Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gov spent 300k on Riot Gear for Army - expecting Riots??

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Can we not encourage violence please. As a state hopefully we have come beyond that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

will you's stop posting up things that are mad out off the ordinary THERE WON'T RIOTS THERE WON'T ARMY ON THE STREETS if people are like that planning on blockades and running through streets i think some people need a wake up call half the stuff thats been said would make a great film.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

They need it for this kind of stuff.

They always train for riots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

Can we not encourage violence please. As a state hopefully we have come beyond that.

I have done no such thing, simply pointed out that the gov have spent 300 grand on new rioting equipment

the ppl can take it from there

I have done no such thing, simply pointed out that the gov have spent 300 grand on new rioting equipment

The people can take it from there?!

So fcuking what that they have bought no equipment,to replace the old stuff!!!

Its not a bloody new thing that the Army train to deal with Riots!

Such a stupid thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I have done no such thing,

It ain't all about you mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,288 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

300k won't buy you all that much in the way of riot gear, it's not cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

There were a couple of riot truck brought in from Holland on the ferry a few weeks back too apparently on loan, got a garda escort off the ferry........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Sykk wrote: »
    Eeeeeeverybody's heard about the bird.. B b b bird bird bird, bird is the word.

And so on

Fail

its....everybody knows that the bird is the word ha :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Thats pretty smart thinking on the governments behalf.

Give the army 300k worth of riot gear and make all the budget cuts you want.
    They will eventually have to make cuts to the army. Then we will rise. Like a cock in the morning. ...

waking everyone up with a cock-a-doodle-do

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Sanjuro wrote: »
    *awaits inevitable and unimaginative news report backed by Kaiser Chiefs' "I Predict A Riot."
    But that was the ministers actual justification for buying the riot equipment. His report on the possibility of a riot in Dublin was just the lyrics to that song. Everyone on the board was so amused they voted for his proposal without any further discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Brendog wrote: »
    Give the army 300k worth of riot gear and make all the budget cuts you want.
    They will eventually have to make cuts to the army.

There has been huge cuts in the Defence Forces.

In fact it leads the way in public sector reform.

But the fact remains that we need stuff like riot gear, bombs & bullets, new ships, hopefully new rifles soon, wouldn't mind a change of uniform for oversea's deployment etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

im fairly sure they bought gear during the boom as well tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Stinicker wrote: »
    If the Army or Gardai are prepared to kill the public to maintain a Government without a Democratic mandate then I will fight and I know I will not be alone. We are facing a massive crisis last seen in 1920.

We the citizens have a duty to overthrow the Government and if they will not go peacefully then force must be used, if it means starting a Civil war between the people and Irish Army and Gardai then so be it. It would not be the first time in Irish History that Fianna Fail and their descendants brought Irish men to kill each other.

Fianna Fail forefathers the anti-treatyites caused the Irish Civil War and were sharply dealt with by the Freestate (Fine Gael). The Ballyseedy massacre outside Tralee saw Eight IRA men tied to a pole and blown to smithereens by the Freestate, this sent a warning to the IRA and the exact same thing needs to be done to Fianna Fail again in modern times.

Kill them all.

Yeah I'm not about to go around and start killing my own countrymen just because the Government are sh!t. Besides, a Civil War would just be worse for country anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭slum dog

the irish army would have some cheek to use riot gear against there own people after what has happended to this country. im hoping there will be a coup detat b4 that happens or we are in for some serious civil war!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

slum dog wrote: »
    the irish army would have some cheek to use riot gear against there own people after what has happended to this country. im hoping there will be a coup detat b4 that happens or we are in for some serious civil war!

Yeah how dare the army use riot gear in a riot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

If your preparing a coup d'etat dog you'll need the Army on side, especially the officer corps. So don't call them cheeky. Phone the Dept of Defence tommorow and sound them out on your new regime

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭slum dog

Mark200 wrote: »
    Yeah how dare the army use riot gear in a riot

im dead serious. the army should stand beside the irish people not the corupt scum in power. it'll be like bangkok all over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

im dead serious. the army should stand beside the irish people not the corupt scum in power. it'll be like bangkok all over again.

Well if it ever comes to it (which it won't), I'll be on the side of preserving democracy. Not your side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

As the title suggest the Army are getting 300 k worth of new equipment for tackling riots that are expected to hit Ireland in the coming months / years

type this into google : irish army training for riots

Links : http://www.independent.ie/national-news/8364300000-spent-on-irish-army-riot-kit-1943964.html

http://www.politics.ie/defence/118535-irish-army-tooled-up-civil-unrest.html

Of course they are denying it saying it's for abroad and also to replace their old rioting equipment. I think it's hilarious the gov are cutting back everywhere but are buying new riot gear for the army

what does everyone think about this?

I mean if Fiana Fail expect it, let's do it

As stated, it is to replace existing stocks. Plus, your article is old.
    If the Army or Gardai are prepared to kill the public to maintain a Government without a Democratic mandate then I will fight and I know I will not be alone. We are facing a massive crisis last seen in 1920.

We the citizens have a duty to overthrow the Government and if they will not go peacefully then force must be used, if it means starting a Civil war between the people and Irish Army and Gardai then so be it.

Yeah, cause that'll end really well.
    testicle wrote: »
    Firstly, the article is from November 2009. Secondly this equipment is to replace already existing equipment. The Defence Forces has been training in anti-riot for many years.

You will recall that they were on stand-by for the May Day riots in 2006, and also they were right behind the Gardai line in the riots in Dublin in 1972, just to give 2 examples.

Don't forget the riots in Kosovo, lads got citations for bravery from the UN for their actions in the Public Order platoons.

To replace existing stocks. I've seen shields smashed and broken, helmets smashed and broken, pads broken etc. during riot training. It's not indestructible and considering just how vicious Public Order training is, quite a lot of it gets broken.

There isn't some plan by the Government to crack down on civilians using the DF. It's to replace existing stocks, nothing more nothing less.

****ing hell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Mark200 wrote: »
    Well if it ever comes to it (which it won't), I'll be on the side of preserving democracy. Not your side.

Well if Democracy is lets see:

Saddling a tiny nation of 4 million people with €100billion of Debt
    20% unemployment
    100,000 people to Emigrating out each year
    Bailouts for Corrupt Banks and Fianna Fail businessmen
    Cutbacks hitting the poor, old and sick
    Nationalising two corrupt banks
    Failing to hold Bye Elections in three constituencys
    Massive Government Waste
    Quangos

All this without asking the Irish people are we okay with it? That is not democracy but a Dictatorship. If Fianna Fail had any shred of political ethics they would have called a General Election last year, however they would rather destroy the country to protect themselves first.

Give me a proper Dictatorship or Communism anyday over these scumbags in the Dail.

Of Course it was Democracy back years ago too when Catholics were not allowed to vote and a tiny minority of Protestants were able to vote for themselves. A system of checks and balances needs to be put in place to make sure that Fianna Fail never again is allowed to have any say in Irish politics. If that means seizing power by peaceful means or otherwise then I am all for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Give me a proper Dictatorship or Communism anyday over these scumbags in the Dail.

Sweet Jebus!!:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Firefox11 wrote: »

Sweet Jebus!!:eek:

At least you know where you stand with them. Unlike the shower we have who are so unpredictable anything could happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Saddling a tiny nation of 4 million people with €100billion of Debt
    Why did you double the bailout figure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Soil Mechanic

Folks, can we not jump to silly conclusions off bat:

1. equipment wears out, gets broken in training, new material is often required. No big deal.

2. euro300K isn' that much for specialist fireproof uniforms, Protective gear and riot equipment. They cost - a LOT.

3. More gear may be needed to equip larger numbers of troops. Yes, why?

... Can't believe I'm the first after all these posts to make the *SHOCK-HORROR* mental leap as for the reason - NO NOT a conspiracy theory but......

......has anyone noticed the talk of the Queen coming to Ireland?
    *DING* (that's the sound of the euro penny dropping folks.....)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

its the grannies and grandas that scare me :eek:
    member when they tried to take medical cards off them God knows
    how there going to react when the pigs slash their pensions
    I'm glad they got extra gear in

So some people here would rather a dictatorship?

Sweet jesus I think i'll bow out of this thread before it gets any worse.

Why do people insist on ignoring the many actual reasons stated for the purchase of new equipment........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

So some people here would rather a dictatorship?

Sweet jesus I think i'll bow out of this thread before it gets any worse.

Why do people insist on ignoring the many actual reasons stated for the purchase of new equipment........

Because that money could be put to better use than riot equipment for the army such as Berties bank account or Anglo's Debts hence why people are pi$$ed off

perhaps you don't care about the poor or the people loosing their jobs etc.. perhaps I am speaking to Fitzpatrick here.........
    Sean .... is that you??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

gizmo wrote: »
    Why did you double the bailout figure?

He fairly doubled the unemployment rate too.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,394 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

mawk wrote: »
    He fairly doubled the unemployment rate too.

By the end of this he will probably have halved them.