Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you get chatted up?

• 03-09-2010 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I was talking to a friend today, she is absolutely stunning but said she never gets chatted up.

So how often do you ladies get chatted up?:) And is it usually in nightclubs or does it happen while shopping etc?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I guess it depends on what you mean by chatted up! Nobody has ever (seriously) tried a chat up line on me, but just today I got a leering remark from a man as I walked past him in the train station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

see now, a better question might be 'how often do you notice being chatted up'? Because apparently it happens semi-regularly with me, and i'm just too dim to notice. seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Hahaha same as zoegh, my friends tell me that I was being chatted up and I'm like "no, we were just having a friendly conversation!"
    At that rate, I still don't get chatted up (or chatted to) very often. When it is, it's almost always in a nightclub.

I get chatted up a fair bit. I don't really go out, but I usually get approached by at least one person when I'm in a club. Other than that loads of people try to chat me up at work - though I'm not really sure if that's a ploy to get free stuff. I don't reciprocate very often, though. It takes a lot to lure me out of my shell :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Like another poster said, it depends on your definition of "chatted up." Outside of the pub/club scene, it doesn't happen very often unless you consider wolf-whistles, horn honks, crude remarks and 8 year olds slapping your arse as "getting chatted up."

When at a pub or club, yeah, chances are if I'm not out with a group of lads (which I usually was, only happened once or twice then) I'm going to get someone at least starting conversation. Men don't tend to go straight to the punch, I've never heard a chat-up line before.

Never really been approached in the real world, although last night I was at the harbour with two male friends and a guy came over to us and started talking, mostly to me and kind of blanking the other guys. Turned out he was some kind of competitive sailor (my German isn't that great, that's about all I could get out of it) in for the world cup here over the next week. He was a good looking guy, too :( Kinda wish I wasn't with the lads, I had to go home early because my housemate had to work in the morning and was going to bed and I don't have a key so I couldn't stay out.

Would've, could've, should've... *wistful sigh.* :P

never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

My boyfriend's the only one who notices when I get chatted up; I always think guys are just being nice and talking to me to be friendly! I thought that when I first met my boyfriend too though :o I just don't pick up on any kind of signals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I usually get chatted up by some sleazebag with cheesy lines on a night out. It is becoming increasingly more frequent, as in I think boys think this is what we want?? I'd love a boy to just come up and have a regular conversation with me instead of trying to make me like him with his stupid lines!

But it does leave me with a funny story to tell. Like the last night out when a guy TWICE came up to me and just said Yeehaw! Was he expecting me to jump into his arms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭miec

I was tempted to say not enough, but on reflection, I have been chatted up quite a lot. Mostly when I have been in a relationship which is kind of annoying. I was chatted up once on the Luas on the way to an interview and another time in The Kylemore cafe, looking back the man was really sound but I was in a relationship at the time. Now that I'm single again, the famine is back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Yeah, I never notice, or maybe it's just that I have this whole thing going on in my head telling me that the guy is just being friendly or whatever. I dunno. I mean, last night, I was in a club and was talking to a guy who was our surfing instructor that day and he was so lovely and my friend walked over to me, pulled me aside and said, "Seriously, what are you doing?! KISS HIM! He's been following you around all night!"... I thought he just wanted to be friends.

So, I have no idea!

You would notice if a guy approached you with a cheesy line. Too bad you cant notice the good guys with genuine personality

Aw I wish I was out getting chatted up and not home alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

"Seriously, what are you doing?! KISS HIM! He's been following you around all night!"

And did you??? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

No wonder it's so hard! I thought it was fellas who couldn't pick up on the subtle hints, and even the obvious ones for that matter

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I actually had this conversation with a male friend on Friday night. While I was waiting at the bar, some guy leered "hey blondie" at me, and kept making comments. I smiled politely and looked away. I was giving out back at the table that "hey blondie" is not going to turn me on, and my [male] friend started moaning that he'd never, ever been chatted up. Now, he's a good looking lad, so I suggested that he just hadn't noticed every time it happened, but he was insistent that it just didn't happen.

Later that night, we moved to a bar in town where my two male friends were immediately approached by two foreign girls who started chatting to them. The lads chatted back, friendly out, and the girls left in time. I turned to my friend and said "That was being chatted up" and he looked genuinely surprised! He hadn't gotten it at all. Eejit has probably been missing oodles of opportunities.

To answer the original question, quite often these days. I seem to have grown into myself or something. But it's usually in pubs and I don't trust that it means so much with alcohol. I think my natural expression is a bit pissed off, so I rarely get approached on the street! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Can't this go the wrong way though, and end up with someone thinking a person is chatting them up, when they're really just being friendly?

It seems like too much of a guessing game really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Oftenish but mostly when I am out, I also quite like chatting up guys but they are useless at realising - so you practically just have to say it...
    Can't this go the wrong way though, and end up with someone thinking a person is chatting them up, when they're really just being friendly?

It seems like too much of a guessing game really.

Oh yeah it totally can be and then there are the signs that guys and girls look for!!!! Seemingly if a girl is playing with her hair she is flirting - I always play with my hair, even in my sleep :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

cdaly_ wrote: »
    And did you??? ;)

A lady never tells! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Novella wrote: »
    A lady never tells! ;)

Get in there Novella! Whoo! :D:D:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I reckon anyway that the amount of times you think you've been chatted up is tied in with and proportional to your own sense of self. The more you have that sense of self, the more you spot other people are actively attracted to you because of it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Actually I get chatted up quite a lot. In bars usually. Maybe it's because I'm blonde so therefore I look easy. I don't know. Most of the time I have no interest so I kinda...walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Delicate_Dlite

NEVER! Fecking never!

:D Not that I notice or care,... or anything..:)..just saying.

I'm told it's due to the fact my friends are all men, (they lie to me to make me happy.:rolleyes:). But I noticed that, I used to get hit on rarely, then dyed my natural blonde, to brunnette. And it became never. :(

I recently got 'hit on', well he went to trouble to get my number after we'd chatted. However in the club, he didn't look at me or chat, basically ignored me, it was only after we were 'forced' to chat for a few hours he showed any interest.

So it seems my 'attractve' point is my personality, which I'm choosing to accept. So I guess I'm just not meant to get hit on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

NEVER! Fecking never!

:D Not that I notice or care,... or anything..:)..just saying.

I'm told it's due to the fact my friends are all men, (they lie to me to make me happy.:rolleyes:). But I noticed that, I used to get hit on rarely, then dyed my natural blonde, to brunnette. And it became never. :(

I recently got 'hit on', well he went to trouble to get my number after we'd chatted. However in the club, he didn't look at me or chat, basically ignored me, it was only after we were 'forced' to chat for a few hours he showed any interest.

So it seems my 'attractve' point is my personality, which I'm choosing to accept. So I guess I'm just not meant to get hit on.

Well when you hang around with a lot of guys, it scares other guys off. Maybe one of them will hit on you next time you're out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

It never happens me. I don't even think it's as in I just don't notice. I seem to get some old creepy guys leering alright. and recently I had some lad shout 'I'd have summa that!' towards me, but I don't recognise these things as being chatted up.

Only once EVER been asked for my phone number.and that was by a guy that I didn't fancy, and was out of my 'age range'. I'm still not convinced this is what guys do.... does it really happen? are guys not just looking for a ONS?

Though two possibilities for me never getting chatted up 1) Apparently I look unapproachable, people used to tell me I look like I'm in a bad mood 2) I'm just about always with a group of lads, I just don't know many girls.so maybe guys feel intimidated or something.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm told it's due to the fact my friends are all men, (they lie to me to make me happy.:rolleyes:).

I find this to be true. Most times when I'm out I'll either be the only girl or one of only a couple of girls, if out with just girls you can get a lot more attention in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Rather than say I don't get chatted up :(, I think it might be more self assuring to say that I "just dont notice the signals":p

I find this to be true. Most times when I'm out I'll either be the only girl or one of only a couple of girls, if out with just girls you can get a lot more attention in general.

Perhaps it's true for you, but I do go out alone and with girls, still nothing.
    I am of course not including drunken old men asking are they real.:rolleyes:....but even tht doesn't happen anymore. lol...
    Maybe one of them will hit on you next time you're out.
    They'd better not, there's enough hamster business happening amongst my friends, Thank ya very much. ;)

Sorry about the double post, How do I delete it? :o

Although, I may have to simply go on a 'man ban'... I've sunken to the point that friends are actually bullying their friends to ask me out. :o Oh the shame!!:o:o:o:o:o:o:o

Perhaps it's true for you, but I do go out alone and with girls, still nothing.
    I am of course not including drunken old men asking are they real.:rolleyes:....but even tht doesn't happen anymore. lol...

They'd better not, there's enough hamster business happening amongst my friends, Thank ya very much. ;)

Sorry about the double post, How do I delete it? :o

Although, I may have to simply go on a 'man ban'... I've sunken to the point that friends are actually bullying their friends to ask me out. :o Oh the shame!!:o:o:o:o:o:o:o
    :confused: what is this? Never heard this saying before.
    And sorry ladies, but yes a lot of men would be wary of approaching you if you were in an all male group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I usually assume people are just being friendly or nice to me.

If it ever crosses my mind that I'm being chatted up it renders me silent, makes me blush, and slightly scares me.:o

Ignorance is bliss really.

Giselle wrote: »
    I usually assume people are just being friendly or nice to me.

If it ever crosses my mind that I'm being chatted up it renders me silent, makes me blush, and slightly scares me.:o

Ignorance is bliss really.

I would be just like yourself in thinking a person was just being friendly.
    Though it would be nice to know every once in a while that someone was attracted to you. Imagine the opportunities you may have missed out on?

MoodeRator wrote: »
    Imagine the opportunities you may have missed out on?

What I call being chatted up is sleazy lines, which happens to me far too often! Do they think this is what I want, and do they think it would work? I've missed the opportunity to get with genuine retards.

Can't remember the last time a guy came over who just wanted to have a regular conversation, like get to know me. All they want is to take me home that night.

:confused: what is this? Never heard this saying before.
    And sorry ladies, but yes a lot of men would be wary of approaching you if you were in an all male group.

Sorry the hamster ref, is simply a ref. to improbable's remark abt a mate of mine hitting on me. In our grp, there has been lots of 'inter-dating'. And it's refered to as hamster business.

"like a box of hamsters crawling over each other":rolleyes:

What I call being chatted up is sleazy lines, which happens to me far too often! Do they think this is what I want, and do they think it would work? I've missed the opportunity to get with genuine retards.

Can't remember the last time a guy came over who just wanted to have a regular conversation, like get to know me. All they want is to take me home that night.

Ok this is NOT a good thing! Maybe the tards follishly feel the need to fill up with beer before they are confident enough to approach you? Now having just typed that, even though they are full of beer, it gives them no excuse to be crude and lewd. So may I apologise on behalf of male tards?

Does that mean your classing yourself among them?

Seriously, people think I make up some of the lines lads use on me. I won't post them cause you might vomit

I blame it on Irish drinking/dating culture.

Sorry the hamster ref, is simply a ref. to improbable's remark abt a mate of mine hitting on me. In our grp, there has been lots of 'inter-dating'. And it's refered to as hamster business.

"like a box of hamsters crawling over each other":rolleyes:

HAHA, now that is a funny term. But then the "box of hamsters crawling over each over" made it a little weird:D

My guess would be that the guys are a lot more comfortable asking out girls that are already in their social groups. Though surely that gets a bit messy as each relationship breaks down?

That's what I've a problem with too. as I said I've only ever had one guy actually ask me for my number.

WHOAH, no i do not class myself amongst them. I just meant in reference to guys in general. We are not all as brave as our bravado suggests.
    Though again there is no excuse for the rude, crude and lewd.

Exactly! Like if I wanted I could get with one of these guys every night I'm out, but thats not what I want.

Why don't the nice guys like me :(

Exactly! Like if I wanted I could get with one of these guys every night I'm out, but thats not what I want.

Why don't the nice guys like me :(

Because they get snatched up by demanding women who don't let them leave the house without them. Seen it happen to plenty of my friends. Sad sad situation.

something seriously wrong with this. How can you be attracted to someone if you dont take the time to try to get to know them:confused: Yes I personally think physical attraction is great at first, but primarily that only lasts for a short while.

I HATE crazy girlfriends! Why are guys with them?? I don't wanna sound vain, but I'm a great girlfriend. If I only I had a boyfriend though...

something seriously wrong with this. How can you be attracted to someone if you dont take the time to try to get to know them:confused: Yes I personally think physical attraction is great at first, but primarily that only lasts for a short while.

Cause they only want me for the night!

Cos they're nice guys who don't want to hurt them and see it as sweet and loving. Don't ask me to explain it, its completely illogical.

HAHA, now that is a funny term. But then the "box of hamsters crawling over each over" made it a little weird:D

My guess would be that the guys are a lot more comfortable asking out girls that are already in their social groups. Though surely that gets a bit messy as each relationship breaks down?

Yes, well I believe it's a quote from Two and a half men.
    Basic laziness is what I put it down to. :rolleyes:. But yes, I think it's tht, ppl who you wouldn't have hit on based purelt on looks, u get to know and fancy them. Or the shy ppl have more a chance to relax with/hit on the person they like... tht and a mixed sex grp getting hammered alot together leads to opportunities.

As for messiness,... It keeps things interesting, at least. :P

Princess Peach I've the exact same problem.

Even the one guy that did ask me for my number, he ended up telling me he was moving away in a few months...... so obviously wasn't looking for anything! Not that I wanted anything at the time, and not from him anyway.

I wonder how many guys that go out and are single, and are looking for a girl are 1)looking to get just sex 2)open to dating someone. maybe i should start a poll somewhere :pac:

3) just want to make friends

Improbable wrote: »
    3) just want to make friends

Didn't even think this'd be any guys option on a night out.

I guess I'm just unique and quite improbable at times. :D

Princess Peach I've the exact same problem.

Even the one guy that did ask me for my number, he ended up telling me he was moving away in a few months...... so obviously wasn't looking for anything! Not that I wanted anything at the time, and not from him anyway.

I wonder how many guys that go out and are single, and are looking for a girl are 1)looking to get just sex 2)open to dating someone. maybe i should start a poll somewhere :pac:

Heh, heh, could be worse, the guy I mentioned earlier, who got my number, asked me on a date. I went, he ''suggested'' I wear fake tan/make-up (I was wearing some :() and get my hair done all on the date.. nice guy though.

Then I get, 'I'm not over my Ex'...........but I'm up for casual sex.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Sounds like a keeper alright..... a real catch!