Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to piss a shop assistant off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

The Agogo wrote: »
    Just to give boardsies some methods of getting on the nerves of shopworkers (of which I am one) throughout Ireland:

This is the equivalent of taping a "kick me" sign to yourself isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

People actually complain about that?! I've never had that issue, the only time scanning items is 'too slow' is when I'm using the self service checkout :(

This also goes for 1c coins. Give people their 1c coin, and they will literally throw it back in your face. Don't, and get the head eaten off you by somebody carrying Brown Thomas bags. Lose/Lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

As a matter of interest, how long does it take for shop assistants to know where the bar codes are on everything? It'd take me ages if I worked on a till!

You kind of get used to most items. In supermarkets, there are about 50 items that you'll get all the time. Things like milk, bread, tins, pizza etc... so you know most products that will be in a few peoples shops.

The rest you either see, or when trying to scan it, just flip it 180 and it will normally scan. I hardly ever 'look' for barcodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Turpentine wrote: »
    You have to be over 18 to buy tobacco and tobacco related paraphernalia, which includes skins and filters. Not a lot of people seem to know that.

Not paraphernalia, products but then this would have been a few years ago when afew of us working a shop were talking about it. (To be honest I don't care enough to check up on it now, you may be right or not I don't think it really matters)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I used to spray this smelly old guy when he wasnt looking. And of course the above also.

GREAT thread. 10/10 - well done son :D

I lolled so hard that I nearly rofled:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Frisbee wrote: »
    I've ID'd people in their 30's before
    Gotta love these barmen. Usually carrying a hefty chip from being ID'd themselves. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

When I worked in America, you had to ID everyone: young, old, unborn....EVERYONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Gotta love these barmen. Usually carrying a hefty chip from being ID'd themselves. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

In fairness, I've ID'd thirty year olds before... Sometimes they look very young! Its always women though because they wear make-up etc... and it kind of throws you off.

With guys its fairly easy to tell once they're past 20-21...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

I have worked in retail (petrol stations, supermarkets and video stores) for 7 years and I have been a customer for as long as I could see over the counter (15 years give or take). I have been living in the US for almost two years now and it's such a culture shock when I go back home. Strangely enough, I miss how everywhere, restaurants, clothes shops, petrol stations, even the cheapest dirtiest places, make sure every customer is acknowledged when they walk through the door.

I miss the smiles from behind the counter, and although they don't really care, I miss the chit-chat, "How is your day going today?; Oh this is a lovely sweater!". I miss the feeling in a store that they actually WANT me to buy something and not feel like I'm a nuisance and taking up their time because if I decide to buy something they might actually have to do work.

On the other hand, I miss customer in front of me responding to the chit-chat with the person behind the counter and maybe even inviting me into the conversation. I miss customers being polite and having a positive attitude about the convenience of the store they are in or the product they are buying. I miss the smile given back from the customer to the person behind the counter as they acknowledge this stranger who will be in their life for the next few minutes and instead of sending out bad karma, they release good vibes, even if they're having a s****y day.

I am completely generalising on the worst of the worst in both situations. I have been that horrible customer who will glare at you for not doing your job faster because I have to get home to watch my shows or get to the next store before it closes.
    I have been the shop assistant who gave you a dirty look or grunted because you made me do a bit extra work or keep the store open five minutes late.

For all of this, I apologise. But I do not believe it is either the customer's or assistant's fault for either situation. I believe it is our attitude as a whole in this country towards all types of retail. Maybe it's because of the hangover we have, or the lack of sunshine this morning, whatever it is, it leaves much to be desired.

Maybe we can fix it, maybe we can't, but from now on, how about we try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Trigger007

This is a really easy one, if a customer/shop assistant is rude to you, be rude back, if they throw the money at you, throw it back, if they ask a stupid question, ask one back!

I have worked in a shop before for long enough and know what its like, sarcasm kept me goin, if customers dont say thanks or even acknowledge you're there, make sure you tell them to have a super fab day, with a big wave or thumbs up as they leave the shop! Might make you seem like your just out of a straight jacket but funny and if there's a q, the rest will get the joke as these rude people are in their minority! Always made me laugh anyway!

On the other hand it really drives me made when shop assistants ignore you and continue chatting to their mate on the next till, no greeting what so ever - in this case after they have put through most of your shopping, just walk away! It might be inconvenient to you but so worth it, and more than likely they'll have to clear their checkout.

Life is too short to get mad so just have a laugh instead! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xkariex

Standing at the counter and saying i want that !! Can't read yere minds at least read the freaking sign !!

People who treat you as if you are a lesser person and should wait on them .. ! And stop pawing the bread in bakerys it's disgusting use the gloves or a bag like come on thats just mank !! !

People actually complain about that?! I've never had that issue, the only time scanning items is 'too slow' is when I'm using the self service checkout :( As a matter of interest, how long does it take for shop assistants to know where the bar codes are on everything? It'd take me ages if I worked on a till!
    The scanner picks up the barcode automatically most of the time. Plus you get used to it after scanning hundreds of items !! :)

i'm 28 and still get asked for ID , its not that hard to carry with you and only takes a second to show , if someone is just doing their job then wtf is the problem ?

I don't have any ID to carry with me :confused:
    It always puzzles me

Note to customers: You do realise that the teenage cashier on minimum wage doesn't actually have any control over the pricing of goods? You realise that right? right?

I think what alot of you need to realize is that we (well at my shop anyway) are given shifts of up to ten hours.
    It's not OK to treat us like part of the woodwork: fling coins and notes at us, yap away on the phone with your backs turned, dump a load of change on the counter demmand we pick out ten euro from it and then get angry when we don't pick out the right assortment change.:mad: (yes that has happened)

I've had a man demmand I go across the shop to get him another chicken and then have the nerve to tell me I'm holding everyone in the que up. Excuse me??:mad:

Isn't ot head wrecking or im late for the bus well why didnt you come in sooner and shop and stop getting me to get you stuff half way through your transaction !!!

This attitude drives me mad. We're paid to facilitate your transaction on behalf of our employer. They get your money, you get your goods/services. That's fine.

We are not paid to take abuse from you because your day is bad or you can't bothered. It is not my job to make you feel better about your place in the world by playing whipping boy. That is not our function, and you shouldn't expect us to take it. We probably will, because we probably have to, but that doesn't make it alright.

Courtesy costs nothing, and not showing the slightest bit of it to somebody just because "they work here" is testament to poor character. I am no less deserving of a minimum degree of basic decency than anybody else. I love my job, but the sheer rudeness that otherwise normal, functional people exhibit to retail staff - consciously and unconsciously, and on a daily basis - defies belief sometimes.
    Well said !:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Dean0088 wrote: »
    In fairness, I've ID'd thirty year olds before... Sometimes they look very young! Its always women though because they wear make-up etc... and it kind of throws you off.

With guys its fairly easy to tell once they're past 20-21...

Well most of the time ive only recently stoped being Id' all the time, ive been Id's at the cinima when I was 25 and when I was 24 I often got charged the child fare on the bus(under 16) until I started getting bus tickets to avoid the hassle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

have to say its not the shop assistants fault if they they dont think your 18 and you dont have id shoudlnt turn around and gie them abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

A V A wrote: »
    have to say its not the shop assistants fault if they they dont think your 18 and you dont have id shoudlnt turn around and gie them abuse

I dont underand why its so much hassle to carry ID just shove it in your wallet for when its needed, still hate being asked though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

as a sales assistant (and a very good one at that) I take pride in my work and always say please & thank you I enjoy conversation with customers because myself and the other two lads in the shop ran out of interesting things ages ago!,I love a chat with customers
    but every day at the very least twice
    the selfishness & ignorance of the people of Dublin (and not just the irish ones) make me so mad I have to bite my lip :mad:

Agogo I feel your pain

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

I dont underand why its so much hassle to carry ID just shove it in your wallet for when its needed, still hate being asked though

ye id put in me wallet if i fcuking got my gardar id , i still havent got mine and i sent away for it the april before last

As highlighted in another thread, we've to put up with **** like this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-10922428

on a regular basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The Agogo wrote: »
    - Most people also STINK. Is it really asking much for you to wash your clothes and body at frequent occasions.

I notice this a lot. BO and bad breath from people who you just wouldnt expect it from.

If its warm and you're sweating and you dont have antiperspirant on then, even if you cant smell it yourself, you stink.

And for gods sake brush your teeth. I dont want to smell your half digested breakfast.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Used to work in a shop and now in a Cinema so I deal with the public everyday, especially now since im on Holidays.

First off, just to say, where I work a huge emphasis is placed on "Guest Service" ie, being nice to customers, making sure every need is met, mainly because we charge ridiculous prices and management knows it. We even have a GSP (Guest Service Point) where you can ask questions about films that are out etc, so I hate it when people assume that just because they had a bad experience in with someone in Tesco or Dunnes or somewhere, they assume that all Retail Staff are rude and obnoxious.

99% of customers are lovely, will say please and thanks, will have a chat with you etc, but there is always that 1% who really do act like pricks.

Couple of points,
    - Please stop telling me that €4.50 is outrageous for a Large Coke, I know it is, I wholeheartedly agree with you, but what would you like me to do about it. Seriously. Do you think that there is a function on the till to reduce the price of something, even if I did have the authority to do so. No one does, not even management.
    - I have no problem at all going through each and every film with you and telling you who is in them, what there about and giving you a recommendation about what to go and see when it's quiet, but, when there is 10 people behind you and every other till also has a queue at it, please dont be offended that I tell you I'm sorry I cant.
    - If I offer you a combo, I am trying to save you money, believe me, no one knows the combinations better than the staff. If we say that a Medium Popcorn and Coke is cheaper that a Medium Popcorn and Small Coke, we are not trying to shaft you, dont look at me so suspiciously.
    - No, you cannot have a student ticket without a student card. There is nothing else to it.
    - No, your 12 year old child can not go with you to see a 16's rated film because you say so. The IFCO cert is imposed by the Government, if we let you in, I could personally get fined, and so could the cinema, so again, no.

OK, i realise that was long, but once I started I couldn't stop.

TL: DR version

Not all retail staff are bad, some are good, don't do stupid things to cinema staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

I really hope the attitude of people going into shops/pubs/hotels and being ignorant and rude to staff
    especially from older people dies out with that generation, the sooner it does the better

at least it's only a handful of people in this thread who still have that level of ignorance and selfishness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

dannym08 wrote: »
    Used to work in a shop and now in a Cinema so I deal with the public everyday, especially now since im on Holidays.

First off, just to say, where I work a huge emphasis is placed on "Guest Service" ie, being nice to customers, making sure every need is met, mainly because we charge ridiculous prices and management knows it. We even have a GSP (Guest Service Point) where you can ask questions about films that are out etc, so I hate it when people assume that just because they had a bad experience in with someone in Tesco or Dunnes or somewhere, they assume that all Retail Staff are rude and obnoxious.

99% of customers are lovely, will say please and thanks, will have a chat with you etc, but there is always that 1% who really do act like pricks.

Couple of points,
    - Please stop telling me that €4.50 is outrageous for a Large Coke, I know it is, I wholeheartedly agree with you, but what would you like me to do about it. Seriously. Do you think that there is a function on the till to reduce the price of something, even if I did have the authority to do so. No one does, not even management.
    - I have no problem at all going through each and every film with you and telling you who is in them, what there about and giving you a recommendation about what to go and see when it's quiet, but, when there is 10 people behind you and every other till also has a queue at it, please dont be offended that I tell you I'm sorry I cant.
    - If I offer you a combo, I am trying to save you money, believe me, no one knows the combinations better than the staff. If we say that a Medium Popcorn and Coke is cheaper that a Medium Popcorn and Small Coke, we are not trying to shaft you, dont look at me so suspiciously.
    - No, you cannot have a student ticket without a student card. There is nothing else to it.
    - No, your 12 year old child can not go with you to see a 16's rated film because you say so. The IFCO cert is imposed by the Government, if we let you in, I could personally get fined, and so could the cinema, so again, no.

OK, i realise that was long, but once I started I couldn't stop.

TL: DR version

Not all retail staff are bad, some are good, don't do stupid things to cinema staff.

I agree with you mate. I've worked in retail for 5 years, some (not all) customers can be quite ignorant and rude to you and those working around you. I think that usually the best customers are those who work in retail themselves as they know the sort of problems that go on in that line of work.

BTW speaking of cinema staff, i went to the movies a few weeks back and as i was walking toward the screen, i was asked for my ticket. with the amount of food i had i dropped my hotdog and the staff member suddenly start sayin "Not my fault, not my fault" as if i was about to blame him for my mistake. LOL the world we live today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭tread_softly

My 5 year anniversary in retail is coming next week! I enjoy shedding a tear over my degree before I go to work everyday.

I'm polite to my customers and the majority of them are pleasant back. If they're rude, I still act the same. It's enjoyable to sarcastically say "you're welcome!" to an ignorant customer who couldn't even waste their breath on a simple thank you.

But another that irks me is when a manager overrules you even when you're following store policy.

Yesterday I was working on the customer service desk when a customer came in looking for a refund on a bottle of wine. He had no receipt so I politely refused his request.
    He got all flustered saying that I should scan it and it'll show up on our system to prove it's from the shop. I told him many other stores could stock this particular brand, how do I know you bought it here? I'm not risking my job giving you a refund just to shut you up.

Anyway, he asked to speak to a manager so I called one knowing I would be backed up. After a heated discussion, the customer returns to the desk with a triumphant look on his face. The manager agreed to a refund and I was made to look like a fool.

We'd get a warning and possibly even fired for going against store policy, but why bother when managers disregard it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

i think it's a bit of a tricky one, like, many people saying, if they're nice, be nice back etc, but when i worked retail, it was really hard to be nice if your previous customer was some weapon giving out to you. I think this thread proves that both customers and staff are capable of being very rude. I always go out of my way to be nice to waitstaff/retail staff, cus i worked it and know it's a pain in the ass, but i think people who haven't worked retail can be a bit more insensitive. That said, generally speaking i have noticed a declining rate of hellos and thank yous in retail in general. does irk me. [i don't think staff should be bowing and scraping, just normal politeness!! :D]

when i was working in a bookshop, a customer was just leaving with her kid [of about 5 years old], and she bought a book, and just as she was leaving the counter said "we had a bit of an accident in the children's section". I didn't immediately twig to what this meant, but i was working with a hilarious canadian girl at the time who straight away said "are you talking about urine?"And the woman just laughed and nodded and walked away, like it was an amusing faux pas! I know this is more an oblivious mother thing, then rude customer thing, but like, your kid peed on the floor, at least be a bit embarassed and apologise! and we'd no mop. The place was a mess! [also it was in a shopping centre, so there were toilets just outside!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Raspberries

Feu wrote: »
    when i was working in a bookshop, a customer was just leaving with her kid [of about 5 years old], and she bought a book, and just as she was leaving the counter said "we had a bit of an accident in the children's section". I didn't immediately twig to what this meant, but i was working with a hilarious canadian girl at the time who straight away said "are you talking about urine?"And the woman just laughed and nodded and walked away, like it was an amusing faux pas! I know this is more an oblivious mother thing, then rude customer thing, but like, your kid peed on the floor, at least be a bit embarassed and apologise! and we'd no mop. The place was a mess! [also it was in a shopping centre, so there were toilets just outside!]

I've been there!! Twice in fact in the past year, and I work in a bookshop too!! The first time the Mother was completely embarrassed, as was the kid, I couldn't help but feel sorry for the poor thing. In fairness each time the parents let me know straight away, but still it's not nice mopping up urine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I've been there!! Twice in fact in the past year, and I work in a bookshop too!! The first time the Mother was completely embarrassed, as was the kid, I couldn't help but feel sorry for the poor thing. In fairness each time the parents let me know straight away, but still it's not nice mopping up urine.

try vomit AND i kid you not, shit/poo/feces/whatever your calling it yourself (nappy leaked). Both of which have been found in screens in the cinema. Luckily I wasn't working when the nappy leaked, but I've cleaned up my fair share of vomit.

Have been told about it most of the time, and usually the parents are very apologetic about it. The was one time, however, I smelled something disgusting in one of the corridors, so I investigated. I checked behind all the Standees (the big cardboard things that advertise movies) and sure enough behind the last one was a nice pile of vomit. Some people really have no shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

I used to work in a Maccy D's and on the day it was being inspected, someone took a **** in the urinal.

Not a trough urinal, a bowl one.

I would have simply refused to clean that had I been asked.

A friend of mine worked in a shoe shop in carlow town (the cheap one on main street, you knows it) and someone took a steaming dump on the middle of the open floor. she had a rather unpleasant present to deal with.