Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda inaction and our area descending into chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah Eric Byrne is a good local worker, go talk to him OP

I've never dealt with our TD but our local councillor is superb and did a lot of work with the local superindendant to get garda patrols for our area. The squad car is here regularly every evening scouting around and past midnight too

Your local rep works for you OP :cool:

And Eric Byrne is one of the better ones and there are others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Utik wrote: »
    Tonight the usual gang threw fire works and stones into our front windows. I called the police at around 7 PM. They drove by but did not do anything. The youth were still there and when the police had gone, they started causing problems again. I called the police (999) again. Then they gang threw an egg and some stones at our house. The police only turned up an hour later just after the gang had left, magically.

The youths aren't attacking your house because you are muslim, they are attacking your house because they get such a great reaction from you. Phoning the emergency line constantly because young lads are throwing bangers is an astonishing waste of resources. It clearly was not an emergency. Why did you not just phone your local station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MagicSean wrote: »
    Why did you not just phone your local station?

Maybe this from the opening post might explain that.......
    Utik wrote: »

We reported this incident to the local Garda station and nothing was happening since. They did not even take my statement, despite the video and pictures that I have, which clearly identify them.

mikom wrote: »
    Maybe this from the opening post might explain that.......

Not really. The emergency line doesn't result in different Gardaí calling to your house. It'll be the same station that responds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Its this sort of criminality (harrassment, intimidation, anti-social behaviour) that most people encounter, and which has perhaps the largest effect on society. And its this sort of criminality that the Gardai and the courts seem least willing to tackle. Theres a permissive attitude towards wide scale low level criminality - so long as they keep the noise down, dont make a scene, they'll be left to their own devices for a quiet life. The OPs problem is that they havent learnt yet that you have to accept it when these gangs come round and throw stuff at your house or abuse you. Thats why your neighbours arent rushing out to confront these gangs. If you accept it, theres a chance theyll get bored. But now youre kicking up a fuss and making life less quiet for everyone - you're running the risk of becoming the problem in the eyes of Guards.

Lets face it, if the guards swooped in, caught these guys red handed and they were jailed for 4-5 years an erruption of outrage would occur from people living in areas which never see this sort of behaviour. Essentially, its easy to get agreement on the idea of policing, but when its actually practised then agreement falls apart.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

There is Apathy out there and the politicians and Gardai are not getting the support they need......The imported notion that the kids are all right is destroying us.TV has a lot to do with attitudes today.Such behaviour was almost unknown years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

So Halloween is an excuse for this type of behaviour MagicSean?. The poster is under tremendous stress with the house getting stoned in on a nightly basis which got worse last night. That is terrorism in my book.

Put yourself in the posters situation, there is a line at breaking point which provokes people to protect their family and property. A lack of protection from Gardai who could have dealt with the situation pre-Halloween has allowed it to foster out of control.

The husband or shopkeeper in the first instance did not commit any crime, the Gardai turned up within 5 minutes. You are stretching it to think the 2nd instance is a crime unless any assault actually took place.

And yes, those kids(whoever they are and remove their names in the post) whereby the family and neighbours are witnesses are criminals.

gurramok wrote: »
    So Halloween is an excuse for this type of behaviour MagicSean?.

At no point did I say this or even imply it.
    The poster is under tremendous stress with the house getting stoned in on a nightly basis which got worse last night. That is terrorism in my book.

This is far from terrorism. As i said, the children are returning because the poster is giving them the reaction they want. No other reason.
    Put yourself in the posters situation, there is a line at breaking point which provokes people to protect their family and property. A lack of protection from Gardai who could have dealt with the situation pre-Halloween has allowed it to foster out of control.

I'm curious as to what protection you think should be given in this instance.
    The husband or shopkeeper in the first instance did not commit any crime, the Gardai turned up within 5 minutes. You are stretching it to think the 2nd instance is a crime unless any assault actually took place.

The child committed no crime and as such the husband had no legal right to detain them.
    And yes, those kids(whoever they are and remove their names in the post) whereby the family and neighbours are witnesses are criminals.

What crime you think they commit?

What the op describes is anti-social behaviour. If the op had struck up a dialogue with the local compol Garda and/or an officer in the local station they could have worked on the problem together and identified the youths and issued them with asbos. Instead the op has decided to make a nuisance of themselves by constantly phoning the emergency line. The op has alienated Gardaí from them and has also made themselves a very attractive target for the youths. The op should reconsider their approach to this situation.

This is far from terrorism. As i said, the children are returning because the poster is giving them the reaction they want. No other reason.

Stones hurled through the windows on constant occasions is an act of terror.
    So its the victims fault, nice one. Now we know why the justice system comes down on the side of the criminals.
    Gardai should have arrested those kids and pursued a court order banning them from the street for starters. If that order was broken, send them to a young offenders institution.
    The child committed no crime and as such the husband had no legal right to detain them.

They threw stones and fireworks at the windows.

They threw stones and fireworks at the windows. They also committed other crimes like the verbal abuse and harassment mentioned.
    What the op describes is anti-social behaviour. If the op had struck up a dialogue with the local compol Garda and/or an officer in the local station they could have worked on the problem together and identified the youths and issued them with asbos. Instead the op has decided to make a nuisance of themselves by constantly phoning the emergency line. The op has alienated Gardaí from them and has also made themselves a very attractive target for the youths. The op should reconsider their approach to this situation.

That is some cop-out. Throwing stones through windows can be a life threatening situation, stones can cause serious injury to the body. In this case the Gardai failed miserably to act on initial crime hence the situation became an emergency.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Your husband committed assault and false imprisonment ... The children do not appear to have committed any actual crime in any of the situations you mentioned...
    I can't help but contrast this attitude to my memories of growing up thirty years ago, and it's hard to avoid the feeling that society has gone straight to hell without passing "Go" or collecting $200.

The mind boggles, it really does.

In case I'm being unclear: if our parents found out that we were throwing stones at people's houses, or generally harassing people in any way - whether or not an "actual crime" had been committed - we'd better pray that it was the Gardaí that picked us up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

I agree with MagicSean,it's so easy to bash the Gaurds when you follow this up the wrong way,i.e. not going to the station and opening up dialogue,instead ringing the emergency line.
    Just my two cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Why would you want to leave your house to go to the guards if a group of thugs were throwing rocks at it:eek:

As i said, the children are returning because the poster is giving them the reaction they want. No other reason.
    So what you're saying is that it's the victim's fault that she is being hassled?

You might even say she's, I dunno, asking for it?

Sounds familiar, somehow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

At no point did I say this or even imply it.

Seems to me the guards in that area are completely useless!

Maybe the op needs to see a solicitor about bringing a civil case against these little scobes, surely they can be sued for criminal damage.

Id be recording this on a camcorder op, maybe leave it recording on the interior windowsill of your front window. Throw a towel or something over it so only the lens is visible.

Everytime the trouble starts ring your local garda station and keep your phone records as proof incase something serious happens!

As soon as you have evidence recorded, get it to your solicitor and let hIm proceed with it!

The only time the guards will act in this situation is if your husband gives one of the tearaways a clatter, then he will be arrested for assault and probably locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

oscarBravo wrote: »
    So what you're saying is that it's the victim's fault that she is being hassled?

You might even say she's, I dunno, asking for it?

Sounds familiar, somehow.
    No,he's saying that if she continues confronting the youths and calling the Gardaí,not only will she be isolated from the Gardaí but they will keep on returning.

So if she stops "asking for it", the crime might not happen?

What a fantastic world you would have us live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

johngalway wrote: »
    I am not surprised by the OP. We have had reason to ring the Gardai in Mill Street in Galway. More often than not they don't bother to return calls, even important ones.

The only "advice" I could give you is to go to the station in person and firmly insist on making a "written complaint". There are various levels of "complaint", most are informal and result in a Garda caution, which isn't worth a sh1t being perfectly honest with you as it's not recorded anywhere.

If you get no joy from the desk Garda, then ask to see the Duty Sergent.

Do. Not. Be. Fobbed. Off. Be polite, but be firm and stand your ground.

Be prepared for a long wait in the station so go at a day & time you will have 4-5 hours free or more if possible.

If the above doesn't work. I would go higher up the food chain and ask to see the Superintendent.

If that doesn't work I would go to Local Councilors and all of the TD's in your constituency.

If that doesn't work then maybe consider contacting Radio Programmes or Garda Ombudsman or some other official body like that.

Try everyone, you've nothing to lose.

Exactly. Dont be afraid to use your services. Motivation is very low at the moment in the Gardai. But there are decent ones out there. if you cant find them. force the others into action. once a written complaint is made it has to be acted upon. especially if reported to rank.

Thats what they get paid to do!

Stones hurled through the windows on constant occasions is an act of terror.
    So its the victims fault, nice one. Now we know why the justice system comes down on the side of the criminals.

You can get up on your high horse all you want. But in the real world this is a common problem everywhere. It has not been properly addressed by politicians via social policy and legislation. These people look for a target and if you give them the enjoyment they want they will come back. It's simple really.
    Gardai should have arrested those kids and pursued a court order banning them from the street for starters. If that order was broken, send them to a young offenders institution.

Arrested them for what?
    They threw stones and fireworks at the windows.

The only criminal act there is the use of a firework. It would not be possible to arrest for it as there is no evidence and the identity of the one who threw it is not known.
    They threw stones and fireworks at the windows. They also committed other crimes like the verbal abuse and harassment mentioned.

I think you should look up the legislation you think these crimes fall under.
    That is some cop-out. Throwing stones through windows can be a life threatening situation, stones can cause serious injury to the body. In this case the Gardai failed miserably to act on initial crime hence the situation became an emergency.

Throwing stones is not a life threatening situation. The op never mentioned the window being broken either. I would barrage of items was as the op described there would be at least some damage. Throwing stones is not a crime by the way.

So if she stops "asking for it", the crime might not happen?

What a fantastic world you would have us live in.

It's you that seems to live in the fantastic world where everyone lives in peace and harmony. The real world is not like that, especially the area the op lives in.

Throwing stones is not a crime by the way.

Does it disturb the peace?

MagicSean are you a guard?

You can get up on your high horse all you want. But in the real world this is a common problem everywhere. It has not been properly addressed by politicians via social policy and legislation. These people look for a target and if you give them the enjoyment they want they will come back. It's simple really.

Not that simple. These people are criminals who are targeting weak people in society. Your solution is to ignore it due to the factors outlined. Ignoring never works, in this case the OP has been terrorised for a whole year and nothing has been done.

Guess in your world the OP should endure this terror for another year.
    Arrested them for what?

Criminal damage, verbal abuse, harassment and if one of those rocks hits a family member, GBH or attempted murder.
    The only criminal act there is the use of a firework. It would not be possible to arrest for it as there is no evidence and the identity of the one who threw it is not known.

Wrong, see above. Also, there are lots of witnesses, arrests can certainly be made. Bring in forensics if needs be, oh wait it will infringe the 'rights' of teenage criminals.
    Throwing stones is not a life threatening situation. The op never mentioned the window being broken either. I would barrage of items was as the op described there would be at least some damage. Throwing stones is not a crime by the way.

Organise for a brick to be hurled through your window with you standing or sitting beside it and you will change your tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

MagicSean are you a guard?

Dont be asking awkward questions. If he was he wouldn't tell someone who asks.

cursai wrote: »
    Dont be asking awkward questions. If he was he wouldn't tell someone who asks.
    Id certainly be worried if he was a guard in my area, with an attitude like that towards crime!

Ah but who are we to be asking Gardai questions, my tax only pays there wages!

It's you that seems to live in the fantastic world where everyone lives in peace and harmony. The real world is not like that, especially the area the op lives in.
    Fair enough. I guess if we just keep our heads down and avoid bothering the antisocial thugs, we can hope that they might not notice us.

Because heaven forbid we'd actually want to live in a world where antisocial thugs were prevented from doing whatever the hell they want to whomever the hell they want.

Once again: fantastic world you'd have us live in.

Fair enough. I guess if we just keep our heads down and avoid bothering the antisocial thugs, we can hope that they might not notice us.

So what you are saying is that we should become our own "Guardians of the peace" through inaction.
    By jove, I think you've got it.....

Not that simple. These people are criminals who are targeting weak people in society. Your solution is to ignore it due to the factors outlined. Ignoring never works, in this case the OP has been terrorised for a whole year and nothing has been done.

Guess in your world the OP should endure this terror for another year.

The op lives in a **** hole in a country with a revolving door prison system and a belief that all children deserve many chances. There is often little that can be done in an area that bad, particularly in the short time of one year.
    Criminal damage, verbal abuse, harassment and if one of those rocks hits a family member, GBH or attempted murder.

Wrong, see above. Also, there are lots of witnesses, arrests can certainly be made. Bring in forensics if needs be, oh wait it will infringe the 'rights' of teenage criminals.

Like i said, you should look up the law you are spouting and compare it to the situation. And stop watching CSI.
    Organise for a brick to be hurled through your window with you standing or sitting beside it and you will change your tune.

I've been in that situation

It reminds me of the London riots where a few rioters were asked why they rioted. Answer was because 'we can'.
    Its similar to this case as the teenagers have been getting away with it for at least a year and they'll probably end up graduating to gangsterism when they are older. Thats what happens when society tolerates out of control teenagers.

Because heaven forbid we'd actually want to live in a world where antisocial thugs were prevented from doing whatever the hell they want to whomever the hell they want.

Once again: fantastic world you'd have us live in.

You're right. We should be like the ops husband and chase young children with a hammer. The world will be better then.