Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Freshers Week Events***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'm just gonna tell the SU that they can pay up or I complain formally to the CSC or whoever they report too. I doubt Genockey wants the college administration down his neck as not refunding is illegal and they do represent the college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭theowen

Nobody with a ticket or wristband was turned away at the door as far as I know. There was just hundreds of people outside who were very wet and rumours confused them and they left.

I blame Arthur.
    Rumours? Four Guards and then a couple of bouncers told me to feck off sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Nobody with a ticket or wristband was turned away at the door as far as I know. There was just hundreds of people outside who were very wet and rumours confused them and they left.

I blame Arthur.

Rumors my arse. Two irate bouncers screaming at us to leave and at least ten gardai in sight as well as a van and a patrol car. Wasnt just a case of "not tonight lads".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

theowen wrote: »
    Rumours? Four Guards and then a couple of bouncers told me to feck off sure.

You are a little annoying bastard tbh.

I was the only sober one not shouting expletives at them actually! I'd love to sit in a lecture with you. "Oh my god, he asked another question!".

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

The ironing is delicious.

Take a week off from the forum. It is not the first time you have tried to pick a fight with other members on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Tragedy

theowen wrote: »
    What can you do though?
    Complain to the college, complain to the venue, complain to the people who give the SU, and SU ents money.

And when I say complain, I don't mean whinge, bitch or attack. I mean a short, well written, polite complaint and with respect to the SU, request for full refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭aas

Some drunk girl gave me a broken wristband 10 minutes before I got there and I got in; it was a fantastic night. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Guys,

No one will be getting money back frankly. If you ever look on an event flyer or ticket, all say ROAR, which is right of admission reserved. Essentially for any event they never gaurantee entry.

What happened Thursday was beyond ents control. Genockey is extremly pissed off about the situation in fact.

What happened at the Academy was not only there, same thing happened to Diceys and Dandelion amoung others aparently. Essentially the Guards shut it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Tragedy

timmywex wrote: »
    Guys,

No one will be getting money back frankly. If you ever look on an event flyer or ticket, all say ROAR, which is right of admission reserved. Essentially for any event they never gaurantee entry.

What happened Thursday was beyond ents control. Genockey is extremly pissed off about the situation in fact.

What happened at the Academy was not only there, same thing happened to Diceys and Dandelion amoung others aparently. Essentially the Guards shut it down.
    So why are people saying plenty got in without a wristband? If the bouncers weren't screening adequately, it's up the SU to call them on it and get money back. It's not for individual freshers to do it - especially if things got so out of hand BECAUSE the bouncers weren't doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

If you ever look on an event flyer or ticket, all say ROAR, which is right of admission reserved. Essentially for any event they never gaurantee entry.

Well then in that case I don't think people selling the tickets and wristbands should have been saying things like "you're only guaranteed to get in if you have a ticket or wristband".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Guys,

They can put whatever they want on the ticket, but that doesn't waive your rights as a consumer.

blubloblu wrote: »
    They can put whatever they want on the ticket, but that doesn't waive your rights as a consumer.
    I think it's illegal to do that actually. What different does it make if he's annoyed though? If you bought a jacket from a shop, bring it back and he blames the manufacturer and becomes "really pissed off", would you let him off for the refund?