Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So how long do you recon before I should come home?

• 04-10-2010 2:56am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

Hi guys! I’m living in Australia at the moment and have been for a year and a half but have always been a bit of a home body.

I love Ireland and always see myself coming back to live there for the long-term, but at the moment all I’m hearing from home is doom and gloom and that I’m much better off out of it for the time being at least.

I work in architecture and having spoken to my parents’ every week or since I’ve been away so know that there is little or no jobs in that field going at the moment.

So how long do you guys think it will take for Ireland to turn the corner economically and for us emigrants to be able to return to the prospect of a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Give it...2 years
    maybe 4

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Ah yeah, swan on back when everythings fixed!....

Hope a spider bites ya in the hole! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Ah yeah, swan on back when everythings fixed!....

Hope a spider bites ya in the hole! :P

Could come home now and sign on if that would help?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭3DataModem

In Architecture? 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

3-5 years. More likely 5 years tbh. Stay in Australia, it's better in every single respect as long as you have air conditioning.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Good thread Doc, very interested in this as ive been away since sept 07 and wonder when I can go home.

Ye lot really f*cked it all up after i left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Confab wrote: »
    3-5 years. More likely 5 years tbh. Stay in Australia, it's better in every single respect as long as you have air conditioning.

It can be hard to get air at your hole out there alright.

Doc wrote: »
    Could come home now and sign on if that would help?

Why not? Sure everyone else is.

Seriously though, I wouldn't come back. If I didn't have 3 young kids, I'd have fucked off ages ago! Stay where you are dude. For at LEAST 5 years at any rate.

Sorry. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

go to a different country.

NZ or Canada maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Well you didn't leave very good instructions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Pretty concerned about this too OP :(

I've only been away for about 8 months, but I don't plan on staying in Oz for a second year. Was planning on coming home around April, but the sh1t seems to have really hit the fan recently, so I dunno what to do :(

Missing the family and stuff (my niece in particular), but it would be pointless for me to come home to nothing (work-wise). The job I'm in at the moment (finishing here in a week) said that I might be able to do some remote work for them from Ireland, so I'll have to try get something sorted out with that prior to leaving.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

4 Years???

Arse biscuits!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

im in the same boat. Myself and the OH have been here about 18months, heading back in March. Just hoping we can find something to sustain us when we get back.

Everythings very flat at the moment, only jobs being advertised are really "churn" type, replacing people who have moved on etc

The upcoming budget, the one where we expect major increases in taxation and reduction in benifits to pay for bailing out the banks, may lenghten the queues at the exits. That might improve the prospects for some returning - if you're prepaired for the higher taxes and reduced living standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

We're also in the same boat, we've been overseas for close to 8 years & want to return for an Irish education (which I'm not even sure is a great idea) but there is no suitable work for me at the moment & even if the right job came up with the right money & we moved back, who's to say that company won't upsticks & feck off to China in 6 months time?

We have kinda accepted that we will not be moving back (to Ireland) anytime before 2012.

I like the sound of Canada or Switzerland.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

but 2012. You know the jazz

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

I'm out the middle east at the moment and would lover to move back to Ireland but realistically I think it won't be worth while for me to go back for around 10 years as I'm in construction.

Public spending on construction projects will reduce dramatically, the residential construction sector is screwed for years due to the over supply of houses there already is coupled with the fact that people are now leaving the country so previously rented accommodation is now becoming vacant.

Not sure what it like there at the moment but there was vacant retail & office units all over the place before i left so there isn't much demand for that side either and from talking with mates back home the rents are dropping on the units so this kind of development isn't as attractive to investors anymore.

The only major developments that appear to be making any progress are ones that are Public Private Partnerships where the government doesn't have to finance them. This is particularly relevant to future infrastructure projects so expect more tolls etc.

Anyway back to the desert for me :) rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

My advice: come home for about a month, on holiday. Come around February, and don't bring any money. Stay with your parents, and spend your days going for aimless walks to the local shops and back, watching Deal or No Deal, and ****. Don't go anywhere that costsmore than a tenner, and don't go out with friends (as you won't have brought any money, right?). Try to envisage a hopeless empty future while you do all this.

That's your life in Ireland.

After about a month, you should be cured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

davyjose wrote: »
    My advice: come home for about a month, on holiday. Come around February, and don't bring any money. Stay with your parents, and spend your days going for aimless walks to the local shops and back, watching Deal or No Deal, and ****. Don't go anywhere that costsmore than a tenner, and don't go out with friends (as you won't have brought any money, right?). Try to envisage a hopeless empty future while you do all this.

That's your life in Ireland.

After about a month, you should be cured.

Depressing.

Sounds like me back in the 80's, and more or less heading in that direction again. ie - no money to socialise anymore, have to watch the car journeys now as diesel & lack of money are now a deciding factor. As too are repairs & servicing etc.

Watching for bargains, drinking the cheaper beers from the offie (I can get 6 cans of some German muck for €5 locally). No vacations, new clothes, nice shoes/trainers.

To those living oversea's - stay put. Whatever you do don't listen to politicans (like you would eh!!!), the paint the grass is green on the other side because its fed on bullsh*t.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

biffo.jpg

..... i'd say.... December at least....

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Just come home now. It's a great little country. There have even rumours of a reveloution now do you really want to miss that. Come home and take your medicine with the rest of us and en-route enjoy yourself and relax get in the mood for Ireland. Brrrrr a couple of times even though it's warm where you are and pay double for everything too. Can't wait to see you the tan will fade in time but the memories of employment will live forever, you can tell tales in the local about working and eating and generally having a good time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

So how long do you guys think it will take for Ireland to turn the corner economically and for us emigrants to be able to return to the prospect of a job?

Anglo could cost us 34 billion in the end.
    The next budget is going to be the worst/toughest in the history of the state.
    They'll be taxing us for breathing before they're finished.
    Sean Fitzpatrick is under Garda protection, which is just as well, cos if I ever get me hands on him I won't be responsible for my actions.
    Stay away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Hi guys! I’m living in Australia at the moment and have been for a year and a half but have always been a bit of a home body.

I love Ireland and always see myself coming back to live there for the long-term, but at the moment all I’m hearing from home is doom and gloom and that I’m much better off out of it for the time being at least.

I work in architecture and having spoken to my parents’ every week or since I’ve been away so know that there is little or no jobs in that field going at the moment.

10 years at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Convince all the people you miss to emigrate over to where you are. They'll thank you for it in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Dave! wrote: »
    Pretty concerned about this too OP :(

I've only been away for about 8 months, but I don't plan on staying in Oz for a second year. Was planning on coming home around April, but the sh1t seems to have really hit the fan recently, so I dunno what to do :(

Missing the family and stuff (my niece in particular), but it would be pointless for me to come home to nothing (work-wise). The job I'm in at the moment (finishing here in a week) said that I might be able to do some remote work for them from Ireland, so I'll have to try get something sorted out with that prior to leaving.
    You are in IT no? Theres loads of work in IT. Took me four days to get a job when I got back from Oz this year. Dont believe the hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

To rephrase some of the words of a song:

"Analysis, Mr. Lenihan.
    It's home, Brian, but not as we know it, not as we know it, not as we know it;
    It's home, Brian, but not as we know it, not as we know it, Taoiseach."

Stay where you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

Mackman wrote: »
    im in the same boat. Myself and the OH have been here about 18months, heading back in March. Just hoping we can find something to sustain us when we get back.

yourself and the old hag?
    how is that going for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i've a 4 year old son. if you stay and make management, maybe you could take a look at his CV?...in 15 years...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I work in architecture

My background is working as a QS, so work in same industry as yourself.
    I'm back in Ireland 3 months now after a spell overseas. I'm currently planning moving away again as there's nothing here to hang around for.
    Stay put man!