Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE fail us yet again.

• 27-11-2010 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

Once again RTE fail the license fee payer, today’s march is the lead story on SKY and BBC. They have reporters covering the story live from the GPO.

RTE doing fcuk all as usual.

It’s time for us to tell RTE:

“We’ve heard all the excuses, and we don’t believe any of it. Now fcuk off you overpaid, useless, FF lickarse b@stards”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Emmmm.....Sky and BBC are both 24 hour channels. RTE, oddly enough, isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I've stopped watching RTE News.
    They were always slow with their news, but lately they are worse than useless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

RTE doesn't have a 24 hour news station. try the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭figarofigaro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

the state broadcaster isnt showing protests against the goverment.......you should write to your td :D

If there's nothing on the six o'clock news then you might have a point, but there will be so...you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Ozwald

Poly wrote: »
    Once again RTE fail the license fee payer, today’s march is the lead story on SKY and BBC. They have reporters covering the story live from the GPO.

“We’ve heard all the excuses, and we don’t believe any of it. Now fcuk off you overpaid, useless, FF lickarse b@stards”

Spot on!

They wouldn't last p!ssing time in any other country :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

As said, RTE isn't a 24 hour news channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

They have the responsiblity to show news of great national importance they failed on all counts lately.

They have a live facility in their website and currently they are showing...racing maybe the fianna fail tent will get some close ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

It's lead story on their website. I agree they dropped the ball last week but can't blame them for not having the march in fairness.

"We will march day and night by the big cooling tower they have the plant but we have the power!"

steddyeddy wrote: »
    They have the responsiblity to show news of great national importance they failed on all counts lately.

I don't see how a protest that will achieve nothing is of national importance. We've had countless protests in the last few years... this one isn't any different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Mark200 wrote: »
    As said, RTE isn't a 24 hour news channel.

Agreed, but it is the state broadcaster, which we pay for, and this is a very large event at a critical time in our history. It should be covered live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Are you suggesting they interrupt Earnest saves Christmas for some silly news item?

You're crazy!

I don't see how a protest that will achieve nothing is of national importance. We've had countless protests in the last few years... this one isn't any different.

a protest of at least 50,000 people marching through the capital whatever they achieve is of national importance, considering how sky news and the bbc think its of international importance I can say rte dropped the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Thats what the news is for, it'll be on the news. RTE have deserved some of the criticism lately but this is laughable, some people just love to complain.

Of course sky are showing it, Rooney missing training cause he's sick is normally enough to make "breaking news" for the day, they have to show something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Agreed, but it is the state broadcaster, which we pay for, and this is a very large event at a critical time in our history. It should be covered live.

We only pay for it, the govt give them the money, so who do you think they will support?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I had assumed that RTE wouldn't stop their schedule for a protest march tbh. Many people who weren't there disagree with the reasoning for the march.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

And they will just laugh along with saying they are doing a fine job.

The best job for RTE would be a boycott. No one tune in and really bring down their views.

Of course, that wont ever happen :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

After the muckers in the Dail, RTE should be next to on the list to be got rid of.
    Useless self serving, jobs for the boys and girls, talentless and worthless idiots.

Whatever the coverage issues I do think that rte are fianna fail biased ( ryan tubridy certainly is as hes related to them) and no coverage or lack of it has come close to vincent brownes coverage of the national crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Are you suggesting they interrupt Earnest saves Christmas for some silly news item?

You're crazy!

Sweet. Thanks skippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    And they will just laugh along with saying they are doing a fine job.

The best job for RTE would be a boycott. No one tune in and really bring down their views.

Of course, that wont ever happen :rolleyes:

You can make it happen in your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The best job for RTE is for nobody to pay the extortionate bastards. Of course Irish people will never do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Once again RTE fail the license fee payer..

I agree, it's a fecking disgrace that Dustin wasn't on The Late Late.

considering how sky news and the bbc think its of international importance I can say rte dropped the ball.

They don't. It's just that they have 24 hours of programming each day to fill and there's only so many Prince William fluff pieces they can run.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I agree, it's a fecking disgrace that Dustin wasn't on the Late Late.

instead you had the grinch who stole christman aka Im only in the job thanks to daddys influence tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

RTÉ are incompetent overpaid fools, without any doubt. But today they're covering the story in as much as I'd ever expect them to. RTÉ News Now should have a 24/7 presenter - given how many public servants seem to spend their days throwing paper planes around the place in that building surely one of them could sit in front of a camera?

the imf are coming into the country, half the world is watching us and intead of increasing live coverage by 20% they seem to think have the country wants to watch horse racing

They don't. It's just that they have 24 hours of programming each day to fill and there's only so many Prince William fluff pieces they can run.

Exactly.

And it's funny how often people in this forum make fun of Sky News for sensationalising events... but apparently it's ok as long as they're sensationalising something you support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Dannyboy1987

everyone knows rte news doesn't run 24 hours but in fairness they claim to have rte player which they usually use for events such as this , government state run tv

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

would any of the people giving out about the march not being televised actually watch it if it was?

watching it to see if your mate who is towards theback in the greenhat gets on the tele is not what i meant either.

Exactly.

And it's funny how often people in this forum make fun of Sky News for sensationalising events... but apparently it's ok as long as they're sensationalising something you support.

Anne dolye described brian cowens performance as strong and your accusing sky of sensationalising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'd be more pissed off if they interrupted my regular programming for something which could be reported on the evening news. If there had been a bomb set off or running battles with Gardaí it would be different. As it is the story is the lead on the website which is where I get my news anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

they didn't have Dustin on the Late Late either, ffs :mad:

Just saw this on the sky news website
    People are very unhappy, and this is their last chance to protest before the budget.
    Demonstrator Pat Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Anne dolye described brian cowens performance as strong and your accusing sky of sensationalising.

Cowen was strong in that particalar announcement. I expect RTE to report the facts as they are, and not to pander to the opinion of the masses. And they report the facts for the most part. Just because they reported that he delivered a strong performance, does not mean they're endorsing him, or engaging in propoganda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'll be honest, I can see both sides.

RTE is not a 24 hour news service but the protests today and people speaking all day about our national recovery and possible alternative plans, deserve to be heard like never before.

What we will get is at most a collection 5/10 minutes of 10 second sound-bites.
    Mind you this just don't apply to RTE but this is the one national station that most of us are paying our licence fees for.

By three or four in the afternoon, I'm sure there must be a number of important speeches they could have broadcast in full in a special hour or even half hour programme.
    ...But no, nothing except probably a brief bit at six and nine basically ...and thats it.

A national day of protest when people are coming from every corner of our country, about something that will effect generations, where we are about to sign up to a deal of rip-off percentage proportions too (See here) and something that will hit us all in the wallet till the day we die - and RTE will give us just sound-bites!

I hate RTE with a passion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

Yesterday Pearce Doherty won the by-election, first story was rightly about him. Second story was about how badly FG and LAB did FFS!!!

Barely mentioned the fact that the gov. vote dropped by 60%!!!

That imo is pure bias!!

I fully expect to hear an increased anount of FG and LAB bashing ahead of the election from our "media"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

So how much live coverage did TV3 and TG4 give to the march?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Can we also remember that as our national broadcaster they are very restricted in regards to political broadcasts.

The simple fact is that the march isn't big enough or significant enough to warrant exceptional coverage.

Even on the RTÉ website http://www.rte.ie/news/ (which have it as their top story) people are more interested in the weather with the 'Snow and ice cause travel disruption' top of their Most Popular section down the bottom right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Biggins wrote: »
    I'll be honest, I can see both sides.

RTE is not a 24 hour news service but the protests today and people speaking all day about our national recovery and possible alternative plans, deserve to be heard like never before.

What we will get is at most a collection 5/10 minutes of 10 second sound-bites.
    Mind you this just don't apply to RTE but this is the one national station that most of us are baying our licence fees for.

By three or four in the afternoon, I'm sure there must be a number of important speeches they could have broadcast in full in a special hour or even half hour programme.
    ...But no, nothing except probably a brief bit at six and nine basically ...and thats it.

A national day of protest when people are coming from every corner of our country, about something that will effect generations, where we are about to sign up to a deal of rip-off percentage proportions too (See here) and something that will hit us all in the wallet till the day we die - and RTE will give us just sound-bites!

I hate RTE with a passion!

Well first off, it's not a national day of protest, despite what the unions might claim. From the figures I've seen, approx 50k turned up in Dublin to march. That might seem a large number, but in reality it is quite small relative to the general population. Furthermore, the only protest of any significance was in Dublin, so I really don't see how it can be described as a national day of anything.

Secondly, it's really not a huge story, and certainly not one that merits interrupting regular services. We know what's happening. People go on march, people make speeches, people angry. Why exactly does that need special coverage? It will be reported in full on the news later on. I don't see any reason for it to be broadcast live.

Incidentally, the students staged a mass protest in Westminster the other day. BBC and Sky News covered it as one would expect. But none of the regular channels broke from their normal schedules. People who bang on about RTE being a FF shill should bear that kind of thing in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Just saw this on the sky news website

People are very unhappy, and this is their last chance to protest be ignored in large numbers before the budget.
    Demonstrator Pat Kenny

fyp:(

Einhard wrote: »
    Cowen was strong in that particalar announcement. I expect RTE to report the facts as they are, and not to pander to the opinion of the masses. And they report the facts for the most part. Just because they reported that he delivered a strong performance, does not mean they're endorsing him, or engaging in propoganda.

actually a description of performance would be opinion now wouldnt it, the difference is their opinion regarding fianna fail always seem to be positive

Well first off, it's not a national day of protest, despite what the unions might claim. From the figures I've seen, approx 50k turned up in Dublin to march. That might seem a large number, but in reality it is quite small relative to the general population. Furthermore, the only protest of any significance was in Dublin, so I really don't see how it can be described as a national day of anything.

Secondly, it's really not a huge story, and certainly not one that merits interrupting regular services. We know what's happening. People go on march, people make speeches, people angry. Why exactly does that need special coverage? It will be reported in full on the news later on. I don't see any reason for it to be broadcast live.

Incidentally, the students staged a mass protest in Westminster the other day. BBC and Sky News covered it as one would expect. But none of the regular channels broke from their normal schedules. People who bang on about RTE being a FF shill should bear that kind of thing in mind.

Rte is the national broadcaster by the way

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Biggins wrote: »

It's not a national day of protest, it's a minor enough protest by vested interests who with their greed in the good times had a major part getting us into this mess. Bitching and moaning that they have to help the rest of us dig our way out.

They dont report the facts!!

A "strong performance" is not a fact its an opinion.

he stood there waffling for 10 minutes!!

They barely mentioned the utter collapse of gov. support in the by-election either. That is a fact!

Or is that not newsworthy?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

They could use RTE News Now on DTT/web for this sort of thing but the bean counters would (rightly as it happens) deduce that it would not be worth the extra expense for a handful of viewers. You might say they will already have a camera crew/reporter at the march and a newscaster in the building but the cost of mounting even a basic extra live broasdcast is beyond RTEs finances.

That and they wouldn't think to do it anyway of course.

flynnlives wrote: »
    They dont report the facts!!

A "strong performance" is not a fact its an opinion.

he stood there waffling for 10 minutes!!

They barely mentioned the utter collapse of gov. support in the by-election either. That is a fact!

Or is that not newsworthy?!!

yes a fact is that they cut the most important broadcast in recent times short.

By all accounts iv heard that O'Connor was booed out of it.
    It was hard to hear him over the boos and heckling.

lets see will RTE report that at 6!!