Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people buying you drinks on a night out

• 12-09-2010 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

Hey all!

was out last night with the girls and I wasn't drinking cos I had to be up early this morning when a guy started chatting to one of the girls. She had no interest in him but was flirting back, having a laugh. He offered to buy her a drink so she accepted and i scooted off to give them some privacy. A few minutes later she came back and said that he bought her a drink and shot but after drinking them she turned around to him and said something along the lines of 'pass on you' and skipped off. When she said this I was shocked, firstly i thought it was weird that she would accept the drink anyway - putting that aside thats probably not a big deal - the fact she was rude for no reason i found very strange.

would like to hear from ye lovely ladies and gentlemen about if this happens often? like maybe I'm the one who thinks it's weird that there was a need to be rude when he was being nice but maybe it's standard practice on nights out.
    I was saying though what if a guy got really angry and lashed out at the act she took the drink in the first place or for being so rude about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

I remember being out in letterkenny one night with a group, one of the girls with us was very good looking and always had men coming up to her and offering to buy her drinks. I watched as one guy asked her did she want a drink and she said yeah, up he goes to the bar to get her a drink, she took it of him and then turned her back to him and continued chatting to us.

I was disgusted at first but then began to think, well there must come a point when girls get sick of being approached and decide to sting one like that. Also, if a man is going to approach a complete stranger in a bar then he must take the good with the bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

If after chatting to the guy for a while and then accepting drink and fecking off that is rude alright and could well end up with a guy getting angry. In the other case I think guys who just offer drinks straight off are just being silly and in a way nearly deserve what they get. Similarly I have little respect for girl who expect drinks to be bought for them. In your friends case, seems they were chatting a while and if she was flirting back, him offering to buy a drink is a nice gesture (although not gone on the idea of the shot) and her just accepting and walking away is really quite rude, as really shows girls up in a bad light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I'd never treat a man like that if he'd just bought me something! Jeez, he's a person too! :eek:

I usually decline drinks unless it's insisted upon Mrs. Doyle style. Even still, I never do so in such a rude manner, even if I'm not interested I'll still continue in conversation and be civil and polite.

I don't get why some people feel so entitled to treat others like dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

And I don't get why some people feel so entitled as to think this:
    kiwi123 wrote: »
    i thought it was weird that she would accept the drink anyway

I didn't know that it was in the modern etiquette to under no circumstances accept a drink from people you're chatting to, or even worse, that drink accepted = having to get off with the donor.

Weird world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

well he had made it clear he was interested in her, leaning in to try and kiss her,arm around her wait and all that jazz and she was turning round to me mouthing help me. she was flirting back til he leaned in for the kill and she pulled away and then he offered to buy her a drink and she accepted. That's why i think it was strange

. A few minutes later she came back and said that he bought her a drink and shot but after drinking them she turned around to him and said something along the lines of 'pass on you' and skipped off. When she said this I was shocked, firstly i thought it was weird that she would accept the drink anyway - putting that aside thats probably not a big deal - the fact she was rude for no reason i found very strange.
    Jesus H Christ I would have gone mental at her :mad:
    That is in no way acceptable behaviour for anyone and I'm appalled anyone would act like such a brat :mad:
    seenitall wrote: »

I didn't know that it was in the modern etiquette to under no circumstances accept a drink from people you're chatting to, or even worse, that drink accepted = having to get off with the donor.

Weird world.
    Tbh I think it's the sense of fairness in me like I don't like owing people! I don't think I'd feel comfortable accepting a drink unless I'd buy them one later
    and if I don't want to talk to them well then I'm not going to want a drink or to buy them one either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Unfortunately some girls think that they can behave like this and get away with it, and generally, or should i say, the majority of the time it is a particular type of girl... one that i would like to strangle!

So far up their own butts they are unreal!

OK then, well you didn't give the full story the first time though (except that she turned him down in a rude manner, which I agree she did).

Something about that whole situation sounds strange to me alright. I mean, she flirts with this guy, but at the same time mouths "Help me" to you? Then he leans in for the kiss, she pulls away, he offers to buy her a drink, she accepts. At which point you "scoot off to give them some privacy"??

Is it possible that in actuality she wasn't really flirting with the guy, but making a polite chit-chat, hence her being unresponsive to his "move", and her looking at you for help? Also, accepting a drink out of politeness, but the guy taking it as the green light once more, where she got fed up and ended by being rude to him?

And even if she was flirting, I think that the pub is the place for chats, all kinds of social interaction, and yes, even :eek: flirting? That doesn't entitle a guy to feel like he's gonna score cos he bought someone a drink. I suggest that this guy sounds as rude to her as she was to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

lol, broke ass vodka lady of loose moral standing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

ok, less of the whore there Fuzzy!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

OK then, well you didn't give the full story the first time though (except that she turned him down in a rude manner, which I agree she did).

Something about that whole situation sounds strange to me alright. I mean, she flirts with this guy, but at the same time mouths "Help me" to you? Then he leans in for the kiss, she pulls away, he offers to buy her a drink, she accepts. At which point you "scoot off to give them some privacy"??

Is it possible that in actuality she wasn't really flirting with the guy, but making a polite chit-chat, hence her being unresponsive to his "move", and her looking at you for help? Also, accepting a drink out of politeness, but the guy taking it as the green light once more, where she got fed up and ended by being rude to him?

And even if she was flirting, I think that the pub is the place for chats, all kinds of social interaction, and yes, even :eek: flirting? That doesn't entitle a guy to feel like he's gonna score cos he bought someone a drink. I suggest that this guy sounds as rude to her as she was to him.

To even suggest that a girl HAS to stay for the chit chat is ridiculous.
    Walk away....and maybe go dancing with your mates.
    Accepting a drink out of politeness from a stranger that has tried it on is the biggest load of horsesh1t I have ever heard to be honest and your talking out your rearend for even suggesting so.

A drink doesnt entitle him to score. Being a person entitles him to some respect and not to have his dignity striped away because some girl has decided she got what she wanted from him. "Pass on you" doesnt seem like a remark an annoyed person says. It more seems like the remark of a spoilt pretentious self absorbed bimbo that uses people until they have completed their purpose.

Seems even to me that maybe this is a normal social interaction to you though....who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Girls that act like this really annoy me the entitled attitude they have to treat a guy they don't even know like shit. It's just leading the guy on and being rude to someone who doesn't deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Jules wrote: »
    Unfortunately some girls think that they can behave like this and get away with it, and generally, or should i say, the majority of the time it is a particular type of girl... one that i would like to strangle!

So far up their own butts they are unreal!

And it's this attitude that stops decent fellas from approaching any girl on a night out.

I've a bunch of friends from college, all lovely guys, and I asked them would they go up to a girl and chat to her and they all said no. Why? Because some girls turn into absolute bitches on nights out and behave in this manner.

• changes wrote: »
    I remember being out in letterkenny one night with a group, one of the girls with us was very good looking and always had men coming up to her and offering to buy her drinks. I watched as one guy asked her did she want a drink and she said yeah, up he goes to the bar to get her a drink, she took it of him and then turned her back to him and continued chatting to us.

I was disgusted at first but then began to think, well there must come a point when girls get sick of being approached and decide to sting one like that. Also, if a man is going to approach a complete stranger in a bar then he must take the good with the bad.

Nobody deserves to be treated like that. He wasn't being pushy or aggressive. While I agree that girls shouldn't feel they have to score a guy who buys them a drink, it's just bloody good manners to at least acknowledge the person. At the very, very least say "thanks, that was kind of you but better get back to my friends" or something, but why even accept a drink if you don't even want to chat to the person? Just smacks of a girl being a spoiled, mean, golddigging user to me. If someone I have no interest in talking to offers me a drink, I just say no thanks. Not that difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I would never ever accept a drink from a guy and then be so completely rude to him. Tbh, being bought anything actually makes me pretty uncomfortable. I'll stay around and chat with anyone and I don't need money to be spent on me in return. If a guy or anyone buys me a drink, I'd generally offer to buy one in return.

It annoys me to see girls take advantage of guys like that. It's just mean. Being nice costs nothing, and you get back what you give out. :)

castie wrote: »
    To even suggest that a girl HAS to stay for the chit chat is ridiculous.
    Walk away....and maybe go dancing with your mates.
    Accepting a drink out of politeness from a stranger that has tried it on is the biggest load of horsesh1t I have ever heard to be honest and your talking out your rearend for even suggesting so.

A drink doesnt entitle him to score. Being a person entitles him to some respect and not to have his dignity striped away because some girl has decided she got what she wanted from him. "Pass on you" doesnt seem like a remark an annoyed person says. It more seems like the remark of a spoilt pretentious self absorbed bimbo that uses people until they have completed their purpose.

Seems even to me that maybe this is a normal social interaction to you though....who knows.

No, that isn't a normal social interaction to me (I did say the girl was rude!)... not on the either side of the equation, though, which is where I seem to differ from most of the other posters.

How about being a person entitles HER not to be lunged at or groped either before or after accepting a drink from someone? Yes, she should have excused herself instead of accepting a drink, and she was rude at the end of interaction, but that is no reason for a guy to behave like a lecherous jerk, is it? That man needed no help in stripping away his own dignity, I'm afraid.

I have stated my opinion. I have highlighted some of your colourful insults... now, that's what I call normal interaction! NOT. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Ya that's a pretty crap thing to do :/ No excuse/justification for it, it's not any way to treat another person.

If you accept someone buying you a drink like that, and you later find you aren't interested, you aught to buy them a drink in return as thanks at least; it's just the civil thing to do.

What that girl did was just needlessly mean, and not far off robbing someone (imo).

OMG! :eek:

Sorry, I just couldn't help commenting again to say just how wrong I feel this attitude is!

Am I really the only one out there feeling this way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

A simple true or false question for the ladies then:

On an average night out, does a girl accepting a drink from a stranger indicate that she is interested in said guy and would like to continue the interaction to see where it may lead?

Where it may lead could be a couple of things of course; nowhere after deciding they don't have much in common / she don't find him that interesting, an exchange of numbers which shows he has potential or finally, the typical score in club/bar.

gizmo wrote: »
    A simple true or false question for the ladies then:

On an average night out, does a girl accepting a drink from a stranger indicate that she is interested in said guy and would like to continue the interaction to see where it may lead?

False !
    Esp if she buys one back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Happened me once, was chatting to this girl for a bit, you know, trying it on and she reciprocated. Anyways being a nice guy, when I went up to get myself a drink I asked if she wanted one as well, so I bought her a vodka and coke. Anyway she looks at me and goes "you can go now" in a right smug condescending voice and she turns her back.

Thats pretty upsetting. Anyways, we were in the beer garden so I reached over her shoulder and said "excuse me dear"(or something like that) grabbed the drink and poured it on the ground and handed her the glass back.
    Childish? Maybe, but it made me feel better, what an absolute bitch.

No, that isn't a normal social interaction to me (I did say the girl was rude!)... not on the either side of the equation, though, which is where I seem to differ from most of the other posters.

How about being a person entitles HER not to be lunged at or groped either before or after accepting a drink from someone? Yes, she should have excused herself instead of accepting a drink, and she was rude at the end of interaction, but that is no reason for a guy to behave like a lecherous jerk, is it? That man needed no help in stripping away his own dignity, I'm afraid.

I have stated my opinion. I have highlighted some of your colourful insults... now, that's what I call normal interaction! NOT. :rolleyes:

Nobody has done either of those things here.

Do you write for the Sun/Star? because thats some sensational style writing you've got going there.
    She accepted a drink and immediately told the guy get lost.

Lets see then...what factors changed to make her actually tell the guy to get lost at this point in time.

Was it an approach? No he had already shown that.
    Was it his looks? Nope they were present all the time too.
    Was it that she now has a drink and previously did not? BINGO!
    Was it that she was a gold digging tramp that felt she was entitled to benefit from the earning of some guy that thought she looked nice? I think we all know the answer to that

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Happened me once, was chatting to this girl for a bit, you know, trying it on and she reciprocated. Anyways being a nice guy, when I went up to get myself a drink I asked if she waned one as well, so I bought her a vodka and coke. Anyway she looks at me and goes "you can go now" in a right smug condescending voice and she turns her back.

Thats pretty upsetting. Anyways, we were in the beer garden so I reached over her shoulder and said "excuse me dear"(or something like that) grabbed the drink and poured it on the ground and handed her the glass back.
    Childish? Maybe, but it made me feel better, what an absolute bitch.

That was disgusting and disrespectful behaviour on her part, and childish and spiteful on yours, yes.

However, I don't think that the OP's story equates to yours fully. "Pass on you" is not a nice thing to say to someone, but it does depend on the circumstances; if a guy thought nothing of overstepping personal physical boundaries with me cos he felt he was entitled to on account of a bought drink or similar, I would sure think nothing of saying something like that to his face. We don't know if anything of that sort happened in that instance, as the OP was not present to see what actually happened. It wouldn't surprise me if it did, though, just based on the guy's behaviour that the OP has witnessed before she "scooted off to give them some privacy" (this bit still puzzles me - surely a friend mouthing "help me" towards you doesn't usually elicit the reaction of fecking off in the opposite direction?).

If a guy has blatantly come onto you.
    Then offers to buy you a drink.
    It shouldnt be accepted.
    Otherwise its a green light that whats been going on previously is being reciprocated.

castie wrote: »
    Nobody has done either of those things here.

Do you write for the Sun/Star? because thats some sensational style writing you've got going there.
    She accepted a drink and immediately told the guy get lost.

Lets see then...what factors changed to make her actually tell the guy to get lost at this point in time.

Was it an approach? No he had already shown that.
    Was it his looks? Nope they were present all the time too.
    Was it that she now has a drink and previously did not? BINGO!
    Was it that she was a gold digging tramp that felt she was entitled to benefit from the earning of some guy that thought she looked nice? I think we all know the answer to that

Wrong on bolded bit. She had the drink in his company. Which is very different than accepting it and immediately telling the guy to get lost.
    Check the OP for accuracy. ;)

As for the factors, reasons etc, as per my immediately previous post to this, I have outlined a possible reason for this behaviour in this girl, however this would seem to take a huge amount of effort on your part, namely to consider that this girl is just possibly not an utter gold-digging (!) bitch who set out to deliberately entrap the poor innocent guy into buying her drinks, only to get a "pass on you" for all his money and effort.

That was disgusting and disrespectful behaviour on her part, and childish and spiteful on yours, yes.

I would do it again. Absolutely no need to string me along like that at all, all for a bloody drink? Thats exactly the reason why it is hard to go up and actually talk to girls on a night out and exactly why so many guys get tanked before they actually summon up enough Dutch courage to do so.

I was thinking to myself "ah now that wasn't so bad was it!" and was quietly pleased with myself that I had made myself go over. Then she come up with that line? Designed to humiliate me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Sorry, I just couldn't help commenting again to say just how wrong I feel this attitude is!

Ok, the way I put it could seem like a bit of an extreme comparison (to two very different situations), but it's not much different from just straight out robbing a drink off of someone, except with the added slap in the face of having deceived and snubbed the person as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I would do it again. Absolutely no need to string me along like that at all, all for a bloody drink? Thats exactly the reason why it is hard to go up and actually talk to girls on a night out and exactly why so many guys get tanked before they actually summon up enough Dutch courage to do so.

I was thinking to myself "ah now that wasn't so bad was it!" and was quietly pleased with myself that I had made myself go over. Then she come up with that line? Designed to humiliate me?

Should have tipped it over her head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

This is something I feel strongly about, if a girl can't afford her own drink then she shouldn't be out!! My sister does it and it wrecks my head, don't pr!ck tease a guy (and accepting a drink and running off is close to that in my eyes), its not nice and MANNERS COST NOTHING.........

There was absloutely no need what so ever for her to be rude, she took the drink and unless he was mauling her (which from the above he wasn't) she had no right to be soooo rude!!!

Weird world.

I accept drinks from people I know but whether its male or female unless I know them and can buy them back a drink I am very slow to let them buy me a drink!!
    liah wrote: »
    I'd never treat a man like that if he'd just bought me something! Jeez, he's a person too! :eek:

I usually decline drinks unless it's insisted upon Mrs. Doyle style. Even still, I never do so in such a rude manner, even if I'm not interested I'll still continue in conversation and be civil and polite.

I don't get why some people feel so entitled to treat others like dirt.

Exactly, he is a human being too!!!! I took a drink from a guy one night cause he did insist Mrs Doyle style (mainly as a thank you for taking photos of him and his friends) and he thought I was out with my boyfriend and knew I wouln't be going home wiht him!!!

If she wanted to get away from him accepting the drink is DEFO not the way to go!!!! If I am out and a guy is chatting to me and I want to get away I just say "sorry I have to run my boyfriend is waiting for me", or I say "my friends are leaving"!!!!!!!! Easy peasy, no need to stay chatting or accept his drink out of politeness, also I doubt the drink was accepted out of politeness as she was a rude as fcuk after that!!!

Novella wrote: »
    It annoys me to see girls take advantage of guys like that. It's just mean. Being nice costs nothing, and you get back what you give out. :)

Exactly, very well said Novella :D:D:D

And where exactly did the OP say he was lunging and groping her?!?!?!?! She said he was leaning in trying to kiss her to make her aware that he was interested which is good as you will see a thread in the main forum that people are totally unaware that they are being chatted up!!!!!!!!!!!!

Men are not evil, BOTH MEN AND WOMEN ARE CAPABLE OF BEING AS EVIL AS EACH OTHER!!!!!!!!!!!!! Some guys are arseholes, some women are b!tches but not all of them and stuck up girls and pr!cks of guys give the rest of us a bad name....

And if you consider a guy flirting a "lecherous jerk" then you clearly have never been flirted with properly...

Are you jokin?
    "gimme free drink now fcuk off" isn't like robbin?
    Sure it's some gullible creature who might get taken in but lots of people get taken in by lots of things - doesn't mean robbing them is any better

Larianne wrote: »
    Should have tipped it over her head!
    Haha, I thought better of doing that! :D

Pembily wrote: »
    And if you consider a guy flirting a "lecherous jerk" then you clearly have never been flirted with properly...

Hon, I'm 36 years old, I have been flirted with both properly and improperly and lots more besides, :D that's how I know the difference between flirting and a "going in for the kill" (ok, I may be somewhat exceptional, it seems, but I have never gone for the whole idea of having a tongue down a stranger's throat 10 minutes after meeting them, regardless of drinks bought and consumed...).

Do YOU know what flirting is? Cos in my personal experience-dictionary, it is about unspoken little signs of attraction, and it is deffo NOT sucking face with someone or humiliatingly attempting to do so with an uninterested party... or am I just an out-of-the-loop oldtimer? :confused:

Beginning to doubt myself now. Someone tell me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I have two friends who do this in clubs. They seem to think it's fine to accept and then walk off whereas I have always been in the mind set of - if they buy you a drink then they think you owe them something. What normally happens is that we get pestered or receive dirty looks/ nasty comments and it makes for an uncomfortable evening especially if you had planned to stay somewhere for a while. So no I wouldn't accept a drink from a guy I wasn't interested in and I think the poster who poured that girls drink on the ground is entirely in the right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

This is why I don't buy drinks for strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Hon, I'm 36 years old, I have been flirted with both properly and improperly and lots more besides, :D that's how I know the difference between flirting and a "going in for the kill" (ok, I may be somewhat exceptional, it seems, but I have never gone for the whole idea of having a tongue down a stranger's throat 10 minutes after meeting them, regardless of drinks bought and consumed...).

Do YOU know what flirting is? Cos in my personal experience-dictionary, it is about unspoken little signs of attraction, and it is deffo NOT sucking face with someone or humiliatingly attempting to do so with an uninterested party... or am I just an out-of-the-loop oldtimer? :confused:

Beginning to doubt myself now. Someone tell me. :)

Serious cross communication here, from what I read there was no going in for the kill!!!! Also as you can see by the "How often do you get chatted up" Thread a lot of people DO NOT GET the sublte hints and slightly stronger ones are good, now lobbing the gob is clearly not one of those!!!!

Oh I am well aware what flirting is and I do not suck anyones face while flirting, I also do not twirl my hair or any of those stupid things guys say we do. I talk to a guy, might touch a bit, pick up on similiarities, laugh and smile!!!! If I am not interested in a guy who is flirting with me I am honest and polite and let him know that.........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

lad I know was buying a drink for a girl. while he was waiting at the bar, she went off to flirt with some other lad and when she saw he had the drinks she came back over to him.
    he just grinned at her, downed the voda he bought for her and brought his pint back over to our table

oh, we lol'd.

well he had made it clear he was interested in her, leaning in to try and kiss her,arm around her wait and all that jazz and she was turning round to me mouthing help me. she was flirting back til he leaned in for the kill and she pulled away and then he offered to buy her a drink and she accepted. That's why i think it was strange

Crossed wires, indeed. I take it you hadn't read this post by the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

This is why I don't buy drinks for strangers.

it's why i don't buy drinks for anyone anymore - with the exception of you of course - i've had the buy a drink for a 'nice' person before only to be told to **** off or who the hell are you attitude given back to me one too many times.

there's very few situations where i tar everyone with the same brush but this is one of them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I don't get this behaviour. Women moan about how guys don't chat them up, they can't meet nice guys etc then they go and do things like this.

It's hard to approach someone you like and chat to them, it's even harder to do it next time if someone does that to you. Ruins it for people who aren't going to be sh1theads to the guy, he might not walk up to the girl who does like him next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

TBH, I actually don't get this. I would never accept a drink from someone if I didn't intend on getting them one in return, which implies I'm at least going to hang around long enough to drink my drink and order a second.

If the guy in question was getting a little touchy-feely and the girl in question didn't like it, that was the point at which she should have walked away - not a period of time later after she had been bought a drink. IMHO - call me backwards if you will - if someone buys you a drink it's not so you'll F off with it leaving them looking like a gobsh!te, it's to prolong the interaction and it assumes that you will at least have the courtesy to drink said drink in their presence, and offer to return the favour.

While I wouldn't term women of the OP's friend's calibre thieves for taking the drinks they're offered and then toddling off with or without an accompanying insult, I do think it's the height of bad manners and if you're not interested enough in a person to want to spend more time with them, then you shouldn't be taking a drink from them. To say it's done out of politeness is negated when a comment like "pass on you" is tacked on at the end.

I know it can be difficult to get rid of people you don't want to talk to on a night out - some random weirdo came up to me last night and licked my face, for whatever reason - but allowing them to buy you a drink isn't exactly sending the "I am NOT interested" signal as clearly as some posters here seem to think.

Blush_01 wrote: »
    TBH, I actually don't get this. I would never accept a drink from someone if I didn't intend on getting them one in return, which implies I'm at least going to hang around long enough to drink my drink and order a second.

If the guy in question was getting a little touchy-feely and the girl in question didn't like it, that was the point at which she should have walked away - not a period of time later after she had been bought a drink. IMHO - call me backwards if you will - if someone buys you a drink it's not so you'll F off with it leaving them looking like a gobsh!te, it's to prolong the interaction and it assumes that you will at least have the courtesy to drink said drink in their presence, and offer to return the favour.

While I wouldn't term women of the OP's friend's calibre thieves for taking the drinks they're offered and then toddling off with or without an accompanying insult, I do think it's the height of bad manners and if you're not interested enough in a person to want to spend more time with them, then you shouldn't be taking a drink from them. To say it's done out of politeness is negated when a comment like "pass on you" is tacked on at the end.

I know it can be difficult to get rid of people you don't want to talk to on a night out - some random weirdo came up to me last night and licked my face, for whatever reason - but allowing them to buy you a drink isn't exactly sending the "I am NOT interested" signal as clearly as some posters here seem to think.

Some fair points made here. However, I have from the start maintained that the girl was indeed rude and that she shouldn't have accepted that drink (but only due to the very obvious socio-sexual expectation :( built around having a drink bought for self, and not because I think it is automatically inherently immoral of her to do so, just to be clear on that).

What I cannot accept at all, though, is how this girl's character is being completely assasinated by a certain individual's mysogyny on here
    ("spoilt pretentious self-absorbed bimbo", "gold-digging tramp" :rolleyes:) - you don't think that these expressions of judgment and disgust might be just a tad OTT, given that the guy in question, as far as I can glean from the story, wasn't exactly the shining beacon of moral rectitude either, and that it is well conceivable that he, for his part, went a bit too far in the direction of unacceptable behaviour, for all that we know; remember, we don't know what happened, as the OP wasn't present and therefore hasn't witnessed what happened while the two people were actually having that dam' drink? In other words, it is rude to say "pass on you", but so is trying to go "for a kill" on someone just because they are sitting there, chatting to you (with or without flirtation) and having a drink you bought them. At least I wouldn't stand for it, thank you very much. And that certainly doesn't make me a bimbo or a tramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I can't understand why some people are still defending the op's friend's honour, to be frank. She was not happy to be hit on by this guy, but couldn't say that until she had a drink in her hand which he had paid for? Pull the other one.

I don't think anyone should be obliged to talk to someone they don't want to when out for a night out, but if you flirt with someone and they flirt back, then they take the flirting a step further and you don't at least back away or say no, you go so far as to accept a drink (which in the context could be seen as a further acceptance of the behaviour being displayed by the suitor) and then turn around and only at that point make an effort to deflect the attention being paid by the guy, then you are most definitely 100% in the wrong. I find it very hard to fault a guy who is being given signals that are positive until a girl gets what she wants materially, and then she turns cold. It's disrespectful to the men in question, and it's disrespectful to women in general, because if this happens repeatedly to a guy how is he supposed to feel?

I cannot defend the behaviour of someone like that girl. We all meet people we're not interested in, but being polite and fair is substantially different to being golddigging and cold, or being a doormat who does not stand up for herself.

And please, do not try to tell me I am implying women should be the latter when I very much disagree with women feeling beholden to men too. I just think if we were all a bit fairer to each other the world would be a much nicer place.

OH boy, here we go again...

So to quote you, Blush, now: "they take the flirting a step further and you don't at least back away", "I find it very hard to fault a guy who is being given signals that are positive until a girl gets what she wants materially, and then she turns cold."

Did she do any of what you are citing? No. She flirted with the guy. Not such a big crime, is it? When he took the flirting a step further, she pulled away - just as per your etiquette instruction ;), and BEFORE she got what she allegedly was after all along, again as per your rulebook... No one was being exactly fooled here, were they? As for her, AGAIN, not exactly examplary behaviour, but IMO still very far from the epithetes that she has been presented with on this thread.

Again, we don't know what happened while they were drinking, but you, along with a great many on here, seem determined to paint this girl as the sole villain of the situation. Fine.

I just for the life of me cannot understand this entitlement connected with buying someone a drink and quid-pro-quo attitude that is so prevalent on here/in this day and age (?). For me, it will kill off any whiff of a romance quicker than anything, as it smacks of people trying to buy others' attention (or worse). Nothing sadder than that.

Don't know. Perhaps it's a cultural difference too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I can't think of any circumstances under which I'd say 'pass on you' to a guy who was hitting on me in a bar, drunk or otherwise. I can't think of a single female friend of mine who would say anything similar. Like what the hell, who are these women, where is this mentality coming from?

Even if we give this girl in question the benefit of the doubt and assume yer man was pushy, or insulted her or something...I think the normal reaction would be to hand him back his drink and get the hell out of dodge...

I'm not comfortable in general feeling indebted to someone, and invariably that's how I'd feel if a stranger bought me a drink in a bar, so unless it's a good mate and/or we're doing rounds, I'll always politely decline.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

it's certainly needlessly mean, but it's nothing like 'robbing' someone.

If you offer someone a drink and they accept thats all they've done. They don't owe you anything, you offerred it.

If someone acts like the person in the OPs story then the cost of a drink was a small price to pay to be rid of them. Same as anything in life, you live it with a bit of respect for yourself and others and you can hold your head high.

Someone being ingorant and rude reflects on them, not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I never, ever accept drinks from anyone I'm not interested in having that drink with and intend on reciprocating - be it friend or random guy at bar.

I think someone would have to be an idiot not to understand what accepting a drink from a guy explicitly implies - surely no-one thinks the guy just wants to shell out for a drink to show his general appreciation of her aesthetics? :confused: No, it's to trigger a conversation because he's interested in her. If she isn't interested then she should refuse the drink - no wonder guys think girls are a nightmare to approach and disingenuously using them as a free bar.

Thank you, Ms. Magoo. You just perfectly illustrated everything that I think is wrong with this situation, i.e. the swap: drink bought (implies money spent) for attention/conversation. In other words buying it from a girl. Yuck! :(

The bit that I bolded in your post used to exist, actually. I am told it used to be practised by some strange, long since extinct creatures called "gentlemen". You can actually still see some examples of this strange behaviour in films and on TV, if you know when to look. ;)

BTW, although no one asked me, I am going to say that I very very rarely let anyone (male or female) buy a drink for me, and when they do, I make sure it is reciprocated sooner or later. I don't forget. It does sometimes happen, through circumstance, that I stay "owing" people a drink, and some people out there "owe" me one or two, as well. Except I don't look at it that way. :eek:

While I am at it, I will also admit that no way would I ever offer someone a drink with any ulterior motives in mind. That would be disgracing me and disrespecting them. The guy I fancy, if I buy him a drink, rest assured I won't feel entitled to "go in for the kill", he is very free to go his own way, I am not even going to monopolise his attention. That is because I don't think he owes me it, even with the drink I bought in his hand. :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I think assuming a guy buys a drink for any other reason than trying to buy time/conversation is naive in the extreme - at what? Five bucks a pop, you think single blokes out in pubs and clubs are buying drink for women because they are/should be gentlemen and she looks a bit thirsty? Seriously? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

jaysus, as a bloke, if I put in the effort to spark up a conversation with a girl, (which is no mean feat in my opinion, it takes a bit of guts to approach a complete stranger) then go off and buy her a drink after chatting to her for a period of time (obiviously by doing so Im sending out a clear message to the girl that I intend on conversing with her a wee more, possibley get a number, but nothing to do with hoping to end up mauling the face off her or getting the royid or whatever, not all blokes think that way in fairness) and as soon as she gets the free beverage into her hand, she turns around and says "pass on you", I would be grateful to have dodged any further company with that egotistical fool.
    Now I know some lads can be aweful pushy and can't seem to take the hint sometimes, in which case the oul "would you believe, my husband/boyfriend/girlfriend/fecking anything said the exact same thing the other night" type line can be used to get the hint across, (any aul gobshoite should be able to pick up on that type hint) or even at the very start of the conversation if you don't think you are interested, make it known as best you can and make your excuses to leave the fellas company before he even gets the chance to offer to buy you a beverage, don't play the fella along until the freebie is bought, as the girl did in the OP post, thats just horrible treatment of a person, and can be very demoralising for some fellas.
    Im more than likely going to be told I am all kinds of wrong but sure, different folks, different strokes!:)

I think assuming a guy buys a drink for any other reason than trying to buy time/conversation is naive in the extreme - at what? Five bucks a pop, you think single blokes out in pubs and clubs are buying drink for women because they are/should be gentlemen and she looks a bit thirsty? Seriously? :pac:

No, Ms. Magoo, I don't have any such illusions. :( At least, I used to have them, but this thread has certainly done a thorough job in dispelling them...