Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lyric fm's Breakfast show presenter - Marty Whelan.

• Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭Yvonne23R

That was an error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Yvonne23R wrote: »
    That was an error.

Happens to the best of us.

Lots of new stuff on the programme this morning including Bolero by Ravel that was done at the Proms. Mart is able to draw the sting out of even long heavy-going numbers like that and make them palatable to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭real rocker

Lots of new stuff on the programme this morning including Bolero by Ravel that was done at the Proms. Mart is able to draw the sting out of even long heavy-going numbers like that and make them palatable to all.

New stuff - surely this is what might be called skating on thin ice of Olympian proportions. UnRavel that one.

That took us a while to figure out! Torville & Dean! Yes, but it's new to the Marty show, because its a difficult number due to being so long. The programme points mean it's hard to squeeze in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

That took us a while to figure out! Torville & Dean! Yes, but it's new to the Marty show, because its a difficult number due to being so long. The programme points mean it's hard to squeeze in.

Another bit of in-house jargon.

What a shill!

No sign of Hawley here recently, for whatever reason. Hmmm. A Byzantine or perhaps a Baroque operatic plot unfolding? Do come back, Hawley! We're getting those North Island Blues without you.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭jmcc

europa11 wrote: »
    Another bit of in-house jargon.

What a shill!
    Must be the Boards.ie chapter for the Association of imaginary friends/fans of the Martydom show. :)

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭DownBeaten

Must be the first time I've ever heard Ravel's Bolero being described as a "long, heavy-going number".

For listeners cutting their teeth so to speak on the real classical its a fairly big ask but Mart has the skills to sugar the pill and show that if he likes it it can't be too bad.

For only €1 099, all or any of ye could be winging it with Marty to Italy with half-board as a special deal. Mart is going to sit at a different table each evening. And you could have got to see how a pro does music radio up close - plus recording the location shots in Venice for Marty in the Footsteps of the Red Priest - Il Pretty Rosso (working title).

Listen up for more.

For only €1 099, all or any of ye could be winging it with Marty to Italy with half-board as a special deal. Mart is going to sit at a different table each evening.
    All aboard for the Martydom love boat? Kind of a sad comedown. Is RTE now selling tours and travel packages with its "stars"? Is this a real venture?

Can we can save €1099 and be fully bored by listening to Marty's show? :)

Regards...jmcc

For listeners cutting their teeth so to speak on the real classical its a fairly big ask but Mart has the skills to sugar the pill and show that if he likes it it can't be too bad.

For only €1 099, all or any of ye could be winging it with Marty to Italy with half-board as a special deal. Mart is going to sit at a different table each evening. And you could have got to see how a pro does music radio up close - plus recording the location shots in Venice for Marty in the Footsteps of the Red Priest - Il Pretty Rosso (working title).

Listen up for more.

This is fricking outrageous. Has boards.ie policy changed to allow free advertising ? Or has this thread not been given its own 'Talk To' forum?
    Bolero. FFS.

@Marty. Thoughts on @Pat Kenny getting the Newstalk gig?great. Deserved it!

@Marty: How do you feel about your show today? Tried 100% all the way!

@Marty: Marty will you just STFU and go and learn how to play music!!! Will you get a life first?

@Marty: don’t rise to it mate. Just sick of negative a..holes sat behind a keyboard with a pitiful life mate !thats all!

@boards: Like I give a XXXX what the haters say! That’s life ! Some people will always be just a little bit better and work just a little bit harder

@boards: Bored now. Marty out.

Almaviva wrote: »
    This is fricking outrageous. Has boards.ie policy changed to allow free advertising ? Or has this thread not been given its own 'Talk To' forum?
    Bolero. FFS.

@Marty. Thoughts on @Pat Kenny getting the Newstalk gig?great. Deserved it!

@Marty: How do you feel about your show today? Tried 100% all the way!

@Marty: Marty will you just STFU and go and learn how to play music!!! Will you get a life first?

@Marty: don’t rise to it mate. Just sick of negative a..holes sat behind a keyboard with a pitiful life mate !thats all!

@boards: Like I give a XXXX what the haters say! That’s life ! Some people will always be just a little bit better and work just a little bit harder

@boards: Bored now. Marty out.

It's not advertising. The musical four of Verona opera and Vivaldi's Venice with Mart booked out solid and is in train. You can't advertise after the fact. And everything is public service, including getting a really good deal from our friends in the Travel business. 140 punters can't be wrong!

It'll be a bit of craic for the lucky party following Marty and for those out there in Radioland. The food in Venice has to be seen to be believed.

Andrea will be offering himself to Mart, and am intensive with Ludovico is on the cards for Il Prete Rosso TV Special, with a new arrangement of Oh Holy Night with Katherine Jenkins by special satellite link to Venice Cathedral. It will be a humdinger for the schedule. Do you remember the Perry Como Does Christmas in Dublin? Like that only updated.

Andrea will be offering himself to Mart

Anyone else think Longford's cathedral is nicer than Venice's anyway ?

That's the one that burned down. Mart was saying that the old opera house in Venice was called La Fenice but boy because that's the Italian for Venice but because its a nickname because it used to get rebuilt from the ashes like the Phoenix. Like in the Phoenix Park. They've run out of money because Silvio wasn't ready to shell out again for an inflammable opera house out on an island. Carla Bruni should have said something to him.

What'chu talkin' bout Y23R ?
    La Fenice is well and truly rebuilt.

Is there a bunga bunga party organised for the lucky 140 as party of the Martyfest ?

(this is like a real conversation between two people)

What'chu talkin' bout Y23R ?
    La Fenice is well and truly rebuilt.

Is there a bunga bunga party organised for the lucky 140 as party of the Martyfest ?
    The site of the Phoenix Opera House as Mart calls isn't on the itinerary. There's a lot to see to fo Venice in a few days so you've to concentrate on the main sights.

Would you support doing Verona with Milano next year? To cover Maria Callas and Tullio Serafin? They're getting in some of her costumes to Newbridge Silverware next year all going well so it could be an ideal tie in. The punters love the Newbridge Silverware jewellery.

No sane human could possibly write the cringeworthy drivel that Y23R comes out with.

The key word being "like"? How do you keep track?

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 5,229 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

DownBeaten wrote: »
    No sane human could possibly write the cringeworthy drivel that Y23R comes out with.
    Well I can think of at least one other person who can/has.

I think I see a few choleric men of a certain age who might benefit from an 8-day coach tour of Verona, Venice & Mantovani territory with Marty!

Mart can and has thawed the most crabbèd ice-bound heart of the sourest Victor Meldrew in his time with a few gentle broadsides of his irrepressible infectious wit.

I think I see a few choleric men of a certain age who might benefit from an 8-day coach tour of Verona, Venice & Mantovani territory with Marty!

Mart can and has thawed the most crabbèd ice-bound heart of the sourest Victor Meldrew in his time with a few gentle broadsides of his irrepressible infectious wit.

Hugo ! :)

Hugo ! :)

Are you thereby admitting something, dear Count Almaviva?

Welcome SaveOurLyricFM !

Do you think Marty is the route to salvation, or the death knell ?

Are you thereby admitting something, dear Count Almaviva?

Me auld flower.

Marty's panache and lightness of touch are the pattern of what's to come. No longer Musical Snob FM, but pleasant, soothing music in daylight, with more user-generated content, competitions, phone-ins, requests, and a recalibration of the service to slightly lighter repertoire. Links with sponsors, and subtle inserts and placement. All integrated organically, with a suite of meaningful Pavlovian jingles. Stripping sports news on the hour and other news on the Hal hour. Plus much, much more. And travel opportunities for talent & punters throughout the year. Synergies with commercial supporters and cross-fertilisation with the other services.

From someone who posts that Ravel's Bolero is a "long, heavy-going number"!

Actually I checked the playlist, the piece listed was an excerpt from Bolero.

@Y23R: For a wind-up merchant you're getting quite boring at this stage.

With only 17 posts, are you in a position to pronounce on anything here, young sir? Or, indeed, about our output!