Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We see but do we care.

• 13-11-2010 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭

Hi all
    Seen something today that deeply saddened my heart. But before that let me tell you a short story.
    While growing up in the 70s I witnessed a barefoot young itinerant with her new baby thrown off a CIE (Dublin bus now) because she was an itinerant. It was something that shamed me because I did nothing.
    Today I saw a begger being moved along by two young garda in Talbot St, Dublin. He had no shoes.
    Thank God I had some cash in my pocket and I was able to buy him a pair. This was the last of my money but God is good..
    Please if you see someone that needs help give it. I do not mean give them cash but a scarf for a homeless man, a pair of cheap gloves anything. Just give and ask nothing in return
    What can you loose
    Sorry I will shut up now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

but did you give him YOUR shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Did god buy you some new shoes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

They hide their shoes, seen 'em do it.

Also, seen some homeless turn down food last week in Temple Bar beside the ATM's in the square, she told them to f-off and they did not look at all surprised and the food looked very good.

Flasks of soup and sandwiches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

OutlawPete wrote: »

In the boot of their car parked around the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

The shoes thing is bull****. Pennys sell shoes for (no exageration) 3 euro. If you do not have shoes, its your own fault.

I have also seen people without shoes being handed shoes by a friend to walk home in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

LOL, so now the beggar has two pairs of shoes!! A good days work for him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Danbo! wrote: »
    In the boot of their car parked around the corner

Wouldn't go that far, but I've seen them hide shows in bags and also seen one guy that is regularly in the lanes of Grafton St, use a fake sling.

There is a guy famous for making himself look like an amputee also, he used to be around Moore St all the time, but think he was moved on so much, he stopped coming back.

In saying all that, I buy food for homeless people the odd time, if they ask me for money going into a shop .. I will just say that I will buy them something if they tell me what they want.

Usual sandwich, bar and coffee.

Giving money bugs me as I know most of them are on drugs.

If someone doesn't look like a junkie or a alco though, I might give a little cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

milos wrote: »
    This was the last of my money but God is good..

The God Delusion at it's finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

OutlawPete wrote: »

Also, seen some homeless turn down food last week in Temple Bar beside the ATM's in the square, she told them to f-off and they did not look at all surprised and the food looked very good.

Flasks of soup and sandwiches.

Seen that with the food myself,bloke in front of me gave a beggar on O Connell Bridge a lovely looking sandwich, which promptly got fcuked into the Liffey.

I'm sure some appriciate food and clothes, but a fair few just want money.
    And i'm too broke myself to be giving people money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Hi all
    Seen something today that deeply saddened my heart. But before that let me tell you a short story.
    While growing up in the 70s I witnessed a barefoot young itinerant with her new baby thrown off a CIE (Dublin bus now) because she was an itinerant. It was something that shamed me because I did nothing.
    Today I saw a begger being moved along by two young garda in Talbot St, Dublin. He had no shoes.
    Thank God I had some cash in my pocket and I was able to buy him a pair. This was the last of my money but God is good..
    Please if you see someone that needs help give it. I do not mean give them cash but a scarf for a homeless man, a pair of cheap gloves anything. Just give and ask nothing in return
    What can you loose
    Sorry I will shut up now

I think thats a lovely thing you did.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Beggers make 10,000 euro a day begging on the streets don't you know. And they eat swans and get free prams also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Being in dublin for the last while, I've seen a lot of beggars, and I've felt sorry for some of them, but I try to figure out if they actually need it. What I've been considering a tell is their facial hair. in fairness just about all of them are freshly shaven. I saw one man that had a full grown beard and looked rough, but he wasn't looking for money, just minding his own business.

Is this a reasonable thing to judge by?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

I do help the homeless when I feel they are genuinely homeless. Trying my best not to sound xenophobic here, but I think the only people you can trust to actually be homeless are the Irish although some can just be pissheads unfortunately.

The amount of non-national homeless I have seen being picked up in expensive cars is kinda disgusting tbh.

Fair play OP!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

the best way to judge it is remember which ones are in the pissing rain in the night time,i have my own regular now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

pmcmahon wrote: »
    the best way to judge it is remember which ones are in the pissing rain in the night time,i have my own regular now :)

I'm the same, anyone out there at night is real. Bet no-ones ever seen one of the people with kids/roma out at night.

I see them a lot. Selling flowers, things that light up & cowboy hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Great, another opportunity to slag off those damned homeless, junkie, single-mother, immigrant, homosexual, Muslim, travelling, swan-eating, jobless Roma. Y'know, the ones with the big SUVs and wardrobes full of Manolas who dress in rags and beat their dogs. My village is full of them, feckers.

If you seriously want to help and don't have any money, the Simon Community is always looking for volunteers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I just want to know how this "god" has anything to do with it. I mean you mention him/her/it/Santy/Tooth Fairy/Imaginary Friend twice.

And.....
    This was the last of my money but God is good

makes no sense. If god is good, why is there suffering/pedos/Justin Bieber?

<opens can of worms. Sits back and watches the chaos.>

Was a really nice thing you did. But YOU did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭jaysusake

Fair play OP but do you do that for all of the beggars/homeless people ye see? if so you'll end up homeless with no shoes and they'll be giving ye hassle for been on their patch!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

God is good..

He doesn't appear to have been too good to a genuinely shoeless homeless person.

They exist, but your money would have been better invested by giving to the Simon Community or Focus Ireland.

What you did was very nice, and I don't mean to appear cold, but there are a lot of professional beggars out there, the charities I mentioned are better placed to assist the genuinely needy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

This was the last of my money but God is good..

Why is he good? Is it because there are lots of shoeless hobos on the streets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

I was homeless for a while when I was younger. I ran away from home because it was a bad situation and I didn't see an alternative. It's really a horrible situation to be in if you have nobody to turn to. I was begging and sleeping in abandoned buildings (squatting). I tried staying at a homeless shelter but they kicked me out when the manager found out I was only 17.

Anyone criticizing the OP for helping someone out, whether they actually needed it or not, should really be ashamed of themselves. Then again, this is AH and being an arsehole is the cool thing to do.

Just because someone has a different opinion to you doesn't automatically make them an arsehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Who cares about the OPs religious beliefs?
    What they did was nice, whether the person was genuinely homeless or not, the OP thought they were in need and tried to help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Just because someone has a different opinion to you doesn't automatically make them an arsehole.

I never said it did. The OP is basically saying that people should be more willing to help those less fortunate than themselves. I reckon anyone who doesn't agree with that particular opinion is a bit of an arsehole. Same goes for anyone who criticizes a person for being charitable, regardless of why they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Hi all
    What can you loose
    Sorry I will shut up now

Sorry, I didn't read through the whole thread, but you're right, no matter what jokes whatever - this being AH's and all, there are people who are living out in the open at this moment and not tapping the keys of their laptop, computer or iphone..

However, I remember at 'Easter' a long time ago, seeing a kid on O'Connell bridge literally shivering and begging. I didn't give money, but while I shopped I picked up a few bits and pieces, clothes, food, an Easter egg etc. and on my way back across the bridge trying to be discrete giving it over - being bawled out of it by said 'kid'!

Wow!

Would I do it again - a resounding YES, every single day that I can afford it. You never know...

The child was obviously sent out to get 'money', mine was the wrong kind of currency at the time...no matter, I went home to my cosy home afterward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

It's a nice thing the op did.

A good friend of mine, who was from a very wealthy well known family locally, ended up on heroin (fool, I know). His family have tried everything including sending him to the states to get treatment to no avail. He is homeless now and no-one has anything to do with him. It's so sad though, that this disgusting heroin drug has ruined his life. He is obviously not strong enough to quit and has lost everything. Last I heard he is injecting his penis as they are the only veins he has left. I meet him from time to time around the city and it breaks my heart to see him.

My point is, not all homeless people are on the make.

Loopy wrote: »
    It's a nice thing the op did.

A good friend of mine, who was from a very wealthy well known family locally, ended up on heroin (fool, I know). His family have tried everything including sending him to the states to get treatment to no avail. He is homeless now and no-one has anything to do with him. It's so sad though, that this disgusting heroin drug has ruined his life. He is obviously not strong enough to quit and has lost everything. Last I heard he is injecting his penis as they are the only veins he has left. I meet him from time to time around the city and it breaks my heart to see him.

My point is, not all homeless people are on the make.

That's really weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Ive a friend working with the simon. Most of the people they deal with are drug/drink/mental illness related but she said every now and again she hears a story from somebody who lost a job, marriage breaks up and they end up on the streets very rapidly. She says its rare but does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

If it's freezing cold and they're still sitting on a bridge somewhere begging, they are in a bad way, whatever reason. Would try and get a hot drink in Huston if it wasn't too late when my train came in and give it to the guy on the bridge in winter. A couple of ciggies also. He never asked for money. I don't care if he's a junkie - freezing cold sitting on a bridge for whatever reason is terrible. I know he's not gonna try and get himself in doors as he's trying to get the money for a score, but a least a hot chocolate will warm him up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Jesus people, as a resident of Dublin City you should only give to real homeless people who are out there in their shacks overnite rather than the conmen(mostly of a foreign group we all know about) who sets himself up 9-5 at pay parking machines & outside ATM's.

I recently went to Charlemont Clinic for an Xray. And guess what, there was 2 beggars outside the 2 pay machines for parking, no rewards on where they were from. Moral of the story, only give your hard earned cash to real homeless, that is those supported by the Simon Community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Hi all
    What can you loose
    Sorry I will shut up now
    I dont think God is good, I think there are good people and you're one of them. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

OP I think you got more out of buying & giving the shoes than the beggar did.
    But that doesn't make you a selfish person. You just need to find a more effective way to help homeless people.
    Your heart is in the right place though & I enjoyed reading your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭milos

Thank you all for your response.
    I did it because i saw a human being in trouble. Did the Simon community help him? probably . But try to remember the story of the Samaritan. That is where simon comes from.
    As regards weather God is good remember but for his grace we could be that man with no shoes or the drug addict or the homeless or much worse than we are.
    PS in case you think I am a hardened zelot i have not attended church in 25 years but i do believe in God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

SeaFields wrote: »
    Ive a friend working with the simon. Most of the people they deal with are drug/drink/mental illness related but she said every now and again she hears a story from somebody who lost a job, marriage breaks up and they end up on the streets very rapidly. She says its rare but does happen.
    It can happen to anyone of us at anytime of life.

Thank you all for your response.
    I did it because i saw a human being in trouble. Did the Simon community help him? probably . But try to remember the story of the Samaritan. That is where simon comes from.
    As regards weather God is good remember but for his grace we could be that man with no shoes or the drug addict or the homeless or much worse than we are.
    PS in case you think I am a hardened zelot i have not attended church in 25 years but i do believe in God

That's the part I have a problem with. I don't believe in God. I pretend I do for the sake of my family & my fiances family which are religious but personally it's not my cup of tea. Yes it makes me a hypocrite. But it also saves a lot of arguments if I keep my opinion to myself.

But I respect your beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I only give money to beggars if someone is around to see my act of kindness. If no one is going to see how charitable i am then i give em nothing.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I grew up in a very poor household that couldn't afford any clothes whatsoever. I was naked all the time and so could never be seen in public. It was terrible, Joe.

At the age of 18 they bought me a hat so I could look out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Is there such a thing as a selfless act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

It was a nice thing the OP did. But the no shoes thing is obviously deliberate. There is no possible way anyone, homeless or not would have to go shoe less in this country. There are countless homeless charities in the country that would hand them a pair straight out, but apart from that, as others have said, you can get a pair of cheap shoes for two or three euro.

I grew up in a oul cider barrell. 12 of us in the family there was that lived in that oul thing. We didn't even have enough money to sleep or talk. Breathing was rationed. Sure i died twice from the consumption. Walked 7 miles to school & back. Even though it was only half a mile away but i always went the long way so i could tell people i walked 7 miles to school as a child.:)

I'm so rich, that I have people travel ahead of me wherever I go, cleaning unsightly things from the streets in case they offend my delicate eyes.

As such, I have never seen a homeless person, except on television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I was homeless for a while when I was younger. I ran away from home because it was a bad situation and I didn't see an alternative. It's really a horrible situation to be in if you have nobody to turn to. I was begging and sleeping in abandoned buildings (squatting). I tried staying at a homeless shelter but they kicked me out when the manager found out I was only 17.
    Me too. Long story. I did what I could to get by, never begged though. But I had to shoplift for food and slept rough. Til an old friend found me and got me a part time job and a place to stay til I sorted myself out.
    It's a weird experience, you're very much aware of being in a totally different world where normal life passes you by.
    You're aware of people trying not to notice you and it makes the division worse, like if something bad happened to you no-one would notice.
    I got into this situation through some bad circumstances, none of which were my fault.
    It taught me to be careful before I judge people.

As such, I have never seen a homeless person.

Your definitely not from dublin then.

strobe wrote: »
    It was a nice thing the OP did. But the no shoes thing is obviously deliberate. There is no possible way anyone, homeless or not would have to go shoe less in this country. There are countless homeless charities in the country that would hand them a pair straight out, but apart from that, as others have said, you can get a pair of cheap shoes for two or three euro.

Despite all of that, there are some who are 'newly' homeless and clueless people who are on the street. Shoes are pretty cool, but heat and comfort is something that one can't disregard as a 'given', no matter the society or what's made available through charity etc. Being homeless is probably something that somebody has to 'travel a mile in my shoes'...to understand fully..There are a brand new breed of homeless..

It's nice to remember them too, even if it's rebuked..keep offering help, always! It's never a bad thing for sure, even if it is non personal but through a charity of a persons choice - if you can spare it, give it - whatever way you see fit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 156 ✭✭Cranky Mc Funhouse

Is there such a thing as a selfless act?
    Nope. So called selfless acts make a person feel better so they can live their life guilt free.

Ever hear the expression full of shyte in ton bags? Get familiar with it, cause you are babe...AH's or no, full of shyte is full of shyte...

Uncharitable, self obsessed shyte head - :P

lmaopml wrote: »
    Ever hear the expression full of shyte in ton bags? Get familiar with it, cause you are babe...AH's or no, full of shyte is full of shyte...

By using the word highlighted above you instantly make me think of an episode of Footaballers Wives.
    That is not a good thing.

lmaopml wrote: »

Im afraid he's right. And the anger in your post betrays that his post has struck a nerve.

Charity is a 50/50 thing for most people deep down. Yes your helping someone less fortunate is a nice thing to do but your also giving yourself a hefty pat on the back. It is self-gratifying.