Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Left wing groups hijack protest

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I work on Merrion Square and saw some of the shenanigans yesterday. "Left wing groups" doesn't quite portray what I saw. "Scumbags acting like scumbags" would be closer to the truth, and I don't think being "left wing" had anything to do with it. They could have been neo-nazis for all anyone knows.

In other news, the number of placards with spelling mistakes was...eye-opening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Silent protests achieve nothing.

Violent protests gives a protesters opposition a metaphorical stick to bet them over the head with.

Never has the adage dont get mad get even been more true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Diapason wrote: »
    I work on Merrion Square and saw some of the shenanigans yesterday. "Left wing groups" doesn't quite portray what I saw. "Scumbags acting like scumbags" would be closer to the truth, and I don't think being "left wing" had anything to do with it. They could have been neo-nazis for all anyone knows.

In other news, the number of placards with spelling mistakes was...eye-opening.

That's not surprising.

You dont expect third level students to articulate their ideas in well formed sentences with correctly spelt words do you?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Snakeblood wrote: »
    1: Students tend to be quite left wing.

once full fees are reintroduced, i'm sure that will change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Its always been like this.

i remember organising marches and left wing events and having to make extra carefull that the socialist workers party didnt hear about it.

No matter what youre marching for, be it a positive or negetive thing they will turn up with lodspeakers and flags, drown out everybody else involved and imediately f*ck up whatever was being protested due to the public perception that its those whingers whinging about something again.

they seem to think protesting is the be all and end all of politics

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

once full fees are reintroduced, i'm sure that will change

Full fees being the full cost of the course? Is that back?

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Lightshow

Left wing??

I watched some of those students being interviewed for the news that evening. They were "loike totally disgusted loike that university fees were even loike being considered".

One brat even claimed that "Daddy can probably afford to put me through college" but she wasn't sure about her younger brother.

I didn't see any lefties on the street that day. All I saw were spoilt brats living out of Daddy's (right wing) wallet, worried that college fees might just spell the end of their presumed right for a Mini convertable on their 21st birthday!

Get a job and work your way through college like thousands of us have in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

The best I heard was on the news late last night

"like parents wont be able to afford to send their children to college... well like not like ... my parents, but other parents might not be able to send their children to college"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lightshow wrote: »
    I watched some of those students being interviewed for the news that evening. They were "loike totally disgusted loike that university fees were even loike being considered".

Most people on the Irish left talk like this?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Grimes wrote: »

"like parents wont be able to afford to send their children to college... well like not like ... my parents, but other parents might not be able to send their children to college"

I don't see your issue with that quote. Fair play to her

You have to be poor and talk with a salt-of-the-earth accent to be left-wing now?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Diapason wrote: »
    You have to be poor and talk with a salt-of-the-earth accent to be left-wing now?

I'd hazard a guess that 80% of them wouldn't know one wing from the other. It was just a day out, nothing more.

Agree with that. Still, most truly left-wing people I know are actually quite wealthy, or at the very least comfortable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The best protest ....the give the dail a dirty look protest ... didn't get much publicity but made me laugh.

As for the people trotting out the myth that all student are wealthy and living off daddy's money ..about 50% of student receive the grant or part of the grant...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I don't think protests help much just on their own, they kind of just act as an exclamation point on whatever the issue may be. The bigger the protest, the bigger that mark becomes. It's up to lobby groups and such to have effects on policy, and they can use the protests as a demonstration of the public will in whatever area.

The idea that having a big protest will change anything in and of itself is naive, but its part of a bigger system to influence change and it can help the process be regarded more seriously, that's all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

SeaFields wrote: »
    It has been speculated on here a few times that the Gardai were preparing for any upcoming civil unrest with increased riot control training. Anecdotal evidence suggested they were... I think we got our definitive answer yesterday.

My M8 is a guard - and they have been 'refreshing' crowd control alot in the recent months and will be recruited toward areas away from their base and home.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i think the guards done a spot on job tbh.

remember the riots on o'connell street about the orange marches? didn't see the powers that be set dogs on protesters nor corral people with horses - wtf do they think they are to set dogs on protesters?

Nothing more likely to breed trouble than people threatened with batons, dogs and horses

Wouldn't mind but to send out guards who too are browned off with the cuts in their pay is not working toward a winner either

More guards would have been the answer rather than cheap it out - send less guards (whose kids may have been in the crowd) and send dogs in?

who made this decision deserves pulling up - shameful decision

• Registered Users Posts: 20,752 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

These students will be professional people in a few years "auditing" banks or helping you to fiddle your taxes if you're rich. They are just continuing a fine tradition of protest which lapsed for a while. You have to look back to a golden age of left wing student protest featuring the likes of Kevin Myers, Joe Duffy and Ruari Quinn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Grimes wrote: »

So you think that because she can afford to go to college she is duty-bound to be as selfish as possible and sh*t on everyone else?

Don't judge us all by your standards!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

These students will be professional people in a few years "auditing" banks or helping you to fiddle your taxes if you're rich. They are just continuing a fine tradition of protest which lapsed for a while. You have to look back to a golden age of left wing student protest featuring the likes of Kevin Myers, Joe Duffy and Ruari Quinn.
    If you have proof that Kevin Myers, Joe Duffy and/or Ruari Quinn helped anyone to fiddle their taxes we'd love to hear it. Until then, you might do well to grow up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know a lot of protestors can be pains in the arse, but the "Oh noez left-wing!!!" bandwagon are too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

mariaalice wrote: »
    Yesterdays student march was hijacked by left wing protesters....why do the various left wing groups do this...

Ah well at least they didn't force them to to Cuba

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

Socialising education is left wing. It was hijacked by a revolutionary group.

They're weren't that many proper students there judging by who went from UCC (from what I could see). People who can barely afford college and need a degree went to college that day,while those who didn't want to be those people next year went marching.

Student politics are a joke, its more of a social aspect for the pseudo intellectual. I cringed at every one of those students interviewed. Horrible regurgitation of the Student Union officials.

''education should be free because we're the future loike''