Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

application letter for rifle silencer

• 24-11-2010 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭

Just wanted to enquire what people wrote in there letters as part of the application for there silencer. I am just about to apply and want to make sure i word the letter properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

lofty95 wrote: »
    Just wanted to enquire what people wrote in there letters as part of the application for there silencer. I am just about to apply and want to make sure i word the letter properly.
    not to scare off any other prey(ie rabbits).You don't wish to scare or startle livestock/cattle.
    That should do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I got mine when I applied for the 10/22 ticked the s and wrote beside it,

I will be using this rifle mainly for rabbits and control of avian vermin, the moderator would allow me to harvest more and I request same as per the commissioners guidelines page x paragraph

I had already flagged it with the FO in the area that I was looking for it before applying.

Hope it helps...

If its for a centre fire well, cant help there..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

this is the letter i wrote to the local super and got permission

To who it may concern,

I joe bloggs of 1 main street town center co.ireland wish to apply for permission to hold and use a sound suppressor on my rifle due to the following reasons.

1. Health and safety - To prevent hearing damage to me and others.
    To be aware of what and who is around me when hunting in the “field” and to be able to hear people giving me instructions and warnings.
    Hearing protection is not an option under these conditions.

2. Improved accuracy of bullet placement on animals and thereby given a humane kill.
    This is one proven enhancement of using a sound suppressor.

3. Public safety and peace. To reduce the noise pollution to the public and wildlife in the area if they are within hearing distance of shots being fired as I have shooting permission on lands where this possibly could happen.
    On occasion the night shooting of vermin is needed the use of a sound suppressor will reduce the noise pollution to the public and wildlife.

4. I have permission to shoot on lands for the control of vermin where livestock and horses are kept and at the time of nearing giving birth the sounds of a non sound suppressed firearm being fired will startle and frighten the livestock horses and other animals in the area which could result in loss and death of unborn animals.
    The sounds of shooting will stampede the horses that could result in severe injury to myself or the horses a sound suppressor is required on these occasions.

I hope I have outlined the reasons why I require a sound suppressor for my rifle and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

should have mentioned its a .223

smokin ace wrote: »

To who it may concern,

I joe bloggs of 1 main street town center co.ireland wish to apply for permission to hold and use a sound suppressor on my rifle due to the following reasons.

To be aware of what and who is around me when hunting in the “field” and to be able to hear people giving me instructions and warnings.

2. Improved accuracy of bullet placement on animals and thereby given a humane kill.

3. Public safety and peace. To reduce the noise pollution to the public and wildlife in the area if they are within hearing distance of shots being fired as I have shooting permission on lands where this possibly could happen.
    On occasion the night shooting of vermin is needed the use of a sound suppressor will reduce the noise pollution to the public and wildlife.

4. I have permission to shoot on lands for the control of vermin where livestock and horses are kept and at the time of nearing giving birth the sounds of a non sound suppressed firearm being fired will startle and frighten the livestock horses and other animals in the area which could result in loss and death of unborn animals.
    The sounds of shooting will stampede the horses that could result in severe injury to myself or the horses a sound suppressor is required on these occasions.

I hope I have outlined the reasons why I require a sound suppressor for my rifle and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Fair play to ya, gives me plenty reasons there that make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

one of the other lads on boards a few months back when i was applying posted a letter something along the same lines and i used his one and added my own bits and pieces and changed some of the wording

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

did ye all have to pay 80 euro again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Can i apply for a silencer now or do i have to wait till renewal???

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Can i apply for a silencer now or do i have to wait till renewal???

You can apply for a moderator at any time. The only reason lads are hesitant is under the current law its deemed a firearm and costs another €80 to have the new license issued with the "S" in the corner.

As to costs, jap gt. I don't know. Technically you are supposed to pay the €80. If the new licenses are being issued without a grant and merely as a replacement/substituted license with the "S" on it, then all the better. Also because someone gets away without having to pay the €80 does not mean you will. As with most things its station dependant.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

cheers ezridax, gonna ring the station and see if it'll cost the 80 quid, wont bother untill renewal if i have to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

ezridax wrote: »
    You can apply for a moderator at any time. The only reason lads are hesitant is under the current law its deemed a firearm and costs another €80 to have the new license issued with the "S" in the corner.

As to costs, jap gt. I don't know. Technically you are supposed to pay the €80. If the new licenses are being issued without a grant and merely as a replacement/substituted license with the "S" on it, then all the better. Also because someone gets away without having to pay the €80 does not mean you will. As with most things its station dependant.

I got another licence with an "S" for Free!:D

How?

How?

Please Sir, may I get one of those "S" letters stamped on my .308 licence?

that will be out to you monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

smokin ace wrote: »

To who it may concern,

Glad to see people are using that cover letter I put together.
    ;):p :rolleyes:

A good application essay"is like a woman's skirt. It should be long enough to cover the good stuff, but short enough to keep things interesting
    I find the more you have down the more they will question you on.

A good reason for a mod?
    Non disturbance of game/livestock whilst hunting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭T223

clivej wrote: »
    Glad to see people are using that cover letter I put together.
    ;):p :rolleyes:
    Thats a great cover letter clivej might use it in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭foxboy

ezridax wrote: »

I ticked the box for silencer on my substitution but there is no "S" on my licence what should I do

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

If the "S" is not on your license then it was not processed as being passed.

You can ring up your local station, give the pulse/cert number of your license and they can check PULSE to see if it was passed or not. If it was then its a printing error and they can issue a reprint of the license there and then, for free which you will receive within 3-5 days.

If it was not on your cert and not on PULSE then you were not passed. You may request a reason for refusal, however i am not certain of how successful this will be. Also you may re-apply if it was a complete oversight and get the mod seperately.

Irrespective of what other users tell you, under the law the moderator is classed as a frearm and requires joint application with the firearm or seperate application after you get the firearm. In the first instance you pay €80 for both. In the second instance you pay €160 for them seperately.

If others have gotten it added for free it does not mean you will too. Using the excuse that Mr X got his for free will not matter if they charge another €80 for the mod. As said before its district specific.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Was talking to the sergent today i had to rewrite out my application letter leaving the bit out on health and safety as it is not a valid or accepted reason for warranting a suppressor.