Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katie Price uses being a woman as an excuse in court

• 29-09-2010 12:30pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Katie Price tries to get out of driving conviction by saying she is a ‘typical woman driver
    Glamour model Katie Price was seen using a mobile phone while driving a pink horsebox in Sussex, a court heard.

Two vehicles had to take evasive action as she drifted into their lane on the A23 in Bolney on 19 February, Mid Sussex Magistrates' Court was told.

Patrol car officers said they saw her on the phone for up to three seconds.

Ms Price, who denies not being in proper control of a vehicle, said the horsebox drifted into another lane because she was a "woman driver".

She said there was no reason for her to use her phone because the horsebox was equipped with hands free bluetooth equipment.

When she was asked why she veered, she told the court: "Because I'm a typical woman driver.

"I'm just not used to a lorry that big. I was probably a bit scared because it was on a motorway.

"I don't remember veering but it is quite difficult."

I find it really frustrating that so many of us spend a lot of time trying to quash stereotypes about women, and then women like Katie Price enforce these stereotypes by using them as an excuse.

She might as well have said “Of course I can’t drive properly, because I’m just a woman”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Idiot who is female says something idiotic, or savy person who has made money out of being a media whore says something idiotic as she has not been in the papers in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

2313356652_f2b27826c4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

I don't know what she is exactly but she is most definitely not a woman.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Xiney wrote: »

It's a magic eye facepalm! It took me AGES to see that.

Anyway, I hate the stereotype of women drivers being bad, because I know I'm a good driver. Some women are crap drivers, some men are crap drivers. Thaed is probably right in that she said it to get media attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

she's a typical idiot is what she is! :mad:

You know what, I'm a damn good driver. Seriously. I'm quite proud of my skillz.

Bah to you, Katie Price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Don't ask me, I'm just a girl.

*Giggles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Idiot who is female says something idiotic, or savy person who has made money out of being a media whore says something idiotic as she has not been in the papers in a while.

Think you hit the nail on the head in the first part. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Audie

Yeah it's hard to say whether she's playing the game or she is just a total idiot. I'd imagine she's probably a total idiot with enough money to hire someone to tell her how to get in the papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Bit of a lame excuse tbh.

If she is driving a lorry unaccompanied then she obviously has a truck licence. If she managed to pass her truck test then the 'I'm a typical woman driver' excuse doesn't wash really. Bad drivers don't have truck licences; especially not under the UK system.

She is a typical mong tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Xiney wrote: »

Brilliant! I loved doing these as a kid.

WindSock wrote: »
    Don't ask me, I'm just a girl.

*Giggles

Now let's all forget our worries with a nice bowl of strawberry icecream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Maybe her boobs got in the way of her windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Walking stereotype uses a stereotype as a defense. Hardly a huge surprise.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

How can we expect equal rights with men, when some women use the fact that they are female to demand special treatment? Being a woman should have nothing to do with how you are treated in court.

Imagine if it was the other way around, and some male celebrity was in court for bad driving and said "I know I was speeding, but I'm a typical male driver" There's no way anyone would consider that an excuse

One of my friends has a car but has no idea how to change a tyre. I asked her what she would do if she got a puncture, and she said she'd just get a guy to change it for her cos she wouldn't want to get dirty. What if she was by herself though? Well she reckons that she'd be able to get a passing guy to feel sorry for her, stop, and do it for her :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

This is maybe a bit off topic but I have noticed that many of these successful glamour models really seem to despise and hate other women or women as a gender in general. I've read interviews with Katie Price and she is just venomous towards other women.
    I've also noticed a similar women hatred from Ireland's glamour model, Claire Tully. She has a column on Joe.ie that is just used to bash and say horrible things about other women. Her latest offering about women in prostitution is just so cold and completely heartless. In interviews many glamour models come across like this. The glamour industry must be a horrible place to work in that leaves you as quite a nasty person that can't trust many people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

panda100 wrote: »
    This is maybe a bit off topic but I have noticed that many of these successful glamour models really seem to despise and hate other women or women as a gender in general. I've read interviews with Katie Price and she is just venomous towards other women.
    I've also noticed a similar women hatred from Ireland's glamour model, Claire Tully. She has a column on Joe.ie that is just used to bash and say horrible things about other women. Her latest offering about women in prostitution is just so cold and completely heartless. In interviews many glamour models come across like this. The glamour industry must be a horrible place to work in that leaves you as quite a nasty person that can't trust many people.

When ALL you have going for you is a pair of boobs and a pretty face, your appeal is very limited, and your shelf life is short. Its not like anyone is interested in your opinions.

Theres ALWAYS someone younger and prettier behind you. Its not surprising that the competitive bitchiness kicks in. A vacuous industry attracts vacuous people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Fishie wrote: »
    How can we expect equal rights with men, when some women use the fact that they are female to demand special treatment? Being a woman should have nothing to do with how you are treated in court.

Imagine if it was the other way around, and some male celebrity was in court for bad driving and said "I know I was speeding, but I'm a typical male driver" There's no way anyone would consider that an excuse

One of my friends has a car but has no idea how to change a tyre. I asked her what she would do if she got a puncture, and she said she'd just get a guy to change it for her cos she wouldn't want to get dirty. What if she was by herself though? Well she reckons that she'd be able to get a passing guy to feel sorry for her, stop, and do it for her :rolleyes:
    What? So the actions of some women mean the rights of the rest should be lowered? Don't shoot all the dogs because one's got fleas.
    No it wouldn't and what makes you think the judge considered it a valid excuse here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Giselle wrote: »
    When ALL you have going for you is a pair of boobs and a pretty face, your appeal is very limited, and your shelf life is short. Its not like anyone is interested in your opinions.

Theres ALWAYS someone younger and prettier behind you. Its not surprising that the competitive bitchiness kicks in. A vacuous industry attracts vacuous people.
    I don't think you can make assumptions about their personalty from looking at a picture. I also wouldn't take their interviews seriously because they clearly don't, they're not supposed to be insightful.

It's hard to say if they geniunly are bitch it seems like everyone in the media is bitch but that's probably just down to selective journalists. They're never going to print a story about two people getting on.
    Its not like anyone is interested in your opinions.
    How many jobs are there where people give a sh1t what your opinion is?
    A vacuous industry attracts vacuous people.
    Is that not a teeny bit bitchy?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

And you know there's a lot of men out there agreeing with her!

I hate that people like her are representing women in the media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

And you know there's a lot of men out there agreeing with her!

I hate that people like her are representing women in the media.

yes there are (almost every guy I know who drives has zero respect for women drivers, the typical comment is "I bet that's a woman" when there's some idiotic piece of driving going on) but not a hope that they'll express that view here

for the record, I think we have to define what a good driver is, if it means driving safely and taking precautions and doing things by the book then women are better in general (I do not mean EVERY woman is a safer driver than every man)

when it comes to driving skills like being able to park in a difficult spot quickly or making quick decisions on the road and being more confident on the road then my opinion is that men are better in general (I do not mean EVERY man is a technically more skilled driver than every woman)

Overall I think it's far more important not to kill people than to be able to park your car in a small space, thus my conclusion is overall women are better drivers (as when I define a good driver, being safe supercedes having great driving skills)

Nonetheless, for the purposes of this post and thread in general it is necessary to indulge in gross generalisations and that is rarely a wise thing....just ask the insurance companies who penalise men so heavily just for being men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Women are better drivers.

That’s why their insurance premiums are lower than men’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

donfers wrote: »
    just ask the insurance companies who penalise men so heavily just for being men
    Men are penalised by insurance companies for their statistically higher risk of having accidents, not "just for being men".

If she wants media attention, could she not just get her rack out again?

At least that way I'd be interested.

She's probably doing the papers a favour aswell though, in fairness. They must be running low on useless crap to report. They'll get at least three months out of this story. I'd say the people of The Sun are sitting around a table discussing puns as I type.

Jordan pulls whoresbox on motorway, isn't the breast driver in UK.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Men are penalised by insurance companies for their statistically higher risk of having accidents, not "just for being men".

Is it not that women have more accidents, but men's are a lot worse?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

I don't want to hijack the thread but the parameter used is far too broad, i.e.you are a man and men are more likely to be involved in accidents thus you will pay more

I'd expect a more sophisticated form of robbery rather than tarring a whole gender under the same brush

Broad and sweeping generalisations should be confined to provocative internet discussion forums rather than being an inherent part of car insurance policy that we are legally obligated to purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

donfers wrote: »
    I don't want to hijack the thread but the parameter used is far too broad, i.e.you are a man and men are more likely to be involved in accidents thus you will pay more

I'd expect a more sophisticated form of robbery rather than tarring a whole gender under the same brush

Broad and sweeping generalisations should be confined to provocative internet discussion forums rather than being an inherent part of car insurance policy that we are legally obligated to purchase

It's not quite that bad. A whole bunch of parameters go into the mix such as age, profession etc. One gender-thing that makes a difference is whether you (the man) have a woman as named driver on your policy. I don't know if you need to be married to them or not but my premium drops by about 15% if I add my wife as a named driver.

Presumably the statistics say that married men drive a bit safer than single ones...

I'd be interested to know if the converse holds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Katie Price never ceases to amaze me when it comes to the ever innovative ways that she uses to get into the rags. :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

In this court case, Katie Price was just doing what she always does. Reinforcing a stereotype of her being just big tits, no brains, good only for looking at. She isnt alone in cashing in on that, such girls are everywhere in the media. Every fourteen year old in heels is trying to look like her, but without the business brain she clearly has.

The thing is, she is really, really, not that stupid. She only uses that brainless bimbo thing because it works for her, and earns her money. Its what she has done her whole career. Do you really think she would be as well known and wealthy if she was actually the airhead sextoy she portrays herself as? She is ruthless and savvy, which is why she made this ploy. If it works, she gets off a driving charge. If it doesnt, she gets wonderful publicity for pulling such an anti feminist stunt.

Win, win for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Is it not that women have more accidents, but men's are a lot worse?

Yeah, I always thought that women have more frequent accidents from making silly day to day mistakes while men have more serious, risk /recklessness related accidents; ie more deaths. I could be wrong though.

On subject of Katie Price, I definately think this is a publicity stunt, a clever one for what it will achieve. I've always thought she's alot smarter than she looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Oryx wrote: »
    The thing is, she is really, really, not that stupid. She only uses that brainless bimbo thing because it works for her, and earns her money. Its what she has done her whole career. Do you really think she would be as well known and wealthy if she was actually the airhead sextoy she portrays herself as? She is ruthless and savvy, which is why she made this ploy.

So true. It takes a lot of guts to do what she does. She's constantly lambasted for her appearance, her actions etc. She knows how to use it to her advantage though, and it takes great strength to not take public opinion personally.
    I don't agree with her using the 'woman' excuse, but I really admire her for the aptitude she shows for business. Jodie Marsh was a contender at one point, but she's disappeared off the radar. She doesn't seem to have the longevity Katie Price has (or the knack for staying in the public eye)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Women are better drivers.

That’s why their insurance premiums are lower than men’s.

There are bad male drivers and bad female drivers, their gender is irrelevant tbh, the car insurance industry just gets away with it sexist policies as its acceptable for some reason to label all men as a high risk driver. I've been driving for over 10 years and never had so much as a ding, yet a girl i know has been in 2 accidents, both her fault by her own admittance, and her insurance is STILL lower than mine, its ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Isn't that the same thing?

No matter how you want to dress it up it is sexual discrimination.

''You're getting charged more because other people with a penis have cost us more in insurance claims.'' would be the reasoning insurance companies use. How is that not being treated differently for being male?

Call a spade a spade

''You're getting charged more because other people with a penis have cost us more in insurance claims.'' would be the reasoning insurance companies use. How is that not being treated differently for being male?

Call a spade a spade

Spot on, because SOME male drivers have accidents we're all tarred as these boy racer lunatics, when the majority of male drivers are perfectly competent.

Its a stereotype that men are worse drivers according to women,and women are worse drivers according to men.

we're better at parallel parking though :pac:

Call a spade a spade
    Its just one of the ways insurers assess risk. Same as they use age, occupation, engine size and residence. Would you prefer they charged everyone the same and you end up carrying the financial can for every lousy driver out there, regardless of a clean record and ncd?

Dont get me started on Sheila's Wheels either.

Actually on that, do any women find their advertising grossly offensive? dollybirds in their pink cars? really? this is how to appeal to your demographic? if I was a woman I woudlnt want to give them my custom at all.

krudler wrote: »
    Dont get me started on Sheila's Wheels either.

Actually on that, do any women find their advertising grossly offensive? dollybirds in their pink cars? really? this is how to appeal to your demographic? if I was a woman I woudlnt want to give them my custom at all.
    I wonder will Katie Price be their new spokesperson? :D

The whole pink and girlie advertising thing is another discussion entirely, and if I was to get involved I think it would have to be over in R&R so I can fully express how ads like that make me feel. :)

To R&R!

nananananana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Its just one of the ways insurers assess risk. Same as they use age, occupation, engine size and residence.

Erm, yes, not disputing it, I''m just saying it is a method based on sexual discrimination.

Would you prefer they charged everyone the same and you end up carrying the financial can for every lousy driver out there, regardless of a clean record and ncd?

That's different because a clean record/ncd aren't based on something you cannot change

In this court case, Katie Price was just doing what she always does. Reinforcing a stereotype of her being just big tits, no brains, good only for looking at. She isnt alone in cashing in on that, such girls are everywhere in the media. Every fourteen year old in heels is trying to look like her, but without the business brain she clearly has.

The thing is, she is really, really, not that stupid. She only uses that brainless bimbo thing because it works for her, and earns her money. Its what she has done her whole career. Do you really think she would be as well known and wealthy if she was actually the airhead sextoy she portrays herself as? She is ruthless and savvy, which is why she made this ploy. If it works, she gets off a driving charge. If it doesnt, she gets wonderful publicity for pulling such an anti feminist stunt.

Win, win for her.

I hate this argument because I disagree that the ability to make money in this society equals intelligence. I don't like using the word stupid to describe people but Katie Price is far from cerebral and seems to be quite ignorant on many subjects.

To me she's the same as anyone who makes a lot of money in a capitalist society,ruthless and willing to tread on anyones toes to make money. Its ultimately seems like a pretty unfulfilling life. She has mutilated her body to an extent that it is completely unrecognisable from the one she was born with. I doubt very much that she has any sensation left in her breasts after the countless reductions and implants she has had. She had a nose job,lipo,botox and lip plumpers and clearly has a serious neurosis about her looks and appearance. If this is what we're calling a 'savvy' women then I fear for the rest of womenkind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

Its just one of the ways insurers assess risk.

Yes, it's actuarially correct. But it's also lazy. Is the risk down to possessing a Y chromosome, or down to some individuals being stupid? If I can see a boy racer and think "there's an accident waiting to happen", why can't these clever people in insurance companies find a way to work out that he's a different risk from Nigel in Accounts? Maybe it suits them financially to pretend that half the population is relatively "high-risk"?

Insurance companies don't examine whether something like skin colour is also an actuarial factor. If it is, it's more likely to be because many people from other countries come from places with different driving laws and customs. So the risk isn't because of skin colour, it's because of where you learned to drive. Likewise, why not look a little deeper than the sex of the applicant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

krudler wrote: »
    To R&R!

nananananana!

We don't want her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,162 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Its just one of the ways insurers assess risk. Same as they use age, occupation, engine size and residence. Would you prefer they charged everyone the same and you end up carrying the financial can for every lousy driver out there, regardless of a clean record and ncd?

To be fair, there's lots of other factors that could be used to determine risk, that aren't used for PC reasons.

Race
    Education
    to name a couple.

I'm pretty sure that I'd (married male with family) be less of a risk then a female skanger driving an impreza, yet I'd probably pay more insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

panda100 wrote: »
    I hate this argument because I disagree that the ability to make money in this society equals intelligence. I don't like using the word stupid to describe people but Katie Price is far from cerebral and seems to be quite ignorant on many subjects.

To me she's the same as anyone who makes a lot of money in a capitalist society,ruthless and willing to tread on anyones toes to make money. Its ultimately seems like a pretty unfulfilling life. She has mutilated her body to an extent that it is completely unrecognisable from the one she was born with. I doubt very much that she has any sensation left in her breasts after the countless reductions and implants she has had. She had a nose job,lipo,botox and lip plumpers and clearly has a serious neurosis about her looks and appearance. If this is what we're calling a 'savvy' women then I fear for the rest of womenkind.

I completely agree.

I hate how Katie's hailed as some sort of a model of business success (pardon pun) to be admired and learned from, when the fact is that she's simply an attractive dollybird who probably worked hard, had a few lucky breaks, learned the tricks of the trade and cashed in on them by continually compromising herself. She's played the game, a game that's pretty obvious at that - be provokative, be controversial, get your t1ts out, air your dirty laundry in public. It's not rocket science and she's got a team of people working to keep her on that wave. It's got nothing to do with her intelligence, or lack of for that matter.

beks101 wrote: »
    I completely agree.

I hate how Katie's hailed as some sort of a model of business success (pardon pun) to be admired and learned from, when the fact is that she's simply an attractive dollybird who probably worked hard, had a few lucky breaks, learned the tricks of the trade and cashed in on them by continually compromising herself. She's played the game, a game that's pretty obvious at that - be provokative, be controversial, get your t1ts out, air your dirty laundry in public. It's not rocket science and she's got a team of people working to keep her on that wave. It's got nothing to do with her intelligence, or lack of for that matter.

In that long run she's doing womankind and herself a huge disservice. It doesn't take a brain surgeon to understand that a thong, boob job and some girl on girl action for the lads will serve you well financially in our patriarchal society. At the end of the day though its chipping away womens desire for equality and credibility in our society. You could see this last year when Jordan spoke about her own personal experience of rape and no one took her seriously as what she does for a living ultimately allows for the exploitation of the female body.

I've read her autobiography and in it she discusses at length her low self esteem in her looks and her fraught sexual relations with men. People say she is a strong, savvy person but I don't equate strength to having life threatening surgery to exaggerate your breasts to enormous proportions. She uses conventional male/media views about female beauty for business purposes. Its an 'ideal' that no one can live up to without massive surgery and seems to leave you pretty unsatisfied in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Ugh, this vile woman just wrecks my head. She's such a waste of space yet revels in media coverage. She's going to have a full week of it now as she and Peter Andre are going to court over their divorce this week.

I think the only reason that she remains in the public eye is that people look at her life, laugh and think "Thank God I'm not her" :P

"To me she's the same as anyone who makes a lot of money in a capitalist society,ruthless and willing to tread on anyones toes to make money. Its ultimately seems like a pretty unfulfilling life. She has mutilated her body to an extent that it is completely unrecognisable from the one she was born with. I doubt very much that she has any sensation left in her breasts after the countless reductions and implants she has had. She had a nose job,lipo,botox and lip plumpers and clearly has a serious neurosis about her looks and appearance. If this is what we're calling a 'savvy' women then I fear for the rest of womenkind"

+1 to Panda100 on this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Considering all male drivers are carrying the financial can for every lousy male driver out there, then yes, I would prefer if everyone was charged the same.

Individual factors such as accidents one has been in etc., I wouldn't disagree with altering one's premium for, but not general ones such as one's sex, race etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Personally I think Katie Price is a complete joke and I can't understand why some people hold her up as some sort of example to other women.

She's a spoilt attention loving train wreck if you ask me and she clearly hasn't a brain cell woth talking about if that's the kind of thing she uses to get herself out of trouble.

She's called a model and business woman but I think that's an insult to those professions and to women in general to be honest.

I feel so sorry for Alex, Peter and the children that they have to put up with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

She keeps getting more and more ridiculous every time I hear about her, I feel so bad for her kids.

She attracts attention to herself though - and the more we discuss her the more that purveys her kind of "success". She is famous and that is all she is - she has no special skills nor is she even considered particularly attractive by the mainstream... she simply exists to get into the news (well, tabloids and those ****ty 50p magazines).

The less we talk about her, the less we'll hear about her.