Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bring back lugs brannigan

• 04-08-2010 6:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

I was chatting to the old man today, some scumbag keyed his new car today outside the office. when they checked the CCTV it was a local scumbag well know by the garda , the scumbag was off his head, at one stage during the incident the guy was lying on top of the car. My father rung the garda and they came straight away , and they recognised the well know scumbag. two hours later the garda arrived with the scumbag pissing himself and spitting , they made him apologies and said they were happy to leave him with my father for a few hours , but my father said he needed a few slaps to learn the lesson and told them to arrest him even thought he will get away as he has hundreds of convictions

I think its time we brought back the lugs brannigan school of thought;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sounds like you've already had a few slaps to the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

It's not Lugs Brannigan we need.

Times have changed and when Charles Dickens wrote the law is an ass he wasnt joking. The Gardai can only operate within the confines of the law and therein lies the difficulty.

Relevant laws that actually force people to think about their actions are required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

D.R cowboy wrote: »

Does anyone have any information on Lugs? He's a legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

It's called a Sunday Independent opinion piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

This thread was done before...possibly by the same OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    Does anyone have any information on Lugs? He's a legend

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Christopher_Branigan

If Paul Carney said he was a legend. then he is definitely a legend, because Paulecarney is a legend

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/capitals-streets-would-be-safer-under-the-old-guard--judge-1616874.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

No, leave lugs buried in the past where he belongs. Giving a police force licence to beat the crap out of anyone they take a mind to, is never a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Dr. No

Rubik. wrote: »
    No, leave lugs buried in the past where he belongs. Giving a police force licence to beat the crap out of anyone they take a mind to, is never a good idea.
    Why so, because?

Dr. No wrote: »
    Why so, because?

Far a start, they are paid to uphold the law - not to break it.

well I dont mind them breaking the law off some scumbags head:D

You wont have to worry if you have done nothing wrong;)

Scumbags like those mentioned by the OP deserve a mighty kick up the hole not sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there would be more brassers on the street if someone like him was around again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

was known for using physical force against petty criminals, which he admitted to doing to avoid excessive paperwork.

Lazy as well as a thug

No thanks, that belongs in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

thought it was another dublin/commuting and transport thread, thought the OP said bring back 'luas balbriggan'

Lazy as well as a thug

No thanks, that belongs in the past
    So how do deal with petty criminals so. Hold their hands and tell them its alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Lugs Brannigan = Jebediah Springfield.
    A good kicing disembiggens the smallest scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

So how do deal with petty criminals so. Hold their hands and tell them its alright.

That's ridiculous and I never posted that

Realy, the answer is somewhere in the middle and it's for the courts to punish petty criminals, not gardai cracking heads
    Blame the courts who let people clock up thirty plus convictions and not the gardai who apprehend and charge them and get them to appear in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The Law ain't working regarding scumbags, so time to give the Gardai more power to deal with them, it's either that or it will be Vigilantes taking the law into their own hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Do not feed this troll, I'm sure he'll be banned again within a few days anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Lugs Brannigan is no better than the scumbags that roam the streets today. He just got paid for beating up people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

galwayrush wrote: »
    The Law ain't working regarding scumbags, so time to give the Gardai more power to deal with them, it's either that or it will be Vigilantes taking the law into their own hands.

You might want to clarify what the OP defines as a scumbag before hopping on his wagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Get rid of the judiciary and replace them because the current crop seem to have it majorly wrong, and are distinctly out of touch with reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 nube dube

maybe revenge for p***ing on him!

You might want to clarify what the OP defines as a scumbag before hopping on his wagon

Exactly, the new group of "lugs" might consider you and your 3 mates going to the pub to be a group of scumbags and teach you a lesson.
    They were talking about lugs branigan on the radio the other day, people thinking it was great they way he's stop kids playing football and "give them a bit of a clatter". This guy was huge, with massive hands, and there's idiots on the radio thinking he's great for giving kids "a clatter"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

F*ck this Lugs Brannigan prick - he sounds like a half minded, f*ckwit, backwards twat.

What we need is Robocop.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Exactly, the new group of "lugs" might consider you and your 3 mates going to the pub to be a group of scumbags and teach you a lesson.

Sounds heavenly compared to other stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

well I dont mind them breaking the law off some scumbags head:D

You wont have to worry if you have done nothing wrong;)

It's like I'm really reading the Daily Mail!

Sounds heavenly compared to other stuff

Brilliant spot! Nicely exposed the troll!

Morkarleth wrote: »
    It's like I'm really reading the Daily Mail!
    Nah I am even more right wing than the Daily Mail:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

The pc brigade here should take heed of these comments before passing judgement on Brannigan.
    "Nowadays, in more politically correct times, he would probably be abolished by the Garda Ombudsman Commission,and possibly also prosecuted,

"Had his unit, known as Prevention and Detection of Street Nuisances, been continued rather than disbanded on his retirement, I suspect that the streets of Dublin would be considerably safer than they are now.
    -Justice Paul Carney
    "There is an onus on us to ensure that the guardians of law and order are protected. We have reached the point where the balance of advantage has been taken from the gardaí and given to the criminals. As a university student I recall seeing Garda “Lugs” Branigan in the Olympic Ballroom. He parted the hordes like the Dead Sea to take three people who were in front of the band stand into the back alley and rendered his own justice. Nobody protested. I am not suggesting that we return to those days but I believe that the balance has gone too far in the other direction."
    -Senator David Norris
    Detective Branigan in his day enjoyed the respect of the community, the bench and those he prosecuted
    wikipedia

Back in his day people had respect for the law, if you stepped out of line you got a belt from this lad. By all accounts it did the trick. can anyone from the PC brigade tell me that the same can be said off todays society.
    Seems if you way things up the positives outweighed the negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

skelliser wrote: »
    The pc brigade here should take heed of these comments before passing judgement on Brannigan.

-Justice Paul Carney

-Senator David Norris

wikipedia

Back in his day people had respect for the law, if you stepped out of line you got a belt from this lad. By all accounts it did the trick. can anyone from the PC brigade tell me that the same can be said off todays society.
    Back in the day we would bang rocks together to make fire. It was fine then, but time moved on.

If gardaí start smacking scumbags, the scumbags will start shooting the gardaí.

humanji wrote: »
    Back in the day we would bang rocks together to make fire. It was fine then, but time moved on.

If gardaí start smacking scumbags, the scumbags will start shooting the gardaí.

absolute rubbish man, obviously I don't expect the cops too take on the big guys eg murder

I mean teenage scumbags, robbers, People on Drugs, people verbally abusing people etc

On a case to case base, guys you know what Dublin can be like, i really do not need to explain myself:rolleyes:

Lets make this thread about Zapp Brannigan.. he's much cooler, and his quotes are much more sexified

-Justice Paul Carney

-Senator David Norris

wikipedia

People didn't respect Brannigan, they feared and hated him!
    You talk about the "pc brigade" as if it's a bad thing. Brannigan beat up innocent people that he thought looked wrong. Back in his day long hair and a motorbike meant you had a good chance of getting beaten up by him.

I reckon it's just trolling on here, but police like lugs brannigan are utter scumbags, don't try and make them out to be heros. They breed hatred for the policeforce, not respect. I normally like David Norris, but on this occasion he got it badly wrong.

What, like back in the golden age of industrial schools like Letterfrack and Artane? If you give powers, like the ones you're suggesting, to the police they will be abused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

absolute rubbish man, obviously I don't expect the cops too take on the big guys eg murder

I mean teenage scumbags, robbers, People on Drugs, people verbally abusing people etc

On a case to case base, guys you know what Dublin can be like, i really do not need to explain myself:rolleyes:
    You never know, they might even sort out those Billy Goats that have plagued your sort since time immemorial.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Blame the courts who let people clock up thirty plus convictions and not the gardai who apprehend and charge them and get them to appear in court
    +1000. We need a decent judiciary with some bloody cop on and consistency. Ask any Guard. They will catch low level scumbags on the way to becoming fully fledged scumbags and they get frustrated with the courts letting these people off the hook. That frustrates them and drops morale. The 3 strikes your out thing worked well in New York and I argue it would work well here too.

The Lugs approach while fine to look at in the rear view mirror wont work today. The odd time maybe, but personally I would have issues with some muppet pulling "I am de Laaaw" on me and getting punchy and the real scumbags as humanji would simply off someone like that. TBH if someone charged with upholding the law landed me in hospital with a beating I would be tempted to off him myself. In this country if I didn? I'd likely not serve more than 8 years tops. Different times.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

Maybe the scumbag was related to the guy u p*ssed on in in Dun Laoighre.... Cant say I'd blame him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I'd rather have Zapp Brannigan than Lugs Brannigan...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

What, like back in the golden age of industrial schools like Letterfrack and Artane? If you give powers, like the ones you're suggesting, to the police they will be abused.

I was waiting for this argrument, imo it has nothing to do with Brannigan. i dont see the thousands of ciminals Brannigan dealt with looking for redress or compensation.

PARARORY wrote: »
    Maybe the scumbag was related to the guy u p*ssed on in in Dun Laoighre.... Cant say I'd blame him :D

No he has no friends

And FTW Myself and the guys often bring him food and give him money, we all know him. And if any of the real scumbags do be perishing him we send them packing very lively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

I was chatting to the old man today, some scumbag keyed his new car today outside the office. when they checked the CCTV it was a local scumbag well know by the garda , the scumbag was off his head, at one stage during the incident the guy was lying on top of the car. My father rung the garda and they came straight away , and they recognised the well know scumbag. two hours later the garda arrived with the scumbag pissing himself and spitting , they made him apologies and said they were happy to leave him with my father for a few hours , but my father said he needed a few slaps to learn the lesson and told them to arrest him even thought he will get away as he has hundreds of convictions

based on what you've previously told us about your father i don't see him as any more moral than said scumbag (post 47):

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64946685#post64946685

was he going to get his mate around and double team the offender?

genericguy wrote: »
    based on what you've previously told us about your father i don't see him as any more moral than said scumbag (post 47):

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64946685#post64946685

was he going to get his mate around and double team the offender?

You don't even know my father!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and he was only defending himself FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

I was waiting for this argrument, imo it has nothing to do with Brannigan. i dont see the thousands of ciminals Brannigan dealt with looking for redress or compensation.

That wasn't my point. This mythical time in the past where everything was rosy never existed. The same mentality that allowed Lugs & Co. act above the law, turning a blind eye..etc, led to the acceptance of institutions like those industrial schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Lugs Brannigan is no better than the scumbags that roam the streets today. He just got paid for beating up people.
    Quite harsh.

People tend to forget that Dublin of the 1940's and 1950's was a pretty violent place awash with gang-warfare and Lugs' own particular brand of 'Restorative Justice' kept many a young boy out of an Irish religious penal system all too ready to abuse them both physically and mentally.

Quite harsh.

Lugs' own particular brand of 'Restorative Justice' kept many a young boy out of an Irish religious penal system all too ready to abuse them both physically and mentally.

Best post I've seen in a long time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Whatever about the pros and cons of Lugs Brannigan there is a strong case for the Garda being allowed to use necessary force and not being afraid of being hauled up before an enquiry. Everyones heard of the anecodotal storys of guards letting fights run their course before intervening. You wouldn't see it in any country with an armed police force. Recently back from the states and the police there are all big, physically fit, armed and intimidating without being scary. You know not to **** with them. Here it's getting better but nowhere near a high enough standard. The scumbags have no fear of them. Obviously the judical system has a lot to do with this as well.

Quite harsh.

People tend to forget that Dublin of the 1940's and 1950's was a pretty violent place awash with gang-warfare and Lugs' own particular brand of 'Restorative Justice' kept many a young boy out of an Irish religious penal system all too ready to abuse them both physically and mentally.

I've spoken to a few people that were around back in lug's day. He didn't go around like Batman beating up criminals and handing out justice. If he didn't like the look of you, you got thumped. No different to the local scumbag that's constantly involved in fights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

in reply to OP

here is the problem with the lugs brannigan approach
    also wiki 'letterfrack'

open thornton hall and store them:pac:

Nicky Kelly

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Nicky Kelly is an Irish Labour party politician from Arklow in County Wicklow. In the 1980s he achieved fame throughout Ireland after he had been sentenced, in 1978, to 12 years in prison for his alleged part in theSallins train robbery. The ensuing campaign to release him became a symbol of the 1980s with 'Free Nicky Kelly' graffiti posted throughout the country. The evidence of torture committed against him and his two co-accused, Osgur Breatnach and Brian McNally, galvanized a campaign for his release. There was a dedication to him in the 1983 Planxty album, Words and Music.
    In 1984 Kelly was eventually released on "humanitarian grounds". He received a presidential pardon in 1992, along with over £1 million as compensation following campaigns by Amnesty and the ICCL.
    He was born Edward Noel Kelly from Graiguenamanagh, County Kilkenny, he joined Official Sinn Fein leaving it to join the new Irish Republican Socialist Party in 1974. [1]
    Kelly was elected to Arklow Town Council and for Wicklow County Council in 1999.[2] in 2001 he joined the Labour party.[3]
    He stood unsuccessfully as a Labour party candidate for the Wicklow constituency in the 2007 general election.[4]
    In 2008 he was elected mayor of Arklow.[5]
    URL="http://www.boards.ie/w/index.php?title=Nicky_Kelly&action=edit&section=1"]edit[/URLReferences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

without getting into too much details - a scumbag i know keyed a few cars outside a neighbours house a few years back which was the final straw in a fairly long list offences against this family he'd taken a grudge against - for no logical reason.

lets just say he was paid a visit by some 'out-of-towners', his dad opened the door and invited them in. it didn't get too violent or nasty but the threat of physical harm in the future worked a charm and this guy never bother these people again.

long story short - where there's not enough evidence for court, but you know for certain who the offender is, go (reasonably) vigilante. sometimes there's no other options in dealing with these b'astards