Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is the Worst Place to Live in Europe Study shows!

• 22-09-2010 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

Ireland and Some of the British isles Are the worst Places to Live in Europe. While france and spain come out top for quality of life, a new study shows

High living costs, below average government spending on health and education, short holidays and late retirement have kept the UK and Ireland at the bottom of the list.

France has taken the top spot for the second year running, despite families earning an annual net income of only £32,766 - £4,406 below that of the UK.

Significantly, ireland now no longer enjoys the highest net household income in Europe after falling behind The UK, the Netherlands and Denmark.

Also too were lifestyle factors, such as hours of sunshine, holiday entitlement, working hours and life expectancy to provide a complete picture of the quality of life experienced in each country.

Ireland pays the highest prices for food and petrol yet spends below the European average (as a percentage of GDP) on health and education.

The Irish work longer hours, retire later, and receive less annual leave than most of their European counterparts, the study says.

The irish also enjoy less sunshine along the way and can expect to die two years younger than their French counterparts.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Aren't you a bundle of joy?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Pretty sure Bosnia's worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

We're still the best, who wants to live in France with all them French Ball/Gee bags!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

But at least we're not French..

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Petrol in Ireland costs more than in Holland and France now?
    How much is a litre of 98 octane there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Proving the theory that even if you have a B m'er and a McMansion that you can still be an unhappy bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Thank you're lucky stars we don't live in Paraguay.

But at least we're not French..

No, but by pandering to some tired Anglophile stereotype you are essentially British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Scan Man

This is old news. Anyone who has left the country for even a day (crossing the border doesn't count!) could tell you the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Isnt Moldova the poorest country in Europe?.................surely we are better than there...we have invisible leprechauns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

But, but, but....KOSOVO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

Petrol in Ireland costs more than in Holland and France now?
    How much is a litre of 98 octane there?

http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/Motoring-Advice/Petrol-Prices.aspx

France is 1.41
    Netherlands 1.54

So yes... its all a load of codwash.

On hours of sunshine alone we are screwed.

PS - im pretty happy here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

flyton5 wrote: »
    But, but, but....KOSOVO?

At least they've got a load of guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

RobitTV wrote: »
    Ireland is the Worst Place to Live in Europe Study shows!

Especially when it comes to providing sources...... http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/8015743/British-Isles-worst-place-to-live-in-Europe.html

damoz wrote: »
    http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/Motoring-Advice/Petrol-Prices.aspx

France is 1.41
    Netherlands 1.54

So yes... its all a load of codwash.

On hours of sunshine alone we are screwed.

PS - im pretty happy here.

Irish prices are exactly the EU average. It's probably the most average country in Europe to live in, all things considered.

The study only included 10 'leading' economies' I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

Ah sure it would be a grand little country if we could only roof it!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Bank holiday anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

EDIT: It turns out miserableness is a word. That made me slightly happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ireland pay the most for petrol and food........ah no we don't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Ireland and Some of the British isles Are the worst Places to Live in Europe. While france and spain come out top for quality of life, a new study shows

High living costs, below average government spending on health and education, short holidays and late retirement have kept the UK and Ireland at the bottom of the list.

France has taken the top spot for the second year running, despite families earning an annual net income of only £32,766 - £4,406 below that of the UK.

Significantly, ireland now no longer enjoys the highest net household income in Europe after falling behind The UK, the Netherlands and Denmark.

Also too were lifestyle factors, such as hours of sunshine, holiday entitlement, working hours and life expectancy to provide a complete picture of the quality of life experienced in each country.

Ireland pays the highest prices for food and petrol yet spends below the European average (as a percentage of GDP) on health and education.

The Irish work longer hours, retire later, and receive less annual leave than most of their European counterparts, the study says.

The irish also enjoy less sunshine along the way and can expect to die two years younger than their French counterparts.

Woohoo! For all the doom & gloom in that report at least it gave us an upbeat ending.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Bull****, Ireland is not the worst place to live in Europe, Dublin on the other hand I could believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ruffles91

at least we know how to have the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

No, but by pandering to some tired Anglophile stereotype you are essentially British.

Ye watevaaa, mingaaaa!

As sh1t-holes go, Ireland's no worse than any other European sh1t-hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

ruffles91 wrote: »
    at least we know how to have the craic!

As this thread proves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭BenK

Ireland is a crap place to live / full of racists / begrudgers etc. shocker in After Hours...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

All of these things depend on the weighting system given for the criteria, decided by the report itself. Feeling this is a French study.

Anyway WE CAME 10th!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

That is funny, because the survey that you have quoted has Ireland as the highest net household income, as 44, 955 pound compared with

UK - 37,172
    Netherlands - 41,130
    Denmark - 39,997

and comparing that with France and Spain who come out best in the survey:

France - 32,766
    Spain - 24,228

http://www.uswitch.com/press-room/press-releases/uk-and-ireland-trailing-the-rest-of-europe-for-quality-of-life-1769.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

mikom wrote: »

The Daily Tory-graph says "Ireland is bad!" shocker!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The study only included 10 'leading' economies' I see.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

*Remembers to breath*

Those average household incomes look hugely inflated. If they excluded the top 1% it would probably reflect reality better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

during the boom I used to have to laugh at everyone boasting that Ireland was like some sort of heaven on earth, which was confirmed by the "fact" that if people were emigrating to Ireland in their droves then because of the brilliantness of the quality of life on offer in Ireland.
    (indeed, the polish were leaving their sunny summers, and crisp winters because they have a hidden lust for almost constant drizzle??)

It wasnt. It was because you could earn fity grand plus doung f*ck all for it. And pay f*ck all tax cos Bertie was the most generous man on the planet with his giveaway budgets.

Yet........
    Only Ireland fares worse than Britain in an updated quality of life index for Europe compiled by uSwitch.com, as the republic has fewer hours of sunshine, a higher retirement age and lower public spending on essential services.

During the boom, the cash in your pocket was all that separated Ireland of the 2000s with the 80s. Parks amenities and the likes were not invested in and with the cash now frazzled away, Ireland sole unique selling point truely is its propensity for drizzle (and slanty rain).

during the boom I used to have to laugh at everyone boasting that Ireland was like some sort of heaven on earth, which was confirmed by the "fact" that if people were emigrating to Ireland in their droves then because of the brilliantness of the quality of life on offer in Ireland.
    (indeed, the polish were leaving their sunny summers, and crisp winters because they have a hidden lust for almost constant drizzle??)

It wasnt. It was because you could earn fity grand plus doung f*ck all for it. And pay f*ck all tax cos Bertie was the most generous man on the planet with his giveaway budgets.

Yet........

During the boom, the cash in your pocket was all that separated Ireland of the 2000s with the 80s. Parks amenities and the likes were not invested in and with the cash now frazzled away, Ireland sole unique selling point truely is its propensity for drizzle (and slanty rain).

Moan, moan, moan, distort some facts, moan, moan, look down at people, moan, moan, be smug some more, moan, moan, moan.

I translated that for you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

if you have a full time job ireland is the best place in the e.u to live. And if you dont have a job, ireland is still the best place in th e.u to live. well apart from luxembourg

That is funny, because the survey that you have quoted has Ireland as the highest net household income, as 44, 955 pound compared with

Is what the figure was when people actually had jobs here?

getting on towards half a million unemployed tends to make any comparison look a little sick.

Its true,it really is the worst place to live in Europe.
    Thing is, only those who have travelled and seen how other countries are so well run will realise this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Thing is, only those who have travelled and seen how other countries are so well run will realise this.

Man how times have changed
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2004/nov/18/population.ireland

I guess the old adage of Money = Happiness rings true.

OMG i am after looking at the survey and the have,
    POLAND ahead of japan
    and LATVIA ahead of ireland
    it a comedy skit i reckon

this was the international living survey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

This report is such a load of bollox. It uses specific statistics so it can sway the report to say "Britain is the worst" etc. as "Britain ranks average" isnt news.

Where is the infant mortality rate, crime rate, prison population, inches of rain, political stability, public strikes (would really hurt France!) gender equality, employment and all that other crap.

Also, notice how Ireland is almost double the wages of Italy and Spain yet we are ranked in the same way when it comes to food prices. A monkey would know to use actual purchasing power and prices alone dont mean sht.

And had to laugh that "A British smoker can expect to pay around £6.30 for a packet of cigarettes, while somebody in Poland will pay just £1.70 per pack". Since when are cheap cigarettes an indicator of quality of life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

+ 1.

Can we look at other surveys from 2010? How about this one from Mercer which looks at cities:

http://www.mercer.com/press-releases/quality-of-living-report-2010#City_Ranking_Tables

Dublin is 26 out of 50 in the world

How about this survey from International Living magazine which looks at countries:

http://www1.internationalliving.com/qofl2010/

We ain't the best by any means, but the moaning and exaggeration of how bad Ireland is in this thread is comparable to those spoilt brats on my super sweet 16 moaning about how bad their lives are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I've spent the last year and a half moving between Ireland and Spain while on the same income, and I can definitely say that for a single person with no kids and who likes to go out, the cost of living and quality of life are MUCH better in Spain. You pay less rent for more space (and it will be cheaper to furnish that space), the weather is better, the food is cheaper and MUCH better (both at the grocery store and in restaurants/bars), there is good public transportation in the large cities, health services are good, and it is very cheap and easy to get around the country. Maybe I'd think differently if I had kids in school or something, but I think overall in Ireland (and the UK) you don't really get value for your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Surely this study is only referring to cost of living? I'd imagine, overall, life in Ireland is a good bit sweeter than that in, for instance, Albania.

Can we look at other surveys from 2010? How about this one from Mercer which looks at cities:

http://www.mercer.com/press-releases/quality-of-living-report-2010#City_Ranking_Tables

Dublin is 26 out of 50 in the world

How about this survey from International Living magazine which looks at countries:

http://www1.internationalliving.com/qofl2010/

We ain't the best by any means, but the moaning and exaggeration of how bad Ireland is in this thread is comparable to those spoilt brats on my super sweet 16 moaning about how bad their lives are.
    the international living survey does not take into account wage earning's.
    i worked in italy and anybody who try's to tell me that living standarts are better in italy than ireland is talking out there arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

The Daily Tory-graph says "Ireland is bad!" shocker!

And how predictable that the Daily Torygraph refers to Ireland as a "British" isle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

I've spent the last year and a half moving between Ireland and Spain while on the same income, and I can definitely say that for a single person with no kids and who likes to go out, the cost of living and quality of life are MUCH better in Spain. You pay less rent for more space (and it will be cheaper to furnish that space), the weather is better, the food is cheaper and MUCH better (both at the grocery store and in restaurants/bars), there is good public transportation in the large cities, health services are good, and it is very cheap and easy to get around the country. Maybe I'd think differently if I had kids in school or something, but I think overall in Ireland (and the UK) you don't really get value for your money.

Q. Are you on irish or Spanish wages?

Again, only specific criteria is being used for your assessment - I'm sure the Ukraine is better run than Ireland, that doesn't make it a better place to live than Ireland.

the international living survey does not take into account wage earning's.
    i worked in italy and anybody who try's to tell me that living standarts are better in italy than ireland is talking out there arse
    Yeah, I know a good few Italians - they are shocked by what is generally considered a bad wage here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Linoge wrote: »
    Q. Are you on irish or Spanish wages?

I live on dollars, and the amount fluctuates depending on my situation (and the exchange rate). Without going into details, I'll just say that I know from personal experience that being young and single on 1,000/month (which is half the average wage in Spain) is a waaaay better in Madrid than it is in Dublin. And even when my income increased to the point where I could afford my own place in Ireland, the quality of life was still far better in Spain than anywhere I've lived in Ireland or the UK. It's not that I dislike Ireland - I love the theater/literary scene, and I like Irish people - but going out in Ireland is an absolute rip-off, and I don't understand why dinner is 30 euro pp (or why kitchens close so early).