Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housemate annoys me a bit.

• 01-11-2010 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭

Im living in a house with 2 women, myself & another dude. For the last 3 months ive been seeing to the recycling & rubbish being thrown in their respective bins when needed. Its not a big deal, only takes a few minutes. But ive noticed the other guy hasn't bothered his hole taking out the rubbish once since i moved in? I put this to the test last week by just leaving the bags in the kitchen get more & more full of rubbish till it was blatantly obvious they needed throwing in the bin. This lazy person ignored the problem till one of the girls (when i was out) actually threw them out.
    I was kind of embarrassed as i'd prefer to do it than see either of the girls do it. Of all of us, he spends the most amount of time in the house so he must be aware of the problem.

Now its not a huge deal but why should i have to sort the rubbish every single time? Its a houseshare, as in share the bills, cleaning, bins etc..??! As i speak the rubbish in the kitchen bins has built up again & still this guy is waiting for me or one of the girls to sort it. He's not a bad guy but this needs sorting.

Would this piss you off? or would you let it slide?

cool story bro
    humourus observation based on this post
    Someone pretends to be tough, saying something like..grow a pair/man up etc
    pun
    joke
    pun
    etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Why don't you just tell him to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

How bout asking him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

These expressions need putting in the recycling bin;

cool story bro
    pun
    joke
    pun
    etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Why don't you just tell him to do it?

Because its not my house? And if someone told me take out the rubbish i'd tell them to piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Pick up all the rubbish in the house and just leave his there. He'd have to be really dumb not to get the message. And if it all piles up, just sweep it into his room.

I know there are better ways of dealing with it, I just choose to ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Because its not my house? And if someone told me take out the rubbish i'd tell them to piss off.

Then politely ask him?
    No, it's not your house, but you've to live there! I presume when he moved in he was told all the housework and whatever was gonna be done equally.

And why are you embarrassed about the girl taking out the rubbish? Surely she should do her fair share too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Tickle his balls with a feather duster when he's asleep, then jack off on his face.

Well if ye can't sort out this problem like grown ups, then I'm out of ideas. I'm sure you'll get plenty of ridiculous and hilarious responses now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

You are right. If the guy does not have the brains to figure out taking rubbish out, then he is nearly 100% gonna be annoyed if you mention it to him.

Kick him out, leave yourself or just keep taking rubbish out yourself. Only three options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

If you think he won't cry, play with it. Be imaginative. Don't just solve the problem....thats just boring and he will never learn his lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I was kind of embarrassed as i'd prefer to do it than see either of the girls do it.

Why shouldn't the girls share in the bin duties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Because its not my house?
    Nor is it not his house, so why should he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Leave the rubbish on his bed. If he doesn't take it out then I suppose you could say he's a lazy bastard alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Let it build up and if anyone says anything to you, just tell them, "it's his turn".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Best way to do it diplomatically would be to draw up a cleaning roster.

Best way to do it undiplomatically would be to grab him by the ear and shove his face in the rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Write "take out the bins" in the mirror in the bathroom when it is steamed up from a shower.

If he doesn't get the hint, you know he doesn't wash his hands either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Pick up said bin.

Transport said bin to the immediate vicinity of the offender in question.

Pour contents of said bin over the aforementioned offender and politely remind him that bins don't take themselves out.

Repeat process until a satisfactory result is acquired. Subtlety does not work with lazy ignorant people and it's best for everyone that you get straight to the point.

3 months sounds like a complete piss take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭oterra

Best way to do it diplomatically would be to draw up a cleaning roster.

Best way to do it undiplomatically would be to grab him by the ear and shove his face in the rubbish.
    I agree. Like when your training a puppy and it ****s on the kitchen floor. What do you do? You rub his nose in it. Take this technique onto the human side of things. He'll get the picture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Have sex with the two girls in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Crush his phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Now its not a huge deal but why should i have to sort the rubbish every single time?

Because it annoys you more then him + think girls are too girly to deal with rubbish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭dr ro

yeah i agree, have sex with the girls. Also, maybe he just hasn't noticed the bins, and isn't deliberately ignoring them. Some people are like that, don't notice things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Im living in a house with 2 women, myself & another dude. For the last 3 months ive been seeing to the recycling & rubbish being thrown in their respective bins when needed. Its not a big deal, only takes a few minutes. But ive noticed the other guy hasn't bothered his hole taking out the rubbish once since i moved in? I put this to the test last week by just leaving the bags in the kitchen get more & more full of rubbish till it was blatantly obvious they needed throwing in the bin. This lazy person ignored the problem till one of the girls (when i was out) actually threw them out.
    I was kind of embarrassed as i'd prefer to do it than see either of the girls do it. Of all of us, he spends the most amount of time in the house so he must be aware of the problem.

Now its not a huge deal but why should i have to sort the rubbish every single time? Its a houseshare, as in share the bills, cleaning, bins etc..??! As i speak the rubbish in the kitchen bins has built up again & still this guy is waiting for me or one of the girls to sort it. He's not a bad guy but this needs sorting.

Would this piss you off? or would you let it slide?

cool story bro
    pun
    joke
    pun
    etc....

I'll take 'pretend to be tough'

stab him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

seriously OP?
    It's pretty pathetic to be making this into a big deal. Just mention to him that he should put out the bins like everyone else if it's a problem. Most times in my houseshare I'm the one that looks after emptying the bins, leaving the bins out for collection etc, if anyone else helps out grand, if not it's not something that would bother me, I'd far rather do it myself than sit about analysing the situation or planting 'tests' for your housemates to see if they'll take out the rubbish or not, it's not worth bad feeling in the house over something pathetic like that. If you haven't actually brought up the problem with the housemate, you've nothing to be complaining about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Replace his shampoo with hair removal cream, that's always good for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

You sound really uptight OP, glad I don't share a gaf with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Pics of the two burds or GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

A rota of housework? Obvious to you isnt always obvious to everyone else...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Move out and get a place for yourself. Then you dont have to put up with other people. Otherwise put up and shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

**** into his socks...

You sound really uptight OP, glad I don't share a gaf with you.

Ah he doesn't. It can be head wrecking living in a house share especially when there's one or two that won't pull their weight.
    And what harm is he doing venting a bit of frustration here?

He sounds like a cool enough guy to share a house with. Taking the bins out so the ladies in the house don't have to is a really nice gesture. Whether it gets him into their knickers is another matter but feck it, it's a nice thing to do.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Ah he doesn't. It can be head wrecking living in a house share especially when there's one or two that won't pull their weight.
    And what harm is he doing venting a bit of frustration here?

He sounds like a cool enough guy to share a house with. Taking the bins out so the ladies in the house don't have to is a really nice gesture. Whether it gets him into their knickers is another matter but feck it, it's a nice thing to do.

He could just borrow their knickers...save himself a lot of hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

*Pops two cartridges into the double barrel*

*Snaps it shut with and upward jerk*

*Looks over shoulder and smiles*

"Time to take out the trash"

flyton5 wrote: »
    He could just borrow their knickers...save himself a lot of hassle.

There's no fun in that. There's nothing better than a game of hide the sausage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Seems to me that the bins are only the tip of the iceberg...

easyeason3 wrote: »
    There's no fun in that. There's nothing better than a game of hide the sausage.

Well just get them drunk...

Get the bloke drunk too. Stick a cucumber up his arse when he passes out and take photos. Then blackmail him into leaving. Problem solved...unless he calls the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

knird evol wrote: »
    Have sex with the two girls in the house.
    ft9 wrote: »
    Crush his phone

I have a solution

crush his phone while Having sex with the 2 girls in his room leave inflatable sheep and any other soiled items on his bed.......

Score!

Get a pair of earplugs.

Wait, wrong thread.

Right so, a bit of an update. Just had a word, its sorted. :cool: Like i said its no big deal. Someone said i sounded uptight? Not really i just don't like rubbish spilling out of the kitchen bins for days till someone else deals with it.
    Oh by the way, if the girls want to take the rubbish out, they can do it all they want. I was only being polite & maybe a bit old fashioned. I know im the anti-christ for such disgustingly patronising behaviour. Must stop holding doors open for women, thats also anti-christish.:rolleyes:
    --LOS-- wrote: »
    seriously OP?
    It's pretty pathetic to be making this into a big deal. Just mention to him that he should put out the bins like everyone else if it's a problem. Most times in my houseshare I'm the one that looks after emptying the bins, leaving the bins out for collection etc, if anyone else helps out grand, if not it's not something that would bother me, I'd far rather do it myself than sit about analysing the situation or planting 'tests' for your housemates to see if they'll take out the rubbish or not, it's not worth bad feeling in the house over something pathetic like that. If you haven't actually brought up the problem with the housemate, you've nothing to be complaining about.

^What other house chores do you have? Being the houseshare slave is not going to get you any respect & your kindness will eventually be taken for granted. Anyway its sorted & it was never the big deal you were trying to make out to be in order to have a hardman rant at me.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

Tickle his balls with a feather duster when he's asleep, then jack off on his face.

this always works for me aswell

Right so, a bit of an update. Just had a word, its sorted. :cool: Like i said its no big deal. Someone said i sounded uptight? Not really i just don't like rubbish spilling out of the kitchen bins for days till someone else deals with it.
    Oh by the way, if the girls want to take the rubbish out, they can do it all they want. I was only being polite & maybe a bit old fashioned. I know im the anti-christ for such disgustingly patronising behaviour. Must stop holding doors open for women, thats also anti-christish.:rolleyes:)

Did you ride the wimmins or not?

I love it when a plan comes together.

Oh by the way, if the girls want to take the rubbish out, they can do it all they want. I was only being polite & maybe a bit old fashioned. I know im the anti-christ for such disgustingly patronising behaviour. Must stop holding doors open for women, thats also anti-christish.:rolleyes:

I wouldn't complain about this behavior!

I'm quite the old fashioned type Princess Peach. Now pics before I start putting in the spade work. A link to Know Your Nerds will do. :D

I'm shy :o

I'm shy :o

Awhhhhhhhh. Well GTFO. :P

just joking...

I seen her first.:mad:

And she was talking to me.

I seen her first.:mad:

And she was talking to me.

Hands off fonecrusher. Go wait by the door...someone might need it opened for them...

Go wait by the door...someone might need it opened for them...

^Why you leaving? Night.

So Princess Peach tell me about yourself....

^Why you leaving? Night.

So Princess Peach tell me about yourself....

Shouldn't you be off spying on your housemate because he's getting attention from the lady housemates? Leave this one to me...