Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pulled over for going through an amber light...

• 20-09-2010 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭

I was pulled over by a guard for going through on an amber light. I was in the wrong no question. He asked me the usual kind of stuff, did I know why he pulled me over etc... He seemed more annoyed that I took so long to pull over but I honestly didn't realise he wanted me to pull over, thought he was trying to get around me.

Anyways, he asked me if I had any penalty points I said no. I can't remember if he said "that's four for that" or "that would be four for that". I'm not sure if he was power tripping at that stage as he was asking me some rules of the road questions and did I have a full license, saying I don't know how you got it.

Is there a procedure for getting the penalty points? He didn't take my name or anything, just told me to drive on like after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Ush1 wrote: »
    He didn't take my name or anything, just told me to drive on like after.

Did he ask to see your drivers license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I got stopped a few years back for the same thing, BanGarda asked me "Are you an amber gambler?", and honestly, it was hard to keep a straight face after that. But don't the rules of the road say it's acceptable to go through an amber light if you can't stop in time safely? My lights literally went amber as I was about a metre away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

ronaneire wrote: »
    Did he ask to see your drivers license?

No, just asked did I have a full license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

No, just asked did I have a full license.

If he didn't ask to see it or take any details from you or from the car I can't see how you will get points.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

... He seemed more annoyed that I took so long to pull over but I honestly didn't realise he wanted me to pull over, thought he was trying to get around me..

:confused: if you thought he was trying to get around you why didn't you pull in to let him anyway?

copacetic wrote: »
    :confused: if you thought he was trying to get around you why didn't you pull in to let him anyway?

He was on a bike and I just thought he was going to drive past. I was turning right then so I indicated to switch to the right lane thinking he would then drive on in the left lane. When I indicated he sped up alongside me on my right hand side.

Might be naive but there wasn't anywhere to pull in anyway, when I did it was into the bay at a bus stop. I spose I was just supposed to hit the hazards and stop there and then.

ronaneire wrote: »
    If he didn't ask to see it or take any details from you or from the car I can't see how you will get points.

Yeah, was thinking unless he took my reg but I don't think he did. Was fairly condescending when I was driving away aswell saying that I was going to cause an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

What you did was absolutely correct, it's what the amber lights are for. It'd be more dangerous to slam on the brakes in a poor attempt to stop than to just continue through if you're not within safe stopping distance.

Edit: Sorry that was meant @PaintDoctor, obviously speeding up to go through the lights before they turn red isn't their intended purpose =P

Went through a red light one night at 3 ish or so in the morning, few seconds later I see a Paddy wagon behind me (f knows where they were hiding as I went through the lights). Like a numpty I indicated off the main road and pulled into an estate. They followed me, threw on the blue flashies. Ban garda gets out and approaches the car. Asks me do I know why they pulled me over.............

Me: yes

BG: Why

Me: for going through a red light

BG: What do you have to say....

Me: Sorry

for what

Me: for not being observant, I didn't see ye

BG: so if you had you wouldn't have gone through it

Me: exactly

BG: Your tax is out

Me: I'll get that this week

BG: go on away

Me: **thinks to myself, she must think I'm hotter than a hot thing**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

He was on a bike and I just thought he was going to drive past. I was turning right then so I indicated to switch to the right lane thinking he would then drive on in the left lane. When I indicated he sped up alongside me on my right hand side.

Might be naive but there wasn't anywhere to pull in anyway, when I did it was into the bay at a bus stop. I spose I was just supposed to hit the hazards and stop there and then.

Not at all, i was hit with a case of mistaken identity (i think) recently on a country road, two squad cars hit the lights behind me and I had to pull in somewhere. I had to drive about 300 metres before there was space for me to pull in, but I knew the spot and can only assume they did too and didn't think I was trying to get away from them!

If there's no where safe to pull in, i'd keep going.

Bazzo wrote: »
    What you did was absolutely correct, it's what the amber lights are for. It'd be more dangerous to slam on the brakes in a poor attempt to stop than to just continue through if you're not within safe stopping distance.

Edit: Sorry that was meant @PaintDoctor, obviously speeding up to go through the lights before they turn red isn't their intended purpose =P

I wouldn't have been speeding to be honest and the lights were still amber I think when I had gone through the junction.

Not at all, i was hit with a case of mistaken identity (i think) recently on a country road, two squad cars hit the lights behind me and I had to pull in somewhere. I had to drive about 300 metres before there was space for me to pull in, but I knew the spot and can only assume they did too and didn't think I was trying to get away from them!

If there's no where safe to pull in, i'd keep going.

Yeah but his main quibble was me not pulling in for him quicker though. Asking me had I had anything to drink and saying my driving was disgraceful. Thought it was abit OTT. Have never been pulled over before and genuinely didn't realise he wanted me to.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Went through a red light one night at 3 ish or so in the morning, few seconds later I see a Paddy wagon behind me (f knows where they were hiding as I went through the lights). Like a numpty I indicated off the main road and pulled into an estate. They followed me, threw on the blue flashies. Ban garda gets out and approaches the car. Asks me do I know why they pulled me over.............

Me: yes

BG: Why

Me: for going through a red light

BG: What do you have to say....

Me: Sorry

for what

Me: for not being observant, I didn't see ye

BG: so if you had you wouldn't have gone through it

Me: exactly

BG: Your tax is out

Me: I'll get that this week

BG: go on away

Me: **thinks to myself, she must think I'm hotter than a hot thing**

This guy took his job WAY more seriously than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Amber are amber for a reason, to give you the chance to slow down and wait for them to go red.

if you don't slow down and pass through it shouldn't be the end of the world.

if that's the case they should have just red and green.

STOP!!

GO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Slightly unrelated note.

Are the lights technically amber? Or do we just use Amber so it sounds like a lighter shade IE further from red?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its not illegal to drive thru an amber light. The only thing the guard could have pulled you over for is if you sped up when you saw the lights go amber. Other than that the guard was just being a prat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I'd be thinking your driving after going through the amber was as much to do with the eating you got off him as the initial cause for him pulling you over.You describe your view of the situation from a car,think of his view from the bike,blue lights on,I presume siren as well but lights should have been enough,he wants you to stop,you continue,you then proceed to put on your right indicator to go across in front of him on the presumption that he will go near side.I'd personally want to strangle you if I got off the bike to you.He could have done you but he didnt,he gave you an earful to learn from your mistake.I'd pay heed.:)

In fairness amber is to be treated as a red light unless you cannot stop safely, being anal one should approach a green light slowing down to 20 / 25 mph ish with the expectation to stop if it changes to amber.

I'd be thinking your driving after going through the amber was as much to do with the eating you got off him as the initial cause for him pulling you over.You describe your view of the situation from a car,think of his view from the bike,blue lights on,I presume siren as well but lights should have been enough,he wants you to stop,you continue,you then proceed to put on your right indicator to go across in front of him on the presumption that he will go near side.I'd personally want to strangle you if I got off the bike to you.He could have done you but he didnt,he gave you an earful to learn from your mistake.I'd pay heed.:)

He had blue lights on and gave one half beat of the siren. I didn't indicate right to go in front of him as I was in front of him anyway and thought for what ever reason he couldn't pass on my right despite being on a bike and there was plenty of room.

If it was an ambulance, as he suggested, there would not have been room for it to pass on my right and I would have pulled into the left(despite doing that not giving any more room at all really).

I don't believe there is any procedure described in the rules of the road for being pulled over. I have moved out of the way of emergency services in the past no problem. A bike in this situation would usually just fly past on the right. It didn't seem to register with him that it I didn't realise it was me he wanted to pull over.

I think his criticism was beyond anything constructive. If he really believed my "driving was disgraceful" and that I "was going to cause an accident", surely he is in dereliction of his duty by not taking the car off me?

In fairness amber is to be treated as a red light unless you cannot stop safely, being anal one should approach a green light slowing down to 20 / 25 mph ish with the expectation to stop if it changes to amber.

Good lord if everyone slowed down to 25mph going thru green lights there would never be any flow in the traffic... :eek: A green light means proceed, at the speed in which you were travelling (where safe to do so obviously). If you are travelling at the speed limit then an amber light should give you plenty of time to slow down before the lights go red, or else pass thru the lights while they are still amber. At normal speed (ie in or around the speed limit) if a light is green as you approach it then there should be no need to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

I got stopped a few years back for the same thing, BanGarda asked me "Are you an amber gambler?", and honestly, it was hard to keep a straight face after that. But don't the rules of the road say it's acceptable to go through an amber light if you can't stop in time safely? My lights literally went amber as I was about a metre away from them.

Inaccurate description for this habit. The phrase was coined in the UK for drivers to avoid taking off from traffic lights on Amber/Red before the green light comes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

djimi wrote: »
    At normal speed (ie in or around the speed limit) if a light is green as you approach it then there should be no need to slow down.
    Except to watch out for traffic which may cross your path. It doesn't matter that you have a green light, there's still a (microscopic) chance that someone coming from the left or right will break them, or that an oncoming vehicle will turn across your path.
    I know nobody really slows down for lights (unless you're barrelling along), but that's the officially correct way to approach it. This is why you'll never see the meaning of a green written as just "Go".
    Its not illegal to drive thru an amber light.
    I'm afraid it is. An amber means "Stop, unless it is unsafe to do so". An amber should be treated as a red unless you would be unable to stop before the white line or stopping would create a danger to other traffic (by jamming on in the wet for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

OP if you were that oblivious to the fact that this Traffic cop might very well be signalling YOU to pull over considering your driving only seconds earlier maybe you should not be driving at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

I would of just slammed on and if the idiot wasn't on the ball they'd be wearing pavement and a bollocking from their Super. Complete power trip TBH, thank God licencing of drivers is not in the hands of AGS

McCrack wrote: »
    OP if you were that oblivious to the fact that this Traffic cop might very well be signalling YOU to pull over considering your driving only seconds earlier maybe you should not be driving at all?

Why? As I said, is the procedure for getting pulled over in the rules of the road?

I'd never been pulled over before and didn't realise within maybe at max 30 seconds, that this man was trying to pull me over rather than get around me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This guy took his job WAY more seriously than that.

Thats the difference between a traffic cop and one in the public order van on the night shift. Different priorities.
    Its not illegal to drive thru an amber light. The only thing the guard could have pulled you over for is if you sped up when you saw the lights go amber. Other than that the guard was just being a prat.

No more a prat than the person who drives thinking what you do. Amber should be treated like a red.
    I think his criticism was beyond anything constructive. If he really believed my "driving was disgraceful" and that I "was going to cause an accident", surely he is in dereliction of his duty by not taking the car off me?

If Gardaí had the power to take cars of people they see doing something dangerous there would be very little traffic problems in this country.

I would of just slammed on and if the idiot wasn't on the ball they'd be wearing pavement and a bollocking from their Super. Complete power trip TBH, thank God licencing of drivers is not in the hands of AGS

If you did you'd probably would find yourself in court facing up to 5 years for dangerous driving causing serious injury. But I'd say thats just the talk of an internet warrior anyway.

Why? As I said, is the procedure for getting pulled over in the rules of the road?

I'd never been pulled over before and didn't realise within maybe at max 30 seconds, that this man was trying to pull me over rather than get around me.

Well then you were oblivious to the fact then. The procedure when signalled by a member of AGS is to pull your vehicle over in a safe manner and stop and allow that cop discharge their duties. It's common sense really.

k_mac wrote: »
    Thats the difference between a traffic cop and one in the public order van on the night shift. Different priorities.

Umm okay but aren't they still upholding the same laws?
    If Gardaí had the power to take cars of people they see doing something dangerous there would be very little traffic problems in this country.

I was under the impression that they did have that power. Well in that case he should have hit me with the maximum penalty he could if he truly believed I was a danger to myself and to those around me. Otherwise he's being totally negligent.

Well then you were oblivious to the fact then. The procedure when signalled by a member of AGS is to pull your vehicle over in a safe manner and stop and allow that cop discharge their duties. It's common sense really.

No it isn't common sense. Another poster has already said in this thread if it's not possible to pull over you shouldn't. So this sense you talk of isn't really that common, if that's all it is.

Again, if you can link to me where in the ROTR the procedure is for being pulled over I will gladly hold my hands up and say that is what I should know.

Well if that is your attitude/understanding then you really should not be driving.

You did a boo-boo by running the light, seconds later a motorcycle Garda comes up behind you with lights on and give a flick of the siren and you did not for nearly 30 seconds think he was actually signalling YOU to pull over?

That is just ridiculas.

seamus wrote: »
    Except to watch out for traffic which may cross your path. It doesn't matter that you have a green light, there's still a (microscopic) chance that someone coming from the left or right will break them, or that an oncoming vehicle will turn across your path.
    I know nobody really slows down for lights (unless you're barrelling along), but that's the officially correct way to approach it. This is why you'll never see the meaning of a green written as just "Go".

Ah yeah, I know that it doesnt just blanketly mean "go" alright (take everything I say on here with the suffix "when safe to do so" :P), but if the lights have been green when approaching them (ie they havent just turned green) and you are in a flow of cars then, in my opinion anyway, its perfectly safe to proceed at normal speed, obviously being aware of the traffic on the other roads of the junction, and watching for emergency vehicles, but with a reasonable degree of caution there should be no need to slow significantly (or at all) when travelling thru a green light.
    I'm afraid it is. An amber means "Stop, unless it is unsafe to do so". An amber should be treated as a red unless you would be unable to stop before the white line or stopping would create a danger to other traffic (by jamming on in the wet for example).

Exactly; its not illegal to pass thru an amber light :D

Were on the same wavelength I think, Im just wording it differently. You only stop for an amber light if it turns amber when you are far enough back for you to safely do so. Amber is not the same as red tho in that its illegal to pass thru a red light regardless of the circumstances. There are circumstances however that make it perfectly legal to pass thru an amber light.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I would of have just slammed on and if the idiot wasn't on the ball they'd be wearing pavement and a bollocking from their Super. Complete power trip TBH, thank God licencing of drivers is not in the hands of AGS

FYP.

Also, lol @ your attitude.

Well if that is your attitude/understanding then you really should not be driving.

What understanding? The Rules Of The Road?
    You did a boo-boo by running the light, seconds later a motorcycle Garda comes up behind you with lights on and give a flick of the siren and you did not for nearly 30 seconds think he was actually signalling YOU to pull over?

That is just ridiculas.

Fully accept that I may have been able to stop safely before entering the junction and have no problem with that. Again, the Guard did not seem interested in that. He simply asked me did I know what an amber light meant and I answered. He didn't mention it again.

Why is it ridiculous exactly? The seconds later would have been easily ten seconds since I came through the junction before he came up behind me with the lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

A lad i know was on the phone while driving one day, guards pulled him in.

Guard: Do you know why i pulled you in?
    Friend: No.
    G: Don't act stupid.
    F: I don't know why you pulled me in.
    G: I'm giving you one last chance.
    F: Alright, i was on the phone.
    G: You were on the phone too, what i pulled you in for was breaking the red light back the road, that is two laws you are after breaking so, thanks for helping me out.

Friend was sickened, he got done for been on the phone and breaking the red light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Gah .. thats just annoying and causes traffic jams.

They setup the Green wave systems to avoid that sort of thing:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_wave

The ring road around where I live was a total disaster before they brought it in.

Fully accept that I may have been able to stop safely before entering the junction and have no problem with that. Again, the Guard did not seem interested in that. He simply asked me did I know what an amber light meant and I answered. He didn't mention it again.

Why is it ridiculous exactly? The seconds later would have been easily ten seconds since I came through the junction before he came up behind me with the lights.

The Rules of the Road state a person driving in a public place must stop when sigalled by a member of the Gardai. It is contained in the Road Traffic Act 1961 (I'm not going looking for the section). That is the law and I can't see how this can be difficult for any driver to understand. If signalled you pull over and allow that Garda discharge their duty.

It's not difficult really. It is common sense. The fact you ran a traffic light and moments later a Traffic motorbike comes up behind you with lights on and flicks the siren should really register in your head that that cop is asking you to pull over.

You were oblivious to this for 30 seconds and that's what I find nonsensical about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

If you did you'd probably would find yourself in court facing up to 5 years for dangerous driving causing serious injury. But I'd say thats just the talk of an internet warrior anyway.

Now that's a load of tripe if ever I saw it. All drivers are to maintain a safe distance and drive with enough attention to allow for the car in front to perform an emergency stop.

If there was a siren going off behind you, some people's reaction is to stop instantly and not look for a safe place. I've seen it happen in towns especially.

Anyway, what if a cat/dog/fox/football (followed by a small child) ran infront of the leading car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Were on the same wavelength I think, Im just wording it differently. You only stop for an amber light if it turns amber when you are far enough back for you to safely do so.
    "You always stop for an amber unless it would be unsafe to do so."

I can see and you can see how both of those statements are effectively saying the same thing, but can you see the implication of each wording and how the attitude comveyed in the wordings differ?

Your wording (which would be most people's attitudes to amber lights, including mine) reduces the priority of the need to stop for an amber light to something which is only necessary in certain circumstances - it basically says, "You don't have to stop unless". The wording I give above increases the priority of the need to stop to mean that "You have to stop, unless".

The disconnect here is that a Garda will use the wording I have above, whereas most people will have your wording in their head.

"You always stop for an amber unless it would be unsafe to do so."

I can see and you can see how both of those statements are effectively saying the same thing, but can you see the implication of each wording and how the attitude comveyed in the wordings differ?

Your wording (which would be most people's attitudes to amber lights, including mine) reduces the priority of the need to stop for an amber light to something which is only necessary in certain circumstances - it basically says, "You don't have to stop unless". The wording I give above increases the priority of the need to stop to mean that "You have to stop, unless".

The disconnect here is that a Garda will use the wording I have above, whereas most people will have your wording in their head.

Youre right, I completely agree with you. And to be honest this morning is the first time in about ten years that I actually read the ROTR wording regarding amber lights, and the way it is worded is different from how it is worded in my head (despite having the same meaning), and Im sure the way a lot of drivers have it in their head.

I have to admit its rare that I would ever stop dead at an amber light, more so for fear that the person behind me most likely wouldnt expect me to do so and would run up my arse, but its something Ill have to be more vigilant about.

This forum forces me to think about one bad driving habit almost every day; its bloody fantastic :D

I was under the impression that they did have that power. Well in that case he should have hit me with the maximum penalty he could if he truly believed I was a danger to myself and to those around me. Otherwise he's being totally negligent.

So if I'm understanding you right you are giving out that the garda did not prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law and let you off with a scolding.
    ianobrien wrote: »
    Now that's a load of tripe if ever I saw it. All drivers are to maintain a safe distance and drive with enough attention to allow for the car in front to perform an emergency stop.

If there was a siren going off behind you, some people's reaction is to stop instantly and not look for a safe place. I've seen it happen in towns especially.

Anyway, what if a cat/dog/fox/football (followed by a small child) ran infront of the leading car?

You were talking about a deliberate attempt to injure someone by slamming on your breaks. Nothing to do with an obstruction on the road.

If someone stops dead when they hear a siren they are not fit to be driving because they obviously cant cope with anything unexpected which is a necessary skill for driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

:D cant stop laughing at this..

The Rules of the Road state a person driving in a public place must stop when sigalled by a member of the Gardai. It is contained in the Road Traffic Act 1961 (I'm not going looking for the section). That is the law and I can't see how this can be difficult for any driver to understand. If signalled you pull over and allow that Garda discharge their duty.

Yes I'm aware of this. You still haven't told me where the procedure is referenced. As I have never been pulled over, I pulled in when he came alongside me and told me to.
    It's not difficult really. It is common sense. The fact you ran a traffic light and moments later a Traffic motorbike comes up behind you with lights on and flicks the siren should really register in your head that that cop is asking you to pull over.

No it didn't, I thought his intention was to get around me.
    You were oblivious to this for 30 seconds and that's what I find nonsensical about this.

I was unsure of his intention yes, not his presence.

So if I'm understanding you right you are giving out that the garda did not prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law and let you off with a scolding.

I said what I meant. If he believed I was going to cause an accident and was a disgraceful driver, then I would assume he would do his job and uphold public safety.

We as society have granted them to make the judgement call.

So he was either power tripping and/or asserting dominance, or, he was in massive dereliction of duty believing someone to be a disgraceful driver and bound to cause an accident, then telling them to drive on.

Good lord if everyone slowed down to 25mph going thru green lights there would never be any flow in the traffic... :eek: A green light means proceed, at the speed in which you were travelling (where safe to do so obviously). If you are travelling at the speed limit then an amber light should give you plenty of time to slow down before the lights go red, or else pass thru the lights while they are still amber. At normal speed (ie in or around the speed limit) if a light is green as you approach it then there should be no need to slow down.

orly.gif

massive pic removed

Yes it is proven.

See my previous post, when you slow down you cause a ripple effect , in some cases for a few kilometers. This is where phantom traffic jams come from.

I.E. You brake, the guy behind you brakes more than you do and so on, until traffic comes to a complete standstill at some point behind you. This keeps going on until there is a sufficient distance between cars for them to proceed at a constant speed.

The green wave is a method that combats this by setting a speed target rather than a speed limit. The speed target being 70 for example and the lights being timed so that if everyone is travelling at 70 then they will hit a green light every time for that particular route.

Yes it is proven.

See my previous post, when you slow down you cause a ripple effect , in some cases for a few kilometers. This is where phantom traffic jams come from.

I.E. You brake, the guy behind you brakes more than you do and so on, until traffic comes to a complete standstill at some point behind you. This keeps going on until there is a sufficient distance between cars for them to proceed at a constant speed.

The green wave is a method that combats this by setting a speed target rather than a speed limit. The speed target being 70 for example and the lights being timed so that if everyone is travelling at 70 then they will hit a green light every time for that particular route.

for a start the thread is about urban traffic lights in 50kph zones (I presume). Approaching one of them with the expectation it won't go amber then red is simply looney. In the urban situation folks slowing from 50kph to 40kph on the approach to these lights won't create any phantom traffic jams.

Also advanced driving techniques include slowing down a tad approaching green lights and to have a peak across the junction to see is there anyone breaking the red light. If we all did it accidents would be more or less eliminated at red lights.

for a start the thread is about urban traffic lights in 50kph zones (I presume). Approaching one of them with the expectation it won't go amber then red is simply looney. In the urban situation folks slowing from 50kph to 40kph on the approach to these lights won't create any phantom traffic jams.

Also advanced driving techniques include slowing down a tad approaching green lights and to have a peak across the junction to see is there anyone breaking the red light. If we all did it accidents would be more or less eliminated at red lights.

If you reduce your speed to 40km/h, then the person behind you has to as well.

It ends up looking like this:
    swave1.gif

The speed your travelling at is irrelevant, its the variation in speed that causes the jam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

What i find head wrecking on a semi-related note, it how long it takes everyone to move off from a red light changing to green.

In my area, if you're 10 cars back, you can expect to wait 10 seconds before you even get a chance to move once the lights turn green. Drives me mad, especially at lights that change red again in an instant.

What i find head wrecking on a semi-related note, it how long it takes everyone to move off from a red light changing to green.

In my area, if you're 10 cars back, you can expect to wait 10 seconds before you even get a chance to move once the lights turn green. Drives me mad, especially at lights that change red again in an instant.

One of my pet hates. What are these idiots doing in their cars that they are not ready and waiting for the lights to turn green?