Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Illegal Irish in the US

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

One thing to also consider is that there is even a debate about using road checkpoints here to check for drunk drivers. People start taking about the Nazi's and Gestapo, so while lots of people would not care if illegals were asked for papers, if they started getting asked there would be a big backlash.

That case went all the way to the supreme court. Since the constitution protects against unreasonable searches, and searches without probable cause, the supreme court judgement was understandably met with astonishment.

OisinT wrote: »
    The simple and unfortunate fact of the matter is that Irish illegal aliens are largely ignored in the US because they are white and they are not taking jobs from "honest, hard-working Americans" - eg farming and labour jobs.

The vast majority of Irish in the US are employed in medicine, business and tech fields and are not illegal. Those that are illegal largely stick to Irish communities and work in bars and restaurants under the table.

In reality it is a lot easier for a non-European to get legally into the US, and has been since the 60's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

send em' all back to ireland, it should wipe the smirk off the racists here who think all our minorities should be sent back.. you dont see germany, britain, holland or sweden for example using emigration as policy to get rid of dissent, unemployment etc, only reason FF own this country is due to emigration over the years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

In reality it is a lot easier for a non-European to get legally into the US, and has been since the 60's.
    Yeah, and a lot easier for a European to stay in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

OisinT wrote: »
    Yeah, and a lot easier for a European to stay in the US.

In terms of entry, it is much easier for Europeans to enter the US, as they are part of the visa waver program.

In terms of residency, since most people get their green cards (permanent residency) through family reunification policies, demographically you are better off being Mexican or Indian or Chinese...with a family member lucky enough to get legal residency in the first place.

In terms of flying under the radar, illegal European immigrants - especially those that speak English - have it a LOT easier than Hispanics. Not only are they less likely to be profiled for papers, but their ethnic networks tend to be a lot better off economically.

charlemont wrote: »
    send em' all back to ireland, it should wipe the smirk off the racists here who think all our minorities should be sent back.. you dont see germany, britain, holland or sweden for example using emigration as policy to get rid of dissent, unemployment etc, only reason FF own this country is due to emigration over the years..

You really need to read a newspaper. Type the countries I have boldified into Google. Also add: right wing.

( and when have FF criticised immigration)

In terms of entry,

In terms of residency, since most people get their green cards (permanent residency) through family reunification policies, demographically you are better off being Mexican or Indian or Chinese...with a family member lucky enough to get legal residency in the first place.

Correct. And that is what I meant, Good correction. Easier to get residency for non-Europeans.

In terms of flying under the radar, illegal European immigrants - especially those that speak English - have it a LOT easier than Hispanics. Not only are they less likely to be profiled for papers, but their ethnic networks tend to be a lot better off economically.

I am dubious that the Kennedys and upper-middle class Irish-Americans spend any time on the born-in-Ireland illegal issue.

In terms of the illegal imigation to the US, Irish illegal immigration ( Irish immigration) is now statistically insignificant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

You really need to read a newspaper. Type the countries I have boldified into Google. Also add: right wing.

( and when have FF criticised immigration)

a guy from florida moved onto the street last summer, paying his own way , had a job in florida but working over the internet , they ( dont know which department ) wouldnt give him whatever visa he needed to stay in ireland, the man wasnt costing us a penny yet he couldnt stay here, i found that very odd..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Electronicus Digitalis

Anyways, as I was saying, I am off. Tired of the situation at home so what is there to lose? I guess a lot of people feel this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

I see the Irish are spreading their toxic, contagious entitlement culture to the USA...a sorry side effect of a decade of Bertie's socialism. Economy in the drain and they still won't cut politicians' wages or the dole, preferring to shut down schools instead. Nobody owes you a visa or a work permit just because you're Irish. In America you earn what you get. Nothing is handed to you on a silver platter like it is back home (€188/wk dole, childrens' allowance, rent allowance, fuel allowance, citizenship handed out like confetti etc). I cringe when our gombeen politicians go begging to Washington every St Patrick's Day, lobbying their politicians to legalize our Irish immigrant criminals. Like America doesn't have bigger things to worry about.
    Anyways, as I was saying, I am off. Tired of the situation at home so what is there to lose? I guess a lot of people feel this way.

I hope you don't plan on working illegally. If so, I'm reporting this post to the Gardai. People have been identified via IP address before and prosecuted for admitting to crimes online. Tired of cowards hiding behind anonymity on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

I hope you don't plan on working illegally. If so, I'm reporting this post to the Gardai. People have been identified via IP address before and prosecuted for admitting to crimes online. Tired of cowards hiding behind anonymity on the internet.

Working illegally in the US is not a crime in this jurisdiction. But sure go ahead an make a report - I'm sure the Guards will type it up on the old invisible typewriter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

dvpower wrote: »
    Working illegally in the US is not a crime in this jurisdiction. But sure go ahead an make a report - I'm sure the Guards will type it up on the old invisible typewriter.

Boards.ie is scared sheetless of legal action being taken against the site, as it was in the past. They will not allow medical advice to be given out in any of the forums or allow posters to advocate entering countries illegally in the travel forums. The quoted poster has (stupidly) announced his intent to commit a crime by working illegally in the USA.

And I will report the post to the Gardai, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thread is eighteen months old, best to lock it at this stage.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.