Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just broken up, what to do?

• 05-10-2010 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Ok so after 7 years me and the misses called it a day!

So I get the feeling I should do something to comemorate this special occasion!

So who better to advise but the wonderful people of AH

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

All those things you couldn't do for the last 7 years?

Do them all. Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

go have some fun, drown your sorrows and hook up with all the old friends you missed when you two became an item. Then go on a holiday, relax and come home to your new life. Remember keep smiling happily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Have a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Coke and hookers? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

too late ollie got there 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

I'm sorry to hear about that.

Get really drunk and find a woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Shag her dad...thatll learn her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

You'll be rich! Rich I tells ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Cookers and hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

look at your left hand for the first time in 7 years and say 'how you doin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Sorry to hear.

A holiday's a great idea. It's the first thing I'd do! Either with mates or on yer todd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Go to Coppers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Listen to Black Eyed Peas and eat sausages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Get drunk, get laid and then walk home crying, shouting at random strangers: "SEVEN YEARS, SEVEN FCUKING YEARS!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sit on your couch and stare into space for a while. Download Google Sky if you have a Smartphone. It's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Do what everyone else does.

Get battered drunk, and ring her at 2am crying down the phone while vomiting on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

designate a corner of your bedroom for used socks and jocks. and keep saying "i'll do them tomorrow"
    you may want to stock up though, maybe get a months supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stop fooling yourself and admit that you lost your prefect partner. Cry for a while and you'll be grand in 6 - 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Get battered drunk, and ring her at 2am crying down the phone while vomiting on yourself.

Dont forget to send her a mix tape too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Dont forget to send her a mix tape too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

She must've had the itch. Tell her to go straight to her doctor.

Edit: 5000th post, woo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Cry.

Cry because she is probably out there now getting spit roasted, and you're on the internet.

Fcuk sake man, get out there and give some young one the pounding of a lifetime before its too late.....and she wants you back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Do anything but this .. oh the indignity.

If you want to be an a**hole and you're both on a social networking site change your status to single immediately, then in a day or two to seeing someone, even if it's not true. That smacks like nothing else ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

Thailand is nice this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

AH reply - fvck someone, its fun.

Serious reply - Don't immediately fvck someone, it'll wreak your head & is rarely a good idea right after a breakup. Plus its neither fair on you or whoever your with.

Delete her number, delete her from FB (etc). Book a holiday, hook up with some old, good friends.

If your feeling like sh*t, run/exercise until you get sick - don't drink until you get sick.

Start afresh tomorrow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

7 years? ah sure you were well tired of bangin her. Bit of strange tail will do you the world of good. /AH advice.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The 7 year itch has struck again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Buy a gym membership turn into a beast - look to meet up with her in a years time and tell her she's put on weight - women love that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

All of the above.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

snyper wrote: »
    The 7 year itch has struck again
    That's what you get for buying anti biotics over the web.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Laughing my ass off here. Great stiuff. Hols sound nice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Her sister?
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Get drunk, get laid and then walk home crying grinning, shouting at random strangers hotties: "SEVEN YEARS INCHES, SEVEN. FCUKING. YEARS!! INCHES"
    Wibbs wrote: »
    7 years? ah sure you were well tired of bangin her. Bit of strange tail will do you the world of good. /AH advice.

Please, don't ever say something like that again, it was scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Thank your lucky stars you didn't actually marry her because you'd now be posting this from your new cardboard condo while she uses your prized DVD collection as coasters.

Go out, get laid and prepare to feel like **** for the next few months. Then you'll wake up one morning and realise that it doesn't hurt anymore.

Then, find someone new, fall in love and repeat everything all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 kilkenny_kid

Go spray the bumholes with Jizz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Seosaimh77

Get laid asap. Doesn't have to be a looker (or a hooker)...just someone out for a bit of fun so that you dont have 'will I ever get laid again?' hanging over your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OP If this thread is false bravado then I feel for you. Breaking up after having someone in your life for so long can be a very painful experience.

Do yourself a favour and find your own space,try and avoid any thing that may bring ye into contact.

Fill your days and evenings with things to do and people who you care about and care about you. Whether you think it or not 7 years with someone will have changed alot of aspects of your life.

Do not decide to replace that free time with the pub, I know from experience how detremental that can be.

No matter how amicable a break-up is that first time you see her with someone new will hurt.

Time though is a great healer.

If however you are happy with the situation you find yourself in .
    Rock on :D.

Go and enjoy yourself just be considerate of your ex-partners feelings, she may be hurting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

I think the priesthood is recruiting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

padma wrote: »
    go have some fun, drown your sorrows and hook up with all the old friends you shunned when you two became an item.

FYP. they won't wanna know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Just being nosey what line did she used to break up was it the "It's not you it's Me" line - or "There's no-one else but..."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

What music did she hate that you loved? OK, go for it. Do the same for most other things.

Then you'll get to the superior stage of defining yourself by doing things which you want to do rather than to spite her. That's a bit too evolved for me, though, but I heard somewhere that it's the nearest thing to liberation most people come to.;)

Bain taitneamh as!/ Enjoy!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

it's pretty obvious.

Have sex with her sister

• get a tattoo of her face covering your whole stomach and the date you met and today and the words RIP yeah that will win her back ...........plus great talking point for any new woman you meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Have sex with her mother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

From my experience, if your bird is in any way good looking, she'll be getting laid before you, probably right now. So you have to just accept that and keep your chin up.
    Exercise, get in shape, keep busy, all that stuff. Go out with mates. If you know her number off by heart you have to leave your phone or give it to someone when you get pissed. Else disaster. Be strong brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Did she go to Spec Savers.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Who_owns_this?

Kasabian wrote: »
    OP If this thread is false bravado then I feel for you.

Shhhhhhh. Don't mention the war!!!

OP - I think the holiday idea is a fantastic one that can't be beaten. New scene, lots of new things to do - it will take you away from your current situation and you'll come back with a renewed attitute (and maybe some interestingly shaped love bites!).

In a way, it's a new beginning and there's a lot of exciting things out there ahead of you, so you may as well celebrate it with a bang - and send us a postcard!!!

Look at it this way. Two weeks ago I bet you didn't think that by the middle of October you could be sunning yourself in sexy new shores / skiing down some sexy new slopes / trekking though a sexy new jungle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Put the toilet seat up:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Well Goose, as someone who just came out of a 13 year relationship recently, I'd have to say this about the advice you are receiving...
    padma wrote: »
    go have some fun, drown your sorrows and hook up with all the old friends you missed when you two became an item. Then go on a holiday, relax and come home to your new life. Remember keep smiling happily.

Good solid advice and have done it all except the holiday.
    Have a ****

Hah! You betcha.....
    ollie1 wrote: »
    Coke and hookers? :D

That is so decadent (but if you can afford it then yeah of course).
    Booze, smoking and drunken young wans on a budget will do more than sufficiently.
    I'm sorry to hear about that.

Get really drunk and find a woman?

Theme developing...
    WindSock wrote: »
    Sit on your couch and stare into space for a while. Download Google Sky if you have a Smartphone. It's great.

I've done a lot of staring, when I know I should be deeply thinking about the change that has occurred, but amn't, just staring...
    Wouldn't bother with the phone stuff tbh
    designate a corner of your bedroom for used socks and jocks. and keep saying "i'll do them tomorrow"
    you may want to stock up though, maybe get a months supply.

I sh1t you not I have done exactly this in my new doss-house. Although I have managed, so far, to keep well on top of it.

Stop fooling yourself and admit that you lost your prefect partner. Cry for a while and you'll be grand in 6 - 12 months.

:eek: It's like you know exactly what my situation is! Haven't managed to have a good cry yet though, all in good time.

snyper wrote: »
    Cry.

Cry because she is probably out there now getting spit roasted, and you're on the internet.

Fcuk sake man, get out there and give some young one the pounding of a lifetime before its too late.....and she wants you back

No. Fcuk that I'm not crying, not if this is the reason.
    Good advice again though, pounding, hmmmmmmm:pac:

Bonito wrote: »
    Her sister?

Woah now! Not straight away anyway :cool:

Kasabian wrote: »
    Do not decide to replace that free time with the pub, I know from experience how detremental that can be.

If however you are happy with the situation you find yourself in .
    Rock on :D.

Go and enjoy yourself just be considerate of your ex-partners feelings, she may be hurting.

Now that is actually great advice, though I do think that it should read 'all of your free time' as I reckon it's ok to spend more time than you may have used to down the boozer.
    But with regard to their feelings, if you can at all, remember the good times and try not to be vindictive. That just gets messy and upsetting.
    it's pretty obvious.

Have sex with her sister

It may be obvious, but some would say never to do the obvious especially if the obvious happens to be her sister, and besides, like I said, not yet anyway :pac: And in my experience, having relations with anyone in their social circle can adequately stoke up any smouldering anger. So if you're into it. I'm not.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    From my experience, if your bird is in any way good looking, she'll be getting laid before you, probably right now. So you have to just accept that and keep your chin up.

Sorry about your experience dude, sounds unpleasant. You nor Goose have to accept anything. Especially that she's getting laid first ;)

So in summation, I would advise some inebriation, fornication, staring, bit of crying(optional), consideration and forward planning, get involved in new stuff, spend more time on Boards and listening to lots of really loud industrial/techno music.

All of that has gotten me to where I am today.

Ok, actually maybe you shouldn't do it just like that......:confused::eek:

Sh1t! I think Micky Dolenz advice is getting to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Put the toilet seat up:p

One of the 'things' which lead to the demise of my own perfect partnership.

So now it stays up, even thinking about removing them altogether......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Just broken up, what to do?

so begins the long process of finding yourself and putting the pieces back together. bit of soul searching, ears, nose, torso.. cock.