Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you see anything interesting today?

• 24-07-2010 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭

As the title suggests "Did you see anything interesting today".......... while out running!!!!

It came into my head to day as I was running.

For example today I saw Tipp captain Conor Mahony picking up his hurley (from local man who makes hurleys) for the match against Galway tomorrow.......I asked him "is that for tomorrow" and he said it is. I wished him good luck........... I'm a Limerick man...shudder shudder, feel all dirty now :)

I also saw cops pulling into local car dealer...... it's an isolated dealer at edge of sticks who is having trouble with scum when no one around during the evening:mad:

I'm not sure of the limits of this thread, I just thought it might be interesting to hear/read what other people come across on their daily run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I saw kits of cow-sh!te, but not nearly enough sign-posts. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

Did my longest run this morning 8 miles :)

http://connect.garmin.com/dashboard?cid=2727221

While out on the run I got lost in a estate just off Sandymount, Ran up 2 dead ends :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Great idea for a thread:)

I saw the trigpoint at the top of a local mountain, only this time it was at arms length, instead of taunting me, silent and mocking, way away up in the distance, as it has been for the past five years. Who's laughing now, ya stinking lump of granite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Two red squirrels! For an animal that's supposed to be rare these days, I nearly have to herd them out of the way sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I seen 53 km/h on my Garmin as I cycled through the Glen of the Downs with a slight hangover at 9am this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

I saw a kid eat (or something of an eat like fashion) the contents of a small disposable bin in a cafe where i was having lunch today. Her mam replied 'stop ... you will get germs'. No **** sherlock.

Edit: i know its no really relevant to the thread but seeing as today's training was indoors on a spin bike staring at my HRM and laptop screen changing trance tunes to keep me going, i figured that the child story was more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great idea for a thread:)

I saw the trigpoint at the top of a local mountain, only this time it was at arms length, instead of taunting me, silent and mocking, way away up in the distance, as it has been for the past five years. Who's laughing now, ya stinking lump of granite?

+ 1. Well I can see it clearly now in the distance, whereas this morning it was well disguised behind a thick low cloud. A nice feeling to have run that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I saw Carrauntoohill, together with Caher and a few other mountains in the vicinity, from my long run along the Kerry Way today. The views would have been even better on a sunny day, but they were stunning all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

I rather heard something interesting, was doing an easy 5m run today ahead of tomorrow's LSR and was wondering about the Abba music that seemed to be getting louder as I headed towards the Marina in Cork, once I got there I realised it was the matinee show of 'Mama Mia' going on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

This was the view in Howth for our run today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

I saw the seals over the fence at the back of the zoo and polo ponies in the Polo Grounds. i didn't see any deer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

This!index%20image.jpg
    Followed by a seal who was trying to get in on the action in the Lee swim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I saw the trigpoint at the top of a local mountain, only this time it was at arms length, instead of taunting me, silent and mocking, way away up in the distance, as it has been for the past five years.
    I saw Carrauntoohill, together with Caher and a few other mountains in the vicinity, from my long run along the Kerry Way today.

Don't leave it too long till you run up them TFB. What Nietzsche said about valleys, also holds true for mountains;) ("Stare long enough into the abyss, and the abyss stares back at you")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

More a case of what I didn't see.
    For the first hour of yesterdays run I didn't see another soul, no people no cars, no dogs.
    Over the next 1/2 hour I saw 1 pedestrian, 1 cyclist and 1 car.
    Living in a rural area can have it's moments.

I did see millions of slugs on the roads - never noticed that before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

3 seals and lots of crazy oystercatchers and lapwings and various other identifiable water birds (all of them making the strangest noises) a few horses and surprisingly few people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

I saw 5 rats run in under a bush not far from the Wind Monument in Clontarf. Ahh seaside living!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 MisterAdam

Yesterday, as I ran past a football pitch, I saw a gang of ten year olds. One small boy was stuck trying to climb over a very high metal fence. In retrospect, he looked like he was up to no good - a gurrier, my mother would've called him. But I like to think the best of everyone.
    So when he asked me to throw him the golf ball which was lying in the middle of the road, I kindly obliged. My first instinct is always to be helpful. I oblige without thinking, as if it's a reflex.
    Only afterwards did I realise he might have been trying to hit the cars as they drove past. And when I heard the ball bounce on the tarmac again, I knew the little bastard was up to no good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

wasn't entirely sure where to post this but if you had seen me running yesterday evening this is what you would have seen:

girl running with bf.
    girl and bf stop running to have argument.
    bf thinks she is really crap for observation and is going to get knocked down some day.
    girl disagrees, and while continuing to fight her corner, walks into lamp-post.
    bf thinks his point has just been proven.
    girl has sore knee today.

Im laughing now thinking about it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

lol at Marie C.

I regularly see an old man with his dog in the park. On some occassions, I'll run past them and he'll be standing on his head in some yoga pose. He'll be like an arrow, damn impressive as he looks to be in his 70s. 20mins later, I'll run by the same spot again and he is still doing it with his dog beside him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

I hardly saw a flippin thing. It was one of those heavy early misty showers and I was still mostly asleep. I passed a runner with a scrunched up face overtaking another runner with an even more scrunched up face. I'd been clenching my butt cheeks for 10mins and had 2 miles left to get home.... generally not a problem in the countryside but I could hardly drop my shorts in suburbia :o Towards the end of the loop though I saw one of those runners doing exactly that beside a church on the main road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,106 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

TMI dude. TMI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

I hardly saw a flippin thing. It was one of those heavy early misty showers and I was still mostly asleep. I passed a runner with a scrunched up face overtaking another runner with an even more scrunched up face. I'd been clenching my butt cheeks for 10mins and had 2 miles left to get home.... generally not a problem in the countryside but I could hardly drop my shorts in suburbia :o Towards the end of the loop though I saw one of those runners doing exactly that beside a church on the main road!

oh god i hate those situations. They always come up during the runs where your you say to yourself 'ah its been a while since that last hap penned' ... then BAM. I went through a 2 week long suffer last nov/dec where i was doing my runs that consisted of 2 loops around where i was living and i always had to stop and run home after the 1st loop and then go back out for the 2nd. You can always spot that emergency crawl/ sprint run/horrid look on face when nature calls for a runner. I found in the end it was berocca boost causing it for me (or so i think anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

More like what I didn't see, and that was a man out walking his pet horse (rottweiler) on a road which I've never seen another person on.

I don't know how I didn't see them, as they were well within my field of vision but I was about 10 paces from them when the dog ran across my path and he may as well have bitten me for the shock that I got.

I made a noise like you would if someone brushed against you in a dark room... like a uuuuuUUUUUUHHHHH!!! and then I kind of sideways/backpedalled a bit to get away from the dog.

The dog's owner looked at me like I was a psycho, and my pace went up by about 20sec/km for the next while :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Had a police helicopter flying over the woodland we were running in yesterday searching for some young hoodlum, then met an over-weight and rather exhausted looking copper running through the woods as well who then stopped us and told us who they were after and that we had permission to leap on the scallywag if we came across him.

We didn't spot him, but I did then see the copper in the shop a while later as I was picking up some milk for my coffee in the morning and he said they had flushed him out of the woods with the combination of dogs and chopper overhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭neonman

christeb wrote: »
    I saw 5 rats run in under a bush not far from the Wind Monument in Clontarf. Ahh seaside living!

I also run along the coast in Clontarf and the rats are starting to run along with me for a while before making a b-line for a bush.

Yesterday there were a lot of people out running. It's great to see and makes my run that little bit easier. Gets me thinking why that person is out running? Is it for pure fitness, training for their first marathon (like me), personal goals.

I'll be out again this evening training for my first marathon with a look of pain on my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I saw loads of people going to work this morning when I was out running. Made me feel great because I'm not working today! :p

I like this thread!

While getting a tyre changed on my car I seen where Giant Bicycles have their warehouse - my 7yr old son went over and asked for one :D - but no joy this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Saw a broken down Saab on the hill in Goatstown. Helped 2 lads push it up on the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

It was a treadmill day...

So I saw office workers wandering past the gym on their way to smoke.

Its actually quite motivating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

TMI dude. TMI

That's pretty minor by runner standards as far as bodily functions are concerned ;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

I've seen nothing yet as I've yet to go out today
    I'm leaving my dinner settle for another 20 min before heading out for a 4 mile jaunt.
    Who knows what I will see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭aero2k

That's pretty minor by runner standards as far as bodily functions are concerned ;):pac:
    It's the possibility of a malfunction that worries me!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Nialloooo

a little bit of topic but i "heard" today, some fella fart as he passed me in the IMRA race this evening... talk about adding insult to injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

People jumping out of a low flying helicopter in the middle of the curragh, oh with parachutes. Looked like the army training and pretty dangerous at that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭tyler71

Was out for a run by the water and saw two guys rowing with a horse on a lead swimming behind them. Looked pretty comfortable, seemed to be enjoying itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Uk 1500m runner Hannah England and Swedish 800m runner Mattias Claesson ran past me today in the parc de cuitedella in barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Saw two guys paragliding when I was runnning up keeper yesterday. I rekon they have a great idea for relaxing. Looked peaceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

Saw a sign
    "Kilmurry Harvest Festival. August 15-22. A Great Weekend For All the Family"

Either there's a few very dodgy days in it, or they like their long weekends!

:confused: you've put the last nail in to this coffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

While out on the country roads last night saw a couple out for a walk with their baby in a pram, its a 4 mile loop so when I came around again they were sitting in a ditch and she was breastfeeding, the dog that had followed them down the road then came with me for the next 2 loops/8miles, he was great company on the hills!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Lionel Messi

Magnet wrote: »
    While out on the country roads last night saw a couple out for a walk with their baby in a pram, its a 4 mile loop so when I came around again they were sitting in a ditch and she was breastfeeding, the dog that had followed them down the road then came with me for the next 2 loops/8miles, he was great company on the hills!!

Nice of them to set up a nutrition stop for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Lots of baby rabbits (is there some name for those?), a few horses from the local traveller site and then lots of real runners looking like they were effortlessly gliding around the UCC running track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭MaroonTam

Mark Kenneally in Celbridge this afternoon (pretty sure anyways.) Was cruising along at a nice easy pace... Me that is :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Doing laps in Phoenix park tonight. On the first lap, we past this dodgy looking bloke on military road. He looked suspicious. Second lap and we came across the same bloke with two other guys sitting on top of him, holding him down. "You're not going anywhere", they were saying to him. Guards came then. I wonder what he was up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Doing laps in Phoenix park tonight. On the first lap, we past this dodgy looking bloke on military road. He looked suspicious. Second lap and we came across the same bloke with two other guys sitting on top of him, holding him down. "You're not going anywhere", they were saying to him. Guards came then. I wonder what he was up to.

lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Followed by a seal who was trying to get in on the action in the Lee swim.

a bit late, but if that's the seal that was at the start line, he was reported to the gardai!
    (seriously, a lady wanted the gardai to take him out of the water as it was "the wrong kind of water for a seal").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I saw a man wearing headphones giving a dog a haircut in the Phoneix Park today. I did wonder if the headphones were giving audio instructions on the operation :)
    The Park is brilliant at this time of the year with loads of folk out doing their marathon plan long run. Great to see so many runners there.

I took part in the banna triathlon today as pat of a relay team. It was my first time to see a triathlon in action. was good to see all the top guys sort out their transion gear. The whole day was an eye opener, really enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Actually this was last Wed. evening. Saw a restricted breed dog - some sort of bull terrier. He was being swung around by his owner. At first I thought he was being swung by his lead, but as I got closer - they were about 20 feet off the path I was running on - I saw that he wasn't on a lead but was gripping a stick between his teeth and being swung round by this :eek: