Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New statue of girl on horse unveiled - looks good?

• 17-09-2010 5:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

What ye think of the tracksuited look immersed in immortality? :):D

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0917/ballymun.html
    rte wrote:
    A 16-foot bronze statue, which was commissioned as part of the Ballymun Regeneration Project, was unveiled today.

The monument of a local girl dressed in a tracksuit on the back of a military-style horse has been temporarily installed outside the local secondary school.

There are plans to move it to the Main Street, but some have objected saying it will encourage negative stereotypes.

Three years ago, when she 17, Toni Marie Shields was asked to model for a statue which would be the centrepiece of a regenerated Ballymun.

Today, now aged 20, she got the first glimpse of her teenage self immortalised in bronze.

The statue was supposed to be located on the Main Street in Ballymun, but plans to construct Metro North got in the way.

And some locals objected, saying it was not a good image for the new Ballymun.

The local secondary school, Trinity Comprehensive, agreed it could be located there.

Labour Councillor John Lyons said the statue should not be moved to the Main Street as reinforced negative stereotypes of the area and represented the old rather than the new Ballymun.

But the Director of the Axis Arts Centre, which commissioned the piece, says it is not supposed to represent the locals but to provoke discussion and debate.

He said the statue will be relocated to the Main Street of Ballymun whenever Metro North is completed, which they hope will be within the next five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I think its quite cool actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Feckin' disaster. Stupid looking yoke. Would be better off showing the girl getting her Leaving Cert or something. Surely there was something better to illustrate the new Ballymun?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Why, just why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Brilliant. I love it. Brings to mind the warrior queens of ancient Ireland, yet with a contemporary feel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

But the Director of the Axis Arts Centre, which commissioned the piece, says it is not supposed to represent the locals but to provoke discussion and debate.

provoke discussion and debate about a skanger on a horse?

This guy needs less funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Quite a nice statue really isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

I really like it. A stereotype? Maybe, but the truth is many Dubliners do wear tracksuits on a regular basis. The point they are missing is that this statue is not intended to judge the girl's clothing but simply represent what is a reality not a glossed over view. Like the article said it is intended to provoke discussion, it is up to us to interpret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

A girl wearing a tracksuit on a military style horse! What a joke.....16ft statue must of cost a bit. Recession no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

um.......why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Ah jaysus.

Im not one for whinging about expenditure and job losses etc, but this does take the biscuit.

Do you know how many wrecking balls you could have bought for the price of that?????!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Is the horse piebald?

... simply represent what is a reality not a glossed over view.

If that's what they were doing she wouldn't be sitting on a healthy looking military style horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

At least she got a ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

So in a 100 years time, they will think we all went around tracksuit laden on horses, not looking good for the reputation of us to our childrens children children :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

I love it, its contemporary and classic at the same time. I understand ppl being upset about it due to the bad economic circumstances we find ourselves in. My only criticism is the style of horse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

prinz wrote: »
    Would be better off showing the girl getting her Leaving Cert or something.

yeah but its supposed to be realistic;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They should put it outside the Dail to remind Brian Cowen of the day he was a little hoarse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Shams wrote: »
    I love it, its contemporary and classic at the same time. I understand ppl being upset about it due to the bad economic circumstances we find ourselves in. My only criticism is the style of horse.

That was the cheap model. A piebald cast would have to be done from scratch while the 16ft charger is always in demand throughout europe,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Dublin what a classy city...a spike is the main monument, they'll have a train station named after a memeber of a boy band, now a 16th station of a girl in a tracksuit riding a horse.

The Paris tourist board must be sh1tting it...the Arc de Triomphe, the Effiel Tower and the Louve Musesum are no match for Dublin what has to offer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I'd get up on that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Interesting that some here think just because she's one of the kids that take care of horses, that she hasn't got a Leaving Cert..

Oh noes, but how could she without grinds and like, private school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Please tell me this is from the Onion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

<points> BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA........... ahem.........hehehe............hum.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHA!

spurious wrote: »
    Interesting that some here think just because she's one of the kids that take care of horses, that she hasn't got a Leaving Cert.. Oh noes, but how could she without grinds and like, private school?

Who thinks she hasn't got a Leaving Cert? Where did I say that? Think before you engage your typing fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

And some locals objected, saying it was not a good image for the new Ballymun

Ah, the special relationship between a girl and her pony. How exactly is that not a good image?

If it did represent the locals, it'd be an awful piebald horse...

I actually think it's quite nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Hazys wrote: »
    Dublin what a classy city...a spike is the main monument, they'll have a train station named after a memeber of a boy band, now a 16th station of a girl in a tracksuit riding a horse.

The Paris tourist board must be sh1tting it...the Arc de Triomphe, the Effiel Tower and the Louve Musesum are no match for Dublin what has to offer
    What's that about a train station?

I think it's good. It is representative of the area. There is no denying that. Mind you, you could put it in Ballyfermot, Clondalkin or Tallaght and it would be as at home as it is in Ballymun.

The only difference between horse riders in Dublin and those in Kildare are the clothes.
    But let's not allow that to get in the way of some good old fashioned AH snobbery.

OMG Skangers on horses lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I say we take off & nuke the entire site from orbit.

Its the only way to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Terry wrote: »
    What's that about a train station?

I think it's good. It is representative of the area. There is no denying that. Mind you, you could put it in Ballyfermot, Clondalkin or Tallaght and it would be as at home as it is in Ballymun.

The only difference between horse riders in Dublin and those in Kildare are the clothes.
    But let's not allow that to get in the way of some good old fashioned AH snobbery.

OMG Skangers on horses lol

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2055963097

TBH i havent really followed the story so i dont know if the statue was built or still to be built

I just don't get it.

Whats the relationship/connection between a young girl in a tracksuit on a horse and the area the statue was placed in?

Is there a prize for solving the mystery of the artist's sculpture?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

She looks like Anto's mott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Biggins wrote: »
    I just don't get it.

Whats the relationship/connection between a young girl in a tracksuit on a horse and the area the statue was placed in?

If you didnt grow up in the 80s watch "into the west"

I just don't get it.

Galway boy.

Darlughda wrote: »
    Galway boy.
    Forgive my stupidity. I have still not a clue.

Terry wrote: »
    The only difference between horse riders in Dublin and those in Kildare are the clothes. But let's not allow that to get in the way of some good old fashioned AH snobbery. OMG Skangers on horses lol

I'd say the DSPCA experience would lead to a different conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hey Tayto.. are we in the West yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Trinity Comprehensive

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I just don't get it.

Ballymun - like most working class areas in the 80s & early 90s - used to be full of scobies in tracksuits riding horses.

There's still a few of them about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Hazys wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2055963097

TBH i havent really followed the story so i dont know if the statue was built or still to be built
    Meh. Local boy done good. I see the thread is locked. I'll just say that I see no harm in this. He was known around the world.
    I'm waiting for the day that AH explodes when something is named after Bono.
    I just don't get it.

Quite a lot of people in the area ride horses whilst wearing tracksuits.

I just don't get it.

The regeneration project seemed to make the place look nicer, then some artist type sticks it to the people with a giant put-down. How would you feel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I thought art was supposed to be uplifting and inspirational - that is just bleak and depressing, glorifying patronising negative stereotypes. imo.

O' right. I didn't want to be derogatory towards the area generally and guess it might be that, thus my asking. :)

Who's Galway boy?

Forgive my stupidity. I have still not a clue.

Ok. Sorry didn't mean to be mean! I like Galway boys.:)

The Ballymun area has been through hell and back. From the removal of people from established communities in the crumblings of the inner city of Dublin in the 1960's, to the heroin epidemics, and horrendous suicide statistics to ongoing prejudices to this day of people being scumbags, knackers, thieves etc from that area.

The regeneration and the axis arts area has been a whole new way for people, and especially disenfrancished young ones from the area to find a voice. They managed to have a concert of hip-hop with NY performers along with seriously talented young people from the area with the traditional Irish music sean-nós singers from Donegal.

The warrior queen on her horse brings to mind Macha and Queen Medb.

There are still many horses around the Ballymun area, that is part and parcel of an older tradition that was romanticised in the film 'Into the West'.

The tracksuit/Pyjamas is (imho) a defiant statement of up yours to the middle class culture of grey/black corporate suits rush houring like sardines to their conventional jobs that people whose address are in a certain area would never have a chance of an interview, boom time or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Let's name it:

Beth on the geegee.

Tracki an the knacki

The tracksuit/Pyjamas is (imho) a defiant statement of up yours to the middle class culture of grey/black corporate suits rush houring like sardines to their conventional jobs that people whose address are in a certain area would never have a chance of an interview, boom time or not.

It's nothing but further ingraining that kind of cod and excuses tbh. There's nothing more patronising than telling people they have nothing better to aim for than repeating the negative stereotypes of the past.
    Teach people to do nothing but give defiant up yours to people they end up abdicating personal responsibility. My boss hails from up one of the towers, now he is a "corporate suit".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Is it? Or is it just laziness?

I still find it strange.
    I can see a car passing every day with a child in the back of it asking;

"Dad? Why is there a woman in a tracksuit on a horse?"

"Dunno son, maybe she was a local famous jockey or something!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

prinz wrote: »
    It's nothing but further ingraining that kind of cod and excuses tbh. There's nothing more patronising than telling people they have nothing better to aim for than repeating the negative stereotypes of the past.
    Teach people to do nothing but give defiant up yours to people they end up abdicating personal responsibility. My boss hails from up one of the towers, now he is a "corporate suit".

I hail from that area too (originally) and couldn't agree more. This sounds like the usual middle-class, almost anthropological attitude towards working class areas. It helps no one and achieves nothing. Except to legitimise an anti-aspirational outlook. again imo.