Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What level of cooking are you at ?

• 14-10-2010 12:32AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I have just learnt to use the oven, and am at the pizza stage. I'm going to try get to the chicken stage in the next few weeks..

And you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ona a level of 1 to 10, I'd say about a 7/8 of skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

As good as this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Personally i was never thought , just kind of always cook by feel . to answer your question i suppose I am at the " i can cook dinner for the family" stage if that makes sense nothing extra ordinary or anything but suppose i would find it hard cooking a Christmas dinner because of having to get so many things ready at one time
    Btw what age are you op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Doneg Al

I make a mean slice of toast.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Pretty good if i say so myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Doneg Al wrote: »
    I make a mean slice of toast.....

La di da gordon ramsey.

I give the money to the man in the takeaway and choose from the pictures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    Personally i was never thought , just kind of always cook by feel . to answer your question i suppose I am at the " i can cook dinner for the family" stage if that makes sense nothing extra ordinary or anything but suppose i would find it hard cooking a Christmas dinner because of having to get so many things ready at one time
    Btw what age are you op?

20 Years old .. Well, I lay the blame on modern day socialism. Everything is face paced we need now , this moment sort of thing. So I never took a liking to cooking.

I always though, Pre Heating the oven was some sort of big event which could take a day or two. In the end I was told it only takes 5-7 mins.

So shocked I was I decided to give cooking a pizza ago there last week. Turned out nice and no short/long term side effects and mainly no food poisoning. So I have been cooking the pizzas no problem.

This got me thinking tonight, Am I alone ? Are we going to run into a problem with people my age, relying on fast food, restaurants for dinner in a few years. Will I be able to cook the family roast?

Then I started this thread to see how advanced the members of boards in particular After Hours are at cooking.

Is chicken the next level? Am I cheating? Should I cook some cat before the chicken? Or maybe some oven chips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've got a phone with all the local take aways saved in my phone book. Who needs to know how to cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,719 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Im the microwave master.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I can cook an amazing carbonara, that's all I need ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i know dominos lucan's number by heart, mcdonalds in maynooth is 24hr.....i'll never go hungry.

if being serious though im fairly good, can do the basics and even go mental with a bit of sauce now and again. you learn fairly fast when you have no one else to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

msg11 wrote: »
    20 Years old .. Well, I lay the blame on modern day socialism. Everything is face paced we need now , this moment sort of thing. So I never took a liking to cooking.

I always though, Pre Heating the oven was some sort of big event which could take a day or two. In the end I was told it only takes 5-7 mins.

So shocked I was I decided to give cooking a pizza ago there last week. Turned out nice and no short/long term side effects and mainly no food poisoning. So I have been cooking the pizzas no problem.

This got me thinking tonight, Am I alone ? Are we going to run into a problem with people my age, relying on fast food, restaurants for dinner in a few years. Will I be able to cook the family roast?

Then I started this thread to see how advanced the members of boards in particular After Hours are at cooking.

Is chicken the next level? Am I cheating? Should I cook some cat before the chicken? Or maybe some oven chips?

I blame it on on modern socialism also we have strayed so far from marx and engels it unreal.
    Seriously though its nothing to be worried about it will just come to you and its far cheaper and usually healthier than eating take aways all the time.
    Did you really think it took days to heat the oven or are you just taking the piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'm a qualified 1st year commis chef. Very rarely actually cook these days though,can't be arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭KilOit

450/450

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭primavera85

on a 0-10 scale i would say im an 8. im a good cook, rarely need a cook book except special occasions. start from scratch with most meals (meat, vegetables herbs and spices etc. none of that processed crap) except when ive had a paticularly long day. oh.. and im 25. i buy takeout once in a while but its not a regular occurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I like my chicken wings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Im ok cooking most things but I always **** up potatoes. Id give myself a five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

cooking is for losers, what would the cave men say?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,829 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Galley slave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

cooking is for losers, what would the cave men say?
    Im ****ing dieing yis raw meat eating fux:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Yes, exactly when I need food I need it NOW not in 40 minutes or an hour!!!! I don't want to deal with boring, repetative chopping, simmering, mixing, fussing and all that shyte. It's BORING !!!!

We have to eat 3 times a day, so I can't be doing with that much time investment for such little return for the rest of me natural !!!

You're not alone! I'm well able to cook. I just wont because it's boring. I like eating though. So it's ready meals, other peoples cooking, Centra, Spar or fast food for me!!! I have NEVER cooked myself a meal such as a roast or anything requiring two hands to make because I am much too lazy and I'm double your age!!!

People who like cooking are the enemy. They not only want to cook but they often also want to TALK about cooking too. The bleedin freaks!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I'm a qualified 1st year commis chef.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Putting a frozen pizza in a pre heated oven for 15 minutes isn't cooking. It's operating the oven, at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

dvpower wrote: »
    Putting a frozen pizza in a pre heated oven for 15 minutes isn't cooking. It's operating the oven, at best.

I was just about to ask if people who say are cooking a pizza are just putting a frozen one in the oven!!

I can kind of cook. Probably about a 5/10. Kind of depends what I'm cooking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

boil-in-the-bag black belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Accomplished enough, I would say.
    I've been cooking for almost as long as I can remember, always helping mom or gran in the kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Er... what? Did you actually make the pizza, or did you just remove packaging and shove it in the oven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 The Longfellow

I can't beat the Big Boss at the end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I'm a qualified 1st year commis chef. Very rarely actually cook these days though,can't be arsed.

I'd imagine that most chefs keep well away from the kitchen when they get home?

I enjoy cooking. I'm ok at it and it gives me great satisfaction when I make something really nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Havn't killed anyone yet.. So world class??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Much quicker and cheaper to cook your own.

Why waste 45mins or so waiting on a skanky MSG pumped take away when you can cook something fresh from scratch in half that time.

Also if you cook something like a curry or spag bol then it's possible to make a load of it and freeze individual portions meaning all you have to do is reheat it..

Some people just don't like cooking thou, nothing wrong with that..

Surprised at the amount of fast food, ready made meals, convenience foods etc. that people claim to eat. No wonder 1 in 3 people in this country are overweight...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Feck Ye, Now I wants a Rasher Sammich,

OP Cookin chicken( I presume you meant a whole roast) is a fair few steps up from HEating a Pizza, I'd sugest you learn a few basics of Actual Cooking first, Ya cant Beat a Fry for simplicity, Warm up Pan, Blob a Drippin, and then fire in the sausages, then the Rashers then the Puddin then The Egg, then the tomatos, clean the pan by fryin some bread is it, feckin lovely, Hmmmmmm, mighthav one now, or mayb juststick with the Rasher sammich.

Being able to cook is no big deal,

BUT

Not being able to Cook IS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can't cook to save my live and I was never that pushed on learning. I like eating but I find people bizarre that rhapsodize about what they're going to cook when they get home or love going to expensive restaurants.

I limit myself to basic things: meat and veg; pasta and the like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Well I must say, that was a Great idea out a me, Rasher Sammich is V Tasty :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm embarrassingly bad. Actually the worst part of it is I'm not that bothered how crap I am as I'm happy just eating noodles and chicken.

I tried to make a fry up one day there a few months ago and it was a disaster. In fairness, I had no clue what I was doing.

How can you tell if black pudding is burnt or not, already black??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm quite accomplished, last night I made haricots in a rich tomato jus with a sprinkling of fromage which straddled two baked slices of petit pain*

*beans on fooking toast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I can cook decently. I'm no Aisnsley Harriot, but I have yet to record a fatality due to my culinary expertise.

OP, check out this forum for tips on everything to do with cooking

I've been able to cook proper dinners since I was about 14-15, came with both parents working until six and being the oldest

I don't cook often now, gf does most of the cooking but I still get a kick out of trying out new dishes and perfecting them.

My latest is roast topside of beef. First time around, took me 4 hours including all the prep, cooking, dishing it up. After my 3rd go at it, I have it down to about 50 mins of actual work and to be honest I can't understand why i never did this particular meal sooner, nothing tastes quite like homemade gravy *drools*

In the cooking club forum, I've been reading some of the reciepes for a while and I'm dying to give Thaedyal's Jambalaya and Sparks Chili a go. Basically meals I can spend a few hours at on a Sunday, eat some, and freeze the rest for the rest of the week (both myself & gf work long hours)

To sum up, don't be afraid to try anything in the kitchen, just please please please save yourself grief and frustration by making sure you have all the ingredients and necessary equipment before you start. It will save you from swearing at that oven, chopping your fingers off and/or making crap tasting food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I moved into a house in college with a girl in 2nd year because I used to watch her cook in my first year and thought "I'll get me some proper feeding if I live with her". cept she was AWFUL! So went and learnt everything myself at about 19 and by 21 I was putting on a roast every week for my flatmates in college. Ate like kings we did! Lemon stuffed chicken with creamy mash, drowned in gravey with roasted veg and yorkshire puddings everywhere.

Lost it all when I moved in with my gf, she's a better cook than I am so have let standards slip. And i'm so out of practice that any time i try to cook for her she hates it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

7/8 I'd say. Was cooking the family dinner at times when I was still in primary school... and I don't mean sticking a frozen pizza in the oven.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

My ultimate new dinner was chilli. I don't make things by scratch, I hate making stuff from scratch as I feel it takes too long!

I'd be about a 4/5 out of ten! I'm too lazy to learn, and I don't have enough time at the moment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jassmine12

i do not cook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I'm the KING of the grill. Forget yer boiling and baking and frying and sautee-ing and flambaying. The grill is Mecca (Mega). Toast, sausages, rashers, plate of chopped veggies, sardines, a burger...damn! I'd grill an egg if I could get it to stop flopping down through the rack, I grill my clothes, my head....everything!!

I can make a lovely chicken curry (sauce from scratch) and chicken stir fries :D
    Other basics like pasta&tuna, salads, learned a baked chicken concoction from OH which is *drool*.
    Must learn to cook fish properly though.

I always liked baking. I know a lot of it is following a recipe but you can still be a bit creative too, much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

pretty good a solid 7.5 me thinks..thank you kindly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

When I was in school my mom, brother and I all took turns cooking dinner. She would let us pick anything we wanted to cook as long as it had some vegetables in the menu.

It was good practice for being out on our own once we left home and I would say I am a fairly good cook :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How can a grown adult have only just learned how to use an oven?

You switch it on, it gets hot.

What more is there to learn?

Seriously, people are weird.