Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wireless calving cameras

• Registered Users Posts: 43 thedevils

pure breed wrote: »
    Hi i recently just bought a cctv camera in aldi 100m range for the purpose of cows calving.
    Our slatted shed/calving pen is a little farther then that, so to boost the signal to the house i also got a signal relayer in maplin that sends the signal/pic all the way to the house allowing for walls/buildings etc.
    Total cost €120
    cctv €60
    Signal relay €60 (can take 4 cameras)
    hope that helps

Have you any links for these. ?

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭robin3

Would be a mighty simple solution, if you could connect the receiver end to a PC. That way you could log on form work or whatever through LOGMEIN software, as see what was happening in the shed:cool:

Anyone done this??? does it work?, to connect the receiver to the pc i'd need av leads with usb connection, am i correct? and just looking at logmein, looks fab if it works for this purpose,

love to hear from someone with this set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Shauny2010

Would it not be easier to just get a skype phone
    Set it up in the calving shed
    skype it from either you PC or another Skype phone when you want to check the cow
    Should also work out much cheaper than a dedicated Internet connection

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭robin3

there's a novel idea,
    not being smart here but when you skype someone don't they have to answer the phone to get connected, (maybe not don't use skype alot)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Shauny2010

No, you can easily set it to auto answer
    Plus if your using another Skype phone you don't have to be near a PC

• Registered Users Posts: 41 deerejohn

robin3 wrote: »
    Anyone done this??? does it work?, to connect the receiver to the pc i'd need av leads with usb connection, am i correct? and just looking at logmein, looks fab if it works for this purpose,

love to hear from someone with this set up

did this but it is not streaming properly and thats over broadband for what that is worth! a slow image is what is appearing but over better quality broadband it may work!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭adne

Shauny2010 wrote: »
    No, you can easily set it to auto answer
    Plus if your using another Skype phone you don't have to be near a PC

Does the Skype Phone in the shed not need to be within an internet wifi area. This could be the problem for most people....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

adne wrote: »
    Does the Skype Phone in the shed not need to be within an internet wifi area. This could be the problem for most people....

Yes, I think you are right.

I'm also looking at options to get cameras into my shed.
    Shed is 500 meters from the house, and I can just see the roof of the shed from my house. Putting in a cable from house to shed is not an option, as I would have to cross the public road, a neighbours property, and a stream:mad:
    Anyway, I have been researching what I need to get a wi-fi signal into the shed from my house.
    I'm told the following needs to be done.
    1. Set up a repeater router in the house to extend the range of my
    wi-fi signal. This is the gizmo I need to do that. http://www.rfshop.co.uk/catalogsearch/result/?q=universal+repeater&x=22&y=11

2. Set up a high gain ariel on the roof of the shed, to
    reliably pick up the signal. This is the gizmo required http://www.rfshop.co.uk/antennas/2-45-ghz-802-11b-g-n/flat-panel-directional/ya-24-01-2-45ghz-16dbi-yagi-yr-24-01.html

Once properly installed and configured, I should have wi-fi in shed. Now I could use an IP camera which will connect to the internet through the wi-fi in shed. Hoping I can log on to the IP camera from laptop or smartphone no matter where I am, to see what's going on in the shed.

Cost for the two items above will be around €150. Camera would be extra on top of that.

Let me know how u get on as this is the same solution i have in mind, I dont think that repeater will suffice to carry the signal that distance.

This is the one I had in mind but it is considerably more expensive
    http://www.3com.com/products/en_US/detail.jsp?tab=reqoptprod&sku=3CRWEASYA73&pathtype=purchase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

lads its possible that if your house was close enough to the sheds and using the same power supply these might work
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/dlan-high-speed-ethernet-ii-networking-over-the-mains-3-pack-264947
    basically you plug them into a power socket either end and they will network you over the power cables, you can plug a network cable from each end into your end device
    ive never tried mine now going up the yard but i use a pair of them in the house rather than trying to run a long network cable along the floor etc and i find them mighty

lads its possible that if your house was close enough to the sheds and using the same power supply these might work
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/dlan-high-speed-ethernet-ii-networking-over-the-mains-3-pack-264947
    basically you plug them into a power socket either end and they will network you over the power cables, you can plug a network cable from each end into your end device
    ive never tried mine now going up the yard but i use a pair of them in the house rather than trying to run a long network cable along the floor etc and i find them mighty

Cheers vanderBadger, these are a great job alright within a house but cannot see them reaching the 500M distance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

The supplier told me, with clear line of sight, this repeater combined with the high gain aerial, will reliably cover a distance of 750 meters.

BeeDI wrote: »
    The supplier told me, with clear line of sight, this repeater combined with the high gain aerial, will reliably cover a distance of 750 meters.

Let me know how it works out. I would have my Doubts

BeeDI wrote: »
    Yes, I think you are right.

I'm also looking at options to get cameras into my shed.
    Shed is 500 meters from the house, and I can just see the roof of the shed from my house. Putting in a cable from house to shed is not an option, as I would have to cross the public road, a neighbours property, and a stream:mad:
    Anyway, I have been researching what I need to get a wi-fi signal into the shed from my house.
    I'm told the following needs to be done.
    1. Set up a repeater router in the house to extend the range of my
    wi-fi signal. This is the gizmo I need to do that. http://www.rfshop.co.uk/catalogsearch/result/?q=universal+repeater&x=22&y=11

2. Set up a high gain ariel on the roof of the shed, to
    reliably pick up the signal. This is the gizmo required http://www.rfshop.co.uk/antennas/2-45-ghz-802-11b-g-n/flat-panel-directional/ya-24-01-2-45ghz-16dbi-yagi-yr-24-01.html

Once properly installed and configured, I should have wi-fi in shed. Now I could use an IP camera which will connect to the internet through the wi-fi in shed. Hoping I can log on to the IP camera from laptop or smartphone no matter where I am, to see what's going on in the shed.

Cost for the two items above will be around €150. Camera would be extra on top of that.

just buy 2 of these beedi
    http://www.wi-pipe.com/nanostation5-p-314.html?antenna=fd86a6fca2261fb18284e04e981eed2a
    they will cover that distance easy, are high thruput also and can just be cable tied to anything, gutter pipe etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭jfh

hi lads, can anyone recommend a good wireless camera,
    any opinions on the followinghttp://www.networkwebcams.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=30&products_id=754

thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭pure breed

thedevils wrote: »
    Have you any links for these. ?
    yep here is the link for the signal relayer in maplin
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/2.4ghz-wireless-signal-relay-station-260605
    and i bought the camera in local Aldi €60 + €60 (relay)

Another way we used on our other slatted house was to mount a aerial on the shed outside with a cable into the camera inside and point the aerial towards the house and Aldi camera receiver will pick it up in the house works day and night(infra red)
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/ = Aerial = €80

note: The prices are dearer in the irish Maplin than quoted on its website but still good value i find.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭fisherking

Trying to do this cheaply for the brother
    We have eircom broadband in the house only and the shed is about 140 metres away
    We could run a cable from from a port on the router in the house to the shed but i have my doubts on cat6 cable with that distance.....
    Has anyone experience of this lenght of cable run?
    Is there any items that could boost the signal?
    Or if anyone has any clever suggestions before i fork out:D

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭JCB1

I have ran external Cat5 cable over 100 metres with no loss of signal quality. But you do need to use the external cable to prevent weather damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

fisherking wrote: »
    Trying to do this cheaply for the brother
    We have eircom broadband in the house only and the shed is about 140 metres away
    We could run a cable from from a port on the router in the house to the shed but i have my doubts on cat6 cable with that distance.....
    Has anyone experience of this lenght of cable run?
    Is there any items that could boost the signal?
    Or if anyone has any clever suggestions before i fork out:D

Hi fisher

The max length for CAT5 is 100 meters or [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]you start running into signal loss so 140 is a bit to far really. Can you do it wirelessly? It you have line of sight then wireless aerials work very well.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]

thanks
    We probably could .....
    Can you recommend one that would do the job?

Niall
    towzer2010 wrote: »
    Hi fisher

The max length for CAT5 is 100 meters or [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]you start running into signal loss so 140 is a bit to far really. Can you do it wirelessly? It you have line of sight then wireless aerials work very well.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Hi Niall

This is the one I have. It works fine for me. I bought it second hand off a local lad who was to install it for someone else but they cancelled it. Its still not bad value at €75

http://www.equicom.ie/200m-wireless-transmitter--receiver-for-cctv-cameras-165-p.asp

Thanks for this
    Sounds perfect as they seem to work in galvanised sheds .....
    Will give that a go and the price of that much cable would be the same :eek:

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Hi Niall

This is the one I have. It works fine for me. I bought it second hand off a local lad who was to install it for someone else but they cancelled it. Its still not bad value at €75

http://www.equicom.ie/200m-wireless-transmitter--receiver-for-cctv-cameras-165-p.asp

Still stuck
    I have an wireless ip camera that i want to see via web...
    I believe there is line of sight aerials for the job
    Will report back on cowcams progress:D

Thanks for this
    Sounds perfect as they seem to work in galvanised sheds .....
    Will give that a go and the price of that much cable would be the same :eek:

Still stuck
    Will report back on cowcams progress:D

buy 2 of these
    http://www.wi-pipe.com/nanostation5-p-314.html
    they will do the link from house to shed, you will be able to plug the house end into your modem and connect a camera to the shed end, very easy setup, they are very reliable for wireless link..they only cost approx 70 euro each
    any questions just ask

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

buy 2 of these
    http://www.wi-pipe.com/nanostation5-p-314.html
    they will do the link from house to shed, you will be able to plug the house end into your modem and connect a camera to the shed end, very easy setup, they are very reliable for wireless link..they only cost approx 70 euro each
    any questions just ask

Good link Vanderbadger!
    I presume they need LOS?
    Do you know if they allow 2 way communication i.e. could you control
    a PTZ camera through them?

Milton09 wrote: »
    Good link Vanderbadger!
    I presume they need LOS?
    Do you know if they allow 2 way communication i.e. could you control
    a PTZ camera through them?

they do ya but are very easy to install, ya they will provide you with an IP link so you will be able to control an IP ptz camera no prob, I can control my one no prob anyway

All sorted the cat 6 worked grand on 140 mtrs ?
    Configuring the router was awkward but easy when you know how if you know what i mean
    All running on dyndns with no dowtime in 2mnths...

result !

[QUOTE=fisherking;71663855]Still stuck
    Will report back on cowcams progress:D[/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Tender

Hello, 1st post so here goes!

Im going investing in a calving camera(s) for my father so he doesn't have to be getting up in the morning. The shed is 400m direct line of sight to house. I'm wondering if there is a camera that can be viewed on the tv and on the iphone/laptop? The tv option is handier for my father (who doesnt have an iphone & laptop takes an age) but it wud be ideal for myself to check also. Phew..Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2 euey

hi,

Like Tender, i'm considering putting in a calving camera system for my father. But have the added problem of no line of sight between the shed and the house. They are approx 500meters apart and on opposite sides of a hill. Which, if any, system would work the best? thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 20 pgjk

Have a look at the add below and see what ye think. DIY set up if you are relatively handy on a computer.
    If your shed is away from the yard they can be set up using 3G mobile service (O2), service charge would apply though (€20/month approx)
    If your shed is near your house then you could extend your wifi range down to the shed or else run a network cable and pick up the camera that way, can have up to nine cameras running and even more with additional software!
    Cameras can be viewed anywhere once your connected to the internet and with any android phone (iphone, galaxy etc)

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/machinery/2577439