If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[CoD Black Ops] - MegaBitch thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Stop picking me as host!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

****ing bullet damage-non existent.Have no fukking lag,empty most of lmg clip and then get killed with 3 hits at long range from a fukking mac11.

Game is playing grand with no stuttering,ping at a steady 38 unless they have somehow made lag that only effects fukking bullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Christ lads I was gonna get this on Friday but ye have me worried! Is it that bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Flecktarn wrote: »
    Christ lads I was gonna get this on Friday but ye have me worried! Is it that bad?

The lag is ridiculous and us in the party have been put with Candians and Spanish speaking people which could possibly be Mexican. Rotten lag atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭raze

Thank cod for threads like these, finally got the hump with the lag and spawning earlier and was left stewing afterward. I've got 16 people online now; 14 playing BO and 2 afk, but I cannot have any fun with it until there's some patching.

I want the option to disable theatre mode. When I've watched my own matches they were downloaded from a server. So presumably, every time I play I'm streaming info to Activision servers. Great, I get 40 kbps up, and that's how I'm spending my precious bandwidth.

I like a lot of things about this though. Being able to hit select and set searches to LOCALE ONLY was a great idea, because before that I didn't know pings to Spain were lower than to UK. And only had to spend 5 minutes in the lobby each time to find that out.

I think I'd like this game more if it wasn't made by a bunch of over rated modders who have good ideas, but weak skills when it comes to implementing features

There's a challenge to dive to prone through a window and shoot an enemy. Nice concept. Shame the game stops you halfway in, and you're lying perpendicular to the wall floating where the glass used to. Never looked like that when I've seen it in movies.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Knew I shouldn't have gotten this. Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

raze wrote: »
    Thank cod for threads like these, finally got the hump with the lag and spawning earlier and was left stewing afterward. I've got 16 people online now; 14 playing BO and 2 afk, but I cannot have any fun with it until there's some patching.

I want the option to disable theatre mode. When I've watched my own matches they were downloaded from a server. So presumably, every time I play I'm streaming info to Activision servers. Great, I get 40 kbps up, and that's how I'm spending my precious bandwidth.

I like a lot of things about this though. Being able to hit select and set searches to LOCALE ONLY was a great idea, because before that I didn't know pings to Spain were lower than to UK. And only had to spend 5 minutes in the lobby each time to find that out.

I think I'd like this game more if it wasn't made by a bunch of over rated modders who have good ideas, but weak skills when it comes to implementing features

There's a challenge to dive to prone through a window and shoot an enemy. Nice concept. Shame the game stops you halfway in, and you're lying perpendicular to the wall floating where the glass used to. Never looked like that when I've seen it in movies.

AFAIK it's the host who sends the gameplay of everyone in the match to the servers , I've heard that if the host quits it doesn't save your gameplay so that's what I'm basing it off. I haven't played it yet:mad:
    I'll be damn pissed if I'm uploading data to the servers at that rate too! Fooking data caps :(

No.

Would you of got it tomorrow if you had gone to the sunshine and lollipops thread?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Well unlike Infinity Award at least there gona patch these problems! They seem to have took out commando but made it that you can lunge futher away. My game keeps freezing in the menus and is all round slower loading than MW2.:mad: All round though its still better than MW.

LakesKeane wrote: »
    AFAIK it's the host who sends the gameplay of everyone in the match to the servers , I've heard that if the host quits it doesn't save your gameplay so that's what I'm basing it off. I haven't played it yet:mad:
    I'll be damn pissed if I'm uploading data to the servers at that rate too! Fooking data caps :(

You could well be right. I'd still like the option of turning it off if there's any chance it's putting an overhead on transmissions. Obviously, there were more than 500k people online across all playlists on PS3 around 10pm. I guess that's kind of a lot. Which only underlines the necessity for ultra optimised netcode if anyone is relaying back to centralised servers.

EDIT: how did Halo handle replay data? Wasn't it stored locally on HDD, and shared through Bungie servers (ie not streamed during gameplay)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Good grief this game is buggy on PC!!!

The lag is unbelievable (in singleplayer, too) and there seems to be an odd problem when you shoot bad guys their guns stay floating and still fire in one direction :confused:

My machine ain't the beefiest but it can play 90% new games on High, I put this on the lowest settings and it still acts the same as it does on top settings.

I've been checking other forums and this seems to be a huge issue with the PC. It eats your CPU up to 100%, cripples itself and crashes randomly.

How did this get released in this state?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Magill wrote: »
    Yeah... going back to mw2 because of how the menus looks is kinda stupid :)

My only major gripes with the game is the lag (lets be honest... it has to be expected on the first few days of release, im pretty sure mw2 was unplayable aswel when it was first released.) and the sniping, but im not really a sniper anyway, so i can wait on them to beef them up a bit.

When you actually get to play a few games lagfree... its just so much better than MW2, in almost every way imo. The fact that my ears dont be ringing after a game of groundwar because of all the noobtubes and rockets is just amazing. The matchmaking system seems alot quicker aswel, although theres a few bugs with it, it seems to fill up the lobby alot quicker (especially when your with a group).

There was like 300k-350k people on the game yesterday, you just have to expect some lag and ****. You should try playing world of warcraft on patch days !! And blizzard are one of the best developers out there when it comes to bugs and ****.

As for single player... i could give a **** tbh, i cant remember any of the call of duty series single player. As long as they support the MP properly and iron out some bugs faster than IW (Lets be honest... thats not very hard).

For once I agree with you :o

Duggy747 wrote: »
    How did this get released in this state?

9/11/10

Ship dates, the marketing team and shareholders don't wait for all the bug fixes. Can't help that the main progenitors of the engine split with Activision. There's macro blocking in the pre-credit cut scene. That really smacks of a low bar for presentation standards. Not saying the graphics are bad, just they didn't grasp the importance of polish, or the clock beat them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Been playing Combat Simulatar/online/SP since Monday. So far, so freakin excellent ( and I'm a massive PC fan/MW2 Xbox 360 massive fan)- SP is savage, a step above MW2, combat simulator is a whole new appreciated addition, MP, so far, is entirely enjoyable and great fun. My verdict: worth a buy as much as any game in the genre in the past 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

and, on that point, for those who consider SP an important aspect of the game, it's amazing, loving it so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Just finished the SP, it got better towards the end but overall I thought it was very meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I think everyone can agree that zombies is fcuking great though, anyone fancy a boards game of it tomorrow night?

Wouldn't mind one! It's great fun, especially with 4 peeps.

krudler wrote: »
    I think everyone can agree that zombies is fcuking great though
    Nope:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

krudler wrote: »
    I think everyone can agree that zombies is fcuking great though, anyone fancy a boards game of it tomorrow night?

Be on for 9, only ever played the WAW ones (twice, on the 1st free level) :pac:
    Sounds like something different and fun from pub/priv matches

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Kersmash wrote: »
    Just finished the SP, it got better towards the end but overall I thought it was very meh.

Very underwhelming isn't it! I had to force myself to watch the cut scenes because they were so dull.

I got so frustrated with it on veteran so I dropped down to hard up until the 'nam level where you have to leg it down the hill and back up another one. Endless amount of enemies make it impossible! I can't even imagine someone doing that on veteran.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I'd be up for some zombies sometime with you guys.

yeah, I only played it on hardened but still it got incredibly frustrating at times.

Now the bastard game wont give me my trophy for doing it on hardened. FUUUUUUU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

OK my complaints so far, in order of annoyance (multiplayer only, on PS3 ) :

In lobby waiting to start some games is ridiculous

RC car is total gimmicky BS, should be severely nerfed or made 7 kill streak (so no1 picks it)

knife lunge is ridiculous

The non existence of enemy footsteps means I'm constantly being shot in the back

The ambient and in-game sounds are horrid (the american character voice over is sooo god damn annoying)

AK74u is way too good in comparison to the other guns (im only level 36 so opinion can change)

Menu layout feels ugly to navigate and is laggy

Minor annoyance, Dolfin diving when I have no intention too (generally in action packed gameplay)

The game feels like it was rushed ( in areas not related to game-play) which kinda loses the polish that MW2 had.

Having said all that, I like the game and the map layouts are fantastic. Gameplay is a big leap from the noobtube campfest that was MW2.

(If they patch the first 5 points I will be playing BO's till this time next year at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭maximoose

Playing last night was a lot better connection wise, still too many other issues though

THAT GOD DAMN RANDOM MUSIC IN THE MIDDLE OF A GAME UGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I've only given the singleplayer campaign a shot at the moment, and it's good but what is actually destroying the mood for me is having techno music accompanying some of the action sequences. If it was in the 90's then maybe it'd suit it, but in the 60's? It just left me wondering what the f*ck was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

I'm sorry to say but what a pile off crap this game has turnd out to be(well for me that is) after all the hype.It's just glitch after glitch so frustrating,like your shooting the enemy and the next thing is he's knifed you through the wall like WTF is all that about.Now i'm a great fan of all the COD's but this has to be the worst like conection issues,game freeze and it bouncing all over the place(online).
    I know lads are going to say just give it a chance but we shouldn't have to because the makers should have all this sorted before it went on sale.It's been long enough in the making.Well that was my rant anyone with the same view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

humanji wrote: »
    I've only given the singleplayer campaign a shot at the moment, and it's good but what is actually destroying the mood for me is having techno music accompanying some of the action sequences. If it was in the 90's then maybe it'd suit it, but in the 60's? It just left me wondering what the f*ck was going on.

Yes! Nothing like infiltrating Castro's place to some "Oo-rah" metal music......yawn. When you escape from the Russian prison, jump on the train and then out of nowhere this 1920's silent movie music comes on I was like ".....the fùck is this, Charlie Chaplin!?!"

Oh, and if anyone is having problems with performance issues on the PC with multi core processors (lag, stuttering, etc) then try this:
    Start the game  ->  Ctrl+Shift+Esc to bring up Task Manager  ->  Click Processes  ->  Right-click on BlackOps  ->  Set Priority to High

[B]OPTIONAL[/B]
    While in Processes in Task Manager  ->  Right-click Blackops  ->  Set Affinity  ->  Only choose 1 CPU

This actually made quite a noticeable difference for me as it was just unplayable before I figured this out. You can edit the registry so it's permanent whenever you start the game but I can't remember it now so I'll slap it up later.

Anywho, this game is a disappointment. Story is daft and the scripted scenes make the characters act really cartoony, like they're full of helium and float around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Think I have t agree with a lot of the opinions here, doesnt seem like Black ops is a step UP from MW2 in a lot of regards.

Cleared the SP last night and thought it was good enough, not a touch on MW1s SP but ok.
    played only a handful of MP games but tbh I couldnt shrug the feeling that it feels like a downgraded MW2. If your going to make a sequel you have to make at least 75% of it better than the initial installment if not... dont bother.

Just a collection of small things like the graphics dont seem as good, sound design doesnt seem as good, movement not as immediate, hate 1960's era weapons. Little touches like in MW2 for the last 60 seconds of a match where the voice over rallies the troops and the boombastic music picks up never failed to get the heart pumping but small things like that seem missing to this installment.

I will give it a full nights play tonight but I'm not the kind of person to play black ops simply cause its the newest installment, if its not as good as MW2 then why play it, just pop back in mw2 and wait for the next COD game and sorry treyarch but if ts not as good as the last I simply will trade it in.

(Not that mw2 was perfect but I'd rather an imperfect but quality title rather than a boring sub standard title.... rather drive a ferrari with a ding or a showroom fresh corolla?, me too!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I never played the last series, so in a way its good I am not comparing the two. I do compare it to BFBC2 (in my mind as I play all the same and the two are totally different) but if they sort out the bad optimisation I do think it will be pretty good. I know its not acceptable to have a non playable game thats this bad on release but its just a given these days with the PC platform (total War anyone!!!)

I do think the most aggressive peeps complaining are the ones having the most problems, personally I am only getting very light micro stutter every couple of minutes so it does not affect me too much. I have tweaked the console and it does help I found, and by default the game is setup not to utilise multi core CPU's which can be amended in the STEAM FOLDER along with multi gpu's etc etc.

All in all I like it and it can only get better....its the guys who paid €59.99 on steam I feel sorry for :D