Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stories of Gardaí being useless.

• 17-09-2010 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I was having a conversation with a friend the other day on how bad/slow the guards are.

Some examples.. One day when I was younger a fella in a balaclava broke into my house which was located down a little cul de sac. He was looking for money it was just myself and my ma in the house.

Eventually there was a struggle in which he accidentally cut her wrist (non life threatening) and ran off. I rang 999 and got diverted to the local guards who said they'd "Send a car down".

40 ****ing minutes later two fat cúnts in uniform arrived in the gate (The station is about a 3 min drive from the house), brought my mum down to the doctor to get stitches and left me in the house hysterical on my own.

He was caught in the end for those wondering.

A few years later the same house was broken into when there was no one home. I arrived there to see the window smashed so I rang the guards again (Was about 15 at this time). They arrived about a half hour later, gave me a hurley and put me in the window to let them in the front door...

Thinking back on it, it's unreal..

Just wondering if anyone has experiences of them taking their sweet time to do anything that actually requires urgent attention? Other than arresting lads on their way home eating a bag of chips for being drunk and disorderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

house broken into a few months ago, brother at home, called the fuzz, said intruders in the house

there in about 2-3 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

i think the garai are awriii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I deal with the Gardaí regularly in work and in every instance they've been with me within 2 minutes of calling.
    (2miles outside of town)

Have nothing but good experience with them.

What's a garaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Sykk wrote: »

If you want to live away from civilisation you have to accept the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I think she's a pretty good actress.
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0304801/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

bluewolf wrote: »
    What's a garaí

Plural of Gary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

bonerm wrote: »
    I think she's a pretty good actress.
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0304801/
    You have a very questionable taste in movies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Can a mod fix the title before the thread gets turned into pointless jibb. May be too late already :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I was having a conversation with a friend the other day on how bad/slow the guards are.

Some examples.. One day when I was younger a fella in a balaclava broke into my house which was located down a little cul de sac. He was looking for money it was just myself and my ma in the house.

Eventually there was a struggle in which he accidentally cut her wrist (non life threatening) and ran off. I rang 999 and got diverted to the local guards who said they'd "Send a car down".

40 ****ing minutes later two fat cúnts in uniform arrived in the gate (The station is about a 3 min drive from the house), brought my mum down to the doctor to get stitches and left me in the house hysterical on my own.

He was caught in the end for those wondering.

They caught the guy. What the f*ck is your problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    You have a very questionable taste in movies.

Surely she's the one with the questionable taste in movies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Only problem with the Gaurdai is that some of them are power-hungry assholes who look for any excuse to arrest yeh. Most of them are dead on though.

left me in the house hysterical on my own.

Did you want them to hold your hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

I love how the first incident is most likely 10 years ago. Let it go man.

bonerm wrote: »
    Surely she's the one with the questionable taste in movies?
    She makes them to get paid, you watch them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Did you want them to hold your hand?

Being 12/13 years old it probably wouldn't have been a bad idea to leave someone there yeah. Not all of us are accustomed to the hellish atmosphere of Limerick there, horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

You think they just have their member's hanging up on hooks waiting for a call OP?.

Its a very busy job, one or two car's could be covering a huge area and no doubt dealing with other crimes.

Do I think they're "still useless" - I've never thought they were useless.

I think some individual members can be useless, but then that goes with every walk of life.

Being 12/13 years old it probably wouldn't have been a bad idea to leave someone there yeah. Not all of us are accustomed to the hellish atmosphere of Limerick there, horse.
    Haha you brought up Limerick, man that was a good one.

12-13 and you need them to hold your hand, in your own home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

If you want to live away from civilisation you have to accept the consequences.

I'm rather keen old chap to know where is this place that you speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Sister in law held up at knifepoint and till robbed, she called the Garda who was in the same town, he wouldnt go up to her as he was in the station on his own, said a couple of hours till the others would be back, She had to call the Garda from another town who landed within 20mins. Other Gards took all the details and were pretty good (and still have been getting the prick to court) her local boys called the following day and reckoned sure yer man is from a good family and the parents might give you the money back and everyone will be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

OP, I'm going to have to totally disagree with what you said. If you take a little walk with your mouse over to the Emergency Services forum, you'll find a nice little thread started by me this morning.

Link if you want.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056034791

regards,

kielmanator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

GOING to bed the other night, I noticed
    people in my shed stealing things.
    I phoned the gardai but was told
    no one was in the area to help.
    They said they would send someone
    over as soon as possible.
    I hung up. A minute later, I rang again.
    ‘Hello,’ I said, ‘I called you a minute ago
    because there were people in my shed.
    You don’t have to hurry now, because I’ve shot them.’
    Within minutes there were half a dozen
    squad cars in the area, plus the garda helicopter
    and the emergency response unit.
    They caught the burglars red-handed.
    One of the gardai said:
    ‘I thought you said you’d shot them’
    To which I replied:
    ‘I thought you said there was no one available.’

Then again, it might have been just a dream ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Meh.....you get a certain percentage of incompetency in every profession.

Some people are sh!t at their jobs, doesn't mean every single person in that particular area of employment is equally useless..

Ive encountered a few idiot gardai in my life, but most of them are sound enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

DRUGS DRUGS DRUGS, thats the magic word , if you ever need gardai to come quickly, just say that word and before you know it , loads of them will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

When I was about 12 my grandmother's house was broken into. Gardai were called and said not to touch anything cos they'd be down to dust for prints. They never did.

My moped was stolen a few years back and I went to report it to the Gardai, they gave out to me for going to the nearest station instead of the one for my area, which was 2 miles away down an unlit lane.

More recently I witnessed two scumbags rigging an ATM with a scanner so I called directory enquiries and asked to be put through to whichever Garda station was responsible for Liffey St. They put me through to Store St, who again lambasted me for calling the wrong station and told me to hang up and call the one at Four Courts. I explained to the Bangarda that I didn't have the number for there, and that I was trying to do the decent thing by reporting a crime, and that she could call Four Courts herself.

So, yes, I'd call them if I needed to, but I wouldn't hold my breath for them to actually do their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Suspected burgalry of neighbours house during the night a while ago, phoned the local station and there was a car on scene within six minutes, two miles outside town.

I think in many areas they've improved significantly, and are really making good efforts to combat the most common crimes and certainly have been very visible in the past few months with more patrols operating, both regular and Traffic Corps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kylith wrote: »
    More recently I witnessed two scumbags rigging an ATM with a scanner so I called directory enquiries and asked to be put through to whichever Garda station was responsible for Liffey St. They put me through to Store St, who again lambasted me for calling the wrong station and told me to hang up and call the one at Four Courts. I explained to the Bangarda that I didn't have the number for there, and that I was trying to do the decent thing by reporting a crime, and that she could call Four Courts herself.

Maybe because there is no 'four courts' garda station?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I have found that the Gardaí are often in places that does not suit me .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

dilallio wrote: »
    One of the gardai said:
    To which I replied:

Copypasta formatting eh? I was all excited that I was going to read a witty poem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Have only had one bad experience with a Garda (and it wasn't even that bad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

dilallio wrote: »
    One of the gardai said:
    To which I replied:

I realise this was just copied and pasted but the writer assumes that the ERU and he helicopter should turn out to a shed being robbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

harcourt maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

nibtrix wrote: »
    harcourt maybe??

Probably the Bridewell i'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

About 15 years ago when my Dad was working in a bank in Waterford the bank was held up by members of the INLA. They didn't hurt anyone but waved some guns around and tied the employees up while taking the money. One of the workers triggered an alarm which alerted the Gardaí and sure enough they were there in minutes, breaking down the door. OF THE WRONG BANK.

By the time they got to the actual crime scene the employees had managed to free themselves and were just sitting around, possibly playing "Stop the bus" or something.

THFC wrote: »
    Only problem with the Gaurdai is that some of them are power-hungry assholes who look for any excuse to arrest yeh.
    Video or GTFO!
    [bout 15 years ago when my Dad was working in a bank in Waterford the bank was held up by members of the INLA.
    When did the INLA rob a bank in Waterford in 1995, or for that matter, rob a bank at all? They're usually the least bank robbery orientated physical force republican group out there so I'm very curious as to whether you can verify this event, and therefore, your anecdote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

ILA wrote: »
    Video or GTFO!

When did the INLA rob a bank in Waterford in 1995, or for that matter, rob a bank at all? They're usually the least bank robbery orientated physical force republican group out there so I'm very curious as to whether you can verify this event, and therefore, your anecdote.

Your name is I-N-L-A and you're complaining about the I-L-A.

Ooooh me smells a criminal :P

Video or GTFO!

They didn't rob it as an organisation, but some of them were members. I also didn't say '95 specifically, all I know is I was young at the time. Early 90s.
    I will interrogate my father the next time I see him if you wish!;)

nibtrix wrote: »
    harcourt maybe??
    Nope, not Harcourt.
    I can't remember the name of it, but it's close to the Four Courts

*google*

Bridewell, probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Its shooting season! why would you call them to ruin the fun!

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    They didn't rob it as an organisation, but some of them were members. I also didn't say '95 specifically, all I know is I was young at the time. Early 90s.
    Was that the bank in Ardkeen by any chance?

Ah well it's just that it's an important difference which often gets lost in media reports and discussions with the effect than an organisation is tarnished by the acts of individuals operating outside their remit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I was on a night out in a West Clare seaside town one night. Left the night club, 2 fellas beating the living daylights out of each other on the footpath, two male gardaí walk down the street............ and step off the footpath to get around them and continue walking! no joke! The Garda van was apparently full and drving a few to the nearest open barracks and the 2 didnt want to have to deal with the ladds and remain near the nightclub til the van came back!!!

That said as a youngster, my dog was hit and killed by a car, a garda took me and my dog (dog wrapped in a blanket) and drove us home! V nice of him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

About 15 years ago when my Dad was working in a bank in Waterford the bank was held up by members of the INLA. They didn't hurt anyone but waved some guns around and tied the employees up while taking the money. One of the workers triggered an alarm which alerted the Gardaí and sure enough they were there in minutes, breaking down the door. OF THE WRONG BANK.

By the time they got to the actual crime scene the employees had managed to free themselves and were just sitting around, possibly playing "Stop the bus" or something.

Surely that is the alarm companies fault. The panic button doesn't go straight to the station. It's like chinese whispers with those systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Unfortunately my local gardai are NEVER in the station. I've ben trying to get an age card off then for over a year now. The station in the town refuses to do it, saying it has to be the little village station near me that does it. I live near a ferry port where a lot of drugs have been found so I assume thats where they always are.

Any interaction I've had with them, they are nice people doing there job. It just annoys me how fussy they are about what station you go too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Got stopped yesterday morning by a cocky young guard who said "you were doing 140km in a 100km zone", I said "no I wasn't , that van couldn't do 140km". He them insists on searching the interior, so I said " you need a warrant", He says "No I don't". I said "Anyway there's a body in the back, and a gun in the front but there not mine because I stole the van". He gets on the radio, 15 minutes later a carload of serious looking lads with machine pistols show up. "Wheres the body" asks the sergeant, "What body " says I. "This guard says that there's a body in the back", "Oh **** off" says I "next thing he'll be telling you I was doing 140km in a 100km zone"

Ah well it's just that it's an important difference which often gets lost in media reports and discussions with the effect than an organisation is tarnished by the acts of individuals operating outside their remit.

According to Dad, Dominic McGlinchey was one of the men involved.
    kylith wrote: »
    Was that the bank in Ardkeen by any chance?

Turns out it was actually Wexford, not Waterford! Geography has never been my strong point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

DoneDL wrote: »
    Got stopped yesterday morning by a cocky young guard who said "you were doing 140km in a 100km zone", I said "no I wasn't , that van couldn't do 140km". He them insists on searching the interior, so I said " you need a warrant", He says "No I don't". I said "Anyway there's a body in the back, and a gun in the front but there not mine because I stole the van". He gets on the radio, 15 minutes later a carload of serious looking lads with machine pistols show up. "Wheres the body" asks the sergeant, "What body " says I. "This guard says that there's a body in the back", "Oh **** off" says I "next thing he'll be telling you I was doing 140km in a 100km zone"

And then you woke up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

poor you, ;) have you 99 problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I used to get a lift home with a girl who's Dad was a gardai. He drove at high speeds down a very windy road, full of speed bumps ON HIS MOBILE!!!! I thought I was going to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

"This guard says that there's a body in the back", "Oh **** off" says I "next thing he'll be telling you I was doing 140km in a 100km zone"

That's a poor version of that joke. :D