Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WebActivate programme

• 03-08-2010 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5 computer2

Jst wonderin has anyone here applied for the new WebActivate programme started by the government. I have applied and am attending for interview tomorrow in Galway. Interviews were held last week in Dublin and Cork, did anyone here attend any of these interviews as im very unsure as what to expect? it seems more than 300 people are attending in Galway for what i reckon is about 50 places, so there is alot of competion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭lilminx

Hey

I applied for a place in Cork and found out today I was accepted. Interview was a doddle - just a few quick questions and the skills task was confusingly simple?! Still conduffled over it to be honest - hope you got the place. From what I hear, Galway was the most subscribed of the three so getting a place was tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭el_gaucho

lilminx wrote: »
    Hey

I applied for a place in Cork and found out today I was accepted. Interview was a doddle - just a few quick questions and the skills task was confusingly simple?! Still conduffled over it to be honest - hope you got the place. From what I hear, Galway was the most subscribed of the three so getting a place was tough.

There was a skills task? I did the interview in Galway and there was no task. Just the "interview". There were 8 people in my group so very little time for each person to make any impression. I found it strange to be honest, it seemed to be a lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pat McGhee

Hey

Skills task?? I was at the Cork interview too but I didn't have to do a skills task - unless you count the online registration in the classroom before the interview..... I can't really call that a task!

Did you get an email yet about what to expect next week? I sent an email to digital skills academy earlier in the week asking about signing on, allowances etc... the girl replied & said we'll be signing on as normal & that I'd get an email today from someone called Naoimh advising on next week. Still waiting for that.

I did get another email from the SW with regards to travel allowance - the short answer is no :(

Not sure how signing on & collecting dole will work.... time will tell I suppose!

Pat McGhee wrote: »
    Skills task?? I was at the Cork interview too but I didn't have to do a skills task - unless you count the online registration in the classroom before the interview..... I can't really call that a task!

Did you get an email yet about what to expect next week? I sent an email to digital skills academy earlier in the week asking about signing on, allowances etc... the girl replied & said we'll be signing on as normal & that I'd get an email today from someone called Naoimh advising on next week. Still waiting for that.

I did get another email from the SW with regards to travel allowance - the short answer is no :(

Not sure how signing on & collecting dole will work.... time will tell I suppose!

In that case it looks like those of us who haven't heard anything are out. It's disappointing not to be informed by now. Best of luck to all on the course.

el_gaucho wrote: »
    In that case it looks like those of us who haven't heard anything are out. It's disappointing not to be informed by now. Best of luck to all on the course.

Maybe not.... the Galway interviews were done a week later than the Cork ones, & I got the email a week after I interviewed - so it's still possible you could hear back by tomorrow.

I'll keep fingers & toes crossed for ya! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Crap! I would have gone for this if I'd known about it. Why are FAS still sending me letters for a course that I've already done and not sending me details about this one? :mad:

Because these organizations don't seem to talk to each other. I did the City & Guilds in Web Design with FAS, so I thought this course would have been a natural progression. Seems like neither FAS nor the selectors for Webactivate agree!

@Pat - thanks, but I just received an email an hour ago. They certainly kept us waiting as long as possible.

Yeah, the 'skills task' was that registration page! That's what our group were told at any rate - as I said - it was confusingly simple.

Got an email which really did give much clue as to what to expect tomorrow - just turn up and see.

Travel allowance is the one thing that's worrying me - big time. It's actually going to be very hard for the next few month to manage financially. Guess we'll find out more tomorrow - hopefully will make things a whole lot clearer at least.

See you tomorrow I guess!? :O

@Pat - thanks, but I just received an email an hour ago. They certainly kept us waiting as long as possible.

Good news or bad news? Though I suspect from your tone it may be bad...? :(

Yeah, the 'skills task' was that registration page! That's what our group were told at any rate - as I said - it was confusingly simple.

Got an email which really did give much clue as to what to expect tomorrow - just turn up and see.

Travel allowance is the one thing that's worrying me - big time. It's actually going to be very hard for the next few month to manage financially. Guess we'll find out more tomorrow - hopefully will make things a whole lot clearer at least.

See you tomorrow I guess!? :O

I got that same email shortly after I posted this. Just turn up & see :)

Re the travel allowance, there is none. BOO!!! This is the response I got from the SW:-

I refer to your recent e-mail to this Department regarding your entitlement to a travel allowance.

Unfortunately there is no formal payment available for the above. Under the Supplementary Welfare Allowance (SWA) scheme, however, the Health Service Executive (HSE) may make a single payment to help meet essential, once-off, exceptional expenditure, which a person could not reasonably be expected to meet out of their weekly income. These payments are known as Exceptional Needs Payments. Eligible people would normally be in receipt of a social welfare or HSE payment.
    However, there is no automatic right of entitlement to such payments. Exceptional Needs Payments are payable at the discretion of the Executive taking into account the requirements of the legislation and all the relevant circumstances of the case.

You may be eligible for an Exceptional Needs Payment if:
    - You are living in the state
    - You satisfy a means test
    - You have applied for any other benefit/allowance you may be entitled to
    - You have registered to work with FÁS (if you are of working age).

You won't normally be eligible if you are:
    - In full-time work (more than 30 hours a week)
    - In full-time education
    - Involved in a trade dispute or on strike. However, a dependant adult or dependant child of a person on strike can apply.

You can make an application for an ENP with the Community Welfare Officer (CWO) in your local Health Centre.

Bit of a b*lls but we shouldn't complain I suppose... We're being trained for free! And it's only for the immediate 6 weeks, after that who knows where we'll be at. I hope I'll have a car sorted by then, I suspect I'll need it!

Monthly train ticket is €133 for me to get to the course!!! Looking for a liftshare and sussing out the bus prices but looks like i'll be eating koka noodles til Christmas.

And yes, we are getting trained for free, but we're also guinea pigs to an extent! lol Looking forward to the course though.. Should be interesting.

Monthly train ticket is €133 for me to get to the course!!! Looking for a liftshare and sussing out the bus prices but looks like i'll be eating koka noodles til Christmas.

And yes, we are getting trained for free, but we're also guinea pigs to an extent! lol Looking forward to the course though.. Should be interesting.

Hey! I LOVE Koka noodles!! There's always a packet or 2 in my cupboard :-)

Can you get the train ticket online? They generally tend to be cheaper if you go that route. Where are you travelling up from?

I'm coming from Midleton so there's no online fare, the weekly ticket is €26. I suppose I'm lucky in that I have a few bob put away for unexpected expenses, like transport!

And look at it this way.... if you pass, you get a free lapotp! I nearly creamed it when I heard that - talk about a SCORE!!
    Now surely that's worth the hassle!? :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 North Cork Lass

Hi guys nice to read your posts and get answers to questions that Social Welfare could not answer for me today.
    I also got a place on the Cork course but was trying to find out information if I could get travelling expenses as it will cost €55 per week bus fare (over quarter of my weekly payment) Social welfare didn't have a clue and didn't seem to know much about the Activation Fund - they said they only got the ionformation this morning. So thanks guys at least now I know that I will not be able to get travelling expences so I am not sure if I will be able to continue with the course. I was there today and I will attend again tomorrow and see how this week goes for me. Best of luck to you all.

Good news or bad news? Though I suspect from your tone it may be bad...? :(

Bad news indeed. It's very disappointing as I thought the interview went well. I seemed to be the only one in the group who was genuinely interested in Web Design. I can only assume the general standard was higher than the people in my group!! :eek:

I'm really sorry to hear that... :-(

What's annoying me since I started, I've discovered there are people in my class who are extremely highly skilled in web design so I don't know what they're supposed to learn from this experience, & there are others who don't want to be there & are only passing the time with something to do. And then there's you, who obviously wanted a place but got shafted.

I have to wonder why these people got picked?? Was it just lucky dip!?

In my current project group, there's a guy who's doing nothing but joking all the time, & another who knows his stuff but is just sitting back & barely contributing. Now they're nice lads & everything but I want to learn a new skill, not simply faf about the place for the next few weeks. I can't help but think our project is going to be a disaster....

What's annoying me since I started, I've discovered there are people in my class who are extremely highly skilled in web design so I don't know what they're supposed to learn from this experience, & there are others who don't want to be there & are only passing the time with something to do. And then there's you, who obviously wanted a place but got shafted.

I have to wonder why these people got picked?? Was it just lucky dip!?

In my current project group, there's a guy who's doing nothing but joking all the time, & another who knows his stuff but is just sitting back & barely contributing. Now they're nice lads & everything but I want to learn a new skill, not simply faf about the place for the next few weeks. I can't help but think our project is going to be a disaster....

Yeah I have been thinking of the same things you have - the level of experience is very varied - just exactly what were the criteria for acceptance? It would be interesting to know.

Travelling up and down is taking it's toll - leave my place at 7.30am and got back tonight at 6.45! - the trip home wasn't helped by an accident on the road where the fire brigade were winching some jeep out of a ditch or something. I'm wrecked. Gonna try the later bus in the am and see if I'll get there on time - time keeping seems lax enough.

I understand what you're saying about the groups - I was actually out yesterday and 2 people from my group were out today so I felt bad for the poor fella who was attending everyday being stuck explaining the project to me and then trying to decide if what we were doing today is suiting the other too - the joys of team work I guess? I would imagine that those groups are just for this week though - so hopefully you'll find yourself in a more hard-working group next week! And it is hard work! We did GIMP today and I found it tough - but loved it! :D Really enjoying it - and the laptops are fab :D

Stick with it my friend - perhaps we should have a code word if we come across each other.. Giraffe? :D :cool: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

there were more people looking for these places than there were places by the looks of it.. not suprising really ( it sounds like a good program )

same goes with some Fas courses that are in demand -

BTW your description of the class is the exact same as the class makeup of a Fas course I attended.

those in your class that are highly-skilled as you say..its all relative..they might not be considered highly-skilled in relation to the industry standard.

there were more people looking for these places than there were places by the looks of it.. not suprising really ( it sounds like a good program )
    same goes with some Fas courses that are in demand -

800 applicants and i heard 300 of them in Galway. The high number of applicants is not just because it seems to be a good programme but because it's free. In the last 15 months or so I signed up for 3 courses at GTI (where the Galway course is being run) and all were canceled due to lack of interest. I've also paid a deposit for a part time diploma at the University which will almost certainly be canceled because of low numbers.
    Free courses on the other hand are massively oversubscribed.
    Pat McGhee wrote:
    In my current project group, there's a guy who's doing nothing but joking all the time, & another who knows his stuff but is just sitting back & barely contributing. Now they're nice lads & everything but I want to learn a new skill, not simply faf about the place for the next few weeks.
    It's interesting to hear the early feedback. I don't mind missing out to people who are "extremely highly skilled in web design", though gollem_1975 makes a good point when he says it's relative.
    On the other hand it's galling to hear about people who seem to have no interest in the course content. I did email Webactive to ask if there would be some feedback on the selection criteria but didn't get a satisfactory response. Regarding the group, sounds like you'll have to kick them into shape!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

and don't forget a free laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Punchbear

So long as "Aieeeeeee Chupacabra" becomes the theme for the programme I'm easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 AARR

We have been offered support under the new WebActivate programme.

Apart from what they tell us, what can we expect and how can we make the best use of it ?

Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

AARR wrote: »
    We have been offered support under the new WebActivate programme.

Apart from what they tell us, what can we expect and how can we make the best use of it ?

Tony

I'm not involved in the webactivate program but you might get better feedback if you indicate what YOU are expecting to get from it ?

hi guys, how did the course go? was it worth doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 digitalnative

Hi Guys

Am thinking of doing the WebActivate program in Dublin (March 2013.) as a mature student.

I live in Wexford so there being no travel support is a bummer!

However, on paper, the rest of the course looks good.

My questions are for those of you that have done the course before:

1. Did you manage to get of the dole and get work?
    2. How many of you have set up your own companies?
    3. Are you guarenteed work experience?
    4. Was the work experience useful?
    5. During work experience do they try and get you placed in companies near your home?
    6. To save on transport costs are you allowed to do some of the course remotely?
    7. Is the content uptodate: eg Analytics, SEO, HTML 5.0

Sorry about all the questions but I've been on the dole almost 4 years and because there is no help with travel I just want to see if it's worth my while doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Very interesting to see there's a Webactivate 2.0 on the way.
    Thought, ours would keep being the only one. I can't answer all of your questions, you might want to ask some on that information event they mention that you have to attend first anyhow.

And seeing that webactivate 1.0 is over 2 years ago they definitely changed the curriculum. E.g. ours was 4 months, now it's 8 months and we didn't have nor got to keep smart phones;-)

Anyhow:
    Speaking for me and the people I'm still in contact with:
    I know of 5 people (me included) that started working self-employed after the course or after some further courses. Others got jobs otherwise, of the ones I know, but unrelated jobs. Others are still looking / developing skills.

If you get off the dole after the course depends mainly on yourself and what you want to do I'm afraid.

The course gave me the confidence to start my own business. Mind you I'm now in College in addition to learn more. ;)

Work experience was an essential part of the course and I suppose it's again. It's not in a company though. It is for small businesses in need of the website but you work from home or the Digital Skills Academy. With the help of the tutors.
    One guy in our Dublin Course was from Carlow. And because the course was based in Dublin all businesses were more around here (inclusive North and South Counte). So there might not be businesses based in Wexford to work for for you. Definitely something to ask them.
    But the work placement does give you a fair idea how different clients can be and how to work on projects and how it is to get a website live.

The infos we got were defintely up to date, but what exactly is planned for this course is again something to ask them.

The same goes for question 6. If any possible for you see if you can stay somewhere in Dublin would be my suggestion though as it can be very exhausting to have to travel that far every day - apart from the money aspect. DSA is based near Heuston Station not so near Connelly Station. So a walk of 30 minutes is included...

Hope that helps a bit...

And most of all fingers crossed for you that this or something else works out for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Macca3000

Wonder how many are going to the information session on Friday? Don't want to get my hopes up to much but this would be a brilliant course to get on.

Macca3000 wrote: »
    Wonder how many are going to the information session on Friday? Don't want to get my hopes up to much but this would be a brilliant course to get on.

I know it's short notice, but try to get some info on selection criteria if you can. As you can see from my previous comments, the Galway course in 2010 seemed to be a lottery.
    It would help if you could get some info beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I am going to the Monaghan info session tomorrow and really hoping to get onto the course as have had nothing but courses being cancelled on me in the last while and can't hack being at home full time anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Scarlet1989

Just got an email saying I got through to the suitability workshop and am just wondering what does that entail for anyone who has previously done it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

How have people found this web activate programme has it been useful for future job hunting and careers in IT?

I did the workshop last Friday. It entails 3 group challenges where they are monitoring how you work as a group. They may change the activities but we had to build a runway for a ball to travel from A to B in a marked out area. My advice on that one is to make sure you get the bend right and as fast as possible so that you get a trial run before time runs out.

Then we had a challenge using a set of cards to figure out some info. We couldn't show each other the cards but could discuss the info on them.

Third one was we all had cardboard pieces and had to make a square each. We could swap pieces but not talk.

Nothing too out of this world hard just about seeing how you work in teams. Good luck.

Witchie wrote: »
    I did the workshop last Friday. It entails 3 group challenges where they are monitoring how you work as a group. They may change the activities but we had to build a runway for a ball to travel from A to B in a marked out area. My advice on that one is to make sure you get the bend right and as fast as possible so that you get a trial run before time runs out.

Then we had a challenge using a set of cards to figure out some info. We couldn't show each other the cards but could discuss the info on them.

Third one was we all had cardboard pieces and had to make a square each. We could swap pieces but not talk.

Nothing too out of this world hard just about seeing how you work in teams. Good luck.

Thanks Witchie, I hope I don't go blank that day!:-)

Best advice I can give is don't panic! I kinda panicked when my square wouldn't work out and now am worried I won't get a place. :-(

Were others unable to finish it?

Yeah I got mine finished before a few but still was very frustrating.

Scarlet1989 where did you do your aptitude test and when? My boyfriend did his last week in Dublin but was bused up there from Monaghan so trying to figure out when he should hear back.

I did mine in Cork last Wednesday and heard about going through yesterday.

Oh good. Will tell him to relax then! Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭icrusader

Hi there , i was just wondering did anyone get any assistance with transport costs or is anyone going from kells to dublin and wants a petrol buddy with rescue plus AA membership ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

What are the main counties/cities that carry out web activate programme/aptitude test is it mainly Dublin, Cork and Galway? Do they do it in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭moss.ie

heya,

just did mine yesterday in Cork, same tests, good craic tbh. its just a waiting game now i spose, have you had any news on your course yet?

No. Emailed them and seems should know this week or next.......

Got my email about twenty mins ago saying I got it so hopefully Ye got the same! Good luck to Ye all!:-)

Still waiting! My bf got told he is doing his workshop next Friday so they are cutting it a little fine for his group.

They certainly are cutting it fine! The course is starting in cork on the 26th anyway.

Got my email about twenty mins ago saying I got it so hopefully Ye got the same! Good luck to Ye all!:-)

me too, happy days, witchie good luck! and scarlet see ya on the 26th!

moss.ie wrote: »

me too, happy days, witchie good luck! and scarlet see ya on the 26th!

I'll see ya moss. I'll be trying to figure out which one you are! All the best.

Whoooohooo just got an email saying I got a place! My friend's husband did they too. Now hopefully my boyfriend will too but he is only doing his workshop on Friday coming.

Really can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Lock Knife

Hey folks

I got an email to attend the information session this friday. From reading here it seems that people have already done an aptitude test before they do the info session. Is that right, or is it all done in the one day?

Information session and aptitude test done on the same day and then if you get through that stage you take part in a workshop with psychologists assessing you. Then you find out if you have a place or not.

Whoooohooo just got an email saying I got a place! My friend's husband did they too. Now hopefully my boyfriend will too but he is only doing his workshop on Friday coming.

Really can't wait!

well done! hope yer BF gets sorted as well, startin the cork course on tue next so lookin forward to it.

@Lock Knife

the format for applying for the course works as follows, to qualify you have to register and attend the information briefing, this takes about 45 mins including q&a at the end, then they take you for an aptitude test , 3 x 10/15 min tests.
    if you pass the aptitude test you are then asessed (work experience- qualifications etc) if suitable you then will be called for a "group training suitability" workshop. the most imortant thing you need to do is goto your local fás office and make sure that you are registered for the Momentum programme and placed on the DSP waiting list, if you are not on the waiting list you will not be offered a place. the code for the course is LMX10.

hope this helps