sacar Beo just not in.. everyday life but with these 'gaeilscoils' does one opt for that emselves? as a personal choice later in life, or do the folks insist

i did find this article:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2007/0417/1176454758125.html
    The rise of the gaelscoil - is this the new playground of the elite?

There is now a gaelscoil operating in every county in the State. But what's behind the boom - real engagement with Irish language and culture, or old-fashioned snobbery and elitism? Louise Holdenreports

It's about snobbery and status. It's a post- Riverdancecultural zeitgeist. It's the circling of ethnic wagons in a multicultural storm. The rise and rise of gaelscoileanna - schools where learning takes place through the medium of Irish - has been attributed to some rather unlovely motivations recently.

Weekly
    its envy actually. but sorry man, i do hear it through the tv or radio like when i'm watching Sacar Beo just not in.. everyday life but with these 'gaeilscoils' does one opt for that emselves? as a personal choice later in life, or do the folks insist

i did find this article:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2007/0417/1176454758125.html

Why be envious? There is nothing stopping you from learning Irish if you want to.

It would work the same way as it dose for everyone else, the parents choose what school they want to send their kids to.

Yes, Elitism is a label that has been thrown around but if you keep looking you might also find articles like this.
    Inside Ireland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Honestly I reckon I've heard Irish being spoken maybe 3 or 4 times in the street in my life(and I've been around a fair bit). I've had a couple of people insist on speaking it in front of me presuming I understood(or just to make some daft point). But they're **** so I discount them on principle. No native speaker I've met has ever pulled that one.
    Yes, Elitism is a label that has been thrown around but if you keep looking you might also find articles like this.
    Inside Ireland
    Yep funny about the second part regarding the lack of our darker citizens in such schools and how this is nonsense. Lots of rhetoric, no stats. I wonder why... Just show us the stats.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Weekly
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Honestly I reckon I've heard Irish being spoken maybe 3 or 4 times in the street in my life(and I've been around a fair bit). I've had a couple of people insist on speaking it in front of me presuming I understood(or just to make some daft point). But they're **** so I discount them on principle. No native speaker I've met has ever pulled that one.

Yep funny about the second part regarding the lack of our darker citizens in such schools and how this is nonsense. Lots of rhetoric, no stats. I wonder why... Just show us the stats.

Well as far as I know there is a Gaelscoil in Ennis that had a 5% quota for non national intake, They got over 10% and are now thinking of raising the target to 25%.

As has been pointed out in the link I provided, it seams that you think we should assume Gaeilscoileanna are Elitist unless they can prove they arent, I would ask why the burden of proof should be with them rather than those making the allegation.

As for general stats, I dont have them but would be very intrested in seeing them myself,

Now, this thread is drifting abit, its not about Gaelscoils, its about the Use of Irish.

I don't need German but i wouldn't claim its therefore useless, Irish is part of who I am,

It's part of who I am too, because I'm Irish, like you.

But...

You'd need German to live in Germany.

You'd need French to live in France.

You don't need Irish to live in Ireland. Or anywhere.