Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 4 Races for 4 PBs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Up at 6:50. Gym at 7:30. Back to room at 9:00. Shower, dress, pack. Leave hotel 9:20. Walk to work. Everything against the clock today. Didn't get out of work until 9 this evening so I'm really happy I got this run done this morning, gym shuts at 10.

No charge on my phone this morning so nothing to listen to while I ran. 19K is along time on a treadmill. Watched 4.5 UFC fights on ESPN with no sound. Never watched this before, serious stuff.

Legs felt stiff in the office, managed to move about a bit though so they're not to bad now. Happy to have completed first week on schedule. Happy to have tomorrow as rest day.

19.00 KM @ 5:32 KM/hr

Week 01 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    Lactate Threshold 8M with 4M @ =<7:30 |8.40M| 4M @ 7:29
    General Aerobic 14KM @ 5:36 to 5:45 | 14.00KM | 5:42
    Recovery 6KM @ 5:45 to 5:54| 6.10KM | 5:49
    Medium Long Run 19KM @ 5:26 to 5:36 | 19.00KM | 5:32

Sessions Completed / On Target / DNS / DNF / Remaining | Miles WTD / MTD / YTD
    04 / 04 / 00 / 00 / 82 | 32.69 / 15.60 / 89.46

Lactate Threshold 13K with 6K at HM pace
    (replacing General Aerobic + speed, 13K w 10 x 100m strides)

Wrecked.

Worked 9 consecutive days since arriving last Wednesday here. Worked Saturday and Sunday. Logging 60 hrs (or 8 days of overtime!!) in that period.

And I've somehow managed to complete all but 2KM of scheduled distance in that time. Success. I work. I run. I sleep. Project was gone live and has been much smoother than expected. So all round a good week. Even managing to get home tomorrow, 4 days ahead of schedule. Means I'll be back outside and back on miles come Sunday.

Fallen behind on my updates.

Tuesday evening I started week 2. A really enjoyable treadmill session!
    I think you have to go fast on the treadmill. It's more fun and it passes quicker. I wasn't going to attempt strides so this was a repeat of last Tuesday's session, only in metric. Session went as follows:

Warm-up
    2KM @ 10.5 speed (5:43 pace)
    2KM @ 11.0 speed (5:27 pace)

Tempo
    6KM @ 13.0 speed (4:37 pace)

Warm-down
    2KM @ 11.5 speed (5:13 pace)
    1.1KM @ 11.0 speed (5:27 pace)

Total 13.1KM @ 5:04 pace

Felt good during the 6KM tempo section. Slight feedback from right knee for around 500ms, but it passed.

Week 02 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    Lactate Threshold 13KM with 6KM @ =<4:40 |13.1.KM| 6KM @ 4:37
    General Aerobic 16KM @ 5:36 to 5:45 | |
    Recovery 8KM @ 5:45 to 5:54 | |
    PMP Run 13M @ 8:45 to 9:00 with 8M @ 7:55 ||

05 / 05 / 00 / 00 / 81 | 8.14 / 23.72 / 97.60

General Aerobic 16K

This should have been done on Thursday, but given that I finished work half an hour after midnight on Wednesday night it was never going to happen in the morning. Then a work meal straight after work (half-day finishing at 8:30pm) Thursday evening with some well deserved beers meant this run happened today instead.

Another late evening meant I was late to the gym. After 13.98KM I was being asked to leave. Brought up the 14K and left it at that. I'm marking this as a successful session anyway. They locked the door behind me.

14K at 10.7 speed, 5:36 pace

General Aerobic 16KM @ 5:36 to 5:45 | 14.00 | 5:36
    Recovery 8KM @ 5:45 to 5:54 | |

06 / 06 / 00 / 00 / 80 | 16.84 / 32.44 / 106.30

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

outforarun wrote: »
    I'm marking this as a successful session anyway

Damn right. Close as makes no difference. Fair play on getting the sessions done in those circumstances man.

scriba wrote: »
    Damn right. Close as makes no difference. Fair play on getting the sessions done in those circumstances man.

Thanks.
    See we're kinda neck and neck on the 1000 miles table.

Recovery 8K

Ahhh, sleep. Friday I had late night room service and finally went to bed without setting alarm. Woke at a glorious 9:52. Was back down in the gym 15 mins later for 8K recovery pace. My reward at the end a leisurely 5 star cooked breakfast.

This could be my last run in Moscow. Crazy trip this one, managed to eat out only three nights, the rest of the time it was bits and bops brought back from supermarket, or late room service. Saw nothing but hotel and office and the two mile walk in between.

8K at 5:45 pace

Recovery 8KM @ 5:45 to 5:54 | 8.00 | 5:45

07 / 07 / 00 / 00 / 79 | 21.81 / 37.41 / 111.27

13M with 8M @ PMP

After a Saturday spent in airplanes and airports and crossing 4 time-zones I was a little wary about this one. In the end it wasn't as difficult as I'd expected and not as easy as I'd hoped.

First outing for a water-proof jacket I'd picked up over Christmas. Headed over to the park just after 10 in the morning. After so much time spent on the treadmill it felt strange to be running up and down and left and right again.
    For the first 5 miles the legs felt heavy and I just hoped it would be one of those runs where it turns out easier to run fast than slow. Headed round behind the zoo, up to the Castleknock Gate. Then popped into Farmleigh with the intention of exiting onto Tower Road only to discover that that gate was locked.

The move up to PMP pace felt ok. Back down Ordnance. Up Furze Road and back down Ordnance again, then followed the road round to Island-bridge Gate. Ran down main road to Heuston then round by Hilton and through the Royal Hospital. For the first 6 miles PMP pace felt mostly comfortable. The last 2 miles demanded more effort, especially along the stretch down to Heuston. Left hip was a bit sore for the last 2 or 3 miles.

Overall felt good. Hip was sore for the rest of Sunday but felt fine again come yesterday evening.

I think for the next one of these I'll take auto-lap off the Garmin and hit lap button as I start the PMP section, then just watch average pace. On Sunday I has watching lap-pace with auto-lap at 1-mile. I think this caused me to run a little faster than planned.

2 weeks down. So far so good.

M01 9:09
    M02 8:21
    M03 8:45
    M04 8:48
    M05 8:46
    M06 7:53
    M07 7:52
    M08 7:50
    M09 7:49
    M10 7:52
    M11 7:47
    M12 8:01
    M13 7:46

Totals
    5M @ 8:46
    8M @ 7:51
    Overall 13.27M @ 8:13

Recovery 8KM @ 5:45 to 5:54 | 8.00 | 5:45
    PMP Run 13M @ 8:45 to 9:00 with 8M @ 7:55 |13.27| 8:13 with 8M @ 7:51

08 / 08 / 00 / 00 / 78 | 35.08 / 50.68 / 124.54

The OH is looking for new work, means I can get an extra hour in bed in the morning. So this morning's 10 miler started at 6:15 instead of 5:15. Lovely.
    I was a bit sceptical about the prescribed speed for these runs but after ticking this one off, I have 10 more miles logged and the legs feel fine, the hip is grand and I was sure it would act up again. Maybe running these even a little faster would have triggered some more reaction from the hip. So trust the plan I guess.

Started this run in the dark, finished in the light. Kept the pace steady for 6 laps of the block. Didn't feel tired at all. Legs have felt good since, despite sitting at my desk all morning. Hopefully tomorrow's 4 mile recovery will see me right for Thursday morning's tougher session. There is method in this plan.

M01 9:34
    M02 9:09
    M03 9:12
    M04 9:12
    M05 9:07
    M06 9:10
    M07 9:07
    M08 9:02
    M09 9:10
    M10 9:06

Total 10.28 @ 9:11

Week 03 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    General Aerobic 10M @ 9:01 to 9:15|10.28| 9:11
    Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | |
    Lactate Threshold 8M with 4M <= 7:30 | |
    Medium Long Run 14M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | |

09 / 09 / 00 / 00 / 77 | 10.28 / 60.96 / 134.83

outforarun wrote: »
    Thanks.
    See we're kinda neck and neck on the 1000 miles table.

Since we're on the same week of the same schedule, hopefully things will stay that way!

Ahhhhh. Of late I've hardly had time to update my own log let alone keep up with others. I'm off over to yours now for a read.

Recovery 4 Miles

I like recovery runs. They don't take any effort, yet they count towards total mileage. They're short so when you have to run them in the morning it means the battle with the bed is easily won. And you do generally feel better at the end of the run than the start.

I have two loops of the block I can do. One is around 1.7 mile, the other around 1.2 miles. I linked both yesterday morning by running a figure-of-eight, hoping it would work out as 2 miles even, would be very handy for any even mile runs. It didn't, 2.16 miles ah well. An informative 4 recovery miles.

M01 9:27
    M02 9:22
    M03 9:16
    M04 9:32

Total 4.06 @ 9:24

Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.06 | 9:24
    Lactate Threshold 8M with 4M <= 7:30 | |

10 / 10 / 00 / 00 / 76 | 14.34 / 65.02 / 138.89

Lactate Threshold 8M with 4M @ HM pace

Found it a bit hard this morning to get up and out for this. Probably didn't get enough sleep and didn't fancy running fast. Nice morning out, mild and no rain.
    I set the Garmin to auto-lap every 2 miles and displayed lap pace, just to get steadier pace information. The warm-up 2 miles felt a little tougher than it should, legs feeling heavy. I'll put it down to the hour of the morning. Conveniently for this session the start of the tempo section coincides with a downhill stretch of my loop, so the jump up to tempo pace is that bit easier.

The first 2 mile lap took 14:54, for 7:27 pace. Happy with that now keep it going. The second 2 mile lap felt easier than two weeks ago (not that it felt easy mind). It logged 14:40 for 7:20 pace. Very pleased. The last 2 miles of this session always feels like a drag, the hard work is done but you still have to rack up 2 more miles before you can hit the shower.

Toughest run (imo) of week three, done and dusted. Right of groin a little unhappy. But tomorrow is a rest day and Saturday is a recovery run, so fingers-crossed should be fine come Sunday.

2M @ 9:00
    2M @ 7:27
    2M @ 7:20
    Total Tempo 4M @ 7:23
    2M @ 8:50

Total 8.03 @ 8:09

Lactate Threshold 8M with 4M <= 7:30 | 8.03 | 8:09 with 4M at 7:23

11 / 11 / 00 / 00 / 75 | 22.37 / 73.05 / 146.92

Recovery 4 Miles

Did this one early (for a Saturday). I like these short Saturday runs, keeps half of the weekend free. Legs felt heavy for this one and I was glad that recovery pace was on the menu. A mild 7 degrees according to Garmin Connect, nice this new weather feature.

M01 9:36
    M02 9:04
    M03 9:07
    M04 9:29

Total 4.00 @ 9:19

Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.00 | 9:19

12 / 12 / 00 / 00 / 74 | 26.37 / 77.05 / 150.92

Medium Long Run 14 Mile

Out just after 8:30 this morning. Legs felt worryingly tired and heavy for this one, to the point that the thought 'over-training' came to mind. This schedule does represent a fair jump up in mileage after a fairly low mileage few months. I hoped the legs would loosen out and not worsen. Luckily they did but it took a good 4 miles before the heaviness left.

Today's route was simple, over to Phoenix, two laps linking the Parkgate roundabout and the Castleknock roundabout, then back home. Pretty much 14 mile on the button. First lap I ran with a mate so the chat at least helped distract me from my heavy legs. Mate hopped on his bike and cycled the second lap with me. Legs felt much better second time round. I remind myself that Mesocycle 1 is all about endurance so I guess tired legs are expected.

Slight feedback right of groin for last 4 or 5 miles. I've been neglecting core sessions. Tomorrow I've taken a day off work, so I'm going to schedule a session. I hope then to do these at least on rest / cross training days, and maybe on recovery days.

Three weeks down, longest run since DCM and a 40 mile plus week. This schedule doesn't mess about.

M01 9:05
    M02 8:46
    M03 8:53
    M04 8:37
    M05 8:36
    M06 8:55
    M07 9:00
    M08 8:45
    M09 9:23
    M10 8:51
    M11 8:32
    M12 8:48
    M13 8:50
    M14 8:35

Total 14.01 @ 8:50

Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.00 | 9:19
    Medium Long Run 14M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 14.01 | 8:50

13 / 13 / 00 / 00 / 73 | 40.38 / 91.06 / 164.92

General Aerobic 8 Miles with 10 x 100m Strides

Yesterday's was the most enjoyable run of the year so far. Ran over to Phoenix shortly after 8:00 am. Up past the zoo then cut down toward the Phoenix roundabout. Gloves on, sunshine slanting through heavy mist over frosty ground. Beautiful morning. Legs felt really good and the pace was effortless. I got to the playing fields after 4 miles, I stopped to switch the Garmin to metric, then ran strides for the first time ever. Up and down the cycle path. They felt ok, ran to near full sprint and just focused on form. Covered these in 3K, then back to imperial for the rest of the run home.

Walked round Howth head in the afternoon. Slept well last night.

4.01M @ 9:00
    1.87M @ 8:03 (includes 10 x 100m strides)
    2.07M @ 9:10

Week 04 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    General Aerobic 8M @ 9:01 to 9:15 with 10 x 100m strides |7.94| GA miles @ 9:03
    Recovery 5M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | |
    General Aerobic 10M @ 9:01 to 9:15 | |
    Medium Long Run 15M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | |

14 / 14 / 00 / 00 / 72 | 7.94 / 99.00 / 172.86

Recovery 5 Miles

Cold out yesterday morning. Regreted not bringing gloves. Run went fine though, legs all in order. Found for most of the run that I had to concentrate on keeping the speed down. Scrapped home just slow enough.

M01 9:15
    M02 9:06
    M03 9:16
    M04 9:09
    M05 9:23

Total 5.17M @ 9:15

Recovery 5M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 5.17 | 9:15

15 / 15 / 00 / 00 / 71 | 13.11 / 104.17 / 178.03

General Aerobic 10 Mile

If it wasn't for a decent dab of vaseline and compression shorts I reckon I'd be off the road with friction wounds again after this morning's run. Was out at 6:15 for 10 miles. Gloves and running jacket. After about five miles I was feeling the cold just below the waist. Half of my loop was into a merciless chill wind coming from somewhere east. I thought about cutting the run short, if I chaffed like I did last month I'd be out for at least a week. But I decided to keep running and just manually readjusted things every so often. Sooner this cold weather is gone the better. I finished the 10 miles on schedule and thankfully I'd avoided any horror chaffing.

Legs felt good for the rest of the day. All these slow miles do seem to keep the injuries at bay (touching wood).

M01 9:23
    M02 9:04
    M03 8:38
    M04 8:57
    M05 9:05
    M06 9:02
    M07 9:18
    M08 9:06
    M09 9:16
    M10 8:52

Total 10.17M @ 9:04

General Aerobic 10M @ 9:01 to 9:15 | 10.17 | 9:04

16 / 16 / 00 / 00 / 70 | 23.29 / 114.35 / 188.21

Recovery 4 Miles

The weekend’s running started Saturday with a leisurely 4 mile lunchtime recovery trot, mostly around the grounds of the Royal Hospital. Sleety conditions so gloves and jacket to keep me snug. Took it really easy on this one. Bit of a tweak in groin in the morning but it felt much better after the run.

9:06
    9:38
    9:35
    9:31

Total 4.01M @ 9:27

Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.01 | 9:27

17 / 17 / 00 / 00 / 69 | 27.30 / 118.36 / 192.22

Medium Long Run 15 Miles

Decided to skip the park yesterday and keep it urban; retracing most of the route I used for long runs leading up to DCM. Headed out at 9:00am. From Kilmainham to Rathmines then Ranelagh to Donnybrook, to Sandymount, to Ballsbridge then over to the Burlington and along the canal and onto the South Circular Road back to Kilmainham. Overcast conditions. Ran this without any breakfast and without any gels so I did start to feel tired near the end. The Garmin pace stayed between 8:49 and 8:52 for the bulk of the run.

Legs were a bit sore and stiff alright in the afternoon but I got a good night’s sleep and they feel much better today. That’s 4 weeks completed and all boxes ticked. I don’t like the look of week 5 though, I’ll need to get another good night’s sleep before tackling 9 miles with 5 at HM pace in the early morning. Then next Sunday's 16 mile with 10 at PMP looms large and should give me some idea of where I’m at.

8:54
    8:46
    8:48
    8:58
    8:52
    8:46
    8:53
    8:54 (200 miles for the year)
    8:50
    8:54
    8:40
    8:49
    8:52
    8:39
    8:56

Total 15.05M @ 8:50

Recovery 4M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.01 | 9:27
    Medium Long Run 15M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 15.05 | 8:50

18 / 18 / 00 / 00 / 68 | 42.35 / 133.41 / 207.27

Lactate Threshold 9M with 5M @ HM Pace

Didn't get enough sleep Monday night, so postponed Tuesday's run by 24 hours. The problem with this is that it sets me up for 5 consecutive days running.

Got the first of these 5 days out of the way yesterday morning. Was not looking forward to this one. The first two miles of warm-up though the legs feel ok. Then into the tempo miles. These are getting faster, they're drifting toward 15K pace rather than HM pace. First tempo mile is 7:11, next mile is a bit more uphill and logs at 7:21.

Then I pick-up an unexpected pace-maker. I turn onto St.John's Road and meet a guy running towards me. Asks which direction is city centre. Tell him to turn around, and as I'm running that direction we run to Heuston together, he's setting the pace; 6:53 on the Garmin, and not a bother on him, chatting away. English guy over for a presentation in the Shelbourne and getting an early run in. Say ciao to him by Heuston and drop the pace back down, final tempo miles: 7:12, 7:14, 7:25.

Cool down for 2 miles and really pleased to have this one ticked off. Surprised to see that the 9 miles were covered at a PMP pace of 7:56.

Legs ached a bit in the office, but good honest aches.

2M @ 8:49
    5M @ 7:17
    2M @ 8:38

Total 9.02M @ 7:56

Week 05 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    Lactate Threshold 9M with 5M @ <7:30 | 9.02 | 7:56 with 5M @ 7:17
    PMP run 16M with 10M @ 7:50 to 8:00 | |

19 / 19 / 00 / 00 / 67 | 9.02 / 142.43 / 216.29

Recovery 5 Miles

Despite pints last night I was up early and feeling fresh enough for this one. Bog standard recovery run. Focusing on keeping the pace down. Legs feel better than I expected they would after yesterday's effort and felt good for the rest of the day.

M01 9:42
    M02 9:10
    M03 9:05
    M04 9:09
    M05 9:15

Total 5.15M @ 9:17

Recovery 5M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 5.15 | 9:17

20 / 20 / 00 / 00 / 66 | 14.17 / 147.58 / 221.44

Still a perfect record. :) Every time I consider dropping a recovery run, I think of your unblemished log. That's some great work there with the LT session, keep it up.

and this comment from you made sure I got out of bed early this morning to tick off another 10 miles. Thanks.

No bother, it's what keeping logs is all about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

really enjoying reading this log, the detail is much appreciated.

General Aerobic 10 Miles

10 miles before work no longer feels like a big deal. Running from dark into bright these mornings. Put on mid-shin shorts, gloves and jacket only to discover after 2 or 3 miles that it was actually quite mild out. 6 uneventful laps of the block. Some feedback from left achilles. Had to drop the pace in the second half of this one to ensure I came home inside target pace. Once again the legs feel reassuringly good for the rest of the day.

M01 9:30
    M02 8:56
    M03 8:42
    M04 8:50
    M05 8:46
    M06 9:04
    M07 9:13
    M08 9:11
    M09 9:11
    M10 9:02

Total 10.35M @ 9:02

General Aerobic 10M @ 9:01 to 9:15 | 10.35 | 9:02

21 / 21 / 00 / 00 / 65 | 24.52 / 10.35 / 231.79

Recovery 5 Miles

Some welcome sunshine for this lunchtime run. A loop from home over to the Park, round the Kyber and back home. Forgot that this is just a little shy of 5 miles and hit stop as soon as I was back home, 4.98 miles. Did 0.35 miles more than scheduled yesterday so won't fret over this. Keep recovery pace really slow even though at times there's a temptation to speed up, especially round the park when you're trailing other runners. One tweak from right of groin, a couple of tweaks from left achilles and an unexpected tweak from right knee. Good that next week is a recovery week.

M01 9:30
    M02 9:27
    M03 9:00
    M04 9:16
    M04.98 9:23

Total 4.98M @ 9:19

Recovery 5M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.98 | 9:19

22 / 22 / 00 / 00 / 64 | 29.50 / 15.33 / 236.76

LSR 16 Miles with 10 Miles at PMP

Yesterday’s session was a big one. Arguably the key test from Mesocycle 1. The task, 16 miles, 6 at LSR pace and 10 at PMP pace.

I decided to switch auto-lap off and display lap pace, and I’d manually hit the lap button after 6 miles. This would effectively allow me see average pace for the LSR section and then average pace for the PMP section. I’ve become a big fan of running to average pace.

Didn’t think too much about the run in the morning. Just got kitted out. I’ve accumulated a mini-collection of compression shorts now, I’ve tried a few brands and I think my favorite are Nike’s pro-combat. Picked up a couple of these down in the Kildare Village and I’m a very happy customer to date. So band-aids on nipples, Vaseline applied, compression shorts on, jacket on, gloves on, 500ml water bottle in hand. Ready for action. Decided to go again without breakfast and without gels. I’ll return to gels for 16+ mile distances.

Over to Phoenix. Meeting a friend at the Park-Gate roundabout. Set off on the first anti-clockwise lap of the park. For the first few miles LSR pace doesn’t feel as comfortable as I’d have liked but once we’re off the North Road the legs start to properly loosen up and the pace starts heading toward the faster end of LSR pace. No aches or pains to report so far, not for me at any rate, friend was nursing a stitch, and complaining of a thigh strain.

The LSR section ends as we come out of the S-bends. I hit lap on the Garmin: 6.01 miles @ 8:46.

Pick up the pace smoothly and watch the Garmin as it gradually settles into 7:5X pace. At the end of lap 1, my mate stops to do some stretches then hops on his bike and catches me up just before the North Road. Pace has settled around 7:56. I feel fine, it doesn’t feel that difficult. It’s good though to have someone to chat with and distract me from over-analysing how I feel. Down Ordnance, then to get some extra distance in the park I head up and down Furze Road before resuming the second lap. Pace picks up some more down Glen Road and around by the S-bends. Overtaking most other runners now, which always feels good. Average hovers round 7:50 / 7:51.

Say ciao to my mate at the end of the second lap. I head out of the Park, up around by Saint James and home.

Overall this felt like less of a chore than last week’s 15 miler. The PMP section was easier than I expected it would be. I was tired over the last 2 miles or so but that said I could have continued at this pace for longer if required.

Legs also felt better after today’s run than they did after last week’s 15 miler.

All in all very encouraging. But it’s early days yet, and I’ve had encouraging sessions before that haven’t translated into success on race-day. I’ll try enjoy week 6 now, a recovery week that brings Mesocycle 1 to a close.

06.01M @ 8:46
    10.04M @ 7:51

Total 16.05M @ 8:12

Recovery 5M @ 9:15 to 9:30 | 4.98 | 9:19
    PMP run 16M with 10M @ 7:50 to 8:00 | 16.05 | 6M @ 8:46 + 10M @ 7:51

23 / 23 / 00 / 00 / 63 | 45.55 / 31.38 / 252.82

Excellent work outforarun. Everything about the last session says that you're quite comfortable at the moment, and in good shape. Keep hitting the plan exactly as you're doing, and I'm sure everything will come together on race day. Are you considering doing any race between now and Cork? If you're anything like me, P&D is probably having more of a positive effect on you than you realise, and a race might make that more obvious.

I'll be doing this session next week, since I couldn't do it on Sunday. I think you're right in identifying it as the key test of Mesocycle 1. I'll feel better knowing I've done it.

Excellent work outforarun. Everything about the last session says that you're quite comfortable at the moment, and in good shape. Keep hitting the plan exactly as you're doing, and I'm sure everything will come together on race day. Are you considering doing any race between now and Cork? If you're anything like me, P&D is probably having more of a positive effect on you than you realise, and a race might make that more obvious.

I'll be doing this session next week, since I couldn't do it on Sunday. I think you're right in identifying it as the key test of Mesocycle 1. I'll feel better knowing I've done it.

Thanks man. Well done on your Ballycotton result as well. I'm touching wood here, a 1:15 this far out from Cork, bodes really well for your sub 3:45. Plus it looks like you were never really struggling on Sunday.

I haven't any races planned before Cork. This is one area where I've always been weak, fitting races in during training. When P&D ask for a race session later in the program it'll be Garmin PB sessions for me.