Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

getting my rifle threaded

• 16-08-2010 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭

Does anyone know anyone in the laois area or around it who's good at threading rifles for a moderator, I got a previous rifle threaded a few years ago and when I got it back i could see that the threading was slightly off center and the fella had scratched the barrel and marked the stock when he had the rifle in a vice.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Sorry dont know anyone in Laois, but I got this tray online for general gun maintenance, much better than a vice

http://www.ronniesunshines.com/gunsmiths-rifle-maintenance-centre-p-310.html

mtmguncare.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Does anyone know anyone in the laois area or around it who's good at threading rifles for a moderator, I got a previous rifle threaded a few years ago and when I got it back i could see that the threading was slightly off center and the fella had scratched the barrel and marked the stock when he had the rifle in a vice.:mad::mad:

If you are in west laois there is a fella in athlone, who will thread and crown your rifle, and leave it shooting better than it is now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Threading a rifle barrel is a very specialised operation, involving MUCH more than just clamping it into a 3-jaw chuck and winding a thread on the end, and VERY MUCH more than sticking it in a vise and screwing on a die. :eek:

There may be others in the country capable of doing this properly, but the two I personally know of are John Greene (http://www.sro.ie/) in Waterford and Fergal White (http://www.irelandcustomrifle.com/) near Athlone.
    Either of these men will do a top-flight job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

thanks for the help lads...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

hi, nearly sure john conroy does it, dont know how good a job he does, as never got it done, but in regards to any other dealings i have had with him he has been top notch and fair. he is just outside portlaoise in rathineska

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭gentleman jim

john conroy does do it, he threaded my old howa for me. grand job too he did

who is john Conroy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

who is john Conroy?

Erm...........John Conroy
    ...........he is just outside portlaoise in rathineska
    :P

Or do you mean 'WHO' is he and is he as good as your rifle builder type bessy mate ?

I've heard of him and all good things too. Doesn't he do stock adjustments too?

Tac you have to be more specific :P

Erm...........John Conroy :P

Or do you mean 'WHO' is he and is he as good as your rifle builder type bessy mate ?

I've heard of him and all good things too. Doesn't he do stock adjustments too?

Tac you have to be more specific :P

Is he a RFD?
    What is his background?
    How long is he in business?

is that specific enough Bunny?
    Laois is full of Conroys

And I thought my Bessy mate was you ?;)

Is he a RFD?

Yes
    What is his background?

Depends where he's standing really :P .......... Not sure tbh I have seen work he has done on shottie stocks and it is fabulous ;)
    How long is he in business?

As long as I can remember
    is that specific enough Bunny?

Yes
    Laois is full of Conroys?

I'll take your word for that
    And I thought my Bessy mate was you?;)

shhhhhhhhh........you'll make so many of the lads jealous ;)

I'd never heard of him before, As i said laois is full of Conroys, at one time I worked with 7 conroys from laois none related.

Maybe I will ask some of the laois boys ;)

To get the low down:D:D

Ezri & Rovi enter now please

I'd never heard of him before,

:eek: The sheer nerve of him ........... you'd think he's have the decency to introduce himself to you :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I went to the man twice and must say i had nothing but trouble. Once was for a cheek piece spacer and his recommendation was to "tape some foam onto my rifle". Seriously. The second was for a small screw i could not get anywhere. I rang ahead and was told he would have something to sort me out. I arrived at his door 17 minutes later. Waited for 10 minutes for him to arrive to be told at the gate "i looked for that and i don't have one". He wasn't even at home when i rang him so how did he search?

Anyway make up your own mind, but my own personal experience has left me in such a position that i won't darken the door again.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

:eek: The sheer nerve of him ........... you'd think he's have the decency to introduce himself to you :p

Back on topic
    I'd like to see his work and his set up.
    I have seen some god awful thread jobs done.

Not saying he is bad, (he could be great).

I just would want some background info before advertising something that should not be attempted unless one is a skilled craftsperson.

ezridax wrote: »
    I went to the man twice and must say i had nothing but trouble. Once was for a cheek piece spacer and his recommendation was to "tape some foam onto my rifle". Seriously. The second was for a small screw i could not get anywhere. I rang ahead and was told he would have something to sort me out. I arrived at his door 17 minutes later. Waited for 10 minutes for him to arrive to be told at the gate "i looked for that and i don't have one". He wasn't even at home when i rang him so how did he search?

Anyway make up your own mind, but my own personal experience has left me in such a position that i won't darken the door again.

Gosh, that is a bad way to be treated :(
    Back on topic

OK so :(
    I'd like to see his work and his set up.

Well go and have a look I'm sure once he gets your approval he'll never look back :p
    I have seen some god awful thread jobs done.

As have I, not done by this lad though ;)
    Not saying he is bad, (he could be great).

Decent of you not to run him down when you hadn't even heard of him until this evening
    I just would want some background info before advertising something that should not be attempted unless one is a skilled craftsperson.

:confused: and you are able to decide this now :cool:

Gosh, that is a bad way to be treated :(

OK so :(

Well go and have a look I'm sure once he gets your approval he'll never look back :p

As have I, not done by this lad though ;)

Decent of you not to run him down when you hadn't even heard of him until this evening

:confused: and you are able to decide this now :cool:
    1.by getting a good reviews from the Likes of ezridax, and (2) by reading about him in sporting Rifle magazine which mentions some of the best custom rifle builders in the world on the same pages ;)

So far I would have no reason to frequent his establishment.

1.by getting a good reviews from the Likes of ezridax, and (2) by reading about him in sporting Rifle magazine which mentions some of the best custom rifle builders in the world on the same pages ;)

While Ezri seems to know his stuff I haven't as yet placed him on as high a pedestal as you appear to have :p Still hardly qualifies you to determine who is a "craftsman" though ;)

I presume this "him" you are referring to is your friend Figgy :confused:

I've absolutely no idea how he has come into this convo :confused:

But I agree he has been in that magazine with some of the cream of the UK builders which must mean something :cool:
    So far I would have no reason to frequent his establishment.

His loss! I just hope he realises it soon :(

God I'm bored now :(

While Ezri seems to know his stuff I haven't as yet placed him on as high a pedestal as you appear to have :p Still hardly qualifies you to determine who is a "craftsman" though ;)

I've absolutely no idea how he has come into this convo :confused:

But I agree he has been in that magazine with some of the cream of the UK builders which must mean something :cool:

His loss! I just hope he realises it soon :(

God I'm bored now :(

i was talking about Callum Ferguson to name a few, you keep mentioning myself and another man's name!

I do not mention that mans name on here.
    I got enough stick in the past.

Ezridax is a perfectionist, and I do believe will be a serious competitor in the future in FTR.

And I mean serious ;)

and you are able to decide this now :cool:
    1.by getting a good reviews from the Likes of ezridax, and (2) by reading about him in sporting Rifle magazine which mentions some of the best custom rifle builders in the world on the same pages ;).............
    i was talking about Callum Ferguson to name a few, you keep mentioning myself and another man's name!

So where did Ezri do a review on Callum or any of the other in the magazine? I don't remember it. If he hasn't done one on one or more of the others there is only one person who fits the bill upon examination of the information in your post :P
    I do not mention that mans name on here.
    I got enough stick in the past.

Ezridax is a perfectionist, and I do believe will be a serious competitor in the future in FTR.

And I mean serious ;)

I don't know the chap, only read his posts here which are always informative and interesting. More than can be said for others, yourself & myself included ;) So I'll take your word for it. Best of luck to him in his FTR career too :cool:

I'm really, really bored now :(

So where did Ezri do a review on Callum or any of the other in the magazine? I don't remember it. If he hasn't done one on one or more of the others there is only one person who fits the bill upon examination of the information in your post :P
    The Mag I was referring to had a great write up of callum, a nice men BTW.
    I meant ezridax's ref being point 1, and the mag ref point 2

As stated , I should put more time into a reply. I just speak off the cuff

I don't know the chap, only read his posts here which are always informative and interesting. More than can be said for others, yourself & myself included ;) So I'll take your word for it. Best of luck to him in his FTR career too :cool:
    Very interesting
    I'm really, really bored now :(

I have not the patience to sit down and write an essay style answer.

It is by my jibberjabber that I have discovered much from this little think tank called boards.ie

I don't get time to be bored bunny , Far too much research to be done.
    It's hard to be this despised, i have to think up new ways so often!;)

....It's hard to be this despised....

And here's me thinking we were having a cordial exchange of views & opinions with a sprinkling of banter thrown in :(

Thanks for the replies lads, do I need an "s" on my licence before I get it threaded?

I'm thinking of getting 3 or 4 inches of my barrel removed so that'd mean i'll be getting it recrowned also, from what I've been reading I'm only going to lose 100ft per second with no loss of accuracy by going from a 24inch barrel to a 20inch one, but needless to say I'm still a bit worried, unsure about getting this done and am here waiting to hear ye'er views on it.

I'm only an hour and a half away from John Green and from what I've read on <mod snip> and what yee fellas have said he seems to be one of the best if not "the" in the country plus I might get my rifle drilled and tapped for a rail so I might as well go down there for the day and have a look around a new gunshop:D

What I've been reading with regards to shortening a .223 barrel
    http://www.loadammo.com/Topics/October05.htm

The helps much appreciated lads thanks again...:)

Thanks for the replies lads, do I need an "s" on my licence before I get it threaded?

I'm thinking of getting 3 or 4 inches of my barrel removed so that'd mean i'll be getting it recrowned also, from what I've been reading I'm only going to lose 100ft per second with no loss of accuracy by going from a 24inch barrel to a 20inch one, but needless to say I'm still a bit worried, unsure about getting this done and am here waiting to hear ye'er views on it.

I'm only an hour and a half away from John Green and from what I've read on <mod snip> and what yee fellas have said he seems to be one of the best if not "the" in the country plus I might get my rifle drilled and tapped for a rail so I might as well go down there for the day and have a look around a new gunshop:D

What I've been reading with regards to shortening a .223 barrel
    http://www.loadammo.com/Topics/October05.htm

The helps much appreciated lads thanks again...:)

Not a member of Irish shooter so I can't commend.
    I can say I know that if you are shooting sub 400 yards the extra 4 inches being lopped off your barrel will not make a huge difference if it is recrowned properly in the mean time.

Drilling & tapping for a rail is easy if you have the right tool/equipment & knowhow.

I have a 20" Moderated .308 barrel but I got the Magic "S" on it before using the Mod, at the behest of my local FO.

As you are in breach of the terms and conditions of your licence if you use a rifle Mod'ed without a permit.

Where you go to get it done ids up to you.

You have all the info.
    Only you can make that decesion based on knowledge attained ;)

You will have to excuse myself & Bunny for semi derailing this thread

don't worry about it tac, just a bit af crack sure, how exactly do you apply for a moddy, do you just go in and get it approved by the F.O. or do you have to go through the whole rigmorole of applying for a licence again, i.e. forms, waiting for months etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

I was never at John greenes but heard great stuff about him, I've a friend gettin a 25-06 being built by him so I must travel up there myself when he is collecting it to have a look.

Best of luck I'm sure you will get the best advice from either of the two!

don't worry about it tac, just a bit af crack sure, how exactly do you apply for a moddy, do you just go in and get it approved by the F.O. or do you have to go through the whole rigmorole of applying for a licence again, i.e. forms, waiting for months etc.

Just go into FO, state name of mod, where you bought it, and reason you require it. As I was already approved on a ,223 it was no big deal on the .308.

To cover yourself, write out a letter no more than 23 lines explaining why you want it.(they may ask for one, only give if they ask)

I had the permit back in a few days.

That is a very interesting site on barrel lengths.
    Seems the .308 is one of the worst affected by a shorter barrel.

thanks tac, are reasons like:

I don't want to creat a noise disturbance at night when out hunting.

earprotection isnt practical in a hunting role.

legatamate ones.

Yeah that site was interesting, if its the gospel truth, I wouldnt mind shortening my barrel to 20inches, I'd like to see ft pounds included in the chart though just to see what the max kill range on varmints would be.

thanks for the help;)

thanks tac, are reasons like:

I don't want to creat a noise disturbance at night when out hunting.

earprotection isnt practical in a hunting role.

legatamate ones.

Yeah that site was interesting, if its the gospel truth, I wouldnt mind shortening my barrel to 20inches, I'd like to see ft pounds included in the chart though just to see what the max kill range on varmints would be.

thanks for the help;)

That could be one reason, Another could be disturbance to peace, shooting a lot of bunnies etc.
    Or disturbing Horses etc, most horses go Mental if you fire a rifle ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

A little late, but lads any posts by me are opinions, ideas, beliefs, etc, etc. It is not Gospel, law or set in stone and as always i get it wrong form time to time, so please to all/anyone using me or my posts as a stick to beat another in some p***ing match please don't.

Cheers.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I just want to add about using ear protection as a reason for a mod. Fair enough if thats your reason but from what i heard the gardai in some area's dont think this as a good enough reason so be careful. Ps i like bunny and tack's little tiffs.

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I just want to add about using ear protection as a reason for a mod. Fair enough if thats your reason but from what i heard the gardai in some area's dont think this as a good enough reason so be careful. Ps i like bunny and tack's little tiffs.

I know dusty, I wouldn't care less about firing one or two shots a night at foxes without ear protection, my only reason for a moderator would be so I'm not waking up people in the middle of the night and also if I shoot a fox I dont want to scare off every other fox within a mile, was just looking for some other legitamate reasons incase I have to write a letter to the f.o.

.....Ps i like bunny and tack's little tiffs.

We were having a 'discussion' :D

sorry bunny, i meant to say discussions. Im so stupid

Dusty, you're not stupid ;)

You should never run yourself down IMO .......... always plenty of others too happy to do it for you :rolleyes:

Not a member of Irish shooter so I can't commend.........

Aw, you should come over ;) I hear one of the Mods there is a friend of yours :p

<snip>

Well isnt mr b.shooter in quite the slaggin mood tonight:). I like it. Give me a half hour bunny, il be back at ya.

I'mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm back :D

Had a run in with the dentist yesterday :( BUT I'm fine now :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

I'mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm back :D

Had a run in with the dentist yesterday :( BUT I'm fine now :cool:

say he had to ring sam hire for the tools ;)

jwshooter wrote: »
    say he had to ring sam hire for the tools ;)

That's where he got the big angle-grinder :pac:

where he hire the kango? :)

Same place he got the grinder :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I wrote a covernote for all my rifles saying I used it on grounds containing expensive livestock and bloodstock. and did not want to diturb the general public.

On the threading note I did my .17hmr in the four jaw chuck at work, got it all dead centre using a dial guage and went to work on it, turned it down and threaded it up. Worked a treat !!

tfox wrote: »
    I wrote a covernote for all my rifles saying I used it on grounds containing expensive livestock and bloodstock. and did not want to diturb the general public.

On the threading note I did my .17hmr in the four jaw chuck at work, got it all dead centre using a dial guage and went to work on it, turned it down and threaded it up. Worked a treat !!

thanks for that tfox