Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Independent footage of the student protest.

• 08-11-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8VkkC6PP74&feature=player_embedded

This is some footage of the student protest a couple of days ago. I don't think the Gardai paint themselves in a good light, students aren't angels either but the heavy handedness of the police is quite scary with the budget (and likely protests) coming up. What does AH think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

mill up wooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

how is trade union ireland independant

also wher is the throwing of stuff that i saw on you tube on the day

too much dutch courage not enough organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

how is that "independent" ...... the guy is biased !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

What was the point in posting this video again in a new thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

curlzy wrote: »

This is some footage of the student protest a couple of days ago. I don't think the Gardai paint themselves in a good light, students aren't angels either but the heavy handedness of the police is quite scary with the budget (and likely protests) coming up. What does AH think?

definetly one or two incidents of scumbag gards but it seems its more of a case of students throwing stuff and who do a 1 hour lecture a week on law and thought they knew better - shame Daddy can't buy you cop on in trinity College!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Better change that thread title from Independent to biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Do students have nothing better to be doing, like drinking & sleeping?

In my day, this would never have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Garda at 3min 50sec in seems like a perfectly reasonable person.. not

Seriously though, they have every right to be heavy handed when the crowd becomes unruly. But the guy mentioned above should be reprimanded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

lol, f**king taxi drivers! Can a mod please change title?

You can just see inbetween the Gardai and students fighting, in pops a taxi driver to mention the 32 taxi drivers who committed suicide.

You will be going to midnight mass on Xmas, and who will pop up, sure only a taxi driver to remind us of the 32 taxi drivers who committed suicide.

You out for the night, go into the bathroom in the club, expect to see the black guy at the sink, but noooooooo, its the bloody taxi driver reminding us of the 32 taxi drivers who committed suicide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Independent???

It's trade union feckin tv? How much more left wing propaganda do you want to get?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 398 ✭✭Benny-c

Trade Union TV.........Independent:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Look at how heavily edited that video is. Shock and awe and all that. Unless you were actully there it's hard to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

load of cack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Irish Trade Unions: The Independent voice you can trust...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Sorry guys, worded the title badly:(, I should have said footage from not main stream media, such as RTE, TV3 et al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Celtise

I think there were actions by both parties which should not have taken place. I disagree with this protest having taken place. All the colleges wasted money on transportation, tshirts etc. and students were missing an entire day of college as well. I think it was giving the government more "evidence" in favour of the case for reintroducing fees. (And the cost of the extra gardaí on the day plus clean up from the incident is not helping the wallet of the government.)

Now before you guys go off on one at me. I am a student that funded ungraduate through working and government aid and would certainly not have gone to college if fees had existed.

I just don't see how the government can continue to subsidise the fees system in it's current form, but then again I am not in favour of fees being reintroduced. There has to be some compromise here and that is not going to be acheieve through troublesome riots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sorry guys, worded the title badly:(, I should have said footage from not main stream media, such as RTE, TV3 et al.

Mind you don't get it from Indymedia

That's the kind of video they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Jesus, you can't help but laugh at some of the replies on this board.

You lot are so fúcking weak.

The politicians feel they can get away with murder because people like you seem to enjoy taking it up the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Smyth wrote: »
    Jesus, you can't help but laugh at some of the replies on this board.

You lot are so fúcking weak.

The politicians feel they can get away with murder because people like you seem to enjoy taking it up the ass.

Yeah, I'm with you Smyth, how dare the majority of people notice the terrible editing of a trade union TV video and then question the independent nature of that video. Who cares about them Smyth? Now, you mentioned something about taking it in the ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Celtise wrote: »
    I think there were actions by both parties which should not have taken place.

But only one group are trained and paid to uphold the law.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

If this was the continent, every last one of 'em would have been beaten silly. They should count themselves lucky.

If this was Tatooine, every last one of 'em would have been viciously murdered by the Empire's stormtroopers. They should count themselves lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Obaraten wrote: »
    I actually feel sorry for the gardai,having to put up with such loutish behavior by certain members of this so called "protest",garda brutality?lol compared to what would happen to these people in France,Spain etc the Gardai in general handled themselves very well and professionally

Um France ? You REALLLY think thats a good comparison. I mean this is the country where truck drivers shut down the roads on a biannual basis and the whole country has just been shut down for a few weeks. Didn't see the truckies of France getting bated with batons and horses.

mikom wrote: »
    If this was Tatooine, every last one of 'em would have been viciously murdered by the Empire's stormtroopers. They should count themselves lucky.

Jeesh old ball-breaker Vader was rough on the unions. Pay negotiations with the Death Star construction workers didn't last long once Anakin made all chokey-death-grip. Dammit. Thats who we need. We need to draft in Anakin to break the unions. I can just see it now:
    Taxi-driver: 32 taxi drivers commited..........ack.....urgh.........nan nan nan.....
    THUMP
    Sith Lord Vader: You try my patience. Now take me to Croke Park or you will feel the true power of the dark side....

Luke, having drawn upon the power of the Force, releases his proton torpedoes, which immediately sink into the Harneys exhaust port.
    Luke, the Falcon and a few other fighters race away from Harneys hole, just as she prepares to fire on the masses.
    Only a moment before Harney fires, she explodes into a huge fireball, sending millions of fragments into space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Yeah, I'm with you Smyth, how dare the majority of people notice the terrible editing of a trade union TV video and then question the independent nature of that video. Who cares about them Smyth? Now, you mentioned something about taking it in the ass?

Yeah, the editing was amazing wasn't it! The special effects were great too!!!! I especially liked the part where they superimposed a baton in the hands of a príck Garda as he was patting a student on the head.

Oscar worthy stuff!

Or how about the part where a girl was thrown onto the pavement unconscious? ROFL!

NAH! That's only what silly people do. Let's focus on the title of the video. Specifically the word "independent". Then we'll sympathize with the Gardai and completely derail the discussion from something which is actually....dum dee dum...WRONG!

And why would we do that? Well silly, because if you're seen to be opposing the Gardai or shouting "feck the Government" "Gardai abuse power", then on the internet...you're a moron.

Because we all know that rational intelligent people would never say anything like that. Never.

Those poor guards. Students have nothing better to do with their time. We got ourselves into this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I see the students trouble making socialists are planning a demonstration against Garda violence. Oh the ironing if they were lashed out of it there too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Riot squad versus students. Something has gone seriously wrong in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

2 stroke wrote: »

Happens in every country around the world. Cops do it for their own safety just in case there is those in the crowd who want to start trouble. Got to love the fact that the "student" tag implies a peaceful bunch. Trying to tell us that all students are happy go lucky folk that would never cause trouble.

Usual crack with these so called Peaceful marches. Some clowns looking for trouble tag along start riots and then all the peaceful heads then blame the figures of authority for defending themselves. Of course innocent folk will get caught in the crossfire.

Takes two to tango.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

2 stroke wrote: »

Clearly government trying to send a message to the wider population not to try it!
    Oh no so intimidated :rolleyes:

Luke, having drawn upon the power of the Force, releases his proton torpedoes, which immediately sink into the Harneys exhaust port.
    Luke, the Falcon and a few other fighters race away from Harneys hole, just as she prepares to fire on the masses.
    Only a moment before Harney fires, she explodes into a huge fireball, sending millions of fragments into space.

Meanwhile Biffo the Hut has Han frozen and rammed Lei into a sexy bikini....with sexy results.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Pwpane

Happens in every country around the world. Cops do it for their own safety just in case there is those in the crowd who want to start trouble. Got to love the fact that the "student" tag implies a peaceful bunch. Trying to tell us that all students are happy go lucky folk that would never cause trouble.

Usual crack with these so called Peaceful marches. Some clowns looking for trouble tag along start riots and then all the peaceful heads then blame the figures of authority for defending themselves. Of course innocent folk will get caught in the crossfire.

Takes two to tango.

You can see that the students are sitting on the road. Obviously in a peaceful protest.

Students have a right to protest. We all have a right to protest.

And we have a right to protest without getting batoned by the people assigned to protect us.

I dont see much of a tango in an armed riot geared man being violent to a seated civilian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Pwpane wrote: »
    You can see that the students are sitting on the road. Obviously in a peaceful protest.

Students have a right to protest. We all have a right to protest.

And we have a right to protest without getting batoned by the people assigned to protect us.

I dont see much of a tango in an armed riot geared man being violent to a seated civilian.

But what if i wanna drive on the road? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Everyone is giving out out about the footage not being independent, here is one from a phone. You don't get much more independent than that.
    There is lots more. Here is one of guards knocking lumps of people sitting on the ground. They pose a serious threat those bastards on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

4:40 in that video seems a bit well over the top, think you can even hear a crack..

I actually think he is lucky that other Garda came over, because if he didn't I say something would have gone down there.

Same with your women after been well 'left on the ground', another Garda did help her.

Let not also forget, the Garda are also very angry people too ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Y-8YMcinkc

So what we have is students out in force, Undesirables mixed in the crowd with them. Add in the Garda out in force, again with a few undesirable Garda angry about pay cuts and you get this.

I don't even know how anyone could/want to protect them absolute gob****es in the dail. They don't deserve protection, they deserve to be dragged out and giving a good beating. The shame they have brought on this country, after the hard work of every member of this country.

From the men who worked so very hard to get freedom, to my grandfather who worked his arse off to buy a house and start a family, to my father and mother who worked hard to buy a house and start a family.

Only to be ripped of by the goverment and the banks. Who injected a good market with steroids for there own personal benefit.

What I really can't believe is people who are elected to the dail , don't even show. Well if they had to fight too get the freedom they might show, I know I would out of respect for the countless people that died to get that seat you have in the dail. As for travel expenses and what ever other expenses. I know in my job, if I don't show up or show up when I feel like it , I would be fired. I don't get travel expenses or anything else, it's my job. I choose to do it, I wasn't forced. Same with these people in the dail.

And to me, well I have a job for the moment. I don't have a house and maybe never will.

The government system needs to change, this party stuff is ****, there all the same. Take the monetary value of it away, bring it down to earth. Basic pay like everyone else, basically what I am saying is separate the men from the boys or in this case the lechers from the hard workers in there, working for the people and nothing else.

Why should I bring a lighter to the tinder and wood to be left out in the cold...

(sorry about spelling and the serious rant)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Not sure about most of the rest of the claims ..

But the Guard here at 2:40 should be charged with assault for pulling one young lad along the ground by the hair.

If that's what some Guards do in broad daylight with cameras around ..

Well, then maybe some of the stories I have heard about Guards, that I dismissed as nonsense, were in fact true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

and lets not bring up the alderaan issue.

Why the hell were riot police called in in the first place?

As much as people hate students, nobody deserves to have the sh1t kicked out of them for no reason by the Gardai and that did happen. However there was the odd ignorant asshole who caused trouble and they should face the full extent of the law and be kicked out of college.

It just goes to show this country when somebody actually protests over something that's ****ed up here and the first thing people say is, "****ing students". Well at least they did get off their holes for something they believed in, instead of the countless threads and posts about the recession and even moreso people calling for protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,837 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I hate those videos, here's another example of an edited video featuring a douchebag messing with police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The Gardaí aren't doing too well in FFs hands either, not too long ago they were balloting for industrial action (likely some sort of strike)....maybe they should consider standing alongside the students.

Why the hell were riot police called in in the first place?

As much as people hate students, nobody deserves to have the sh1t kicked out of them for no reason by the Gardai and that did happen. However there was the odd ignorant asshole who caused trouble and they should face the full extent of the law and be kicked out of college.

It just goes to show this country when somebody actually protests over something that's ****ed up here and the first thing people say is, "****ing students". Well at least they did get off their holes for something they believed in, instead of the countless threads and posts about the recession and even moreso people calling for protest.

It was the manner of the conduct of the protesting students which pissed people off, not the cause. A friend of mine (a mature student) took a bus up to Dublin filled with other students for the protest and he told me how disgusted he was with his fellow students and by the end of his round-trip he felt ashamed to have been involved with them.

He told me the majority of his 'comrades' were hammered drunk by the time they got to Dublin (late btw because of all the unscheduled piss-stops) and he knew there would be trouble. He described the scene to be like a gang of drunk students after a nightclub trying to gain entry into Abrakebra.

It was the manner of the conduct of the protesting students which pissed people off, not the cause. A friend of mine (a mature student) took a bus up to Dublin filled with other students for the protest and he told me how disgusted he was with his fellow students and by the end of his round-trip he felt ashamed to have been involved with them.

He told me the majority of his 'comrades' were hammered drunk by the time they got to Dublin (late btw because of all the unscheduled piss-stops) and he knew there would be trouble. He described the scene to be like a gang of drunk students after a nightclub trying to gain entry into Abrakebra.

OK people keep saying the students acted badly. What exactly did they do ? I haven't seen any videos of students doing something other than sitting down :confused:

That's because you weren't there man!

(neither was I) but I for one don't buy into the black&white thing of innocents students/aggressive Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Since when should we care that students get beat up by gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭twinytwo

The Garda at 3min 50sec in seems like a perfectly reasonable person.. not

Seriously though, they have every right to be heavy handed when the crowd becomes unruly. But the guy mentioned above should be reprimanded

LOL... unruly is throwing petrol bombs, or attacking them with sledge hammers... not sitting on the ground with their hands up? As is usually the case the guys who were throwing stuff were not around to get clobbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

I hate those videos, here's another example of an edited video featuring a douchebag messing with police.

You're kidding right.. The whole attitude of that cop was disgusting and completely uncalled for. Sure she was being a pain in the ass but you can't speak to people like that.

'I AM the law'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You will always get good and bad from each side and it did look like some guards were abusing their position of power and students were causing trouble on the other side.

The fact that people would be little them for protesting is a testament as to how seriously you would want to take this forum in their calls for change in government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Weak people in 'scared to speak or act against the system' shocker. Off to bed with your hot water bottles now, mind you don't stub your toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭twinytwo

You will always get good and bad from each side and it did look like some guards were abusing their position of power and students were causing trouble on the other side.

The fact that people would be little them for protesting is a testament as to how seriously you would want to take this forum in their calls for change in government.

The funny thing is if a proper riot was organised the cops woudnt be able to handle it