Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the Twelfth of July about ?

• 11-07-2010 3:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12 po020435

Does celebrating the victory of a Dutch King supported by the Pope over a British one have any cultural or religious significance ? Or is it just a day off for the orangemen to wear sashes and union Jack hats, listen to endless reditions of the Sash My Father Wore, get completely wasted with drink and then puke their guts out ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's a party, everyone's invited.

Kinda like a pants party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 po020435

TheZohan wrote: »

Is it ok for the Pope to attend ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Its a big orangeman-english people circle jerk tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Rosskowlagh - a day out and fun

N. Ireland - keeping the taigs in their place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's a Monday this year. I'm in work. I might have pasta for dinner and try get an early night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

po020435 wrote: »

Hystorically Popes have been great craic at these parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

its about seven hours away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

No because he wears a Mumu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

12th of July... Isnt that the day the ice age ended?? :)

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Its a big orangeman-english people circle jerk tbh
    Apart from a few freaks and BNP rejects, the average English person hasn't the slightest interest or probaly knowledge of the Orange Order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

It's an all encompassing celebration of social, religious and sexual freedom, where all races, creeds and people of every sexual orientations are welcomed.

The celebrations conclude in a free for all, anything goes gangbang at each local orange order lodge.

If attendance is not on your 'Things to do before I die' list, make sure to add it to it now.

It's an all encompassing celebration of social, religious and sexual freedom, where all races, creeds and people of every sexual orientations are welcomed.

The celebrations conclude in a free for all, anything goes gangbang at each local orange order lodge.

If attendance is not on your 'Things to do before I die' list, make sure to add it to it now.
    Iris Robinson would be on for that !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Its a day where loyalists have an excuse to get really drunk and to wind up republicans and republicans have an excuse to get really drunk and attack the police. All in all everyone is happy by the end of it despite what they try to make you believe.

Iris Robinson would be on for that !!!!

I once met Iris Robinson.
    When I say met, I mean
    ed her.

She promised me money, I never received it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Mac Masters

Hystorically Popes have been great craic at these parties.

I miss John Paul.

The new guy reminds me a bit too much of somebody. Plus he doesn't look like he'd be much fun at a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

sligopark wrote: »
    Rosskowlagh - a day out and fun

N. Ireland - keeping the taigs in their place

Rossnowlagh... growing up 3 miles away from, it's not that much fun, believe me.

Pauleta wrote: »
    Its a day where loyalists have an excuse to get really drunk and to wind up republicans and republicans have an excuse to get really drunk and attack the police. All in all everyone is happy by the end of it despite what they try to make you believe.
    Don't most Catholics, and some Protestants, come down here for a few days or have the Med holiday to get away from it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Don't most Catholics, and some Protestants, come down here for a few days or have the Med holiday to get away from it ?

Correct.
    It's a busy time for hotels and B&B's in Ireland, people desert the North and a take a long weekend break.

Correct.
    It's a busy time for hotels and B&B's in Ireland, people desert the North and a take a long weekend break.

because of the tramps marching up North and intimadating the other half of their community. At least Rossnowlagh is a family event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

It's all a bit silly really I'd say. It's about making a point. Although I've no idea what that point is. And I don't care to know.

its about 6 hours away now

its about 5 hours away

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

the twelfth isn't an english holiday,its a protestant holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

pmcmahon wrote: »
    the twelfth isn't an english holiday,its a protestant holiday.

Do they celebrate it in the American midwest? How about in Sweden? It has nothing to do with protestantism. It is not an Irish holiday, or an English holiday, or a protestant holiday. It is a sectarian holiday, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

strobe wrote: »
    Do they celebrate it in the American midwest? How about in Sweden? It has nothing to do with protestantism. It is not an Irish holiday, or an English holiday, or a protestant holiday. It is a sectarian holiday, nothing more.
    It happened in an era when religion was politics: of course it was "about" Protestantism, because English politics at the time was a battle of religions. The Catholic King James of England & Scotland had been deposed two years earlier (1688), replaced by the Protestant King William II, at the behest of C of E bishops.

Part of the reason for the deposition of King James was his 1687 Declaration of Indulgence, which basically promised religious freedom in England. This didn't go down too well, since Catholics were a minority of 10% in England, and here you had a Catholic king telling the majority to behave. Bad move: by the next year he was on the run, and his final defeat at the Boyne set up the next 200 years of Protestant supremacy in Ireland.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Yes, everyone who's British and Protestant is invited. But if you're not British or you're not Protestant then f*** off!

strobe wrote: »

yes in fact,the orange lodges do.

bnt wrote: »
    his final defeat at the Boyne set up the next 200 years of Protestant supremacy in Ireland.

try 310

sligopark wrote: »
    try 310

do you have any notion that some of the most influential and important figures in Irish history were in fact protestant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

The 12th of July is about a bunch of men walking around northern ireland with orange sachets around their necks. Hope it rains!

just give me a home,where there's no pope in rome and everyday is the 12th of july...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

do you have any notion that some of the most influential and important figures in Irish history were in fact protestant?
    No, but only because "Irish history" is pretty much defined in terms of opposition to anything associated with England, including the Church of England. If it hadn't been England, you'd have found some other country to oppose - otherwise, you wouldn't have much history! ;)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

No, but only because "Irish history" is pretty much defined in terms of opposition to anything associated with England, including the Church of England. If it hadn't been England, you'd have found some other country to oppose - otherwise, you wouldn't have much history! ;)

you can't change history,bill.

We'll see about that.

*Searches garage for flux capacitor*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I think they should invite them all down to dublin for the day.

Im sure nothing nasty would happen to them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

It's about a bunch of sectarian dinosaurs trying to make themselves feel relevant.

While the rest of the world doesn't take the remotest bit of interest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Its an opportunity for orange rednecks to keep the hate alive.

Yeeeeeeehaaa!!!! (Banjo music) da da ding ding ding ding ding da da......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

just give me a home,where there's no pope in rome and everyday is the 12th of july...

You probably need to make a bid on that tardis for sale in the Shankill road.

Pittens wrote: »
    You probably need to make a bid on that tardis for sale in the Shankill road.

tongue in cheek honey,tongue in cheek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I doubt half of them know what they're marching for, it has fuhk all to do with Christian religions anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

it's my little girl's birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

It's about a bunch of lads celebrating the life of a gay midget King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 redstar6

It's the only day out in the year for a bunch of sad old man and the bigots who jump on the band wagon.

Least it's a bank hol tho so every1 up there gets a day off!

There's orange lodges in the Republic as well...I used to live up the road from the grand master of one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

and the night before it is about deserted streets and sitting in your house seeing clouds of smoke rising into the air and constant helicopters overhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

baldbear wrote: »
    It's about a bunch of lads celebrating the life of a gay midget King.

That makes it sound more fun. If they advertised it like that im sure they'd get more people involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Apart from a few freaks and BNP rejects, the average English person hasn't the slightest interest or probaly knowledge of the Orange Order.
    Spot on. I was born and brought up in sunny (?) Manchester, and I never heard of July 12th until I moved over here. Most English people would be like ''What the f***is that all about then?''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

A day when people start knocking back their cans on the bus into town for the parades at about 10am and the offies can't be bothered carding every 16 year old who comes in for a slab.

Oh, and very small kiddies wave very large flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Its a celebration of william of oranges victory over king james at the battle of the boyne, basically its a victory march/celebration of where protestants beat the catholics.

Its the equivalent of me walking down the street and knocking lumps out of my neighbour because hes a different religion, then every year after that hold a victory march down his street and then complaining that he doesnt want peace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It happened in an era when religion was politics: of course it was "about" Protestantism, because English politics at the time was a battle of religions. The Catholic King James of England & Scotland had been deposed two years earlier (1688), replaced by the Protestant King William II, at the behest of C of E bishops.

Part of the reason for the deposition of King James was his 1687 Declaration of Indulgence, which basically promised religious freedom in England. This didn't go down too well, since Catholics were a minority of 10% in England, and here you had a Catholic king telling the majority to behave. Bad move: by the next year he was on the run, and his final defeat at the Boyne set up the next 200 years of Protestant supremacy in Ireland.

In some backward areas religeon is politics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Its a celebration of william of oranges victory over king james at the battle of the boyne, basically its a victory march/celebration of where protestants beat the catholics.

Its the equivalent of me walking down the street and knocking lumps out of my neighbour becaus hes a different religeon, then every year after that hold a victory march down his street and then complaining that he doesnt want peace!

LOL!

The grand masonic orange lodge of Ulster was formed on the 12th July 1797. Mid July is timely for many of their rituals.