Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highrise

• 14-07-2010 4:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭

was playing a private match the other day with a couple of boards lads and the level highrise came up, we were playing no respawning so i was high up watching the action when i seeing two players on the top of the white building literally standing on the roof,ye know the one behind the helicoptar the big building but what i want to know is how did they get up or is this a glitch???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

PandyAndy wrote: »

yea found it just after i posted. that was you wasnt it i was talking about:D looks like a great spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

Don't think so, gamertag is KingSirAndy. I've never been up there myself, I'm always too busy running around shooting people, or shooting them just as they're about to get on the roof...because I'm nice like that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Watch Chris Smoove's "ultimate camping" vid for a funny game where he has a tac insertion, OMA and just picks off the other team from up there, as he puts it "if you let someone get all the way up here you deserve to die!"

mans got a point :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭youllneverknow

i love when you see some one running up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

I bloody hate it when people get up there, especially enemy snipers who bring TIs.

I remember one game where one bloody annoyed me so much I just lobbed a Semtex up through the glass roof of the building underneath. Only got a hit marker, but at least I killed his TI. Still annoying though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭bluemooner

gotta love smoove athough he can be a bit campy at times. no where near as bad as Wings though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

krudler wrote: »
    Watch Chris Smoove's "ultimate camping" vid for a funny game where he has a tac insertion, OMA and just picks off the other team from up there, as he puts it "if you let someone get all the way up here you deserve to die!"

mans got a point :D

Can't find it. Link?

i still cant get onto the roof i keep dying when i try to jump onto the first thing:pac: do you need a certain perk or what???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

no , as soon as you jump leave go of the controller , i.e make sure you have your jump lined up then as soon as you jump , dont press any buttons or direct it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Go into single player mode (or whatever mdoe it is to get a map on your own) and practise the jump, it is tricky.

If i see a sniper up there Ill lob a grenade up at full tilt, if timed and placed properly it will kill the sniper and destroy his TI. I think you can also blow up the fuel tank with an RPG but it would have to be a damn good shot. If you get it though it will incinerate anybody up there.

minotour wrote: »
    If i see a sniper up there Ill lob a grenade up at full tilt, if timed and placed properly it will kill the sniper and destroy his TI.

If i'm playing domination and I see highrise coming up I throw a TI on my runner class and on my sniper class. Run to the roof lay a TI, switch to sniper and die, result: free kills.

On destroying the TI, I avoid that by laying the TI at one side of the roof and sniping from the other.

I think you can also blow up the fuel tank with an RPG but it would have to be a damn good shot. If you get it though it will incinerate anybody up there.

Its easier to blow up the fuel tank from inside the building aiming through the glass roof.

EDIT: Found the Smoove video. He really could have done much better. I was almost shouting at the video when I spotted enemies running around on the ground that he didn't even aim at not to mention the amount of guys he went for and didn't kill. It was like he was intentionally playing bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

lads calling Chris Smoove a camper are ridiculous. The guy gives a great logic into why there is nothing wrong with staying in a spot for a short while....there is cover in the game for a reason. If there wasn't, they game would just be a big open space and boring. Why not use cover to help kill the Noobs who run around like lunatics dying...HaHaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

love watching people jump and fall to there deaths trying to get on to the first painters trolley:D

Ever notice all the teddy bears up on the roof?strange....

I wonder what would happen if someone got up there using these two classes and kept switching between

AR w/ n00btube
    TI
    1.OMA
    2.DC
    3.doesn't matter

Intervention/Barret w/ Thermal
    TI
    1.OMA
    2.SP
    3.Steady Aim

Nuke city :eek:

Maybe Tallon could do a video running those two classes just to see how easy it could be

If I see someone get up there I just shoot the gas tank, boom,problem solved.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    love watching people jump and fall to there deaths trying to get on to the first painters trolley:D

Ever notice all the teddy bears up on the roof?strange....

Very amusing to watch indeed :D

Yeah the teddy bears are the symbol IW have for hidden spots and what not. There's a good few of them around some of the maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

callaway92 wrote: »
    lads calling Chris Smoove a camper are ridiculous. The guy gives a great logic into why there is nothing wrong with staying in a spot for a short while....there is cover in the game for a reason. If there wasn't, they game would just be a big open space and boring. Why not use cover to help kill the Noobs who run around like lunatics dying...HaHaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Ah thats the same logic quick scopers, drop shotters and commando knifers use.... "its in the game so its meant to be used" a weak argument for a weak player IMO, but yet the commando user will complain about the drop shotter, the drop shotter complains about the commando user and they all complain about the camper! IMO they are all game wreckers and should have their own mode to play like tits in. Something tells me though any one of the 4 varients wouldnt want to play a match that consists of the likes of themselves.

They love doing their own thing... as long as they are the only ones doing it per match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

I'm noticing a pattern with you.

Anytime something remotely negative is said about Chris whoever the **** he is, you get all animated and jump to his defense.

Raging hard-on springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

hightower1 wrote: »
    Ah thats the same logic quick scopers, drop shotters and commando knifers use.... "its in the game so its meant to be used" a weak argument for a weak player IMO, but yet the commando user will complain about the drop shotter, the drop shotter complains about the commando user and they all complain about the camper! IMO they are all game wreckers and should have their own mode to play like tits in. Something tells me though any one of the 4 varients wouldnt want to play a match that consists of the likes of themselves.

They love doing their own thing... as long as they are the only ones doing it per match.

I dont have a problem with quick scopers, dont do it myself, imo doing a dropshot right takes a bit of getting used to , again no problem with and havent used the tactical layout in a long time. Commando knife users again no problem , i have ninja on all classes except one which is a commando class with tac knife , again rarely used class.
    Campers are always going to be in games, if your dominating a game do you honestly expext them to keep running out ?
    Then you have the campers who will camp straight off, happened the other night , an irish guy on our team went straight to the back of rundown lay down his claymore and went 3-0 , bit of a waste of time buying the game if thats what your going to do but each to their own eh.
    One thing you didnt mention was tubers, i've seen some people on here say that they only use a tube for e.g getting people out of a bunker in afgan. In all my time playing i have never seen anyone using a tube just for that purpose, i dislike the tube immensely and if tubed usually bring out my Limp Dick class which is a tube with danger close, game usually ends up in being a farce but ah well.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

As said, campers are to be expected.

What I cannot stand is camping with baby monitors and commando users, shouldn't but it does wreck my head. Especially the latter, as I die mainly from commando :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

On the Highrise note, if I get picked ill try and throw a semtex or grenade up at the sniper, if that fails ill fall back to the opposite building and snipe him back, if he has TI ill just focus on taking him out and if i get a pred/airstrike/chopper then him and his TI will be getting it.

but he calls it camping himself, his "waiting on a noob" video is hilarious because he stands literally in one spot for ages killing the same person over and over, blatant camping but funny as hell. and the one wheres hes on the roof is called "ultimate camping" he named it himself! I have no problem with people defending an area, its the "i'll crouch here with a baby monitor then knife someone as they run past" people that annoy me, covering an area and defedning it against attack is fine in my books, do it myself.

hightower1 wrote: »

What constitutes a "stong player" then? someone who runs around everywhere? then people will call you a noob, if you stay in one spot you're a camper,theres an argument against everything in this bloody game. I realised this ages ago and now just play the way I want, sometimes I stick to one area and defend it, other times I run around like a loon with lightweight and SPAS on and murder everything. Either way are ok ways of playing. theres no "right" way of playing MW2 , just play the way you want, and if a team or enemy is camping or dropshotting, work out a way around it, problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭shay

What constitutes a "stong player" then? someone who runs around everywhere? then people will call you a noob, if you stay in one spot you're a camper,theres an argument against everything in this bloody game. I realised this ages ago and now just play the way I want, sometimes I stick to one area and defend it, other times I run around like a loon with lightweight and SPAS on and murder everything. Either way are ok ways of playing. theres no "right" way of playing MW2 , just play the way you want, and if a team or enemy is camping or dropshotting, work out a way around it, problem solved.

hee hee - if everyone thought that way, then the mega-rant thread would be pretty much redundent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Couldn't agree more - there is no wrong way to play. It's usually weaker players who moan as the strong ones just get on with it and adapt to the opposition's style of play.

Exactly, the weak players are the ones who wont change their comfort classes or do something they wouldnt normally do to outwit the ones who are being "nooby". I used to get accused of being a noob for using the riot shield, anyone with a bit of cop on would have realised lightweight+stabbing would have easily sorted me out, or a semtex stuck to the shield, but no, you had guys emptying clips from a SCAr into me then getting a throwing knife in the face.

celtic723 wrote: »
    I'm noticing a pattern with you.

Anytime something remotely negative is said about Chris whoever the **** he is, you get all animated and jump to his defense.

Raging hard-on springs to mind.

WAT? lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

WAT? lol

First you accused Tallon of 'copying' precious Chris Smoove with the autotune thingy. Oh noes!!!!!

Then you jump to his defence again when someone mentions the word camping and his name in the same sentence.

Something we're missing here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Ingenuist

If I see someone get up there I just shoot the gas tank, boom,problem solved.
    Yeh its impossible to stay up there with people that know about the gas tank around.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I tried heading up to that spot today but only managed a couple of kills (I'm useless with sniper rifles).

Shooting the gas tank myself and leaving the blast shield on whilst I sniped helped me survive a little but the other team kept getting predators and sent them straight there.

irish_goat wrote: »
    I tried heading up to that spot today but only managed a couple of kills (I'm useless with sniper rifles).

Shooting the gas tank myself and leaving the blast shield on whilst I sniped helped me survive a little but the other team kept getting predators and sent them straight there.

Get one of your teammates to shoot the tank when you're up there and the blast wont hurt you, only hurts if you do it or the enemy does.

I can never get up there, I always fall off the scaffold at the beginning, tried it a few times in private games and I cant even make it to the first part lol

celtic723 wrote: »
    First you accused Tallon of 'copying' precious Chris Smoove with the autotune thingy. Oh noes!!!!!

Then you jump to his defence again when someone mentions the word camping and his name in the same sentence.

Something we're missing here?

what the hell are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭flashinbluelite

i love that spot.... not for me to be up there , but i love watching people either fail to reach first jump spot, get milled as they run across or my personal favorite (i have been watching from the other building) sticking a javelin up there and BOOM bye bye .... never stop laughing.....

I love watching people try to make the jump to the scaffold, shooting them once to get a hitmarker then getting an assisted suicide as they plummet off the side :D i got a predator by plonking myself up by the helipad and watching 2 guys from the other team fail and fail and fail to make it lulz

I'm amazed at how many people fail that jump. Like it is difficult to get first time but feck off into a private match and get the technique down and its easy once you do it once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

I imagine if you are going up there, you'd be best having Cold Blooded on, to try to save against Predators etc. That and constant moving around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Heres a tip

Easy c4 challenge completion

Get up there, stay on the left side and go prone, with OMA equipped, just lob c4's onto the ground below and you should win the match.

No-one ever knows where you are :)

ardinn wrote: »
    Heres a tip

Get up there, stay on the left side and go prone, with OMA equipped, just lob c4's onto the ground below and you should win the match.

There's a nuke in that I reckon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

ardinn wrote: »
    Heres a tip

While strictly speaking a valid tactic, i reckon it violates the spirit of the game...............discuss, or not, i dont care.

played it last night and got up to the spot first time trying was shocked, when i got there some lad was already up there and had a tactical insertion on the ground killed him and destroyed his tactical insertion but he must have been p1ssed cos he launched a noob up straight away:( overated spot imo:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

While strictly speaking a valid tactic, i reckon it violates the spirit of the game...............discuss, or not, i dont care.

The game is played to be won. and anyone stupid enough to die anymore than 3 times in that spot deserves it imo. I know what your saying but I just do this for the c4 challange - easy xp for 1 game.

Out of interest, are you just looking at the ground and blowing the C4 up when anyone runs past? What are the chances of someone spotting you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

tried the run in my own private lobby last nite - seemed straightforward enough..

Maybe when there's gunfire everywhere I mightn't be so composed, but looking forward to my first attempt up there later and see how I fare :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

everlast75 wrote: »
    tried the run in my own private lobby last nite - seemed straightforward enough..

Maybe when there's gunfire everywhere I mightn't be so composed, but looking forward to my first attempt up there later and see how I fare :p

It's not so much the jump for me, but people who sit in the opposite house sniping, and who turn their focus to you as you turn the corners on the walkway and across the middle section. Although it's fun free, and usually multiple, free kills if you're the one shooting them. :D