Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick toy show vs late late toy show

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The advert makers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

innocent

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

The one that will be on TV. :)

What prize do I win?

In all seriousness fair play to him though great causes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Gravy from Chicken Hut and lads being 'savage feens' doesn't count as a toy show.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

funk-you wrote: »
    Gravy from Chicken Hut and lads being 'savage feens' doesn't count as a toy show.

-Funk

I seriously need to check that place out next time i'm in Limerick.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

It will be down to whoever snags John Joe the horologist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

-Funk
    I take it your a dub then:D

cruiser178 wrote: »

Yup. Was unfortunate enough to have had to live there for a couple of years though (Wasn't a student).

-Funk

galwayrush wrote: »
    I seriously need to check that place out next time i'm in Limerick.:cool:

Trust me. Don't.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Instead of the Billy Barry kids they'll have some self defence kids class showing how to stop a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

A young entrepreneur from limerick is hosting the very first limerick toy show and wants to steal the lime light from the dubs:D

Well he is from Limerick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Oh great, a thread where we can stick the knife into Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

'and here we have billy, advertising all kinds of sharp, efficient cutlery!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I see what you did there...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

'and here we have billy, advertising all kinds of sharp, efficient cutlery!'

"And one for everyone in the audience! Now you can put your old steak knives back in mammy's cupboard!"

Lads the late late toy show has run its course,its gone a bit stale a bit flat if you like.Its time for limerick to take the reigns the pressure is a bit much for ye and its showing:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I see what you did there. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 nononsense

don't no if you guys, are aware The limerick toy show, is on television! and guess what ill give you three points why i think it has a great chance? 1.its confirmed the limerick toy show is going to have a bigger audience than the Late Late toy show!! 2.the motivation behind the limerick toy show organisers is bring the real kid's into the show not like the Late Late toy show,and one of the worthy charity benefactors is children's crumlin hospital Dublin,3 i know The limerick toy show, have a couple of well known Local celebrity's coming. so why doesn't it have a chance?? all money raised for the Limerick toy show goes to a'lot of well worth charitys so roll on the limerick toy show:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

-Funk

Chicken Hut in Dublin too ya know?

Mushy wrote: »
    Chicken Hut in Dublin too ya know?
    Not as good as limerick chicken hut though,same will be said about toy shows:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Lesson #1 on the Limerick Toy Show
    - A knife is not a toy. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

The ol stabby stereotype of limerick is fairly old at this stage, its almost embarrassing when people refer to it. most people killed don't actually get stabbed.

This is the first I heard of the limerick toy show. and tbh i have no idea why fully grown adults look forward to watching the toy show every year, so I for one couldn't care less about any toy show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The ol stabby stereotype of limerick is fairly old at this stage, its almost embarrassing when people refer to it.

Only embarrassing to them because they obviously haven't a clue and think it's cutting edge humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Only embarrassing to them because they obviously haven't a clue and think it's cutting edge humour.

Limerick is a dump. I think you need to come to terms with that.

Why, because it's your opinion and no-one else is allowed a different one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭flanno_7hi

Yup. Was unfortunate enough to have had to live there for a couple of years though (Wasn't a student).

-Funk
    Jail?

:confused:it really confuses me with some people! if Limerick, does something good, you guy's are down on top of them and if there is something bad happens! guess what your at the same thing i'm not even going to bother with asking why? After all your intitled to your opinion! That's why the country, is the way it is wrecked, no support for each other i seriously think your being very harsh on the Limerick people, but then again i don't think you care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Let it go Liam, your dealing with people who instead of forming their own opinion are more then happy to swallow and then regurgitate the worn out and inaccurate stereotype that Limerick is a scumhole in the retarded hope that their "funnies" will garner them a few worthless thanks on an internet message board.

Their loss imo.

A lot of these pics beg to differ http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056041926

I think that's the way it looks Liam, there opinion is the only opinion that counts! that's what society itself does to you? ruins the goodness in people!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Looks like another limerick v dubs,so boardies what ye think whos going to triumph in the battle of the toy shows?

Duracell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I see what you did there :D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The Limerick Toy Show!

And here we have Darren aged 8 from Limerick with "My Junior Chemistry Lab" - How have you enjoyed playing with this Darren?

"Its a fooking Meth Lab Ryan, we're at full production at the moment for the January market".

Moving swiftly along to Barry aged 9 from Southhill, "Cowboys and Indians" is it? The toy guns are cute,

"They're not Toys, Ryan, that Scumbag Darren over there thinks he can muscle in on our turf, We'll sort him out before bedtime!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

"Official Webstie" lol!

Yawn! I guess the only kicks some people get involve idiotic slurs at even the good news from Limerick.

We'll just watch the Dublin version again this year and delude ourselves into thinking that The Billie Barrie Kids are representative of all the layabout ASBO candidate offspring of the dole-sponger, drug-addicted gang members from Crumlin and Tallaght and Ballymun and the inner-city estates of Dublin.

Oops! Cheap and unfair generalisation, there......no need to apologise, though, it's in good company in this thread.

"And one for everyone in the audience! Now you can put your old steak knives back in mammy's cupboard!"

Shakes, :rolleyes: your crazy, The Limerick toy show, will be massive not alone for the charity's but for the kids that aren't going to have a great Christmas this year, but the late late toy show can only handle one toy show the limerick toy show, will run four thats quiet incredible don't you think? and shows for a'lot of kids in the Munster region. :)

Stinicker wrote: »
    "Official Webstie" lol!

:p i actually really think its a great part of Limerick, i'm actually getting all excited for the limerick toy show, watch how involved the limerick, people will get! we can show the late late toy show, a old irish trick! bring a bit of normality into Ireland, for the great kids of Ireland:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The way the Limerick lads are throwing their toys out of the pram, there will be no toy show.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Cruiser, as a person of all kinds i love the way you come across! great points but there just trying insult anything good that Limerick, do but as a person grown up i learned, the person who try's to laugh! is the person who fears! of success, :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

The mayor of limerick city wants to legalise incest. Sums up Limerick really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 misslimerick

i think the limerick toy show is a fantastic idea... im form moyross and couldnt be more proud of the people in it... its sicking how other people paint us all with the one brush.... but ye all couldnt be more wrong..... did any of ye ever stop to consider its about the kids and not where its being held... the man himself who is organising it J.D, couldnt be a better person... so all ye can post yere jealous comments, we will show ye on the night how great limerick is...... Dubs just hate seening anyone else in the spotlight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Yawn! I guess the only kicks some people get involve idiotic slurs at even the good news from Limerick.

We'll just watch the Dublin version again this year and delude ourselves into thinking that The Billie Barrie Kids are representative of all the layabout ASBO candidate offspring of the dole-sponger, drug-addicted gang members from Crumlin and Tallaght and Ballymun and the inner-city estates of Dublin.

Oops! Cheap and unfair generalisation, there......no need to apologise, though, it's in good company in this thread.
    I know I say this a lot but WTF????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭CCSL

The safest spots in the nation, based on headline crimes per 1,000 of populace, are

Roscommon/Galway East - 8.27
    Donegal - 8.4
    Clare - 8.4
    Mayo - 8.77
    Cork West - 8.93
    Cavan-Monaghan - 8.95

The most dangerous spots, as would be expected, are in Dublin's inner city.

Dublin - North Central - 124.00
    Dublin - South Central - 97.49

After this, the trouble spots in Dublin fall off hugely.

Dublin - Eastern - 23.84
    Dublin - Southern - 23.80
    Dublin - Western - 23.22
    Dublin - Northern - 19.64
    Cork City comes next at 20.93, then Waterford/Kilkenny at 20.05. Surprisingly, considering Limerick's poor reputation as "Stab City" for a few, high profile gang feuds, Limerick scores well at 16.75

So considering you are over 7 times more likely to be a victim of crime on the fantastic golden paved streets of our "safe" capital with its tourist areas full of drug users and its reputation going down the toilet I think I will stay where I am thanks!

Sheeps wrote: »

The posters of AH have dragged a story about a toy show down to the level of making up claims about incest.

Sums up AH really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Limerick3

Get a life.

lol thats rich coming from a fella calling himself sheeps i'd be more worried about your preferences;)
    Looks like the pressure is mounting for the dubs with the cheap insults:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Wow. I've nothing against Limerick but there are a lot of thin-skinned people on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

That's what I meant.

In my opinion, Limerick is a dump. I agree. I've lived there for 7years, so I can comment on it. I wasn't standing up for the city, I was just saying maybe if the outsiders have a reasonable level of intelligence they might come up with a new insult? That one's a bit old now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Typical Irish attitude, someone tries to raise much needed money for charities, including our Childrens Hospital and a bunch of shut-in's try to knock it.

We should be a lot more upset that things like cancer wards and childrens hospital need charity in the first place.

The OP would be better off asking why our Government taxes us highly and then fails to provide facilities for all Ireland's citizens. Incidentally, afaik, this weekend contracts were signed to build private hospitals on State owned land in Limerick and Cork, thereby ensuring a two tier health system in Ireland. Where's the outrage over that?

That's what I meant.

In my opinion, Limerick is a dump. I agree. I've lived there for 7years, so I can comment on it. I wasn't standing up for the city, I was just saying maybe if the outsiders have a reasonable level of intelligence they might come up with a new insult? That one's a bit old now.

If you have lived in limerick for 7 years you must have gained something or earned a lot of money something you couldn't do in the town you came from,so why call limerick a dump?
    Typical Irish attitude, someone tries to raise much needed money for charities, including our Childrens Hospital and a bunch of shut-in's try to knock it.

We should be a lot more upset that things like cancer wards and childrens hospital need charity in the first place.

The OP would be better off asking why our Government taxes us highly and then fails to provide facilities for all Ireland's citizens. Incidentally, afaik, this weekend contracts were signed to build private hospitals on State owned land in Limerick and Cork, thereby ensuring a two tier health system in Ireland. Where's the outrage over that?

Probably but ah is full of threads like that,i wanted this thread to be a bit of banter one old worn out toy show v a new more vibrant toy show that will benefit many charitys including childrens hospital crumlin dublin.