Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you love about yourself?

• 22-08-2010 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,326 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

That previous post turned out to be a bit depressing (for me anyway :p,) so I thought I would start a thread where we could all shamelessly list all the things we love about ourselves.
    (Mods, please merge or close if there is another thread that I haven't seen. I did check :o)

This could be physical traits, personality, etc.

For me, I love my eyes. I've always been complimented on them, and, if I may say so, they look pretty hot when glammed up.
    I also take great pride in taking care of my fingernails. Slightly anal when it comes down to filing, etc, but I still really like them :)
    I LOVE my hair. I used to hate it when I was younger and had no idea what to do with it. But all I have to do now is wash, towel it a little, a dollop of mousse and I am sorted for the day :)
    I also really like the little mole that's directly underneath my bellybutton, right in the centre of my lower abdomen. I just think it's really cute :o

As for personality. I kind of like my dry humour, and in some ways I kind of like how quiet I can be. It's nice to feel ok with just being a bit of a wallflower sometimes, just mé fein and my thoughts.

So, what about everyone else?

Please someone reply, else I will look soooo feckin' conceited :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Love my smile :D
    Love my eyes :D
    Love my hands :D They make me who I am with work and whatnot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭happyoutish

oooh great thread..

I love the way i'm bluntly honest... some hate it..

I also like my eyes and my damn new body since i lost 3 stone!! Woohoo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Despite the fact that they might not be the smallest or the prettiest things around, I love my legs. They carry me for miles and miles at a time with a relatively low complaint level, and they don't get injured anything like as much as they used to.

I also like my hair, I'm a natural strawberry blonde and people always ask me whether it's really my colour or not.

I was only asking someone the other day did they think your hair was coloured :D I should know myself but didnt look close enough :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

I love my smile, eyes (have been told alot that they're lovely), hair
    I love my body, every inch of it
    I love my drive to suceed in life, having my degrees under my belt- which I am very proud of :D
    I love my quirkyness, sarcasm
    I love my ability to not take sh1t off anyone ie not a pushover :D
    I love alot of things about me (now who's looking conceited :p)
    I wouldn't change anything. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

I love my bluntness / honesty!
    I love my ability to stick with things!
    I love my clevage :D
    I love my smile :D
    I love ability to listen!!!
    I love my skills!
    I love that I went back to college and got my Honours Degree :D
    I love friends, they may be far and wide but they sort me out :D
    I love that I can talk to anyone :D:D:D
    I love my hair and my new (soon to be) hairdresser :)
    I love my eyelashes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Aww I love this thread.

Im loving my hair, which is weird cos I hated it for years. Its soft and shiny.
    I like my boobs too.
    My eyelashes rock, they are so long and with mascara on them Ive been asked if Im wearing falsies.
    I love my friends too, they never cease to amaze me with their support and love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I love my eyes...they change colour depending on my mood. They are really dark blue around the outside of the iris and go to a grey closer to the pupil.

I love my breasts, my calves, my feet, my hair, my hands, my lips, my bum, my brain....most of me actually.

I love telling stories and jokes and making people laugh...

I love having great friends and a really cool family that I didn't appreciate when I was younger.

I love that I can't help being ridiculously logical and literal to the point other people laugh about it - my nickname was/is Spock. :o :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

I love it that I am a survivor. Once one has moved on from abuse and misery, there is no looking back (except in the therapist's chair:D).

I love the fact that I have finally grown to be comfortable in my skin, in my body and in my mind. Less insecurity, more confidence. Less turmoil, more peace. Less negativity, more joy.

Things that are hard won are more appreciated.

I forgot some things about me that I love :D

I love that I'm an awesome hairdresser! I love that I know I'm great at it without being cocky! :D

I also love that in recent years after being bullied as a kid that I dont take sh1t from people anymore! - my personality has changed for the better so much in the last few years!

I really love how my friends, new and old love me for who I am! I must be doing something right if I can make them laugh and them me :D

Lastly I love that I can talk to anyone :) No matter what :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

A yummy-mummy came in to where I work and told me she would pay for my lips. :P I do like them :)

Also, my cleavage and my no bullshít appraoch to life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

This is a definite improvement on the other thread. It's a lot easier to pick out your faults and anyone who's voices the aspects of themselves that they like are considered "conceited" in our society...even the OP was afraid she'd come across that way. Boo to that!

Physically I like my my large lips and eyes and I like my natural hair colour. I like my shoulders and neck and my breasts, my back and my bum. I've a large birthmark on my right leg that's shaped like a J that I hated when I was a teen and I love it now.

Personality-wise, I like that I can easily make most people laugh (except those made of stone). I like to think I'm good craic and I've been told I'm great fun by most people I've spent time with (once again, not the stone-people). I like that I've no problem making an idiot of myself for the sake of the laughs. I'm not vain about looking like a fool all in the name of fun.

I like that I'm down-to-earth, that I've never REALLY fecked anyone over, my heart is generally in the right place and I'm essentially a decent person. In other words, if there's a heaven, I'm in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Didn't we have one of these threads before? (..many times?)...OH WELL! I love talking about myself. Joke.

I love my eyes. Sometimes they are really really blue and sometimes they are kinda greyish.

My hair is nice apparently. Pisses me off most of the time.

I like my legs. They are long and skinny. But not scrawny skinny just nice skinny. I think.

I love (I hate saying love) my stomach. It never really gets very big.

I love that I am very flexible. Wink wink.

I like that am good with dealing with people. Especially in service jobs. And just generally. I think I'm a good waitress.

I like my sense of humour. Well actually it's kinda hopeless but I do tend to make people laugh :)

I like that I am quite down to earth. Probably doesn't seem like it, but I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

I love my lazyness yet I also love that im a sport fanatic.

I love it that i never ever get stressed.

I love it being left handed and right footed, causes a lot of confusion among others :pac:

I love being relaxed most of the time and that nothing gets at me too much.

I love loving life and all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I love my eyes- I get lots of compliments on them.

I love my nose- there's no bone in it, so it's very squishy!

I love my ability to see positive in pretty much everything, and see the best in people. Sometimes it lands me in trouble because I don't see people trying to take advantage of me, but once I spot it I tell them to feck off! But I wouldn't change it for anything, it makes me approachable which is great.

I love my cooking skills. :cool:

I also really like my ability to make people smile and laugh. I don't mind looking like an almighty eejit if it makes someone smile. :)

Oh, and weirdly I love that I don't heal from scars, so I have lots (I'm not exactly graceful!!). They all have a story and a memory, and I love that.

Ok lets see...
    my eyes, they change colour depending on mood/illness, I think they range from a bright blue to dull grey-blue
    my chest :D

my bluntness/honesty (I like to think I have tact sometimes >.> ) my boss put it diplomatically with "well, you have strong ideas..." :D
    my intelligence
    my no-nonsense attitude and not one for small talk
    my talent at music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

[Rasta] wrote: »
    I love being relaxed most of the time and that nothing gets at me too much.

More than anything in the world, I'd love to be more laid-back. Were you always that way?

This thread is great to read....fair play to you wimmins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭MissElle

Aw love this thread! What a great way to make you feel better bout yourself :)

I love my eyes / legs, get a few compliments so they must not be too bad! lol

Also love my scars on my stomach from previously having colostomy bag / bowel surgery. They may not be pretty but they remind me that if I got through that awful time, I can pretty much get through anything! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Elle Collins

Physically, I love my facial structure. When I get a compliment it's usually about my high cheekbones. And I love that I can change the colour of my eyes with make up because they're turquoise, so when I wear brown eye make up they appear blue and when I wear grey or blue they appear light green, which is fun. I also love my legs, they are well shaped and disproportionately long for my body.

Mentally and emotionally, I love that I am in a very healthy place now. I think it comes from being mid-thirties. At this age you can see the bullsh!t coming and figure out how to deal with it before it even arrives.

Spiritually, I am much better connected than I've ever been before in my life. I appreciate the beauty and power and strength of the universe and am much better connected to my place within it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

My boobs! - been asked if they were real before! :D

skin - i never need blusher or glowing creams

legs - the skinniest part of me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Fifilefleure

Well since I posted in the other thread, it makes sense to post here too lol :P I love the fact that I am comfortable in my own skin, that I can see my good qualities and not so good qualities, yet as long as I'm aware of both and their effect on people, I'm happy with my lot!! :)

I LOVE the fact that I have such great friends & family and that no-one is perfect - gives life a great variety and spice. Without the pain, you can't feel the joy....

Physically I love the colour of my eyes, my legs, my boobs, and my warm smile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

I like my hands and my feet. I have the same hands and feet as everybody in my father's family and I'm proud of that. I also like my eyes.

I'm pretty good at the work that I do, which can be quite responsible at times. People trust in me in my work and I like that.

I also like my one real talent. It brings me a lot of joy, and I've worked hard at it. I was recognised for it this year, which was a wonderful feeling that brought both tears and smiles to my face.

I also quite like the life that I'm living now; it's worked out very differently to what I would have thought or even anticipated, but it's very good all the same:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

My voice, get a lot of compliments about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I love my bum, how it looks in jeans/pants, not so much the naked version. I like that I'm pale, it makes being the typical girlie girl dressing up with fake tan too difficult, so I've come to appreciate it. I'm ok with my feet,they're not fabulous but they're ok. I like the curve in my back, down to my bum, it's nice and feminine.

Overall I think I'm great! I'm a great person in lots of ways though can't quite pick out how. It's other people that make me think there's something that isn't great....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

great thread :)

i like my waist.. it proper goes in which gives me some well needed curves
    Ive been told i have a great ass, even by gay men

I love my hands, i have really long fingers. really dainty :)

I like my sholders too - random i know

personality wise, i know im a great friend and a really good listener. there isnt anything i wouldnt do for my friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    More than anything in the world, I'd love to be more laid-back. Were you always that way?

This thread is great to read....fair play to you wimmins!

Yes I always was, I never let myself get worked-up.
    Things are just the way they are,
    what has happened has happened and letting yourself getting very worked up over things is useless.

You just have to give yourself the patience to understand
    who you are and work from there to keep things in a relatively laid-back way.

You have 24 hours in every day, lets say 16 hours(8 hours sleep),
    in those 16 hours I wouldn't be able to understand how you cant be laid back, even with work.
    Just keep the right frame of mind to relax, just believe in everything you do (at your own pace) and you should be good.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

i love how i learned how to turn myself from being the worst-tempered person im my family to the most laid back and placid.
    i love my hair - dead straight strawberry blonde.
    i love that im creative - i love making gorgeous dresses for me to wear.
    i love that i dont have to work hard to be slim.
    im proud that i quit smoking after 16 years on 20 a day.
    im proud that i know my flaws are minor, and my assets are great.
    im proud of me and how i made my life unfold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

There's really not a lot about myself that I like. but some of the few things that I like would be

my hair
    when you've got girlfriends who are jealous of your hair, you know it's good. :D

my hands and wrists
    thankfully, I like my hands and fingers, they're quite slender and so are my wrists.

my hips
    they don't lie :p thankfully, in spite of the unfortunate circumstances of my birth, I got great hips. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Cool thread!

I love the way I am always optimistic, even when crap things happen, I always seem to be able to brush myself off and keep going, and keep others going too.

I love the way if I decide something, I know I'll make it happen. Failure is not an option! :p

I love the way I can spend hours cooking and the time just washes me by smoothly and gently, calming me down after the stresses of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Physically:

I love my hair!
    It was down to my ass until I got a haircut three weeks ago but it's on it's way back down! :p (A man stopped me on the street and told me my hair was beautiful yesterday-made me feel goooood!)

I love my eyes.
    I love my lips. They're quite full.
    I have nice teeth.
    I like my waist and hips. I'm an hourglass.
    I have killer legs.
    I have good cheekbones.

Everything else, I'd probably change.

Personality:

I'm generous. I have good people skills. I'm generally quite confident. I'm a social butterfly in that I love meeting new people and being the life and soul of the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I've a somewhat pretty perfect body, although am starting to get a lil podge belly :/

My hair <3

My legs - I love them to pieces :D

My kindess, I'm always, always there for my friends - I tend to go above and beyond sometimes.

I have a pretty blunt sense of humour which makes it easy to get on with people oddly enough.

I love that I always strive for more, I've got incredible determination in everything I do.

I love that my friends see me as the "go to" person if they have a problem, need something organised etc...

My accent :p

I can cook for Ireland :)

Hallo Mrs Ego and where have you been hiding? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭lil_missy

My face: I like my eyes and my smile.
    Body: Overall body shape.
    Personality: People say i'm caring, i like to believe i can be funny :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I love my eyes, they're really big and blue
    I love my teeth, they're really white, and people are always asking if I get them whitened :)
    I love my hands, they're small and dainty and really soft :) I'm also a musician so my hands are pretty special :P
    I love my fingernails, I keep them filed and in shape and NEVER bite them. They're also naturally french-manicure colour which is handy (saves money at the beautician!!) :)
    My hair has natural blonde highlights in it, always get asked if it's my natural colour :)
    My button nose, seriously cute :L
    My bum is pretty nice too :P
    Wow...never realised what a stuck up b!tch I am :P :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

^^^^ Oh i have the natural French manicure going on all time to :P its great :D

The button nose is very Irish isnt it :P

Eyes the most out of everything :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I've got excellent T and A :).

I like how I think too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Giselle wrote: »
    I've got excellent T and A :).

I like how I think too.

Is that tits and ass :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

caseyann wrote: »
    Is that tits and ass :confused:

No, Toes and Ankles.*

*yes, tits and ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭fiona12

Hi everyone, I am new on LL, like this thread

I love my jaw - silly I know, but its kinda square like SE Bexter, just not as bad
    I love my legs
    I love my hair
    I love my curves
    I love my easy going personality and great humor
    I love my family

Can we do materialistic things too? cause
    I LOVE LOVE my house
    I love my car
    I love my Ipod

Makes one think... we really have a lot to be thankful for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 ArerA

Is it bad that I can't really think of anything?

I'm loyal, I suppose. And I like my eyes.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I just had to join in all the positivity!!

Physically:
    My eyes - they're quite large, a nice shape, and I have huge pupils :D When my irises are showing though they're really cool - dark blue grey, with flecks of brown. I call them my eye-freckles!
    My hair is really straight and really soft. I know I'm really lucky, I don't even bother drying my hair a lot of the time because it doesn't frizz up or anything and it looks good the way it settles!
    My skin is really clear, which I appreciate because I had awful trouble with acne when I was 15/16. I don't need lots of makeup because my skintone is quite even, and I've grown to love that I'm naturally creamy pale. The best compliment is when customers ask me what I use on my face, because they want skin like mine :o
    My lips are quite full, I certainly won't be needing collagen injections!
    My teeth have always been great, I'm so lucky in that respect. I've never needed fillings or braces or anything, and I have a lovely smile
    I have a dimple in my chin, I used to hate it because I had a 'bum chin' but I love it now cos it's really cute
    My boobs are great, quite large without being disproportionate, and thankfully not saggy. Halternecks look fantastic on me
    I have a lovely waist. I've recently discovered the joys of shirts with nipped-in waists and the amazing overall shape it gives me
    My hands are very elegant, with long fingers and beautifully shaped nails. They have been described as 'pianist hands', what a pity I ditched piano lessons when I began secondary school!
    I have really strong legs, great shaped calves, and slender ankles
    I don't know if this counts as a physical trait, but I give awesome hugs!

(I don't know where all that came from, I didn't think I had that many things that I liked about how I look until I made that list!)

Personality:
    I am quite empathetic, good at seeing other people's points of view and understanding where they are coming from
    I'm proud that my friends can tell me about their problems, and know that I am trustworthy and that I will be there for them
    I like that I don't take a lot of things, or myself, too seriously, and that I can still be very silly
    I like that I have grown in confidence since I was younger, and I know that my opinions are valid and worth airing. I will stand up for myself if I think that somebody is being out of line
    I love that I can make people laugh, even if it's not intentional! A day without laughter is wasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭LilMsss

This is a great thread, we need more positivity and solidarity on here as we have enough people willing to rip us apart (ourselves included!) in the real world.

Things I like/love about myself:

- I like my hair, it's soft, blonde and very fine.
    - My eyes, they're an unusual colour and shape and make me feel unique.
    - My tattoos, as they're as much part of me now as my birthmarks and freckles!
    - I have fantastic cleavage, and long, elegant wrists, forearms and hands.
    - My shoulders/clavicle area, as they're broad, strong and well defined, while still being feminine.
    - I love that my body, while it's never been thin, is really strong and supple and let's me do things I never thought I'd be able to, like running, weight lifting, push ups etc ... and do them well! :D

- I love that I choose my battles carefully, and don't waste time fighting for or against those things that just aren't worth my time.
    - I love that I'm the sort of person people gravitate towards.
    - I love that my empathy and love of people helps make me a better person and also gets me in to trouble from time to time (but that I can learn from my mistakes).
    - I love that I'm finally becoming the kind of person I always wished I could be.
    - I love that when I talk, people want to listen (helps in my job as well! :))
    - I love that I have succeeded in many areas of my life, despite the odds being stacked against me.
    - I love that I have a very close extended family, and some friends that I could never do without.
    - I love that I'm creative and put my own colourful spin on the world and my approach to life.
    - I love that people come to me for help and advice, and that I can give it to them to the best of my ability.
    - I love that I have finally come to terms with my past and have finally begun to love myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

I love this thread :D just what i was looking for to cheer me up!

Physically:
    My eyes- they are a lovely blue colour
    My skin- it's pretty clear and i don't get spots often.
    T & A- Apparently these are excellent ;)
    My legs- I have lovely long legs but not too long.
    My body- My stomach is fairly flat but I have lovely curves.

Personality:
    I love that lately I have become more confident :cool:
    My musical ability

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

LilMsss wrote: »
    This is a great thread, we need more positivity and solidarity on here as we have enough people willing to rip us apart (ourselves included!) in the real world.

+1 Agreed!

Physically: I don't really know. I think I've all the bumps and lumps where they should be I guess.

Personality: I think I'm a good person. I'd help out anyone that needs it, and would run rings around them if they were in any kind of trouble. I think I probably care so much about friends and family that I often leave little time for myself. (/has mini melt-down :pac:) I might be up to my eyes with something, but drop it and run to the rescue and play it down to anyone who needs me.

/Abi's house burns down in the back-ground

"Shhh! you're grand. Keep talking"

I think I've the ability to read people well, so if they lie to me and tell me they're ok when they're not, its game over! If someone is sad or upset about something, Abi the cheerer-upper will come out (probably with copius amounts of alcohol) :)

I like that I will probably never 'grow up' in my head, I get this from my Dad :) That probably sounds more like a con than a pro to some, but not me. I think it will be something that will carry me nicely as I get older, and will always have a young heart and mind, and will always be a cheerful person (:

I like that I'm not a materialistic person, and that much smaller simple things make me happy.

But I'm not all sweetness and light =P I like that if someone is being a dick, I've a tongue that could clip a hedge ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

I LOVE my friends. If you are judged by the company you keep then I am lucky to be surrounded by people who make me a better person.

I'm proud of the person I have become. After being very uncertain in myself when younger and possibly up to 4 years ago, I have finally become a person that I am happy with. I'm more relaxed in myself, I put myself out there more and I stand up for myself a lot more.

I have finally grown to like my hair. After wishing it was highlighted, straight when I was younger, I have come to embrace the mad curliness and auburnness of it all.

After years of trial and error (oh the photos), I have finally learned how to dress for my shape. I have curves and shouldn't hide them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

i love the fact that i am tall :)
    i love my tattoo's so much
    thats about it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I love my tattoos, sense of humor, confidence, I'm ambitious, my personality, I'm great at cooking and baking:D:D:D:p

Edit, Forgot to write, I'm so proud of completing my degree in anthropology and setting up my own business:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I like this thread; it's good to get to talk your good points without worrying that people will think you're boasting.

I love my hair, it's shiny and lustrous and a lovely rich brown that people never believe is natural.

I've also come to love the fact that I am petite, when I was younger I always wanted to be taller, but now I love the fact that I am so dainty.

I love my tattoos too. I put alot of thought into each of them so I knew I would never regret them.

My legs. (:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

Boobs, wit and randomness - not particularly in that order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

- I love that my feet are tiny enough for me to purchase shoes out of the kids section.
    - I love how I can open my heart up for my friends, family and boyfriend when needed
    - not being afraid of being a bitch when I need to be ;)
    - A great sense of humour
    - How strong I have become after so many things in life struck me down.
    - I got the courage to go back to education.