Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10K for being called a few names!!

• 11-11-2010 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/sister-of-drugmurder-victim-gets-euro10000-bus-rage-payout-2415728.html
    A YOUNG woman whose brother was murdered in a drugs feud in Spain six years ago was awarded €10,000 in damages yesterday, following a row with a bus driver after she had wrongly driven into a bus lane.

College student Tracey Sugg (22) claimed that bus driver Gerard Hearne called her a "dirty smelly trollop" and a "tramp" after she drove across his path during the rush hour.

Yesterday, her barrister Conor Kearney told Dublin Circuit Civil Court that Ms Sugg could not have been a worse candidate for road-rage aggression and abuse because of a very difficult upbringing.

Judge Rory MacCabe heard that her brother, Stephen Sugg, was murdered in Spain in 2004 in connection with a drugs feud and that she had been undergoing treatment for depression prior to the bus incident.

Ms Sugg, of Church Terrace, Finglas, Dublin, told the court she had wrongly driven in the bus lane at Edgewood Lawns, Dublin, on November 13, 2008.

She was on her way to college and later, when she was stopped in traffic, the bus driver banged on her window, which she partially wound down.

Aggression

According to Ms Sugg, Mr Hearne said: "You are only a blonde bimbo. You are a dirty, smelly trollop and a tramp."

She said she drove off and he followed her in the bus, flashing his lights and driving up close to her car. Ms Sugg said she felt frightened and intimidated.

Mr Hearne told the court he would not use such language to anyone. He wanted to speak to her about her driving and asked what had been going on when she had driven across him.

He said she had endangered her own life and those of his passengers. He added that immediately returned to the vehicle when she told him: "If you don't go away, I'll break your f***ing legs."

Mr Hearne told the judge he regretted having left his bus and would not do so again. He agreed that driving very close to her car and flashing his lights would have been very intimidating. He denied kicking her car.

Judge MacCabe said he had seen a video recording of Mr Hearne's driving before and after the incident and believed that he had been annoyed, as he was entitled to be, by the manner of Ms Sugg's driving.

"We all have to put up with this type of driving but it doesn't excuse his behaviour," Judge MacCabe said. "Mr Hearne should not have got out of his bus to remonstrate with her and his driving and light flashing after the incident could only have been a manifestation of his own anger and an attempt to intimidate her."

Awarding Ms Sugg €10,000 and costs, he said professional drivers were supposed to behave professionally.

Mr Hearne's behaviour had exacerbated a previously existing condition from which Ms Sugg was suffering.

Dublin Bus declined to comment last night.

This is a ridiculous payout. It justifies her actions and more than likely she is a smug as you like with the result..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

op is a fag

There you go - thats at least 5k for you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Ridiculous payout but the bus driver seems like a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Note to self: drive in bus lanes

Dude, you're leaving out the driving up her bumper in a huge bus, getting out of the bus to remonstrate with her and leaving his passengers delayed.

Bit more to it than just name calling.

Indignant poster is indignant.

whose brother was murdered in a drugs feud in Spain six years ago
    So fcuking what?
    What has that got to do with any of this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

listermint wrote: »
    This is a ridiculous payout. It justifies her actions and more than likely she is a smug as you like with the result..

Stupid post is stupid.

If doesn't justify her actions at all. She had every right to bring this to court (assuming it's all true).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Bus driver should have floored it and run into her. Then he'd be getting compensation.

Dude, you're leaving out the driving up her bumper in a huge bus, getting out of the bus to remonstrate with her and leaving his passengers delayed.

Bit more to it than just name calling.

Indignant poster is indignant.

She threatened him

"she told him: "If you don't go away, I'll break your f***ing legs.""
    ah you edited it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

bluewolf wrote: »
    So fcuking what?

yeah is that just thrown into the article for sympathy or to make us assume shes a scumbag? completely irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Im sorry but how can you justify 10k payout. If i had a penny for everytime i was called a name.

She shouldnt have been in the bus lane and should have bloody well got out off it when he spoke with her.

And id fair believe she gave as good she got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Pity he didn't kill her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

She threatened him

"she told him: "If you don't go away, I'll break your f***ing legs.""
    ah you edited it out

So if someone calls you a dirty smelly trollop and you tell him to fukk off it's cool for him to tail gate you in a fukking bus? Get up outta that, will ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/sister-of-drugmurder-victim-gets-euro10000-bus-rage-payout-2415728.html

Nah she's as Sugg as you like with the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

strobe wrote: »
    So if someone calls you a dirty smelly trollop and you tell him to fukk off it's cool for him to tail gate you in a fukking bus? Get up outta that, will ye.
    Some dickhead tailgated me for 15 minutes down the N4 this morning. Do I deserve 10 grand?

strobe wrote: »

Poster I quoted said he threatened her
    I clarified
    they appear to have edited

I don't know where you got the rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Fair enough, going by the quoted article, the bus driver shouldn't have called her names, but 10k does seem a bit much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭legallyblonde86

he shouldn't have tail gated her.... someone has already been killed as a result of road rage and even if her brother was into drugs doesn't mean she was.

Fair play to her. She shouldn't have driven in the bus lane, she said she made a mistake, we all do and I'm sick of being bullied off the road by people with big ego's!!!!

Sure look at all those A-holes driving on the phone or who don't put seatbelts on their children. People don't take care on the roads anymore, thats why there are so many deaths!!!

phasers wrote: »
    Some dickhead tailgated me for 15 minutes down the N4 this morning. Do I deserve 10 grand?

no, you called him names, therefore you owe him 10k :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Just a matter of clarity.
    Who is actually paying the money? Those found culpable or the state?

If its the driver or the company, then its a penalty being imposed upon them - not just an award (justified or not) for someone.

he shouldn't have tail gated her.... someone has already been killed as a result of road rage and even if her brother was into drugs doesn't mean she was.

Fair play to her. She shouldn't have driven in the bus lane, she said she made a mistake, we all do and I'm sick of being bullied off the road by people with big ego's!!!!

Sure look at all those A-holes driving on the phone or who don't put seatbelts on their children. People don't take care on the roads anymore, thats why there are so many deaths!!!

Fair play to her for driving in the bus lane?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, money will be gone soon anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Fair play to her....

She drove into a bus lane, cutting across a bus, at rush hour. Seriously, I find it hard to see how you could possibly justify this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Where does it say the award was for name-calling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Bryan4president

I'd say Dublin Bus have to pay it, as they declined to comment on the outcome, don't see how she could have sued the state anyway, though i'm sure she tried to find a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Ironic username is ironic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

So fcuking what?

pist... forget about the butler.. I recon the bus driver did it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

*whispers pedanticly* the judge is wrong to award higher damages on the basis of him acting in a professional capacity - a bus driver is not a "professional" in the true sense of the word, and all the case law is based on the duty of care owed by true professionals being subject to a higher standard of care required by years of training and by being governed by a professional body with disciplinary powers. e.g. doctors, lawyers, dentists.

He may have been driving for a living, but its not a living which requires a difficult degree and ongoing tests of professional competence.

It doesn't justify an enhanced fine of 10,000E. Appeal! The judge has made an error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Im sorry but how can you justify 10k payout. If i had a penny for everytime i was called a name.

She shouldnt have been in the bus lane and should have bloody well got out off it when he spoke with her.

And id fair believe she gave as good she got.

Shoulda-coulda-woulda-piece-ash!tta.

Why would you "fair believe" anything? Jumping to assumptions is what you base legal decisions on? How's that law degree working out for you, Matlock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm a tramp.

There, I've just won 10 grand.................does this mean I have to cough up 10 grand to pay myself off?

Anyways, what the hell is the €10,000 for? Her therapist so she can get over this awful ordeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The irony. The ones with the biggest egos are the ones who think they can do what they do what they like on the road and afterwards claim "it was a mistake"...

As for tailgating her.... was she still in the Bus Lane? Was it in fact busy traffic?

Apology should have sufficed. Stupid pay-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Jibbs

Yesterday, her barrister Conor Kearney told Dublin Circuit Civil Court that Ms Sugg could not have been a worse candidate for road-rage aggression and abuse because of a very difficult upbringing.

Ah yes, my favourite reason for breaking the law/getting compensated. The old 'Tough childhood' plea. Absolute effing bollox. This country is a joke etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Lets hope she gets some points on her driving licence....since the bus driver is not the only person at fault here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Right I'm going to say it first... Good for her.

I'm not a small guy, and not easily intimidated but even I can find a serious case of road rage a little unsettling.

Unlike me, that young lady hasn't got my physical presence and ability to turn the tables on her aggressor so I can only imagine how much worse something like this is for her.

I'm glad she was compensated, she deserves it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

So fcuking what?

Yeah that's what I thought too after reading it, but I think they are using it as the explanation story for the cause of her depression, and then said that the driver's rage had made her depression worse.
    This is probably why she got so much money. Get a doctors letter and abit of medical history, and suddenly the bus driver is also responsible for worsening her mental health.

Judge Rory MacCabe heard that her brother, Stephen Sugg, was murdered in Spain in 2004 in connection with a drugs feud and that she had been undergoing treatment for depression prior to the bus incident.
    Awarding Ms Sugg €10,000 and costs, he said professional drivers were supposed to behave professionally.

Mr Hearne's behaviour had exacerbated a previously existing condition from which Ms Sugg was suffering.

It reminds me of a family in my area. There is at least one of them up in court every single week, and every single week the local newspaper has their names and a short script of what their solicitor said: "they lost their brother a few years ago, and have been acting up but are trying to get back on track"

They were never ON track to begin with, and they try to get sympathy in the hope of leniency for them acting like tramps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Jibbs wrote: »
    Ah yes, my favourite reason for breaking the law/getting compensated. The old 'Tough childhood' plea. Absolute effing bollox. This country is a joke etc...

You have to love it alright. It is the greatest excuse in the book. She tried to be smart and cut into the bus lane at rush hour instead of sitting in traffic like everyone else. Her childhood mustnt have been too tough, if she can afford a car at 22.

This case is a prime example of everything that is wrong with the irish justice system. The judge should have thrown her out of court and stuck a few points on her license for good measure. Wouldn't it just be the cherry on top of the icing on the cake, if she was a provisional license holder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Very stupid and unjustified payout.

At most the bus driver should have been sacked for disorderly conduct.

As for people who drive in bus lanes, what are they called? BUS LANES! Stop ****ing making me late for work by clogging up the bus lanes! :mad::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

So fcuking what?

HE WAS SHOT IN A BUS LANE!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

10k for being called a few names?

I think I've a couple hundred grand coming to me *rubs hands gleefully*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

10K, that is an absolute disgrace. She was in the wrong in the first place, causing the bus driver to loose his temper (which happens every driver on the road at some stage or another, I have road rage now and I'm sitting on the couch) and then this fcuking KNACKER takes him to court and before people start slating me asking "how do you know she is a KNACKER" I don't know if she is a knacker but i do know she is related to knackers and they usually go hand in hand.
    Judge awards her 10k, I HATE this country sometimes and most of all i hate KNACKERS like her. Their lives revolve around getting claims. Lets be realistic, if everyone claimed for getting abuse from other drivers on the road, we would all be rich.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

So fcuking what?

He's a scumbag..used to be head of the Westies and she's a scumbag so she should get fcuck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'm not a small guy, and not easily intimidated but even I can find a serious case of road rage a little unsettling.

Unlike me, that young lady hasn't got my physical presence and ability to turn the tables on her aggressor so I can only imagine how much worse something like this is for her.

Okay having discussed this with a friend, it appears he went to school with her, and it is of his opinion that he is surprised she didnt get out and box the head off the guy such is her 'presence' and 'demeanor'. So you sir are mistaken. And your claims of 'young lady' are totally unfounded in this instance. There are other names that could be potentially used but 'young lady' are not one of them.

So 10K is justification for this.. not on your life. Its typical of the system that has crept in here. And she got off scott free of 2 points and a 90 quid fine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Driven in the bus lane by mistake my arse. This is the road that leads from the bridge at the top of the Blanchardstown centre to the IT yeah? I've been using that road every day for the last 6 weeks and in the mile or so of bus lane, every time at least 5 or 6 cars race up the bus lane. I wouldnt mind, it's not as if the traffic is solid all the way up the road theres usually a line of traffic at the lights about half way and cars come up with their left indicator on as if they are fooling everyone, then continue in th ebus lane right up to the college . They are passing fairly light traffic too. It just seems as though people ignore the bus lanes on that road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

What will she spend the 10k on?

Driving lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Driving lessons hopefully.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Drugs and Budweiser

Degsy wrote: »
    Drugs and Budweiser

Hopefully she'll buy her husband a big crate of Stella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Yeah road rage is unsettling, but it's just part of life. It irritates the hell out of most people if they see others breaking the rules because they follow the rules themselves.

Getting 10,000 for a road rage incident is ridiculous, especially when the woman was clearly antagonising the bus driver by saying she'd break his legs (not saying the bus driver is innocent!). One was as bad as the other. They both should've had points added to their licences, and left it at that. Judge is a sap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Feeona wrote: »
    Yeah road rage is unsettling, but it's just part of life. It irritates the hell out of most people if they see others breaking the rules because they follow the rules themselves.

'Just part of life' my arse.

Its a cowardly, stupid & dangerous thing to do.

The last three times people have abused me I've gotten out of my car, nice and calm and each and every time the idiot has locked their doors, and what have I told 'em each time... "Buddy your a windy cu*t, did you think you were bullying and frightening an auld lad or something?".. And I'd swear to good God I'd be surprised if they ever done it again, at least without thinking of the consequences.

The bus driver is a professional driver and should have acted accordingly, although his company will likely have to pick up the tab, I do hope that some kind of action is brought against him for his behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

So fcuking what?

Typical Irish journalism, they always throw in the irrelevant or unnecessary
    information just to fill up those last lines for their editor.

The Media: 95% bull****, 5% advertisements