Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Just wondering do ye lads use yer tv's as yer monitors?or would you be better off buying a proper monitor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Way better off with a proper 1080p> monitor if you are sitting in front of it. Saying that years ago I used to have a 40" telly at the very end of my bed hooked up to the PC, and I used USB extensions for the mouse & kb. Took a bit of getting used to when I went back to playing on monitors-wasn't used to playing sitting up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

You'll be able to see the pixels in a big tv if you are up close, but it's fine for distance gaming.
    The the about monitors is that resolution usually goes up the bigger they get, unless it's a cheap one. TVs go up to 1080P and stay there (€5,000+ 4K TV etc. aside).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,725 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lads you know a 3 Pin Tacho Cable regarding WC pump

Do you have to install the fan header? With the Laing D5 Vario Pump your able to adjust the RPM but I presume it should be grand without connecting the fan header since I presume that's only for monitoring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

Headshot wrote: »
    Lads you know a 3 Pin Tacho Cable regarding WC pump

Do you have to install the fan header? With the Laing D5 Vario Pump your able to adjust the RPM but I presume it should be grand without connecting the fan header since I presume that's only for monitoring?

No you don't need to use it as its only for monitoring rpms for as i know.
    You have the dial to adjust speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Is this just a silly idea?
    Get the 30 trial windows 7 and during the trial, upgrade to 8 for cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭N64

MRTULES wrote: »
    Is this just a silly idea?
    Get the 30 trial windows 7 and during the trial, upgrade to 8 for cheap?

where can you update for windows 8 for cheap? I thought that offer expired ages ago ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Anybody got any updates on their Quickfire TK order?

They seem to be out of stock now, and saying that they'll order and dispatch when available. Mine is still scheduled to dispatch on 24th of July at the earliest :/ I ordered on the 17th. Anybody's coming earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭iggyigauna89

I ordered mine on the 5th of June, chased them up on it last week. Delivery estimate given was July 18, 2013 - September 06, 2013! :(

Same as my own then basically :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭beno619

Literally just got this email,ordered on the 9th of June.
    Hello,

We are pleased to report that the following item will dispatch sooner than expected:

"Cooler Master CM Storm Quick Fire TK Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - Brown"
    Previous estimated arrival date: July 20 2013 - September 11 2013
    New estimated arrival date: July 03 2013 - July 04 2013

Id expect you guys will be receiving them soon, happy days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭iggyigauna89

Here's hoping! Next step is to get a PC to use it with! :)

beno619 wrote: »

Cool! Sounds good. :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

beno619 wrote: »

I ordered on the 1st of june, dispatched yesterday, delivery estimated at thursday, so they are starting to move alright

Lu Tze wrote: »
    I ordered on the 1st of june, dispatched yesterday, delivery estimated at thursday, so they are starting to move alright

So we're looking at about 3 weeks from initial order date. Could be worse!

Why would they take so long to dispatch? I would understand it if they were waiting for a big order before shipping, but it seems as if they aren't, and are shipping proportionally (time-wise) in accordance to order date.

N64 wrote: »
    where can you update for windows 8 for cheap? I thought that offer expired ages ago ?

Touché
    I didn't realise that offer had ended :(
    Thanks anyway

Could some one please just clarify that this is "technically" a 432 watt psu?
    24122344347l.jpg

and whats the difference in 2 12v rails as apposed to one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

It's a 500W PSU. Not everything uses the 12V rails.

As for two rails vs. one, it's a safety thing. If one rail gets overloaded, and worse comes to worst, it fries whatever's on that rail, anything on the other one will be unaffected. Generally, you'll have rail 1 with X amp value, rail 2 with Y amp value, and a combined maximum Z amp value across all rails. That's the one you want to pay attention to (assuming your GPU uses more amps than one rail can provide).

(So in your case, you have 18+18, which doesn't necessarily equal a 36A total value.)
    ((Upon further checking, the 500W unit does in fact have a combined total of 36A.))

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Serephucus wrote: »
    It's a 500W PSU. Not everything uses the 12V rails.

As for two rails vs. one, it's a safety thing. If one rail gets overloaded, and worse comes to worst, it fries whatever's on that rail, anything on the other one will be unaffected. Generally, you'll have rail 1 with X amp value, rail 2 with Y amp value, and a combined maximum Z amp value across all rails. That's the one you want to pay attention to (assuming your GPU uses more amps than one rail can provide).

(So in your case, you have 18+18, which doesn't necessarily equal a 36A total value.)
    ((Upon further checking, the 500W unit does in fact have a combined total of 36A.))

And in the best case even if one of them does get overloaded, a multirail PSU is more likely to safely shut itself down before any damage is done at all. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

I know its not really cheap but had to get an air duster today and got 400ml one in Harvey Normans for €9.95. Again I know they can be got cheaper online but this has to be the cheapest bricks and mortar. Maplins were lookin for €13 for 200ml cans and pc world weren much better. Just thought id mention it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

EoinHef wrote: »
    I know its not really cheap but had to get an air duster today and got 400ml one in Harvey Normans for €9.95. Again I know they can be got cheaper online but this has to be the cheapest bricks and mortar. Maplins were lookin for €13 for 200ml cans and pc world weren much better. Just thought id mention it

As discussed earlier it seems that Dealz is the cheapest bricks & mortar you'll find. I really doubt you'll beat €1.49/200ml even online.

Bazzo wrote: »
    As discussed earlier it seems that Dealz is the cheapest bricks & mortar you'll find. I really doubt you'll beat €1.49/200ml even online.

Dealz? Never heard of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

EoinHef wrote: »
    Dealz? Never heard of it

It's a discount store similar to eurogiant, seems to have a lot more stock from what I could see.

http://www.dealz.ie/ :)

Bazzo wrote: »
    It's a discount store similar to eurogiant, seems to have a lot more stock from what I could see.

http://www.dealz.ie/ :)

Ah I see,id never heard of them before. Ye at that price thats great, I do hate paying such a premium in most bricks and mortar. Thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Half of those cheap ones seem to spray liquid half the time though.

I used to use cd decks a lot and had to use compressed air for the mixer, when dust got into the fader the sound leaked because of the dust, and I found that some brands are better than others alright for spraying water. At the time I could get a very good brand free in work, not anymore sadly:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭N64

I was in dealz today in Henry street and I confirm they had ample stock of the air dusters :)

I just finished cleaning my PC and i used up over half the can(400ml) so if anybody is gtting the 200ml cans from dealz id say get 2 or 3. God the heatsink on the cpu is a pain in the a#@$!
    Took ages to get the dust from between the fins,two things next for this PC......Water cooling(Surely radiators are easier to clean) and a modular PSU.
    Opening up the side panel today reminded me what a pain in the a@#$ psu cables are:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

What case do you have? You should be able to route and hide half the cables around the back anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I thought as much looking around a few days ago, as there were a few cards only back on OCUK but here's official confirmation that see the Never Settle Bundle is on its last legs.

http://vr-zone.com/articles/codes-for-amds-never-settle-reloaded-bundle-becoming-a-scarce-resource/40941.html