Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Train attacked while travelling through Broombridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,095 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Closing the station won't solve the problem

Yeah, I'm always bemused at those who think that will somehow stop people throwing bricks at trains. The bricks tend to be thrown from the field behind the westbound platform. If that land is not developed so people can't hang around there, the railway line needs a covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭thomasj

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm always bemused at those who think that will somehow stop people throwing bricks at trains. The bricks tend to be thrown from the field behind the westbound platform. If that land is not developed so people can't hang around there, the railway line needs a covering.

My point is, only by threatening to close the station, affecting those who use the station, will the authorities in the area sit up and take notice, and the issue will be in the spotlight! Otherwise they won't care!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

no
    theres also feckers throwing bricks at busses heading to Cavan/ Navan
    and theres no bus stop for the scumbags to get them to Cavan
    So withdrawing the non existant bus stop wont help stop those pr1cks

What is needed is a hardcore heavy heavy policing strategy that will stop f#ckwits throwing blocks at busses and trains.

Wel... and cages on overpasses to stop braindead gimps chucking 15kg missiles onto trains and busses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 DaveTheWave

Nah happens all the time really, just no one hears about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭kildarecommuter

Many many moons ago I remeber being on an RPSI train going through Liffey Jct(no brombridge then) and the stone throwers got a big shock when someone on the loco threw a lump of coal back and hit one of them on the head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

This hasn't changed in the 20yrs or so I've been using the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Closing the station won't solve the problem anyway as the whole area from Glasnevin Cemetery through to beyond Broombridge Station has been a no-go area for decades. Stone throwing has been popular at Liffey Junction since Old God's time - it's part of local culture and some of the stone throwers must be third generation at this stage. The signal cabin at Liffey Junction was burnt the night after it closed. I used to know one of the signalmen there and I remember joking with him to keep the last bullet for himself if they got into the cabin - it was that bad.

what do you mean a no go area!!! its not Beiruit, its grand and lets put things in perspective, the brick throwers are kids/teenagers and obviously not on the dole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

empirix wrote: »
    what do you mean a no go area!!! its not Beiruit, its grand and lets put things in perspective, the brick throwers are kids/teenagers and obviously not on the dole!
    many of them are hash head drug dealing authority abusing wasters that hang around with groups of kids because of the strange way kids see tham as some kind of cool role model, the tree-hugging hippies that lived in tunnels to try to stop roads being built are the same breed of waster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Where in my post did I mention the dole? It is a no-go area for anybody in their right mind. Liffey Junction/Broombridge is a railway blackspot along with Longpavement (Limerick/Ennis line), Cork (old yard at Kilbarry), Carrick-on-Suir, Ballyfermot, Athlone (west of the Shannon), Shankill (nr.Shanganagh Jn), Kilbarrack (not so bad these days), Lurgan, Belfast Central/Botanic - have I missed any? Like so much else relating to the railway things have been on the slide for years and, as I said, they are waiting for someone to be killed before something is done about it.

stat-broombridge-01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭dowlingm

Is there an IE protocol regarding numbers of stopping trains before the station rates an IE employee on premises at all operational hours? I presume the M3 parkway trains don't bring the numbers near those levels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Sometimes I even wonder why Broombridge station is still used anymore. It's nothing but two platforms running along the tracks, and nothing else, not even ticket vending machines from what I can see. And it's horribly under-used, probably about 3 people get on/off it anytime it stops there? Just close the whole darn thing...

But why is it unmanned? Why is there no security and security cameras? It's common sense, the more people that use it the safer it would actually be.

It basically is a no go area, nobody would feel comfortable there, would you be comfortable for your wife and kids to use it? I would never let them use it and even for myself I would feel distinctly uneasy.
    The only way to deal with this thuggery is indeed to use tough policing just like on the continent, take out the batons and let them hurt, otherwise you just get walked over as a society..strange people in Ireland can't figure this out. All the PC talk actually harms quality of life to a huge degree, you can't have it both ways, being nice to thugs and letting them off and funding their social welfare dependency helps nobody.

Karsini wrote: »
    In fairness, any time new facilities are installed in Broombridge they just get destroyed and/or thrown into the Royal Canal...

You mean a park bench of something....need cameras and a police/security presence plus an actual railway station!

Closing the station won't solve the problem anyway as the whole area from Glasnevin Cemetery through to beyond Broombridge Station has been a no-go area for decades. Stone throwing has been popular at Liffey Junction since Old God's time - it's part of local culture and some of the stone throwers must be third generation at this stage. The signal cabin at Liffey Junction was burnt the night after it closed. I used to know one of the signalmen there and I remember joking with him to keep the last bullet for himself if they got into the cabin - it was that bad.

This is so true, the North Dublin Royal Canal area was once a prestigious area of Dublin (back in the 18th an 19th century). It is still a lovely green area but little known as it is not a safe area in general and a lot of scumbags hang out around it. It amazed me that it was almost totally passed by during the Celtic tiger..very strange as it is a central area and should be an amenity for people in Phibsboro/Glasnevin/Cabra/Finglas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,403 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hahahaha, some absolute bull-pat being spoken in this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

maninasia wrote: »
    This is so true, the North Dublin Royal Canal area was once a prestigious area of Dublin (back in the 18th an 19th century). It is still a lovely green area but little known as it is not a safe area in general and a lot of scumbags hang out around it. It amazed me that it was almost totally passed by during the Celtic tiger..very strange as it is a central area and should be an amenity for people in Phibsboro/Glasnevin/Cabra/Finglas.

A huge hunk of the factory along the line at the station were bought by a property developer looking to put in a complex like the one at Ashtown.
    The area was let go to rack and ruin in hope that the locals would be happy to have anything built there, the plans had a 6 story apartment complex which would have over shadowed the houses along bannow road and cut out any sunlight.

Objections to the plans were lodged and up held and the re development now won't happen. Most of the units on the stretch are empty and that plays a part in the neglect of the area.

http://www.property.ie/commercial-property/Broombridge-Station-288-Bannow-Road-Cabra-Dublin-7/20725/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The land owners should be responsible for security and if they can't handle it the council should apply to compulsory purchase the land to clean it up!
    Thaedydal wrote: »
    A huge hunk of the factory along the line at the station were bought by a property developer looking to put in a complex like the one at Ashtown.
    The area was let go to rack and ruin in hope that the locals would be happy to have anything built there, the plans had a 6 story apartment complex which would have over shadowed the houses along bannow road and cut out any sunlight.

Objections to the plans were lodged and up held and the re development now won't happen. Most of the units on the stretch are empty and that plays a part in the neglect of the area.

http://www.property.ie/commercial-property/Broombridge-Station-288-Bannow-Road-Cabra-Dublin-7/20725/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

The area was let go to rack and ruin ...

It was bad in the 80's long before any developer went near it. I think it was worse back them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭optogirl

Karsini wrote: »
    If it were up to me this station would have been closed long ago, Cherry Orchard was given the chop for similar reasons (was it even as bad?).

luckily it's not up to you and the hundreds of commuters who use the station and don't throw bricks can continue to do so

Where in my post did I mention the dole? It is a no-go area for anybody in their right mind. Liffey Junction/Broombridge is a railway blackspot along with Longpavement (Limerick/Ennis line), Cork (old yard at Kilbarry), Carrick-on-Suir, Ballyfermot, Athlone (west of the Shannon), Shankill (nr.Shanganagh Jn), Kilbarrack (not so bad these days), Lurgan, Belfast Central/Botanic - have I missed any? Like so much else relating to the railway things have been on the slide for years and, as I said, they are waiting for someone to be killed before something is done about it.

stat-broombridge-01.jpg

No go area! Wonder how I and my neighbours manage to survive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭robbie67

+ 1

optogirl wrote: »
    No go area! Wonder how I and my neighbours manage to survive!

Why don't you tell us? Cryptic posts are the curse of the Boards. :rolleyes:

Cryptic? I would assume it was perfectly obvious that I was saying Broombridge/Cabra is not a no go area and the majority of its residents are law abiding community based people who don't throw missiles at vehicles. Of course there are problems with Broombridge but saying it's a no go area it a bit OTT.

Can you please tell me how, apart from this incident, Cabra is a "no go area"?

I have lived there all my life and have never felt anything but safe on the street. Why wouldn't i?

Have you ever actually BEEN to Cabra?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Can you please tell me how, apart from this incident, Cabra is a "no go area"?

I have lived there all my life and have never felt anything but safe on the street. Why wouldn't i?

Have you ever actually BEEN to Cabra?

This 'incident' - you mean stone throwing in this area is isolated? Maybe this thread wouldn't have been started if all the law abiding citizens of the area did more to report those bringing down the reputation of the neighbourhood? I am well aware that Liffey Junction/Broombridge is not unique in terms of urban deprivation and bad behaviour - I live in a small town which has more than its fair share of troublemakers. I report every incident that I see and that's as much as I can do. I have been through Cabra but not for years and anyway that is irrelevant as we are only talking about the Dublin/Sligo railway line and its immediate surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,542 ✭✭✭✭cson

to be fair, i think its farily typical of the area,
    some tourists and I got the number 19 bus back into town from botanical gardens near broombridge recently,
    there was so much hash/cigarette filled smoke on the upper deck of the bus,
    trying to see the steps of the stairs on the bus was no easy task. They need an extractor fan of some kind upstairs on that bus.

and to think that people are talking about spending BILLIONS building a metro through the area - truly frightening.:rolleyes: You'd be a very brave (or stupid) person to be taking that metro - unless we get a decent transport police service, but can't see that happening anytime soon.

really do feel sympathy for any decent person having to contend with that on a daily basis :(

Shenanigans on this post. I got the 19/83/13 everyday for 8 months and never came across the scenario you're describing. "It was no easy task seeing the steps" gimme a break ffs. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I always thought this was the norm for the area.
    I remember the first time I got off Broombridge station to a burnt out car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

The thing is the area which the offender hang out is not viewable by anyone passing on the street so law abiding people in the area don't see it happen.

This 'incident' - you mean stone throwing in this area is isolated? Maybe this thread wouldn't have been started if all the law abiding citizens of the area did more to report those bringing down the reputation of the neighbourhood? I am well aware that Liffey Junction/Broombridge is not unique in terms of urban deprivation and bad behaviour - I live in a small town which has more than its fair share of troublemakers. I report every incident that I see and that's as much as I can do. I have been through Cabra but not for years and anyway that is irrelevant as we are only talking about the Dublin/Sligo railway line and its immediate surroundings.

So you have no idea what you are talking about Sir!

Cabra is certainly not a "No Go Area" and it's ridiculously arrogant of you to say so when you are in no position to give such an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The thing is the area which the offender hang out is not viewable by anyone passing on the street so law abiding people in the area don't see it happen.

Well out of sight our of mind for everyone except the commuters.