Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run-ins with idiots

• 23-07-2010 5:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭

I was out walking recently in Dublin city centre just after dark. I was on the phone to a friend, just chatting about random crap. I stopped at the pavement, waiting for the cars to stop so I could cross. There were two people standing right beside me. One of them was really loud, shouting things at random people.

It was a really narrow road and one of the cars that was coming along swerved randomly and came a little too close to the pavemeny for comfort. I joked with my friend that I nearly got run over.

Suddenly one of the people who was standing beside me (the loud one) turns and says, "What the f**k did you say?" He was average height, but kind of massive, and had a shaved head. He had one of those irritating Cockney English accents, someone who thinks of himself as a real "geezah". He kind of looked like an uglier version of Ross Kemp.

He said, "What the f**k did you say?" a couple more times. I just replied I wasn't talking to you. He started firing insults, and when I crossed the road he just said, "Yeah, keep walking". He had an Irish guy with him who laughed very theatrically but it was obvious he was uncomfortable.

I'm more angry with myself for not shouting something back, but he could easily have kicked the crap into me. I'm normally a calm person but I just wanted to shout every type of anti-English insult at him that I could muster. He really was the worst breed of Englishman -- the loud, shaved headed, thinks he tough, east-end London type of idiot. What possible sort of pleasure can be got from picking on random people on the street for no reason whatsoever? He wasn't even drunk.

Anyway, why don't we share stories of encounters that bugged us? It's always better to vent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He kind of looked like an uglier version of Ross Kemp.

Phil Mitchell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I was once in the local chipper on my own on a Saturday evening. A big group of drunken guys were both inside and outside the chipper and one of them, for no reason i can possibly imagine, said to me randomly "What are you looking at?" (that clownish bloody question).

Now, i'm 6ft and kinda stocky, so its not as if i'm used to being picked on! My first thought was just sheer confusion. I gave him an intelligent answer, to which his reply was "Are you getting smart?"

At this point i'm thinking "If i hit him now, he can't hit me from his back and his lights turned out" both out of self preservation and anger!

But i didn't, i realised that if i did that i would get my head smashed in by all his mates. As much as it killed me not to hit the guy, and as much as it hurt my fragile ego to get clowned like that in public, the logical part of my brain told me to walk away.

I'm really glad i did, but for ages afterwards the macho part of my brain was SO angry that i never did anything, but the logical part knows that someone else will give him the kicking i couldn't when he gets too smart for his own good and hasn't got his mates with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Phil Mitchell.

No, he was definitely more Grant than Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

"Like the movie Rambo 4 and the british lead SAS guy on the river boat"
    You were like stallone ..and everyone was just hoping that you beat the **** out of him .. but you kept your cool and that ten yard stare to yourself.

Enter broken arrow with his bow.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I was once in the local chipper on my own on a Saturday evening. A big group of drunken guys were both inside and outside the chipper and one of them, for no reason i can possibly imagine, said to me randomly "What are you looking at?" (that clownish bloody question).

Now, i'm 6ft and kinda stocky, so its not as if i'm used to being picked on! My first thought was just sheer confusion. I gave him an intelligent answer, to which his reply was "Are you getting smart?"

At this point i'm thinking "If i hit him now, he can't hit me from his back and his lights turned out" both out of self preservation and anger!

But i didn't, i realised that if i did that i would get my head smashed in by all his mates. As much as it killed me not to hit the guy, and as much as it hurt my fragile ego to get clowned like that in public, the logical part of my brain told me to walk away.

I'm really glad i did, but for ages afterwards the macho part of my brain was SO angry that i never did anything, but the logical part knows that someone else will give him the kicking i couldn't when he gets too smart for his own good and hasn't got his mates with him.

Well at least he had the decency to be Irish, and drunk.

Oh didn't i mention that he was ......whatever the current fashionable immigrant to slate..... was?

Bloody...... Apache Indians!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

Oh didn't i mention that he was ......whatever the current fashionable immigrant to slate..... was?

Bloody...... Apache Indians!

Probably the Amish in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

so... basically you and the OP bottled it ??

jasus....

you know all these wolly bullys just need a good hammering, give it to them, for every tough guy, theirs an even tougher one... if its not you but you still give him a good go, he'll get up and shake your hand, if not...

Do as needs must. :rolleyes:

Pdfile wrote: »
    you know all these wolly bullys just need a good hammering, give it to them, for every tough guy, theirs an even tougher one... if its not you but you still give him a good go, he'll get up and shake your hand, if not...

He didn't slap me with a glove and challenge me to f*cking duel!

What year are you living in?

If you rise to every person who is an arsehole, you could be in a row every week.
    Let's not forget that people can die in such incidents, a punch or a fall on the head and it can be curtains.

If you rise to every person who is an arsehole, you could be in a row every week.
    Let's not forget that people can die in such incidents, a punch or a fall on the head and it can be curtains.

im not intending in the previous post to be so liberal, just people who are rare ( break the 3 insults rule )

they should be given an intense dose of their own medicine....

obv, you never know what can happen when you get into a fight,

much in the same way you could do anything in life and you run the risk of getting your curtin call.

Its more dangerous to back down with your tail between your legs then it is to stand your ground.

Well, apparently not for your opponents, because according to a previous post of yours...........
    doesn't matter who you are... i was in a certin bar/club in temple bar and 4 lads jumped me cause my mate ( who got thrown out an hour previous ) felt one of the lads naughty parts.

Tbh, life goes on; i knocked them out, they didn't call the gardi or ive yet to recieve the call...

unlucky fella is all ill say

Who are you? Steven f*cking Seagal?

I heard a story about a guy knocking out 4 guys in a fight once..... when i was in f*cking Primary School! Get a hold of yourself there Rambo!

He didn't slap me with a glove and challenge me to f*cking duel!

Good thing too, there really is no backing down from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I used to live in London and was walking home from the tube station when four young black lads (about 17’ish) cycled passed me.

The path I was walking on was very wide and they went no where near me but they stopped about a hundred meters up the path and turned back towards me.

This time they passed very quickly and very close to me one after the other on either side of me. When I say close I mean the handlebars of their bikes were barely missing me.

They did it again going the other way laughing as they went and turned again a hundred meters up.

This time as they came past me (again far to close for comfort) the last one leaned his body and head towards me and shouted “BOO!” I instinctively brought my arm up to protect myself and stepped to the side. I was holding one of the free papers given out at rush hour and smacked him across the face with it.

I hadn’t hit him hard bit as he passed me he was obviously stunned by getting hit at all and turned the handlebar shapely to try and regain his balance which resulted in him turning straight into the fence that ran parallel to the path on either side.

The impact sent him sailing over his handlebars of his bike and the fence and into the bushes behind. I looked back at the other three who had stopped and were looking at their friend then turned quickly back and headed off the path as fast as I could without looking like I was running away. “Oh my days!” I heard one of them say as I turned a corner off the path.

A part of me was really glad that I had done it but another part of me was thinking “oh sh!t your ****ed now!”. Luckely they didn’t come after me.

Well, apparently not for your opponents, because according to a previous post of yours...........

Who are you? Steven f*cking Seagal?

I heard a story about a guy knocking out 4 guys in a fight once..... when i was in f*cking Primary School! Get a hold of yourself there Rambo!

no, im not steven Seagal, i just listened when my daddy said " back down and they'll press the offencive, a scars a scab, slaggings last longer "

the only time i did back down ive yet to live it down and being 6'2 and an adverage build you'd think im mike tyson...

but i dont need to be, you wouldn't believe the amount of 1-3 punch knockouts i handed down and to tbh ive been handed myself, theirs two sides to a coin as we all know, i prefare the shiney side.

my best mates a big fat rubgy head, the typical biggest guy in the room, every hard mans target and he Always backs down not outha manners, but he just simpley doesn't like fighting and Cannot go out without someone calling him a varitiy of names; all degrading - i refuse to have my life like that.

i only wish i got into that MMA/UFC craic before it got ruined by all the wannabe's ( you know the type... 8-10 lessons, taking onthe world... finish the career they never even had on a 0-1 basis )

BOT: im out most fridays and saturdays and though towns Alot quieter then it used to be, theirs still the odd fight.

im happy enough to sit back and watch as boys tear the heads off each other for whatever reason ( and girls for that matter.... Meeeeeeeow ) and its not even the fact that it well and throughly makes you look like an eejit, but that a fair few people a carrying shanks and all sorts of weaponry, let alone glass bottles and such.

ive always been a strong believer in the Straightener way of life....

if two people are gonna fight, let them have at it, but even that can neevr happen as one sides mates get involved, then the others then its all holy murder, which is the sadest part, everyone goes out to have a good time, not to have lumps kicked outha ya by some angry gardi cause you disroupted his 2 hour lunch break at the station.

@MrStuffins to answer your question once and for all - no im not steven seagal, but im a part of a dying bread. Im a man.

no, im not steven Seagal, i just listened when my daddy said " back down and they'll press the offencive, a scars a scab, slaggings last longer "

Your dad's an idiot!
    @MrStuffins to answer your question once and for all - no im not steven seagal, but im a part of a dying bread. Im a man.

Dying because your "bread" are too stupid to know that you'll end up with a knife in your stomach for being "a man".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

no im not steven seagal, but im a part of a dying bread. Im a man.

Hmmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

@MrStuffins to answer your question once and for all - no im not steven seagal, but im a part of a dying bread. Im a very insecure man, and i feel the need prove my manliness by fighting people

FYP

Your dad's an idiot!

My dad would beat both your dads in a fight!

Doc wrote: »
    My dad would beat both your dads in a fight!

One of my dads trained Jean Claude Van Damme for one of his movies and my other dad is He-Man, Master of the Universe!

So You're dads gay?

Doc wrote: »
    So You're dads gay?

Just one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

If you rise to every person who is an arsehole, you could be in a row every week. you become an arsehole

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I was out walking recently in Dublin city centre just after dark. I was on the phone to a friend, just chatting about random crap. I stopped at the pavement, waiting for the cars to stop so I could cross. There were two people standing right beside me. One of them was really loud, shouting things at random people.

It was a really narrow road and one of the cars that was coming along swerved randomly and came a little too close to the pavemeny for comfort. I joked with my friend that I nearly got run over.

Suddenly one of the people who was standing beside me (the loud one) turns and says, "What the f**k did you say?" He was average height, but kind of massive, and had a shaved head. He had one of those irritating Cockney English accents, someone who thinks of himself as a real "geezah". He kind of looked like an uglier version of Ross Kemp.

He said, "What the f**k did you say?" a couple more times. I just replied I wasn't talking to you. He started firing insults, and when I crossed the road he just said, "Yeah, keep walking". He had an Irish guy with him who laughed very theatrically but it was obvious he was uncomfortable.

I'm more angry with myself for not shouting something back, but he could easily have kicked the crap into me. I'm normally a calm person but I just wanted to shout every type of anti-English insult at him that I could muster. He really was the worst breed of Englishman -- the loud, shaved headed, thinks he tough, east-end London type of idiot. What possible sort of pleasure can be got from picking on random people on the street for no reason whatsoever? He wasn't even drunk.

Anyway, why don't we share stories of encounters that bugged us? It's always better to vent.
    Random.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

And I listended when my mam told me 'sticks and stones may hurt my bones, but words will never hurt me' :p

In this day and age you don't know what your getting into if you rise to the bait, best just ignore f*ckwits and move on. My future brother in law intervened in a husband wife argument that turned to him hitting her repeatedly on the streets of Galway and ended up with a broken jaw from him and a stilletto from her lodged in his throat with a 'mind your own business' message from them both whilst they walked off hand in hand. He regrets to this day 'being a man' and is still scared to walk some streets of Dublin on his own, 8 years on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Comedy gold reading your posts pdfile, keep it up. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

kicked the crap into me

I hate it when that happens. No amount of vanish oxy-action.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

the only time i did back down ive yet to live it down and being 6'2 and an adverage build you'd think im mike tyson...

but i dont need to be, you wouldn't believe the amount of 1-3 punch knockouts i handed down and to tbh ive been handed myself, theirs two sides to a coin as we all know, i prefare the shiney side.

my best mates a big fat rubgy head, the typical biggest guy in the room, every hard mans target and he Always backs down not outha manners, but he just simpley doesn't like fighting and Cannot go out without someone calling him a varitiy of names; all degrading - i refuse to have my life like that.

i only wish i got into that MMA/UFC craic before it got ruined by all the wannabe's ( you know the type... 8-10 lessons, taking onthe world... finish the career they never even had on a 0-1 basis )

BOT: im out most fridays and saturdays and though towns Alot quieter then it used to be, theirs still the odd fight.

im happy enough to sit back and watch as boys tear the heads off each other for whatever reason ( and girls for that matter.... Meeeeeeeow ) and its not even the fact that it well and throughly makes you look like an eejit, but that a fair few people a carrying shanks and all sorts of weaponry, let alone glass bottles and such.

if two people are gonna fight, let them have at it, but even that can neevr happen as one sides mates get involved, then the others then its all holy murder, which is the sadest part, everyone goes out to have a good time, not to have lumps kicked outha ya by some angry gardi cause you disroupted his 2 hour lunch break at the station.

jesus fcuking christ. i have the impression that your father is either in prison, or died in a pub brawl based on an attitude like that. where do you get the impression that a garda would batter you for making a report of trouble?

i wouldn't care less if you were 6'2", i'm not a big guy myself but I'm certain that I could beat most men in a hand-to-hand scrap - this, however does not mean that I take every insult/shout/threat that I receive in my life as a reason to enter into a fight. i'd contend that a huge number of the stabbing victims in this country were 'real men' like yourself who have massive insecurities and a chip on their shoulder.

And 'the straightener way of life'? ffs, get a grip, you sound like a fcuking tool.

and 'people carrying shanks'? where to do you live, fcuking san quentin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Remember folks the best revenge is a life lived well......

..... or else feed them their own parents in a chilli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

How many times per second do you say "random"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

On honeymoon my wife and myself were in Costa Rica in a nice small surf town. The hostel was about 500 metres walk from the town and we'd walked into town no problem. On the way back about halfway to the hostel we had a run in with two guys. They were 5 foot max and in the light I couldn't see if they were young lads or not.

Anyway they pulled a gun on us. Now I'm not sure if it was loaded or real but I absolutely froze. Not my wife. The guy tried to grab her handbag. She pulled her bag off him and pushed him away. I was still standing there like the total opposite of what you'd imagine yourself in those situations.

Luckily a taxi drove past and the guys ran off. For weeks after I'd wished I'd actually done something. No idea what that something was but it just felt wrong to stand there frozen.

Funny part was when we were telling the story to friends when we got back and I mentioned the gun my wife was shocked as she hadn't spotted it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

mathie wrote: »
    Anyway they pulled a gun on us. Now I'm not sure if it was loaded or real but I absolutely froze. Not my wife. The guy tried to grab her handbag. She pulled her bag off him and pushed him away. I was still standing there like the total opposite of what you'd imagine yourself in those situations.

is your wife the man in the relationship now? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

genericguy wrote: »
    jesus fcuking christ. i have the impression that your father is either in prison, or died in a pub brawl based on an attitude like that. where do you get the impression that a garda would batter you for making a report of trouble?

i wouldn't care less if you were 6'2", i'm not a big guy myself but I'm certain that I could beat most men in a hand-to-hand scrap - this, however does not mean that I take every insult/shout/threat that I receive in my life as a reason to enter into a fight. i'd contend that a huge number of the stabbing victims in this country were 'real men' like yourself who have massive insecurities and a chip on their shoulder.

And 'the straightener way of life'? ffs, get a grip, you sound like a fcuking tool.

and 'people carrying shanks'? where to do you live, fcuking san quentin?

Based on PDfiles perception of fights and size, i should theoretically beat him because i'm 6'4'" and about 17 stone,rugby player etc... BOLLOCKS i say!!! simple thing to think about in any sort of aggravated situation, if a guy is that seriously looking for a fight, he's most likely got a blade or a shard of broken glass and will have no problem slicing you.

Like you said genericguy, no point in taking every insult or threat as "fightin' words", it'll only get yous into trouble some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

A dying bread? What, Pat the Baker is it? Did all those fights knock a few letters out of your vocabulary or something? ****ing keyboard warriors.
    Hey you know what last week i got in a fight too, and my daddy always told me real mean made of real bread urinate on an opponent afterwards so after i beat up a whole pub full of people i marked my territory by pissing on all the amassed corpses in front of me. Im part of a dying bread too, wafflers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Like PDfile I base all my ideas for street fights on Roadhouse - that documentary about the late great Patrick Swayze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I was on the phone to my mate at a bus stop last wednesday.

There were 3 knacker girls waiting for the bus too doing the usual "howiya" crap at the top of their lungs. They starting messing telling me their friend wanted "a ride" off me. I just ignored them.

Then this junkie looking character tapped me on the shoulder. I turned around and he started threatening to stab me saying I kissed his girlfriend. I tried to explain that I hadn't a clue what he was on about.....appearantly his girlfriend was the knacker girl who wanted "a ride".

he kept saying I'll ****ing stab ya. He threw his arm towards me and I grabbed him, spun him around and slammed him against the bus stop. I pushed him away and he fell flat on the path. When his hood fell down he was crying and I could see he was only about 13.

god be with the days you could be guranteed getting threatened by someone your own age......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Where I grew up there were a lot of morons who used to strut around looking for fights. They'd always be walking down the road, and no matter which way you were looking, even if you had your back turned to them, they'd hurl some accusation and then try and goad you into a fight. Myself and a few of the other non-trouble makers would be out playing football, using jumpers for goalposts, the usual idyllic childhood memories. I got in one little fight and my mom got scared, she said 'you're moving with your auntie and uncle in Bel Air.' I whistled for a cab and when it came near, it had a license-plate that said 'Fresh' and a dice in the mirror. If anything, I could say that this cab was rare, but I thought 'man, forget it. YO HOMES TO BEL AIR.' I pulled up to a house, about seven or eight and yelled to the cabbie 'yo homes, smell ya later.' Looked at my kingdom, I was finally there. To sit on my throne, as the Prince of Bel Air.

True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Brendog wrote: »
    I was on the phone to my mate at a bus stop last wednesday.

There were 3 knacker girls waiting for the bus too doing the usual "howiya" crap at the top of their lungs. They starting messing telling me their friend wanted "a ride" off me. I just ignored them.

Then this junkie looking character tapped me on the shoulder. I turned around and he started threatening to stab me saying I kissed his girlfriend. I tried to explain that I hadn't a clue what he was on about.....appearantly his girlfriend was the knacker girl who wanted "a ride".

he kept saying I'll ****ing stab ya. He threw his arm towards me and I grabbed him, spun him around and slammed him against the bus stop. I pushed him away and he fell flat on the path. When his hood fell down he was crying and I could see he was only about 13.

god be with the days you could be guranteed getting threatened by someone your own age......

So, did ya??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

jasus....

Do as needs must. :rolleyes:

Wow... the ultimate internet hardman. Just look at his username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

im a part of a dying bread. Im a man.

hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaha

haaaaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

lmfao@everything pdfile is saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Should have told him to fack off Op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd no ideas there was so many tough blokes on AH? I think we should all get together and start a vigilante group to clean up the streets! Watch out scumbags, your days are numbered! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Is your name Rex by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭jpb1974

I'd no ideas there was so many tough blokes on AH?

Aye... fellas get behind a computer and all of sudden they put on 5 stone, stretch to 6ft 7, no longer require cola bottle for glasses, zits disappear, muscle start to swell and their CVs read "ex-MMA champions", "5 tours to Iraq".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

jpb1974 wrote: »
    Aye... fellas get behind a computer and all of sudden they put on 5 stone, stretch to 6ft 7, no longer require cola bottle for glasses, zits disappear, muscle start to swell and their CVs read "ex-MMA champions", "5 tours to Iraq".

Only 5 tours??? The pussies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i remember walking up whitworth road recently and some ning nongs on the canal decided to start lobbing rocks at me. fortunately for me they all missed. i was told afterwards that the people who hang out there are the kind that can't even get into the dodgy pubs...