Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London: November beers

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Ola! Is this going ahead this weekend then? Let me know so we can start packing and preparing rations for the cold harsh winter down south getting plans organised!!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

AFAIK 'tis.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Friday 19th
    Yarp, we're still on for this weekend. I suggest we hit that tapas place around 6:30-7ish for food, then go from there.

TFL suggests that for us at least, the quickest route from Queens Park is the Bakerloo to Elephant & Castle followed by the Northern Line to Clapham Common. Any other Northerners heading down by a similar route?

So we are going for Clapham Common. Grand....see ye there....Are there any traditions for making the group known to newbies?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Friday 19th
    Pter wrote: »
    So we are going for Clapham Common. Grand....see ye there....Are there any traditions for making the group known to newbies?

I'll PM you my mobile number and a link to a suitable mugshot so you can ring/find us on the night. I'll likely also be wearing a bright orange t-shirt with a pumpkin design on it, making me even more visible...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I'll be in touch with you Fysh and JackBBadd if we go, transport wise. I'm clueless at it! Will be good, as we had to leave the last one early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Friday 19th
    That tapas place is _literally_ beside Clapham Common tube. I was stood very close when I was watching the fireworks. We say 6:45pm at Carmen Tapas so? Any idea of numbers? If there's a big group mightn't be a bad idea to reserve a table? Dunno...:confused: Can we get a show of definite hands? I'm in fo' shizzle.

Im in

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Friday 19th
    My self and the boy are in - can't say no to tapas :)

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

Friday 19th
    Fysh wrote: »
    Any other Northerners heading down by a similar route?

Me, most likely, as I am assuming the Jubilee line will be down!

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Cheetara

Friday 19th
    Yeah - finally I can make a drinks. Do you know where are you going after the food just in case i get delayed?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Friday 19th
    Ill be there!

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Dr.Giggles

Friday 19th
    ya its not looking likely that Ill make Tapas, but Ill meet ye a bit later where ever ye end up, Ill be ringing looking for directions no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Friday 19th
    I'm in for tapas and everything that follows

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Friday 19th
    I'm not going to be able to make it for the meal but will meet up later in the evening. How will i get in touch with you guys to find out where you are?

Friday 19th
    So for the Tapas 6:45 at Carmen Tapas which is here. It's right beside Clapham Common tube station: come out of the station and Bam! there it is.

Then, for ease, should we say the Belle Vue which is pretty close to the tapas place from 9:30 (might be there earlier...don't know how long dinner will take)? We can make an agreement to stay there til 10:30 at least, but if anyone plans on coming after that time maybe to double check our location, just in case? Does that sound like a potential arrangement?

I live not so far from Clapham, so I'll check this immediately before I leave around 6:15pm, so PM me if anyone needs a phone number or further directions! :)

Nice meeting everyone last night :)

Friday 19th
    Nice meeting everyone last night :)

Likewise :) Hope ye had a good time for the rest of the night. Did ye head on anywhere after the Belle Vue?

Went to the Royal Oak (?) down the road near Calpham North.

I hit the road around half one; drunkenly thinking id make a tube or bus or something.

I got home. Thats the main thing.

Friday 19th
    ... Calpham North...

Mmm...Calpol...think that conversation has made an impact... :pac:

The rest of us stuck around til we felt obliged to leave after 2 sometime... D-Generate took on the persona of a kindly gentleman and escorted Dr.Giggles and me to our chariots. D-Generate and I were even alone for a while waiting for my bus and we both survived the ordeal. And so did everyone else around us. Success!

I seem to remember saying its basically paracetamol and sugar......nyom.

Friday 19th
    D-Generate and I were even alone for a while waiting for my bus and we both survived the ordeal. And so did everyone else around us. Success!

Good lord, either the boozemagic took effect or you must have finally done something about that sexual tension. One way or another, I suspect congratulations are due to all involved for having survived ;)

BlueDophin truly is a booze-wizard.

Friday 19th

Did she have a naggin of vodka hidden up her sleeve, then?

Not that im aware of. But she weilded the boozemagic and everyone had a good time. Obviously she is a nice booze-wirzade as opposed to an evil one.

Friday 19th
    Not that im aware of. But she weilded the boozemagic and everyone had a good time. Obviously she is a nice booze-wirzade as opposed to an evil one.

If she were evil, she'd be a booze-witch, surely?

Friday 19th
    I seem to remember saying its basically paracetamol and sugar......nyom.
    It is. Nom nom nom nom nom. "I feel a headache coming on."
    Good lord, either the boozemagic took effect or you must have finally done something about that sexual tension. One way or another, I suspect congratulations are due to all involved for having survived ;)

You were the only one feeling sexual tension. Sweetheart. D-Generate and I are like super-best-friends-forever now. ISN'T THAT RIGHT, D-Ge? :cool:
    Wot? :eek:
    Did she have a naggin of vodka hidden up her sleeve, then?
    This is how rumourz start! :eek:

Friday 19th
    If she were evil, she'd be a booze-witch, surely?

Oi! I'm HERE! Yes! HERE! Stop talking 'bout my magik skills. I am a demi-goddess. :cool:

Friday 19th
    You were the only one feeling sexual tension. Sweetheart. D-Generate and I are like super-best-friends-forever now. ISN'T THAT RIGHT, D-Ge? :cool:

That's not how your games of footsie were coming across :P
    This is how rumourz start! :eek:

No, this is how rumours start:
    "I heard that after she snuck off for a quickie with D-Generate (who was forced to wear a Zack Morris mask for the duration) she killed a hobo just to steal his naggin of vodka".

I mean, come on, if you're going to start a rumour it has to be a good one...although it does occur to me you probably wouldn't to start that kind of rumour about yourself. In which case please disregard the preceding paragraph.

Oi! I'm HERE! Yes! HERE! Stop talking 'bout my magik skills. I am a demi-goddess. :cool:

And it was very nice to be on the other end of your demi-godly wrath :)