Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Touching in Public Toilets

• 25-11-2010 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭

So what are peoples views with avoiding touching any part of a public toilet or does it not bother you?
    Personally, I can't stand touching any part of it including the toilet seat, not to mention the door handles. Gives me the heebee geebees.........
    What are your views?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Was expecting to read about George Michael.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I'm part of a big conspiracy to smear bodily fluids on the door handles just before you get there.....ssshhh.....they're listening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm a male. The whole world is my urinal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Well its not like i lick the seat or anything, but i'm not that OCD that i cant touch anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

I'm a male. The whole world is my urinal

#2 too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I just leave the door slightly ajar and pee on the floor so I don't have to touch anything with my hands. It's much cleaner that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I like to touch my knob off the urinal wall

well fair enough, just reread my title and true. So whats your views on getting it on in a public toilet? Still have horrible hygiene issues..........
    As I remember hearing once, theres nothing more strange than pooing in a nightclub jacks............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Should somebody throw a Snickers bar at the OP?

Seriously, the things people think of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

TheDriver wrote: »
    #2 too?

I only poo at work because I get great satisfaction in the knowledge that I'm being paid while I kak. And the work jacks are immaculate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

your sirname isnt finch by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

How do you get out a door with a pull handle if you don't touch the handle, specially in a t shirt when you can't use your sleeve? Do you bring gloves with you? Wait for someone else to open it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

I got AIDS by rubbing my cock against a public toilet once. True story.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    How do you get out a door with a pull handle if you don't touch the handle, specially in a t shirt when you can't use your sleeve? Do you bring gloves with you? Wait for someone else to open it?

Foot under the door generally if its cubicle or else wait for someone else to open it if its the main door. Or have it open before washing hands. There are many many different ways to ensure OCD is kept in order.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭GSV

I don't see what the problem is. :confused:
    I wash my hands after leaving the cubicle/urinal, I hold my hands in the air till I get to the exit and then I open that door handle with my arse.

Oh yeah, I see what you mean. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

If thier clean I wouldn't mind too much but they never are clean are they?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I pee,wash hands,dry hands with bog roll,more bog roll to flush and open door. There's some manky feckers out there.
    Actually, that place Mother hubbards, just before the turn off for Mullingar, had the only auto sliding door I've ever seen in a public loo, great idea, no touching anyone's piss and **** germs.

Think the old statistic regarding that toothbrushes have an amazing amount of p**s on them due to flushing and the fine spray of urine that fills the air in a bathroom. Imagine that in a public jacks.
    Anyone ever disgusted about toilet brushes in public jacks?? Hate seeing specs of other peoples ****e stuck in the bristles in front of me in the cubicle. Like who uses toilet brushes in public jacks...............
    anyways, thanks lads, I'm not the only OCD!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Think the old statistic regarding that toothbrushes have an amazing amount of p**s on them due to flushing and the fine spray of urine that fills the air in a bathroom. Imagine that in a public jacks.
    Anyone ever disgusted about toilet brushes in public jacks?? Hate seeing specs of other peoples ****e stuck in the bristles in front of me in the cubicle. Like who uses toilet brushes in public jacks...............

probably suggest you don't use the toilet brush to brush your teeth so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

theres nothing like your own toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I like to touch my knob off the urinal wall

Hey, I was about to post that. :(

123balltv wrote: »
    theres nothing like your own toilet

For what? To eat your dinner off it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭HxGH

Tip - don't have untied shoe laces, they collect germs while your walking around and when you tie your laces your doomed as your hands are their new home.

Watch out for this before entering public toilets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

alwaysadub wrote: »

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

tbh a car has more germs than the average toilet,

OP have you sat in a car lately boyo?

oh, dont mention handling a mobile phone....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'm not OCD but I usually try to flush a public jacks with the sole of my shoe and close/open the door with my elbow or shoe.

I used to work in a nightclub and I've seen the state people leave them in, ain't pretty.

Saw a guy taking a dump in a urinal once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Saw a guy taking a dump in a urinal once.

That would make an excellent opening line at a dinner party, or after an awkward silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

HxGH wrote: »
    Tip - don't have untied shoe laces, they collect germs while your walking around and when you tie your laces your doomed as your hands are their new home.

Watch out for this before entering public toilets!

You just want me to bend over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

So what are peoples views with avoiding touching any part of a public toilet or does it not bother you?
    Personally, I can't stand touching any part of it including the toilet seat, not to mention the door handles. Gives me the heebee geebees.........
    What are your views?

Why? Have you ever heard of anyone ever catching a disease off a toliet seat? It doesn't happen. Humans are not that subceptible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

kowloon wrote: »
    That would make an excellent opening line at a dinner party, or after an awkward silence.

You think I haven't already used it?

Won't be called upon to do a reading at mass ever again, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

What are your views?

There are more germs on your computer keyboard than the average toilet.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/3505414.stm

You're grand unless you need to recreate that scene from Trainspotting.

Happy typing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Turpentine, I can hardly wait to forward that link to a germ-o-phobe co-worker of mine. Thanks for sharing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

When you do a poo and water splashes your asshole - that is horrifying.
    When you flush a toilet, a cloud of tiny fecal particles fills the air. Always close the lid first.
    When you're doing a poo, and your knob touches the inside of the toilet - that's also horrifying.
    Regarding the keyboards being dirtier thing - well I compulsively clean my keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Im genuinely shocked at how OCD people are about this, also worked in pubs and clubs but not using door handles!? are ye for real? just wash your hands after and you're fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

The Flutther would be of the opinion that the human, having reached the age of 12 or 13 should be well able to withstand any hygiene issues in public toilets.

I do however have a little tip which I always use.

I dislike having my knob brushing against the front of the pewter so always carry a light rubber band with me.

What you do before your dump is, first have your piss,then tear off a good few sheets of toilet paper and encase the thick end of the knob in it,then secure her with the rubber band and Bob's your uncle.

Keeps her nicely cocooned from all germs and she can bang off the rim with complete freedom.

After the load has been backed out, remove the paper and band, wipe your badge and happy days!!

also never using the 1st sheet of toilet paper because someone else may have touched it...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Thought this thread was about toilet trading.

I am disappoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 ButtersStotch

Im the same. Excessively OCD about touching door handles in general but especially in public toilets. Not everyone realises what the sinks are there for! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The toilets in Con Colbert train station, Limerick. It's level of filth is auto catalysed, (it makes itself worse). Went in one day waiting for a train and found shít smeared along walls, cubicle doors and the floor. Got sick in the sink then, nothing that I could do about it. But hey "That's Limerick Citaaay!", scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

pwd wrote: »
    When you do a poo and water splashes your asshole - that is horrifying.
    When you flush a toilet, a cloud of tiny fecal particles fills the air. Always close the lid first.
    When you're doing a poo, and your knob touches the inside of the toilet - that's also horrifying.
    Regarding the keyboards being dirtier thing - well I compulsively clean my keyboard.
    Also not a fan of this, why doesn't the toilet have a bulge to accomodate my bulge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Suprised nobody has mentioned The Worst Toilet In Scotland :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭medici

Before I sit on any public throne I build a three foot high "nest" of toilet paper on it before sitting down...it acts as a (probably mediocre) barrier against poopey-parasites but, more importantly at this time of year, also insulates the bum from a very cold seat...!

medici wrote: »
    Before I sit on any public throne I build a three foot high "nest" of toilet paper on it before sitting down...it acts as a (probably mediocre) barrier against poopey-parasites but, more importantly at this time of year, also insulates the bum from a very cold seat...!

That sounds might unflushable there buddy

phill106 wrote: »
    Also not a fan of this, why doesn't the toilet have a bulge to accomodate my bulge?

would want to be a massive space for me........:cool:

Imaginary penises dont need the extra room! Seriously, its a good idea though!

phill106 wrote: »
    That sounds might unflushable there buddy

Not really...You'd be surprised what modern flush technology can achieve - especially in the US. Those crappers can handle turds the size of toddlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

All this ocd not touching toilets stuff is only really because the concept makes you feel uncomfortable... Your not going to get sick from any of this, its all completely unnecessary and you probably have a lower immune sstem because of it.
    In fact did you know fresh urine is sterile?

Noodleworm wrote: »
    All this ocd not touching toilets stuff is only really because the concept makes you feel uncomfortable... Your not going to get sick from any of this, its all completely unnecessary and you probably have a lower immune sstem because of it.

Perhaps so, but I will contend that my toilet-paper nest does make a great barrier between my 37-degree celsius butt and the 2-degree celsius toilet seat...

Noodleworm wrote: »

Ye I agree, I have a great immune system when it comes to "being dirty", according to some people. I have toughened myself up. My immune system is on par with Chuck Norris'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Another ridiculous myth.
    Wouldn't you just be breathing it in anyway? Why invent the toothbrush fairytale?